Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yes, Tim Vickery was excellent as usual.

I never heard him so downbeat about the situation in Brazil. They really sound like a detestable bunch of lunatics running the show down there.

That was pretty raw, that he wouldn't be there anymore if it wasn't for family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

When I saw they were doing a segment on Brazilian politics, I was worried they'd have ewan McKenna on. Vickery was very good, painted a bleak picture though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

If there is to be any sort silver lining of the lockdown, Ken's report on RTE Liveline's segmant on Normal People should be up there.

"Ye'll be watching it, Ye'll be pulling the plumb off yer'self" - Second Captains Gold.

"You'll be pulling the plum off yourself."

Worth the subscription alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Ivefoundgod

Pete Moss wrote: »
    If these is to be any sort silver lining of the lockdown, Ken's report on RTE Liveline's segmant on Normal People should be up there.

"Ye'll be watching it, Ye'll be pulling the plumb off yer'self" - Second Captains Gold.

Yep, one of the funniest moments in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Spoilers FFS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭bigron2109

Just signed up for the first time. Is there any shows I should go back and listen to which are very good. Any recommendations would be great please. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

bigron2109 wrote: »
    Just signed up for the first time. Is there any shows I should go back and listen to which are very good. Any recommendations would be great please. Cheers

Not sure how deep you want to delve but I find they're amazing around Irish internationals and tournaments, Ken especially.

The best players chair is with Paul Kimmage (or was that just an interview with Richie which predated the players chair - I am open to correction).

Ken had a interview with a Mark Blyth a couple of weeks ago that was great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 NeftDaslari

A few stick out to me in particular:
    - Richie interviewing Paul Kimmage for the Players Chair. Also Players chairs’ with Andy Moran, Brian Lenihan and Paul Starwart
    - The lads interviewing a really grumpy Vincent Browne
    - Asif Capadia discussing his Maradona documentary
    - A number of Ken’s politics podcasts: Black and Tans discussion, Mark Blyth (x2), David Wallace Wells
    - Post Ulster rugby trial discussion
    -Anything with Tim Vickery

Yeah, the Vincent Browne one was good. He wasn't in the mood for agreeing with too much.

That's going back to March 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

The podcast after Ireland v Denmark drawn qualifier last November I think. Ken and Richie debating whether we played well or not. Probably my highlight in terms of football reviews. The review of Ireland v Spain in 2002 a couple of weeks back with Kenny Cunningham was also brilliant.

I re-subscribed last August for the Andy Moran player's chair interview. The Matt Doherty player's chair was another good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I'd recommend any of the podcast from when Ken is traveling. Euro 2016 and WC 2018 were very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

I'd recommend any of the podcast from when Ken is traveling. Euro 2016 and WC 2018 were very funny.

Ken in Vegas for the McGregor fights was hilarious too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

I watched Deep Water and I, Tonya today after the recommendations during the pod. Really enjoyed both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

I'm the opposite. I will now completely disregard any movie Murph recommends as he obviously has awful taste seeing as he thinks The Room is ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

I'm the opposite. I will now completely disregard any movie Murph recommends as he obviously has awful taste seeing as he thinks The Room is ****e.

Well he hasn't watched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,527 ✭✭✭ongarite

Deep Water was excellent.
    Very moving documentary on the struggle of a man fearing financial run that blighted his own childhood, driving himself insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Ken did four sketches called "The Fair View" in 2016/2017. Three of them around the time of the Dublin Vs Kerry Semi and Dublin Vs Mayo All Ireland Finals in 2016 and one for Colm Coopers retirement. Not to be missed! Some of his best work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

lets not forget Kens gooaaaalllllllllllllsssssssss, where he reads out the FA Cup third-round scores in a hilarious Alan Partridge Esque manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭CiaranW

Carli Lloyd interview today is really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Acosta

Arghus wrote: »
    "You'll be pulling the plum off yourself."

Worth the subscription alone.

Last week overall was very entertaining. Convinced me to stay subscribed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Nokotan wrote: »
    I watched Deep Water and I, Tonya today after the recommendations during the pod. Really enjoyed both.

I, Tonya was a great movie. How it wasn’t even nominated for Best Picture is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,865 ✭✭✭Raoul

CiaranW wrote: »
    Carli Lloyd interview today is really good.

It's good but she doesn't really have much humility at all does she?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Raoul wrote: »
    She talks about it very matter of factly doesnt she, but I think she pulls it off without sounding too big headed. She knows she had to put in the work to get there and doesnt seem like she has any delusions about herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,986 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Raoul wrote: »

Like it or loathe it, that's a big reason why Lloyd is so successful and most (all?) top athletes are the same. She knew she was good enough despite being told otherwise but also had the self awareness to know she had flaws that needed to be sorted. And that's exactly what she did, fair play to her.

Great get for them, it was a solid interview and she didn't dodge any of the questions or give roundabout answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Like it or loathe it, that's a big reason why Lloyd is so successful and most (all?) top athletes are the same. She knew she was good enough despite being told otherwise but also had the self awareness to know she had flaws that needed to be sorted. And that's exactly what she did, fair play to her.

Great get for them, it was a solid interview and she didn't dodge any of the questions or give roundabout answers.

Yeah I really enjoyed the interview. Ken picked up on the character changes that were needed and probed her on it but she completely ducked the answer, almost politician-like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Xavi6 wrote: »

I haven't listened yet, but every successful American has to have that in their story. Child prodigy that had every advantage in life and was top of every class? "They told me I'd never amount to anything". Tough upbringing in a disadvantaged area is the other one that's usually thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,627 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Cienciano wrote: »
    I haven't listened yet, but every successful American has to have that in their story. Child prodigy that had every advantage in life and was top of every class? "They told me I'd never amount to anything". Tough upbringing in a disadvantaged area is the other one that's usually thrown in.

To be fair, she was very open in saying she had the talent but wasn't fit enough and didn't have the right headspace. She recognised her flaws and worked on them. She was extremely complementary towards her personal coach too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

might have been a good idea to vet Terry Fenwick before he came on the show and revealed himself to be a conspiracy nut!