If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Obrieski

Ah that was golden from Ken today, just caught up now.
    The 2 lads sniggering away in the background made it even better.

I reckon a solid 20 minute rant...well worth the subscription for at least another year!

The man is like one of those win-up toys once he gets going...and I for one, love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,520 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I was thinking - "I wonder what the neighbours think?"

He was roaring his head off at a few points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,459 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Arghus wrote: »
    That rugby story sounds as fishy as fck.

Big time. I heard the headline and initially thought the player was very hard done by. But listening to the details, the fact that he didn't read any labels or question why he received a 2nd medication is very negligent. I don't think there was any deliberate cheating going on, but still.

Shane Horgan was very soft on him too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

dulpit wrote: »
    Big time. I heard the headline and initially thought the player was very hard done by. But listening to the details, the fact that he didn't read any labels or question why he received a 2nd medication is very negligent. I don't think there was any deliberate cheating going on, but still.

Shane Horgan was very soft on him too.
    Call me a cynic but I really struggle to believe his story, its just all too coindicental. Just before a big game a key player receives an accidental prescription of steroids which he inadvertently takes without asking any questions. It raises the question as to how many other prescriptions were accidentally handed out before now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I found it interesting that, even though it was a small moment, he referred to the Saudi's "alleged" crimes. It felt instinctively defensive.

And that is exactly why they're buying Newcastle. More money than they know what to do with but a horrible regime who want to buy acceptance in the west. Looks like it's working already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭deisedude

Call me a cynic but I really struggle to believe his story, its just all too coindicental. Just before a big game a key player receives an accidental prescription of steroids which he inadvertently takes without asking any questions. It raises the question as to how many other prescriptions were accidentally handed out before now.

Off the Ball went into more detail outlining the evidence that it was a fcuk up by the pharmacy and its fairly conclusive that they made a balls of it including a statement from the pharmacy, packaging of the tablets, video footage of James Cronin in the pharmacy.

Of course he should have checked it himself and checked with doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

deisedude wrote: »
    Off the Ball went into more detail outlining the evidence that it was a fcuk up by the pharmacy and its fairly conclusive that they made a balls of it including a statement from the pharmacy, packaging of the tablets, video footage of James Cronin in the pharmacy.

Fair enough, I must give it a listen assuming its on their podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,459 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

This was discussed on the Second Captains podcast too...

dulpit wrote: »
    This was discussed on the Second Captains podcast too...

Apologies if they did. Slowly losing my mind here at home :pac:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Thought the chat with Oisin was very good.

I love the smug tone Ken's voice when he says 'Should have just played anyway' in the Keane interview.

He agrees with him on the hip thing at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Egomaniacs is an excellent new feature!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Jim Root wrote: »
    Egomaniacs is an excellent new feature!

Who is the audio in the audio bed from "fck it , we'll do it live" ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Who is the audio in the audio bed from "fck it , we'll do it live" ?

Bill O'Reilly

https://youtu.be/V1M6EYA14eU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pizzle

Haven't heard the clip, but guessing it might be Bill O'Reilly?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vu2NK5REvWM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Been neglecting the podcast recently due to lack of a commute.. Did a decent catch up today. Quality stuff! They've really been knocking it out of the park in difficult circumstances. Highlights being Ken's presser performance and the egomaniacs segment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

So have caught up on all but one podcast since the start.. not saying I paid attention on all of them especially the greek minister for finance one but there is one I cant do.

That lad from the rubber bandits - 3 minutes in says he doesnt understand sport (I'm not sure what that means) and then said he wasnt aware limerick were in the all ireland a couple of years ago.

Is he trying to be a super hipster? came across as a proper muppet- i had to stop it -looks like I will always have one uncompleted pod on my ipad .

On a side point most of the ones I had to listen to where player chair ones.. not that they were bad (jack byrne was decent) but i anticipated them to be bad.. 1 a month of those is more than enough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

So have caught up on all but one podcast since the start.. not saying I paid attention on all of them especially the greek minister for finance one but there is one I cant do.

That lad from the rubber bandits - 3 minutes in says he doesnt understand sport (I'm not sure what that means) and then said he wasnt aware limerick were in the all ireland a couple of years ago.

Is he trying to be a super hipster? came across as a proper muppet- i had to stop it -looks like I will always have one uncompleted pod on my ipad .

On a side point most of the ones I had to listen to where player chair ones.. not that they were bad (jack byrne was decent) but i anticipated them to be bad.. 1 a month of those is more than enough..

Sounds sad alright. From the clown who wears a bag over his head. Never liked those muppets from the first time i saw them and have never listened to anything they have to say. What are they even doing on that show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 NeftDaslari

Anyone know what is the music behind the new audiobed?

The one with ‘piece of dirt, piece of dirt, piece of dirt...’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

Anyone else find the "we'll do it live" audio bed very irritating? Maybe it's the fact they play it twice that gets to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭ongarite

Ken's Primal Scream Loaded quote during the interview about German football was great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

He seems to really rub people up the wrong way. I just took it at face value that some people really are so detached from the bubble of sports that something like an all-ireland final appearance could pass them by. I've no reason to suspect he was fabricating that experience for whatever reason.

I'm not a huge rubberbandits fan, don't listen to Blindboy's podcast etc. but from what I can remember I quite enjoyed that particular player's chair, and thought Richie was a very good fit for the type of discussion that they had. There was a bit about 'flow state' that crossed the boundaries of different forms of creativity that I recall as being particularly interesting, and I doubt I could pick out something as specifically memorable from most other interviews they do.

elefant wrote: »
    He seems to really rub people up the wrong way. I just took it at face value that some people really are so detached from the bubble of sports that something like an all-ireland final appearance could pass them by. I've no reason to suspect he was fabricating that experience for whatever reason.

I'm not a huge rubberbandits fan, don't listen to Blindboy's podcast etc. but from what I can remember I quite enjoyed that particular player's chair, and thought Richie was a very good fit for the type of discussion that they had. There was a bit about 'flow state' that crossed the boundaries of different forms of creativity that I recall as being particularly interesting, and I doubt I could pick out something as specifically memorable from most other interviews they do.

Its hard to take a fella seriously preaching about his art when he writes a song called Spastic Hawk

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,044 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Its hard to take a fella seriously preaching about his art when he writes a song called Spastic Hawk

Your Dad's Best Friend seems to be fairly on the nose.

Have to say Ken's experience of being rang by that survey company seems eerily similar to mine :o

The reading of the Stuart Barnes article was great.

Great tune. The best art is smart and stupid at the same time.

The gag at the end of cutting back to him in the bookshop during the shoegazy guitar crescendo always cracks me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Eoin was hard done by in the egomaniacs slot outside the Sugar Club. It all seemed to revolve around what his eyes were "screaming".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Great tune. The best art is smart and stupid at the same time.

The gag at the end of cutting back to him in the bookshop during the shoegazy guitar crescendo always cracks me up.

I love that for the "Show 'em your book now, and I'll take you to Eddie Rockets" before the song even starts.

Assuming I haven't misheard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

That gaming chat was a swing and a miss for me. American lads voice was very annoying and I have no fecking idea what overwatch is. Probably showing my age a bit!

Yeah, if he writes like he talks, then that's gonna be a boring book. They can't all be winners!

Murph's pronounciation of "Canucks" made me die inside a little.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I love that for the "Show 'em your book now, and I'll take you to Eddie Rockets" before the song even starts.

Assuming I haven't misheard it.

That bit at the end where he catches the book while walking forward makes me laugh.

The only time I'd heard of Michael Robinson was during Euro 2012 when he said that a win for Spain over Ireland would be a victory for football, and the RTE panel taking the piss out of him, didn't realise how popular he was in Spain.

I'm fairly ignorant of goings on in Brazil, Tim Vickery was excellent as usual, not sure I want hear more or less about that fella who thinks Beatles songs were written by a German philosopher to bring down western civilisation.