Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Podge201

I know they’ve said they’ll have to go back a phase of the numbers are bad. But if the numbers are good, what are the chances they will push ahead with a phase a week or so early?

Pubs will open for June Bank Holiday and we will have a session like no other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

I know they’ve said they’ll have to go back a phase of the numbers are bad. But if the numbers are good, what are the chances they will push ahead with a phase a week or so early?

Zero. Its nothing to do with numbers. Its buying time to see what happens in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Zero if Holohan calling the shots but if a more inclusive pragmatic approach Is sought you’d hope some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Does anyone know if it's possible to get a letter to grant permission to travel from Waterford County to Portlaoise to look after an elderly person who has recently been injured?

Their family member is having trouble making the daily trip due to work and caring for their family and it would be a big help if someone could stay with the elderly person until either recovery or something more permanent is sorted.

Would the Gardai write such a letter granting permission, or who would I ask?

Just go. In this case the benefits outweigh the risk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Leo only makes statements and won't take questions from the media because he has the next government formation in his mind. Around the world other prime ministers and presidents hold conferences when making important announcements.

Being brought to task over the nursing home death count and the cost of taking over private hospitals is not somewhere he wants to be.

He knows the virus has peaked and slowly but surely life will get back to somewhat normality.

The election and power are all he is thinking about. Sociopathic behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

They wont change the phases but if things are going well certain measures could move into an earlier phase. Leo said this last night. If things are going better than expected than things in 4 or 5 could move. Likewise if things aren't going well something in phase 3 could move to 4 etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭ChelseaRentBoy

Podge201 wrote: »
    Pubs will open for June Bank Holiday and we will have a session like no other.

2021?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,009 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Would it make a difference if the person looking to travel is in their 70's?

I've heard people in my area being turned away from the local bus route because they did not have any letter stating the reason for their travel.

No. Cocooning of the over 70's is advisory not legally enforceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Gucci flip flops

Anyone know if you do a test do they send you a text if your positive and if your negative do they also send you a text

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,155 ✭✭✭ronano

Can someone clear something up for me. My partner lives 40km from me, we both have access to a car. According to the roadmap as it stands

1. When is the earliest we can meet with social distancing somewhere

2. When could she come to me or I go to her house?

3. When is travel between Ireland and the UK expected to resume (coach, flying or boat) ?

Thank you for any help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭C__MC

Surely pubs should be open ahead of the restarting of GAA

In regards the overall relaxation of restrictions and the cultural changes this pandemic will have on us I think some changes in general are needed, these are just my ideas.

A lot of comparison has been made with the Spanish flu, but this is a very different world to then in a lot of ways, we have in every community highly qualified GP’s, We have online, radio, TV , print media that distributes information immediately which is key in getting people to change behavior. Our understanding of disease is much advanced on that. We will never see a disease like Spanish flu do as much damage because the world is vastly different.

We used to find it funny seeing people in Asia wearing masks. That will change, we are going to see people in the “western world” who are from the western world adopting this practice from here on and it serves a good purpose. If you are sick, have a cough etc then wearing a mask should be prescribed. How many times do you see someone on public transport with a cold / flu coughing or sneezing.

I wasn’t aware until last year but In many Asian countries people wear masks not just for paranoia reasons to avoid getting sick but because as soon as they feel any bit sick they want to stop themselves spreading. Apparently women use it sometimes as a way to avoid having to put on make up as well!

We need to start treating the seasonal flu a lot differently also. It is a very comparable disease to Covid-19, in time when the figures are in it could even be a worse by a small margin.

To severely limit a pandemic like this happening again we need Change testing. If we get to a situation medically where test kits with instant or near instant test results for viruses can be developed and kept at home then we can change how flu is contained, something like this would be possible:

Feel sick, stay home test yourself, verify with GP, get online sick cert, isolate and Stay out of work for 1 week. Move to government sick pay for week. Retest after one week and repeat if needed.

If someone is in the workplace they can be required to provide negative test to remain in work. With instant testing the containment of viruses becomes a lot better.

They're some good points you made there. Thankfully, I myself have not been ill that forced me to stay out of work for about 10 years and that was a severe tooth infection and can't remember the last time I had the flu.
    Where I work, as with many companies, yearly bonus payments are linked to performance and attendance plays a big part, a couple of percent out and it means people could be down hundreds to over a grand in their bonus. Now what I always said to people was that this is a 'bonus' and we already get paid reasonably well, but you just can't legislate for stupid selfish people who bring all sorts of viruses into the workplace on a constant basis because they might be 'down' a few quid at the end of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Sweden now reporting their r0 is below 1

https://www.svd.se/det-viktiga-r-talet-under-1-i-sverige

How can we justify killing our economy until August at minimum? Even the worst hit counties in Europe, Spain, Germany are beginning to open up fast than us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

From RTE
    The Licensed Vintners Association and Vintners Federation of Ireland said the measures were treating them as "second class citizens".

They said that implementing the social distancing guidelines will be just as challenging for all hospitality businesses and that all should be given the same opportunity to trade.

They have asked the Government to clearly explain why they chose to discriminate against pubs in the announcement.

Because drunks don't do social distancing so well? Could that be the reason?

Also the vintners complaining about being treated as "second class citizens"...

small-violin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Monitor1985

Discodog wrote: »
    No. Cocooning of the over 70's is advisory not legally enforceable.

Thank you 🙂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Gucci flip flops

Anyone know if you do a test do they send you a text if your positive and if your negative do they also send you a text

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I see that the 20km restriction is lifting on July 20th. I'm supposed to be flying into Ireland on the following day, would be my daughter's first time visiting her grandparents. But I see nothing about quarintine for visitors mentioned. Anyone come across any info on this? If there is still the 14 day quarintine restriction in place, then it would make no sense for me to fly. Otherwise I could try looking to see if it's possible to rebook for Xmas or Easter next year, but not sure if I can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

The arbitrary 2km, 5km, 20km then only on the 20th of July can we "travel outside our region" restrictions are farcical.

I have family 200km away. What difference does it make if I travel 20km alone in a car vs 200km?

The original idea behind the 2km was to stop people crowding the beaches / beauty spots. Just ****ing close them then. Have the guards on checkpoints in these popular areas rather than scattered around the country or have legislation to fine people heavily if are in an area for leisure if they don't live there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

magic17 wrote: »
    We are being extremely cautious because our healthcare system is days away from collapse if restrictions are relaxed as the Taoiseach said last night. That in itself is an absolute disgrace and shows we can't re-open our society sooner because of the sheer neglect our healthcare has been subjected to.

This is a valid point. As a country I would like us to stop being so apathethic towards mismanagement of the health system and other matters when we come out of this.

We all have a responsibility and in a way, it is our own apathy and "I'm all right jack" attitudes that have us where we are today in terms of a functioning health system.

From RTE

small-violin.gif

Your so right here.

The businesses can f##k off right down the drain and the employee's with them.

They dont deserve any consideration

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    This is a valid point. As a country I would like us to stop being so apathethic towards mismanagement of the health system and other matters when we come out of this.

We all have a responsibility and in a way, it is our own apathy and "I'm all right jack" attitudes that have us where we are today in terms of a functioning health system.

Nah Dr Tony has blood on his hands twice now. The inquest will be swift and brutal

jester77 wrote: »
    I see that the 20km restriction is lifting on July 20th. I'm supposed to be flying into Ireland on the following day, would be my daughter's first time visiting her grandparents. But I see nothing about quarintine for visitors mentioned. Anyone come across any info on this? If there is still the 14 day quarintine restriction in place, then it would make no sense for me to fly. Otherwise I could try looking to see if it's possible to rebook for Xmas or Easter next year, but not sure if I can.

You have to fill in a contact form at arrivals, detailing where you will be isolating for 14 days. If you google the form you’ll find it easily enough. Then there will be random checks, but I’ve seen no mention anywhere of what might be the penalties if you aren’t where you have stated that you will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Penfailed wrote: »
    What about cross border workers? There's thousands of them that cross the border back and forth every day.

That's my point. I know a good few lads that travel down daily for work. However, we can't have these restrictions for the next 4 months and allow people e get the country at will without a strict 2 weeks of quarantine. It's setting us up to fail.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭VonLuck

The arbitrary 2km, 5km, 20km then only on the 20th of July can we "travel outside our region" restrictions are farcical.

I have family 200km away. What difference does it make if I travel 20km alone in a car vs 200km?

The original idea behind the 2km was to stop people crowding the beaches / beauty spots. Just ****ing close them then. Have the guards on checkpoints in these popular areas rather than scattered around the country or have legislation to fine people heavily if are in an area for leisure if they don't live there.

While I believe the travel restrictions are quite frustrating, I totally understand them. If you lifted them entirely you could get someone that is infected travelling to the other side of the country and spreading it to another area, forming another cluster. If it's within 2km/5km/20km, it's easier to manage, at least until contact tracing is up to scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭C__MC

VonLuck wrote: »
    While I believe the travel restrictions are quite frustrating, I totally understand them. If you lifted them entirely you could get someone that is infected travelling to the other side of the country and spreading it to another area, forming another cluster. If it's within 2km/5km/20km, it's easier to manage, at least until contact tracing is up to scratch.

Wont be adhering to them after the 18th
    If someone from Belfast can tip up to killarney and do what they like, myself as an irish citizen can travel where I want.
    I have done my bit for the last 7 weeks and I will visit my family after the 18th whilst maintaining social distancing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Ellie1988

When do people think weddings of +100 will be allowed? It isnt clear to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Yeah they can f*ck off. No sympathy with the sh*te I've heard them spouting on the radio trying to make booze more expensive for us in shops, calling it cheap alcohol when it's one of the dearest in Europe. Pity about their staff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭the kelt

When we don’t know what the numbers are meant to be how can we know if they’re good or bad though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

From RTE

small-violin.gif

If your going to quote something at least quote the full reasons as to why they feel the need to say it.

Look pubs will change and implement whatever measures they have to put in place.

But you can say that the associations do have a point to be honest, why should a restaurant serving pints and an extensive wine list be allowed to open back up before a pub that has a large food turnover ? They're essentially the same thing in terms of food. I've seen plenty of people go into high end restaurants and come out 3 hours later absolutely hammered. What's what's difference?

Pubs should be allowed to reopen based on food service at the same time as restaurants, if your not having food then wait until 10th August when they properly reopen but to say to a restaurant serving food and drink you can open 6 weeks before another establishment doing the same thing is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭nails1

What stage do cbt clinics and counselling service centres reopen?