Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

Any update on the restrictions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Do anyone else feel incredibly depressed? I have not seen my partner for weeks and weeks. With the pity full increase to 5km will mean that I still won't be able to see my partner for another few weeks if not months

This isn't North Korea. Do as you you feel necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,151 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'd have you at the top of the list :) you do know that you can have a balance without lifting all restrictions but I think you'd prefer if they kept them until 2030 by the sounds of it.

I'd prefer if they kept restrictions until they we had community transmission under control and had a robust testing, tracing and isolation infrastructure in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Do anyone else feel incredibly depressed? I have not seen my partner for weeks and weeks. With the pity full increase to 5km will mean that I still won't be able to see my partner for another few weeks if not months

How far away are ye living from her, I ask because from my experience I've been stopped only once, and that was this day three weeks ago despite driving daily as an 'essential worker'. And only a few weeks ago my neighbour drove from here in the Midlands to Wicklow with his son to buy a car and they werent stopped either way.

Outside of bank holidays I'd say you'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

But lots of garda check points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Very true but don't forget you can be turned home at best, fined or imprisoned at worst for going to wave at a loved one from a sensible distance in their front garden because dOn'T bE sO sElFisH yOu'Re KiLlInG gRaNnY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Rte news said travel within Ireland might be possible in August

August

Bloody jokeshop

Fann Linn wrote: »
    How far away are ye living from her, I ask because from my experience I've been stopped only once, and that was this day three weeks ago despite driving daily as an 'essential worker'. And only a few weeks ago my neighbour drove from here in the Midlands to Wicklow with his son to buy a car and they werent stopped either way.

Outside of bank holidays I'd say you'd be grand.

I'm in Dún Laoghaire and she is in the cc. The problem is I don't drive so I'm afraid public transport will be checked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,050 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I'm in Dún Laoghaire and she is in the cc. The problem is I don't drive so I'm afraid public transport will be checked

Hop on the bus with a load of shopping bags and you'll be grand. Shopping is allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

I'd say there's definitely somewhere between Dun Laoghaire and town than falls within 5 km from you both.

You can try measure it out for yourself here: https://www.maps.ie/draw-radius-circle-map/

KrustyUCC wrote: »

August

Bloody jokeshop

That's a complete sham. Country being run by overly conservative doctors with politicians following them blindly so they don't get blowback from the lockdown merchant electorate.

Next they'll be banning drink and sweats and anything considered mildly unhealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Does that mean I can drive 5km to go somewhere interesting to exercise?

No would be my guess unless you walk there

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Hop on the bus with a load of shopping bags and you'll be grand. Shopping is allowed.

I was thinking of doing this but then I saw that the guards turned someone back because the parcel motel they were going to was over 2km https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1255957627110031371

they would probably ask why am I not going to closer shops

But in saying this I will have to take the chance because it's not possible to stay apart this long

No would be my guess unless you walk there

I wouldn't last walking 2km as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭SweetCaliber

I was thinking of doing this but then I saw that the guards turned someone back because the parcel motel they were going to was over 2km https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1255957627110031371

But in saying this I will have to take the chance because it's not possible to stay apart this long

Tweet is unavailable.

Parcel Motel I would of thought was essential, I've been through a few checkpoints getting stuff from them and returning stuff and never had a problem.

If thats the case then post offices should be closed too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,947 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

August

Bloody jokeshop

As if anyone is going to comply with that ffs. And rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 840 ✭✭✭setanta1984

August

Bloody jokeshop

That report suggested that hotels etc. wouldn't even be open by then.

How on earth can they justify something like that when Spain of all places plans on having hotels, restaurants, cinemas and theatres all open to a certain degree before the end of May?! https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52459034
    Italy of all places will have bars and restaurants open on June 1, all shops museums and libraries by 18 May?! https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-52435273

Not to mention all the other countries who plan on being even further along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If the potential spread of the virus was a slow as Boards is for the last day or so we'd be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Is this website running slow for anyone else? Painful to use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

easypazz wrote: »
    And walking with members of your household is lethal for spreading it too.

Always getting the last, usually snide, word in. Go you.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

And good for them. They obviously value their physical and psychological welbeing over the dubious advice of "experts" who have got us into this mess.

The virus has us in this mess .

People never happy. 1st the older people in nursing homes not protected enough now government getting slated for saying over 70,s can go out when they are trying to protect them by putting some restrictions in place

No one wants to live like this but we have to do as advised or this will get out of hand. If there is a surge people on social media will go to town on government and hse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Ellie1988

Walk there? I drove 10km to and from liffey valley today and there wasnt a guard to be seen...and this is the Friday of a bank holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ellie1988 wrote: »
    Walk there? I drove 10km to and from liffey valley today and there wasnt a guard to be seen...and this is the Friday of a bank holiday.

Must have been for M+S or Boots, everything else is locked down. But hey off you go no worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Ellie1988 wrote: »

I know a fella who drove a 160km round trip yesterday as part of his job. He was stopped six times.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

August

Bloody jokeshop

That'll mean you'd have to have hotels, B&Bs and basically the whole hospitality sector back up and running.

It's going to be the slowest reopening in Europe without a doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Ellie1988

Must have been for M+S or Boots, everything else is locked down. But hey off you go no worries.

Tesco thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Huge Tesco open in Liffey Valley

aidoh wrote: »
    I'd say there's definitely somewhere between Dun Laoghaire and town than falls within 5 km from you both.

You can try measure it out for yourself here: https://www.maps.ie/draw-radius-circle-map/

How does that work? I plugged in my location and drew a radius of 5km and it brings me to a park really close to the city but when I search the park on google maps it show up as being 10km away??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,151 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

growleaves wrote: »
    Arghus has said he thinks the lockdowns prevented millions of deaths.

Even though no medical expert now believes that (the ones who originally predicted millions of deaths revised their predictions downward by multiples.)

I wonder how many will put 'Lockdown' under Religion on the census form?

Even with severe lockdowns across the globe there's 250K deaths worldwide so far, which are confirmed deaths and are only a partial picture.

Without lockdowns a death toll in the low millions at this stage worldwide would have been quite possible.

You pulled this ludicrously high figure of 400 million out of your bum the last day and claimed that everyone arguing in favour of lockdowns was claiming there would be that many dead.

I'm still waiting for some news source that has a government figure or policy maker quoting this figure to justify the lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The news have a lot to answer for. Even today, claiming that 34 more people have died from COVID. That's just not reporting the facts, they are people who died that tested positive for COVID.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"