Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Nah. Definitely far right with their racism and links to far right racists and fascists like Justin Barrett and Grand Torino.

Its just something topical to wave their stick at. I should have kept one of her leaflets for MEP election sent around last time she went for it. The amount of things she has a target set on. Their is no one political agenda. She is bashing everything.

You should read the article again so, because the DPP was involved before he was arrested.

2 articles for starters. The first covers 76 arrests so I'm unsure who it is that you refer to. The drug dealer? I assure you he was arrested, detained and questioned then released for a file to be sent to the dpp at which point he was arrested for the purpose of charging. Seriously buddy, you do not know the legal system and need to stop pretending.

The second article is the commissioner himself explaining the system. Read it.

Hey I know, I'll quote from the article to help you out;

"The number of people arrested for suspected breaches of the Covid-19 regulations has more than doubled in the past week.

Gardaí said 76 people were arrested for failing to comply with gardaí policing the pandemic, while other legislation was used in 760 cases."

You see the two important parts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Why? There is a chance that serious questions will be asked if this economic scorched earth policy was worth it all because of a seasonal bout of flu.

Seasonal bout of flu....

You absolute plonker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

I don't mock Gemma. I continuously highlight that she is an authoritarian hatemongering bully peddling extreme far right hate against Migrants, Refugees, LGBT people, Muslims, Politicians, Journalists, Gardai, Disability campaigners as well bat**** conspiracy theories about chemtrails and 5g and vaccines and covid/christchurch being fake. She claims to support free speech while bullying and threatening and censoring anyone who ever counters her speech and regularly threatens journalists/Gardai/Politicians they will be sacked stripped of pensions and uniform.

I never mock her. I highlight that she is an extreme hate mongering fascist bully.

Other than that she's sound ;)

I never realised John Walters was a biteen tapped though. I suppose the Eurovision adversely affected him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Its just something topical to wave their stick at. I should have kept one of her leaflets for MEP election sent around last time she went for it. The amount of things she has a target set on. Their is no one political agenda. She is bashing everything.
    Bullsh it her leaflets were explicitly anti migrant and racist AKA far right. Not really sure why you are trying to deny she is far right.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

Bullsh it her leaflets were explicitly anti migrant and racist AKA far right.

Spot on. She and and the Anti-'corruption' party ran a video campaign showing a few cameraphone vids of black youths involved in skirmishes, implying they were illegal immigrants and troublemakers. No worse than white Irish youths might have been doing, about the time of the height of trouble in Drogheda, plus many of those black kids could be Irish citizens. The best thing to do with her and her supporters is to ignore them and stop giving them oxygen and hits on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭trashcan

Other than that she's sound ;)

I never realised John Walters was a biteen tapped though. I suppose the Eurovision adversely affected him :D

Oh Christ, I had forgotten about the Eurovision. He could have been arrested for that alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭valor rorghulis

Lot of time for JW think he's mistaken associating with that clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

The way she spoke to that Garda almost made me vomit. Patronising and churlish.

She's from another planet if she thinks that she's representing 'The People of Ireland" with that carry on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Maybe he didn't leave Ireland after the abortion vote so he could hook up with Gemma :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

The way she spoke to that Garda almost made me vomit. Patronising and churlish.

She's from another planet if she thinks that she's representing 'The People of Ireland" with that carry on.

Would you have any sympathy for her at all. Even if it is her own doing, her life must be complete mystery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,223 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

JW has been a clown in his own right now for quite some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Arghus wrote: »
    JW has been a clown in his own right now for quite some time.

A clown maybe, but he hasn't shown the same level of nastiness and vitriol as Gemma, and actually wrote some good articles back in the day before he went to crazytown. No doubt Waters lost credibility over the years but he has taken it to a new low now by being so closely associated with this idiot. He can't expect to be taken seriously ever again.

Gemma O'Doherty, on the other hand, is one of those people for whom life needs an 'ignore' button for everything she says or does. She deserves to be ignored into obscurity, but stunts like this will always get her the attention she craves. Seems to just hate everyone and everything, a really horrible person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,223 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

aidan24326 wrote: »
    A clown maybe, but he hasn't shown the same level of nastiness and vitriol as Gemma, and actually wrote some good articles back in the day before he went to crazytown. No doubt Waters lost credibility over the years but he has taken it to a new low now by being so closely associated with this idiot. He can't expect to be taken seriously ever again.

Gemma O'Doherty, on the other hand, is one of those people for whom life needs an 'ignore' button for everything she says or does. She deserves to be ignored into obscurity, but stunts like this will always get her the attention she craves. Seems to just hate everyone and everything, a really horrible person.

Okay, that's fair. I think JW might be ill-informed and misguided, but I would agree he's nowhere near as plainly nasty a piece of work as Gemma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Is it his dislike of gays or wanting to stop women having control of their own bodies that adhere him to you? Both maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Is it his dislike of gays or wanting to stop women having control of their own bodies that adhere him to you? Both maybe?

Maybe that’s why he gets on so well with Gemma. She has no control over her body or mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

2 articles for starters. The first covers 76 arrests so I'm unsure who it is that you refer to. The drug dealer? I assure you he was arrested, detained and questioned then released for a file to be sent to the dpp at which point he was arrested for the purpose of charging. Seriously buddy, you do not know the legal system and need to stop pretending.

The second article is the commissioner himself explaining the system. Read it.

Hey I know, I'll quote from the article to help you out;

"The number of people arrested for suspected breaches of the Covid-19 regulations has more than doubled in the past week.

Gardaí said 76 people were arrested for failing to comply with gardaí policing the pandemic, while other legislation was used in 760 cases."

You see the two important parts?

At what stage of the process involving the drug dealers arrest, detention and question were you involved in?

It’s pretty clear what’s happening with this legislation, the Gardaí are using it as a last resort, and trying to get offenders of it under any other legislation first, even though the reason they are stopping people is for this legislation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

JW looks like that alcoholic uncle you have at a wedding, one foot in the grave from drink and fags, never looks like he is actually washed....always grabs the mike for a speech and makes a foot of himself

Not sure why anyone would have “a lot of time for him “.....looks as big a gonsh*t as the other one

At what stage of the process involving the drug dealers arrest, detention and question were you involved in?

It’s pretty clear what’s happening with this legislation, the Gardaí are using it as a last resort, and trying to get offenders of it under any other legislation first, even though the reason they are stopping people is for this legislation.

It's getting very hard not to play the player here but I'll try.

A, none. But many many cases over the years. I know how the dpp, Gardai and misuse if drugs act 1977/84 mix. What experience and training are you relying upon?

B, Gardai are operating within the system. The system is of course that Gardai seek voluntary compliance first. Also happens in drugs act, public order act and mental health act to name a few where arrest is not the first option.

Now, as I have one again answered all your questions, will you have the decency to address the issues raised concerning your original point?

76 people arrested, power of arrest exists and had been utilised. People are arrested without the dpp granting permission.

Also still waiting to hear YOUR argument as to why the law is unsound.

You have been proven wrong without any doubt. Accept it, admit it and we can move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Gemma o Doherty was stopped at a covid-19 checkpoint on the quays in Dublin recently and was very unhappy about it,

She threw out lines that she was speaking for the Irish people and said the guard would be stripped off her uniform and pension because they had no right to ask her reason for travel

Personally I didn't know much of Gemma before this incident and I didn't really care for her, but after watching the video that she posted herself, I'm disgusted at the behavior she had towards the guard.

So get the popcorn and have a look here at the video and share your thoughts after, personally I would've been happy to see the guard pull her from the car and throw her in the liffey but that's just me !

https://youtu.be/87CpYKvBYyw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

tragic stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭whippet

there is a multitude of threads about this degenerate - no need to start another one .. she has been reported to GSOC so fingers crossed she gets her comeuppance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Embarrassed for her that she believes she is important enough for a guard to know her. The woman sounds like she has had a mental breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Baymax2020

Should have given her a ticket and points for holding the phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

It echoes what a lot of people are saying here about the restrictions not been lifted and Friday and how they will react.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭LeYouth

Didn't she try to expose a lot of corruption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Stupid bitch hope she dies screaming.

That'll close this thread :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Bullsh it her leaflets were explicitly anti migrant and racist AKA far right. Not really sure why you are trying to deny she is far right.

Yet she expected to get their money to build houses here and give away to the public. She had socialist agendas too. Which is on the left.

Gemma seems to have an affinity for checkpoints. Undoubtedly receives word on the vine, and makes towards the nearest one like a heat-seeking missile. Dial up the outrage and activite video cam. Some rabble about "we the people of Ireland..." as she nominates herself as national spokesperson. The "mentally ill" argument is a duffer, she possesses too much awareness for that. Only a petty narcissist looking to draw attention to herself by whatever means necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭Tandey

LeYouth wrote: »
    Didn't she try to expose a lot of corruption.

No it’s the yoke that thinks the government killed Veronica Guerin and the yoke that got fired from her journalist job.