Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Waters & Gemma O'Doherty to challenge lockdown in the high Court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,491 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

They're neither right, nor left, nor centre.

They've an old stick used to mix up fresh paint from the can, that they are stirring sh!te with now, becuase they cant go buy paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

You may not understand how the judicial system and prosecutions work in this country.

You may not understand how spin and PR works. The powers that be are making a very public attempt to convince the public that this legislation is working, workable and enforceable when it clearly isnt. Their hope is that it will get past this bank holiday weekend before falling asunder.

Tell me more about this judicial system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

CosmicFool wrote: »
    He didn't push her though. She turned around and fell back into the barrier. They're all idiots being there so close to each other. I can't understand how the Gardai won't arrest them. They are clearly not abiding to social Distances and don't need to be there

Arrest them? That’s exactly what these clowns want. The Garda are right, let them at it....

Too many idiots around with mobiles, you arrest them and next thing you will get more supporters just because they hate the Garda, like that clown over in Findlay, the PBP d**khead. Same crap and then all over the press

Let them at it, what they have about 50 clowns at it and about 50 pres? The press are bigger gob****s

I did see one thing which they got right, pres guy asking why they had no masks and standing so close....he had no mask and was pushing up against people to get closer!!!!! Dopes all of them
    Including the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,247 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Pataman

You may not understand how spin and PR works. The powers that be are making a very public attempt to convince the public that this legislation is working, workable and enforceable when it clearly isnt. Their hope is that it will get past this bank holiday weekend before falling asunder.

The legislation is working as have flattened the curve massively, but dont worry about the truth or facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Gardaí may (or may not) arrest, and may refer matters to the Director of Public Prosecutions. The DPP decides whether or not to prosecute.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭Long_Wave

People mock Gemma and John now but in 6 months time, if there's no jobs and no dole people will think differently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Long_Wave wrote: »
    People mock Gemma and John now but in 6 months time, if there's no jobs and no dole people will think differently

The goverment are considering removing jobseekers allowance?

Why?

I'll still be mocking their self-serving idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Gemma and John the few brave Irish standing up

They will be remembered

We salute you

Tiocaidh ar La

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Why?
    I'll still regard the pair of them as utter self-serving scum.
    If the economy tanks it will be a disaster but so what - it will recover. We will have managed to keep the deaths lower than would have otherwise been had we let the likes of god and jw got their delusional way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

Palmach wrote: »
    And the powers given to the Guards are simply wide ranging to cover Covid 19. I have seen Guards stopping people from fishing even though there is no one be near them.

How did they get there? You can't have people fishing because other people will see them doing it and just ignore all the restrictions because they've been let off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Why?
    Why? There is a chance that serious questions will be asked if this economic scorched earth policy was worth it all because of a seasonal bout of flu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Me neither, no legal background, but it’s strange that the Gardai are directed not to make arrests for this just to inform the DPP. That kicks the can down the road far enough, it’s possible that an arrest under incorrect legislation could lead to ramifications against the state.

Maybe someone can answer how this legislation has been brought into effect without a Seanad having approved it.

And just to be clear, it’s the technicality of the legislation that I’m dubious of, not the purpose of it, i fully understand and accept the purpose of it.

The Seanad DID approve the legislation. It sat on March 20th and March 27th.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,058 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Why? There is a chance that serious questions will be asked if this economic scorched earth policy was worth it all because of a seasonal bout of flu.
    Oh grow up! :rolleyes:

Who is going to ask them?

It not like Gemma or that crwe will be affected, unless they reduce the social of couse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

They will be remembered

We salute you

Tiocaidh ar La

you could at least spell it correctly.

A flippant attitude with over a thousand fatalities in this country already.

They're neither right, nor left, nor centre.

They've an old stick used to mix up fresh paint from the can, that they are stirring sh!te with now, becuase they cant go buy paint.

Nah. Definitely far right with their racism and links to far right racists and fascists like Justin Barrett and Grand Torino.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

They will be remembered

We salute you

Tiocaidh ar La

They are "standing up" unlike the thousands who are sick with Corona virus and thankfully because of the decency of ordinary Irish people who realise the seriousness of this situation and are quarantining, we are on the way to beating this virus.

Pair of utter muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

This is probably the best tweet I've seen all year 😂😂😂

Will you ever cop on to yourself. Its nothing like the flu. Its many times more virulent and may cause long term damage to the lungs, even after recovery.

Who has been arrested? Link.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0428/1135264-covid19-coronavirus-border/

I will again point out that you don't know the system. Someone found with 5 million euro worth of drugs is arrested long before the dpp become involved.

Gardai consult with the dpp before CHARGING someone for an offence. So off that high horse.

Way to move the goalposts in an attempt to retain credibility. The regulations working is not the argument you made, you said about Gardai arresting people.

So, we are a common law legal system. Adopted primarily from the British legal system. We still use common law offences but also statutory instruments. A prime example would be murder and assault. Murder remains a common law crime, assault is under the offences against the person act 1997. Just examples.

Gardai have powers of arrest. Primarily 3 types. Gardai can arrest using an arrest warrant, without warrant where a set act grants a power of arrest for a certain offence or for any offence which carries a possible sentence in excess of 5 years. They are called 'arrestable offenses'.

There are two methods of prosecution. Summery or indictable. Some offences are summery only which usually but not always, carry no power of arrest. Simple possession of drugs for example.

Then there's indictable which carries a power of arrest and finally, hybrid offences which can go both ways.

Last up you have the dpp. The dpp decide who will be charged and prosecuted but that's only after a person is arrested and usually, an investigation file sent to them. There are however exceptions known as 'blanket approval'. In those cases Gardai can arrest, charge and prosecute cases themselves without the dpp or chief state solicitor.

In this particular case, dpp consent is required as can be confirmed direct from the commissioner himself when stated "As per Garda policy in relation to the regulations, in all cases where arrests were made under the regulations, members of An Garda Síochána consulted with the Director of Public Prosecutions on the decision to charge."
    (https://www.thesun.ie/news/5370653/coronavirus-ireland-gardai-used-covid-19-emergency-legislation-76-times/)

You are wrong. Be a grown up and accept it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭Infini

God I despise these attention whores theres a perfectly valid reason for the lockdown but these regressive idiots are doing this challenge purely for attention, to get oxygen for their delusions and to draw out the ignorant and foolish into their little games. The "supporters" they have are the same ones all into BS like 5G conspiracies and great replacement, utter idiots of the highest order not interested in anything but shouting louder than everyone else.

They're malicious feckers, god I wish they'd just ban the 2 of them from all forms of social media for spreading malignent misinformation it would really starve these 2 out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭shaveAbullock

Infini wrote: »
    God I despise these attention whores theres a perfectly valid reason for the lockdown but these regressive idiots are doing this challenge purely for attention, to get oxygen for their delusions and to draw out the ignorant and foolish into their little games.

They're malicious feckers, god I wish they'd just ban the 2 of them from all forms lf social media for spreading malignent misinformation it would really starve these 2 out.

Out of interest how much money do you think they are making with their current stunts compared to the salary of a reasonably well know journalist.

Would be nice if someone were able to dig out the info on them likely their support is coming from parts of the US as alot of that conspiracy crap originates from there.

I don't mock Gemma. I continuously highlight that she is an authoritarian hatemongering bully peddling extreme far right hate against Migrants, Refugees, LGBT people, Muslims, Politicians, Journalists, Gardai, Disability campaigners as well bat**** conspiracy theories about chemtrails and 5g and vaccines and covid/christchurch being fake. She claims to support free speech while bullying and threatening and censoring anyone who ever counters her speech and regularly threatens journalists/Gardai/Politicians they will be sacked stripped of pensions and uniform.

I never mock her. I highlight that she is an extreme hate mongering fascist bully.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0428/1135264-covid19-coronavirus-border/

I will again point out that you don't know the system. Someone found with 5 million euro worth of drugs is arrested long before the dpp become involved.

Gardai consult with the dpp before CHARGING someone for an offence. So off that high horse.

Way to move the goalposts in an attempt to retain credibility. The regulations working is not the argument you made, you said about Gardai arresting people.

So, we are a common law legal system. Adopted primarily from the British legal system. We still use common law offences but also statutory instruments. A prime example would be murder and assault. Murder remains a common law crime, assault is under the offences against the person act 1997. Just examples.

Gardai have powers of arrest. Primarily 3 types. Gardai can arrest using an arrest warrant, without warrant where a set act grants a power of arrest for a certain offence or for any offence which carries a possible sentence in excess of 5 years. They are called 'arrestable offenses'.

There are two methods of prosecution. Summery or indictable. Some offences are summery only which usually but not always, carry no power of arrest. Simple possession of drugs for example.

Then there's indictable which carries a power of arrest and finally, hybrid offences which can go both ways.

Last up you have the dpp. The dpp decide who will be charged and prosecuted but that's only after a person is arrested and usually, an investigation file sent to them. There are however exceptions known as 'blanket approval'. In those cases Gardai can arrest, charge and prosecute cases themselves without the dpp or chief state solicitor.

In this particular case, dpp consent is required as can be confirmed direct from the commissioner himself when stated "As per Garda policy in relation to the regulations, in all cases where arrests were made under the regulations, members of An Garda Síochána consulted with the Director of Public Prosecutions on the decision to charge."
    (https://www.thesun.ie/news/5370653/coronavirus-ireland-gardai-used-covid-19-emergency-legislation-76-times/)

You are wrong. Be a grown up and accept it.

You should read the article again so, because the DPP was involved before he was arrested.

I don't mock Gemma. I continuously highlight that she is an authoritarian hatemongering bully peddling extreme far right hate against Migrants, Refugees, LGBT people, Muslims, Politicians, Journalists, Gardai, Disability campaigners as well bat**** conspiracy theories about chemtrails and 5g and vaccines and covid/christchurch being fake. She claims to support free speech while bullying and threatening and censoring anyone who ever counters her speech and regularly threatens journalists/Gardai/Politicians they will be sacked stripped of pensions and uniform.

I never mock her. I highlight that she is an extreme hate mongering fascist bully.

To be fair the likes of her aren't really suitable to be mocked rather they're to be despised and reviled for the twisted individuals they are, purveyor's of bullshít and spreaders of malice and malignant misinformation, it's only because of the explosion in the unregulated use of social media that they're able to get the attention and platform to spread their lies, if they were to have their acccounts terminated and posts deleted from the like's of twitter and facebook for spreading misinformation it would really blunt their ability to spread their malicious shíte.