Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I think part of the problem is they don’t know how to reopen the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭boring accountant

hmmm wrote: »
    No-one is arguing masks don't help to block droplets. What the issues are is:
    1. Supplies of scarce PPE being diverted from those who need it
    2. Badly used masks are more dangerous than no mask (people touching their faces)
    3. False confidence with mask wearers that they are invulnerable
    4. Panic amongst people looking to get masks

Masks are a distraction and make a minor impact. If we could get people to wash their hands properly, and social distance properly, it's significantly more important than masks.

If you can’t trust someone to wear a mask properly how can you trust them to wash their hands properly or follow any other the other guidelines? Face it, you’ve been sold a pup. I believed the mask lie for a few days as well and feel like a right fool for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,019 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

There is an uprising after all.

Just saw on Facebook theres a "End The Lockdown Now" group created :pac:

Its going about aswell as could be expected anti-vaxxers and Americans are already vocal and a fair few jokes at their expense are already slipping past the mods.

Its public so ya can just read it for fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

RugbyLad11 wrote: »
    Germany is doing well but yet they still felt the need to bring in the mask policy, so what do that tell you? The Germans didn't bring the mask policy in for fun, they are much more efficient than our government so I would trust them a hell of a lot more than ours

Not really challenging my point: Germay has been managing the virus up until now without masks. What happens when the bring in masks is soething we won't know for at least a week or two.

Lyle wrote: »
    German R0 has gone back up to 1 or above 1 from 0.7 a few days after restriction easing so we have to wait a while longer to get a more complete picture of other countries' scenarios.

The decisions to bring in masks was made a week ago when it was still 0.7.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

is_that_so wrote: »
    TBF some of this adverse reaction has been brought on by journalists telling us with great certainty what hasn't been decided yet.

The same journalists who can rarely get the story right even after it has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,147 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

What a load of crap lol

The government have been briefing front line workers this morning on Leos speech Friday and the changes proposed

Exactly same as the leak to the Indo

Convenient how they always leak in the lead up to a deadline

They have known well in advance that they have always wanted another extension

Just softening up people now

Can't believe a word from Holohan and de Gascun about decisions not being made yet

Infection rate rising again in Germany after relaxations in some states, R moves back to 1, which means the virus is becoming more mobile again.

https://amp.dw.com/en/coronavirus-latest-transmission-rate-rises-in-germany/a-53264933?__twitter_impression=true

As I said in the other thread the WHO has warned countries not to lift restrictions early because they face a 'doom loop' of having to reimpose tougher restrictions.

This is far worse a trap for society and the economy.

We must avoid this fate ourselves.

Its going to rise no matter when we open up...unless we literally wait until we have 0 cases which isn't going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

AdamD wrote: »
    Its going to rise no matter when we open up...unless we literally wait until we have 0 cases which isn't going to happen.

Wuhan did it and have 0 cases now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

If the headline in the Independent is true today, I'm going to seriously question what the agenda of the people in charge is currently.

1. Why are the restrictions being extended when the outbreaks are in nursing and care homes now?
    2. How does the government propose we come back out of lockdown and why delay this for another two weeks when the R0 is already below one? We will never have the testing capacity being bandied around in the last few days.
    3. What is the governments plan to compensate the thousands upon thousands of jobs that will be lost in the tourism and hospitality sector in the coming weeks? Where will this money come from?
    4. What is the governments plan re paying for MASS UNEMPLOYMENT which will be severely worsened by their decision to extend restrictions. Where is the incentive for people to return to work, plan for the future, will there even be a job waiting for them?
    5. Does this government and its doctors have any clue where they are taking us?
    6. In years to come, who will have to answer for the severe medical, pshychological, and mental health damage extending this lockdown will have on children in particular and the wider population.
    7. How many more people are going to die of cancer and other conditions as a result of this decision should they take it.
    I know people waiting for vital tests, eg. colonoscopy, etc., none of these are being done. MADNESS.

Get real. Theres is no fracking agenda. It's an unprecedented pandemic.

Which restrictions exactly are being extended? You got that from the Indo?

Care homes? You do know that there are cases outside the care homes as well? That care home staff travel to and from care homes to the general community yeah? That infection in the community can be carried to care homes by workers etc?

The R0 is currently below 1 precisely because people are limiting their movements. Ditch that and the RO rate climbs. It really not that hard to work out ffs.

You want compensated for losing your job? Would you also like compensated for being dead or medically incapacitated as well? Or should compensate the person you unwittingly spread the infection to?

News for you. Because of the pandemic - the World is about to enter into a significant recession. Will things get better? Yes they will.

You do know that the current situation is dynamic yes? That the disease doesnt come with a roadmap and an a instructional manual. That medical experts here are trying their best for everyone. Not just a small subset of spoilt me feiners yes?

What is sure is that the pandemic will cause health problems- both physical and mental for years to come for those who are infected, those in the frontline and those who have loved ones who die. There are no answers.

Yes we are approx 7 weeks into the response to the current pandemic - where hospitals had to shift into emergency mode. With many of those most at risk including cancer patients being kept away from hospitals in the short term. No it's not fuking ideal. Then neither is these people or anyone else catching and dying of the virus.

Fuking UNBELIEVABLE

Because every week we get given mixed messages from the dept of health, hse, cmo etc.

At the start Simon Harris said these restrictions shouldn't be longer than 4 weeks as it wont be possible to keep discipline. If they add another 2 weeks on now, that's 8 weeks of restrictions.

I hope they have a clear plan on Friday but so far they've just kept kicking the can down the road. Like I've said people need to be given something to aim towards.

They know that they need to ease restrictions next Monday or it will start to break down. As you have pointed out, they said so themselves. So, let's wait and see what they say on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

Not really challenging my point: Germay has been managing the virus up until now without masks. What happens when the bring in masks is soething we won't know for at least a week or two.

The decisions to bring in masks was made a week ago when it was still 0.7.

My point is if Germany has been managing the virus up until now without masks why did they feel the need to make masks mandatory?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I haven't seen my partner in over 6 weeks and if there is 0 change in the restrictions on the 5th I'll still have to see my partner.

I live in near Dun Laoghaire and my partner is in city center. Would I be able to get away with going to city center for food shopping, let's say I want to go to one of the food specialist shops such as the Middle eastern supermarket...

Just get the bus or Dart in.
    Just back from city (had to do a bit of essential work-had letter) and was sharing the bus both ways with one other.
    No checks made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Gael23 wrote: »

Useful indeed, but irresponsible headline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭alwald

Just get the bus or Dart in.
    Just back from city (had to do a bit of essential work-had letter) and was sharing the bus both ways with one other.
    No checks made.

I agree that buses are empty, hardly anyone on them...the city must feel weird being totally empty.

gozunda wrote: »
    Ah you mean the qualified eejits telling us all 'we all have to live with it" and damn the consequences?

Grand so ...

Please don't tell me what I mean. There are a great many experts in the country available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

alwald wrote: »

Wuhan had a much stricter lockdown though. Nobody allowed to leave their apartment etc. Here some people take the piss and go clothes shopping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Ohh ffs are we really believing the numbers from China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

My point is if Germany has been managing the virus up until now without masks why did they feel the need to make masks mandatory?

No idea. Why didn't they do it back in March?

My point wasn't that masks do nothing; my point was that there was no consistent causational link between counteis that handle the virus and contries that wear masks.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

"Taoiseach said to be in listening mode."

Seriously Leo, time to put on the big boy pants and start doing the job you're being handsomely remunerated to do.

Make a fcuking decision and no more kicking the can down the road for another few weeks.

Agree he should make a decision but surely he has to listen first and then decide?

No idea. Why didn't they do it back in March?

My point wasn't that masks do nothing; my point was that there was no consistent causational link between counteis that handle the virus and contries that wear masks.

There was a global shortage of masks in March, also March was almost 2 months ago maybe they collected a lot of data since then to show that masks are needed?

polesheep wrote: »
    They know that they need to ease restrictions next Monday or it will start to break down. As you have pointed out, they said so themselves. So, let's wait and see what they say on Friday.

Rumours are outdoor workers ....... builders and landscaping/gardening work etc.
    It'd be a start, pubs and restaurants are a non runner, restaurants want so many things done to facilitate them opening safely the numbers will not work so them opening now or in July won't make much difference IMO.

Cafes can already open for takeaways, so too can chippers etc.

Iirc construction workers are almost 10% of who have been put out of work, if 100k can go back to work next week that'd be a start.

Childcare, schools etc won't be part of the initial easing IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Watch my Video above of how to use a facemask..

This is exactly what your not meant to do...

Screenshot-20200428-145838.jpg

If Leo the doctor doesn't know how to do it so why do people think the general population does. He's at a testing center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Useful indeed, but irresponsible headline.

What's irresponsible about it? *confused face*

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Businesses are adapting. They may not make the profits that they were making but there is still business to be done. The shop workers in the supermarkets are great.
    People are out exercising etc. There can be a lot more activity even within the social distancing restrictions. People will comply but gob****es like the Waters and Doherty supporters should be dealt with as well as Travellers who think they are beyond the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

alwald wrote: »

Lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Gael23 wrote: »
    We were told that the R0 going below 1 was what we needed to do to get these restrictions lifted. Now the government need to keep their side of the bargain

Really - Have you a source for your claim?

You may need to realise that he virus doesn't 'bargain' with anyone ...

Watch my Video above of how to use a facemask..

This is exactly what your not meant to do...

Screenshot-20200428-145838.jpg

If Leo the doctor doesn't know how to do it so why do people think the general population does. He's at a testing center.

Do you seriously think he was testing people with the mask down around his neck? He obviously took it down to get his face in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Because they have opened shops and stuff back up even hairdressers.

Also there are examples in Germany where a number of cities have done their own thing for a number of weeks already, namely Jena & Rostock. And their own thing was make masks mandatory in shops & public transport etc. And it appears they are going really well with that. Jena hasn't had a single newly infected reported case in well over a week now I read.

I don't believe for a minute there is another reason for the anti mask spiel but the scarcity of masks. Which is far enough. If there was a risk you couldn't get masks for medical staff because everyone else is mopping them up then you wouldn't advocate masks for the public.

But anyone I read about who has done well with corvid there were masks involved.

Not that I'm keen on wearing masks but if it opened possibilities to get going again maybe we just put up with them for a while no?

Edit Jena reported as of last Wednesday 13 days without a new reported case. Rostock the same. Jena has about a population of 100,000, Rostock twice that.