hmmm wrote: » No-one is arguing masks don't help to block droplets. What the issues are is: 1. Supplies of scarce PPE being diverted from those who need it 2. Badly used masks are more dangerous than no mask (people touching their faces) 3. False confidence with mask wearers that they are invulnerable 4. Panic amongst people looking to get masks Masks are a distraction and make a minor impact. If we could get people to wash their hands properly, and social distance properly, it's significantly more important than masks.
RugbyLad11 wrote: » Germany is doing well but yet they still felt the need to bring in the mask policy, so what do that tell you? The Germans didn't bring the mask policy in for fun, they are much more efficient than our government so I would trust them a hell of a lot more than ours
Lyle wrote: » German R0 has gone back up to 1 or above 1 from 0.7 a few days after restriction easing so we have to wait a while longer to get a more complete picture of other countries' scenarios.
is_that_so wrote: » TBF some of this adverse reaction has been brought on by journalists telling us with great certainty what hasn't been decided yet.
stephenjmcd wrote: » https://twitter.com/MichealLehane/status/1255113194441449473?s=19
Kermit.de.frog wrote: » Infection rate rising again in Germany after relaxations in some states, R moves back to 1, which means the virus is becoming more mobile again.https://amp.dw.com/en/coronavirus-latest-transmission-rate-rises-in-germany/a-53264933?__twitter_impression=true As I said in the other thread the WHO has warned countries not to lift restrictions early because they face a 'doom loop' of having to reimpose tougher restrictions. This is far worse a trap for society and the economy. We must avoid this fate ourselves.
AdamD wrote: » Its going to rise no matter when we open up...unless we literally wait until we have 0 cases which isn't going to happen.
CruelSummer wrote: » If the headline in the Independent is true today, I'm going to seriously question what the agenda of the people in charge is currently. 1. Why are the restrictions being extended when the outbreaks are in nursing and care homes now? 2. How does the government propose we come back out of lockdown and why delay this for another two weeks when the R0 is already below one? We will never have the testing capacity being bandied around in the last few days. 3. What is the governments plan to compensate the thousands upon thousands of jobs that will be lost in the tourism and hospitality sector in the coming weeks? Where will this money come from? 4. What is the governments plan re paying for MASS UNEMPLOYMENT which will be severely worsened by their decision to extend restrictions. Where is the incentive for people to return to work, plan for the future, will there even be a job waiting for them? 5. Does this government and its doctors have any clue where they are taking us? 6. In years to come, who will have to answer for the severe medical, pshychological, and mental health damage extending this lockdown will have on children in particular and the wider population. 7. How many more people are going to die of cancer and other conditions as a result of this decision should they take it. I know people waiting for vital tests, eg. colonoscopy, etc., none of these are being done. MADNESS.
stephenjmcd wrote: » Because every week we get given mixed messages from the dept of health, hse, cmo etc. At the start Simon Harris said these restrictions shouldn't be longer than 4 weeks as it wont be possible to keep discipline. If they add another 2 weeks on now, that's 8 weeks of restrictions. I hope they have a clear plan on Friday but so far they've just kept kicking the can down the road. Like I've said people need to be given something to aim towards.
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » Not really challenging my point: Germay has been managing the virus up until now without masks. What happens when the bring in masks is soething we won't know for at least a week or two. The decisions to bring in masks was made a week ago when it was still 0.7.
RugbyLad11 wrote: » I haven't seen my partner in over 6 weeks and if there is 0 change in the restrictions on the 5th I'll still have to see my partner. I live in near Dun Laoghaire and my partner is in city center. Would I be able to get away with going to city center for food shopping, let's say I want to go to one of the food specialist shops such as the Middle eastern supermarket...
Gael23 wrote: » Useful readhttps://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0428/1135355-covid-19-nphet-restrictions/
normanoffside wrote: » Just get the bus or Dart in. Just back from city (had to do a bit of essential work-had letter) and was sharing the bus both ways with one other. No checks made.
gozunda wrote: » Ah you mean the qualified eejits telling us all 'we all have to live with it" and damn the consequences? Grand so ...
alwald wrote: » Wuhan did it and have 0 cases now.
RugbyLad11 wrote: » My point is if Germany has been managing the virus up until now without masks why did they feel the need to make masks mandatory?
facehugger99 wrote: » "Taoiseach said to be in listening mode." Seriously Leo, time to put on the big boy pants and start doing the job you're being handsomely remunerated to do. Make a fcuking decision and no more kicking the can down the road for another few weeks.
Princess Consuela Bananahammock wrote: » No idea. Why didn't they do it back in March? My point wasn't that masks do nothing; my point was that there was no consistent causational link between counteis that handle the virus and contries that wear masks.
polesheep wrote: » They know that they need to ease restrictions next Monday or it will start to break down. As you have pointed out, they said so themselves. So, let's wait and see what they say on Friday.
What Username Guidelines wrote: » Useful indeed, but irresponsible headline.
Gael23 wrote: » We were told that the R0 going below 1 was what we needed to do to get these restrictions lifted. Now the government need to keep their side of the bargain
drunkmonkey wrote: » Watch my Video above of how to use a facemask.. This is exactly what your not meant to do... If Leo the doctor doesn't know how to do it so why do people think the general population does. He's at a testing center.