Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Now I'm not disagreeing with you its difficult, but both VFI and LVA are in discussions with dept of health as to how they can implement government policy and looks to be clear engagement there. So it'll be interesting to see what comes out of those discussions

People will adapt, pubs will have whatsapp groups for people to reserve tables etc.

There will be apps to raise red flags and kick off tracing etc.

People will learn to live with the new reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭The Belly

kippy wrote: »
    Because the 2 meter restriction/rule is a key factor in reducing the spread of the virus. It's not going away anytime soon and if people don't adhere to it, whatever restrictions are lifted, the numbers WILL increase again*
    Assuming no vacine has been administered etc etc

Corona lives on plastic for 3 weeks. Unless your in a space suit and walk through a decontamination unit each time you step in and out of tesco your probably exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,031 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

The Belly wrote: »
    If it goes through the summer there wont be a pub left

There will.

I saw people saying that they know of cafe owners who are not going to open but for every one of these, (and I'm not being flippant about the realities of being able to get through this time with zero revenue) there will be someone who sees the opportunity that may come after this when people rush towards pubs/cafes.

If the general anecdotal message tone was that people were not finding themselves missing the pub so much, then I think this could be problematic as to their long term security, but we haven't really heard that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭RugbyLad11

I expect you are going to be seriously disappointed!

All of these are open in China

Not possible in supermarkets either, but.

Or hair salons.

Or dentists

Or prostitutes

Or garda drink driving checkpoints.

List is endless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

I mean, you dont have to take the posters word for it, would the CMOs be enough to convince you when he said the same?

Is that not deflection? I'm asking the poster a relevant question relating to their comment or do you not want that for some reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Food is essential for people’s survival, beer isn’t.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

Do not trust the lockdown merchants on here
    They enjoy this lockdown, the economic fallout does not affect them
    They are made up primarily of Public sector employees mainly teachers
    These people do not want to go back to work and are being paid full whack to sit on their bottom
    These people would sleep on the floor if there was work in the bed
    Public sector employees genuinely believe there is something special about them
    You wait, as these people are told go back they will kick up a stink especially teachers

There will.

I saw people saying that they know of cafe owners who are not going to open but for every one of these, (and I'm not being flippant about the realities of being able to get through this time with zero revenue) there will be someone who sees the opportunity that may come after this when people rush towards pubs/cafes.

If the general anecdotal message tone was that people were not finding themselves missing the pub so much, then I think this could be problematic as to their long term security, but we haven't really heard that.

Dont mind pubs any service thats cannot provide 100% of their service online online cannot survive more then a few months as cash flow will be gone. Can a dentist deal with a patient on zoom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭GazzaL

Benimar wrote: »

Off licences are categorised as essential businesses, so our Government/HSE must think it is :confused: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

His point still kind of stands though regarding social distancing in supermarkets, I've been in the queue for a few local supermarkets recently and social distance is perfect outside everyone keeping to the markings on the path, once you get inside it's a free for all until you reach the checkout where the markings are on the floor again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The Belly wrote: »
    Corona lives on plastic for 3 weeks. Unless your in a space suit and walk through a decontamination unit each time you step in and out of tesco your probably exposed.
    That wasn't the argument. The point raised was the two metre physical distance, which can be observed in Tesco (generally)
    If you think it can be observed in pubs without any issues then fire away.

His point still kind of stands though. I've been in the queue for a few local supermarkets recently and social distance is perfect outside everyone keeping to the markings on the path, once you get inside it's a free for all

And smaller shops don't have anybody at the door.

Weather has been good, having people outside lidl for 2 hours in November won't cut it.

His point still kind of stands though. I've been in the queue for a few local supermarkets recently and social distance is perfect outside everyone keeping to the markings on the path, once you get inside it's a free for all

And that is exactly why pubs won’t open! People shopping in a supermarket (where the vast majority are sober, I’d hope!) can’t be trusted to keep social distance. What chance of it happening when lads have a skinful of pints in them?

You've obviously not been in a supermarket lately or understand the differences between a pub and a supermarket, which seems to be an issue a few people on this thread have. This is worrying and exactly why people need to be told what to do, unfortunately.

That wasn't the argument. The point raised was the two metre physical distance, which can be observed in Tesco (generally)
    If you think it can be observed in pubs without any issues then fire away.

How will they manage it in schools in September?

easypazz wrote: »
    People will adapt, pubs will have whatsapp groups for people to reserve tables etc.

There will be apps to raise red flags and kick off tracing etc.

People will learn to live with the new reality.

People will adapt and learn to live with whatever reality is ahead of us - no doubt. But it will take time and there's more than WhatApp groups to reserve tables in pubs that is needed to get pubs open any time soon.

easypazz wrote: »
    How will they manage it in schools in September?

Personally, I don't see schools opening (at least fully in they way they were in early March) in September - but don't say that too loudly.
    That in itself will have major repercussions for everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

GazzaL wrote: »
    I was in what is normally one of the most overcrowded A&Es, it was deserted. All the doctors and nurses I was chatting to said the same thing. It's actually a great time to go there because you won't be facing the usual long waiting times. You further confirm my earlier post that the pro-lockdown minority seemingly have no awareness of what's going on outside their homes in the real world.

The virus isn't going to disappear if we stay in lockdown for a "few more weeks". We need to live with it and get on with our lives.

So you weren't all over the hospital? And you have no idea how staff and / or resources were being directed towards treating Covid-19 patients and away from other areas?

So what you're saying you were in AE (a few times?) And thats it? Doesn't seem like a very comprehensive survey to be fair.

A question: A re you a medical expert regarding your opinion about the virus? Why should I take any randomers opinion that "we need to live with it"?

How do you think thats going to work when flu season hits in or god forbid the fuking thing develops a nastier strain which starts killing kids or even young adults in large numbers.

Imho we simply do not have the information available to us to make such overarching blanket statements at this point The alternative - I hear you say? I have no freaking idea. Let's hope there is one where this doesnt turn into a runaway pandemic which will cripple people and economies in equal measure.

People will adapt and learn to live with whatever reality is ahead of us - no doubt. But it will take time and there's more than WhatApp groups to reserve tables in pubs that is needed to get pubs open any time soon.

Of course they will:rolleyes:

2 metre distancing on trains, darts, buses, taxi, schools?

No chance.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

So here's one - for those of us who can't drive, how are we going to learn to drive as we'd need to be in close proximity to a professional instructor? There's going to be cases like this where social distancing cannot be done so there'll need to be plans to work around it.

His point still kind of stands though regarding social distancing in supermarkets, I've been in the queue for a few local supermarkets recently and social distance is perfect outside everyone keeping to the markings on the path, once you get inside it's a free for all until you reach the checkout where the markings are on the floor again.

Look,
    if you cannot see the massive differences between a pub and a shop/supermarket I'm not going to be able to explain it to you, nor is anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

ixoy wrote: »
    So here's one - for those of us who can't drive, how are we going to learn to drive as we'd need to be in close proximity to a professional instructor? There's going to be cases like this where social distancing cannot be done so there'll need to be plans to work around it.

Everyone just has to get used to wearing masks when out in public. Its fairly obvious that they greatly reduce transmission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,155 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The doctor on Claire Byrne summed it up quite well.

The schools closed on March 12th, when we had 70 confirmed cases and 1 death. And there was a high degree of compliance with the measures across society.

Despite that we've still had 20,000 infections and over 1100 deaths - and that's with all our efforts.

How can they even be talking about lifting restrictions?

GazzaL wrote: »
    Off licences are categorised as essential businesses, so our Government/HSE must think it is :confused: :pac:

They are open to stop the supermarkets being over run. They also, last time I checked, had no ‘drink in ‘ option.

Personally, I don't see schools opening (at least fully in they way they were in early March) in September - but don't say that too loudly.
    That in itself will have major repercussions for everything else.

The 2 metre rule is unworkable.

Add most sports to the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Ironhead93

Thanks be to jaysus

ixoy wrote: »

cant be done under current plans either you accept that there is a chance or they come up with a quick test that anyone can use and give results in seconds like a blood suger meter.

They are open to stop the supermarkets being over run. They also, last time I checked, had no ‘drink in ‘ option.

Why not close all off licences, including supermarket ones?