Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

fritzelly wrote: »
    You made a claim that was wrong - end of story

Nope.

You seem to be looking for an argument... best of luck with that! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Tony EH wrote: »
    Stop lying.
    I honestly think he's just misunderstanding because his viewpoint is tipped too far in the favour of the "WHO promotes Chinese agenda" narrative.

Tell me, if China is the one controlling that narrative, do you think our response is commensurate with the "realities" of this virus, as you regard them?

Should we be locking down or is it a Chinese plot to topple capitalism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,812 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

s1ippy wrote: »
    I honestly think he's just misunderstanding because his viewpoint is tipped too far in the favour of the "WHO promotes Chinese agenda" narrative.

Either tobefrank321 has some reading comprehension problems, or (more than likely) is looking just to push a particular narrative. One that isn't borne out by the facts.

Either way, the "WHO promotes Chinese agenda" is bunkum, to be kind about it. I don't think the WHO seeks to promote any nation's agenda. It wouldn't serve them any real purpose.
    Tell me, if China is the one controlling that narrative, do you think our response is commensurate with the "realities" of this virus, as you regard them?

At the beginning of January, China was controlling information. They were they only ones that had first hand experience as it was their country where the outbreak was. So, the actual data they provided was all that there was. It wasn't only the WHO that had to listen to them, it was everyone else too.

Only when the WHO could get actual boots on the ground in Wuhan, could they go about discerning for themselves what was going on and that only happened after the Chinese authorities allowed a team of theirs into the country on February 9th.

It's certainly not a Chinese plot to topple capitalism. Whatever China is in the modern day, it's not about toppling capitalism...something that it's benefited from for over two decades now.

As for "locking down", I don't know. I cannot see people just taking to an actual lock down (we aren't in one at present, despite what some people think). But if people continue to keep disregarding advice about staying put for a while, stronger measures may be put in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭holliehobbie

owlbethere wrote: »
    Vitamin K2 is supposed to help with blood clotting. Vitamin k2 can be found in green leafy vegetables.

When someone gets flu they are generally too unwell to eat and keep down food. My understanding of aches and pains experienced during a flu is that, is body is drawing nutrients from anywhere in the body to keep functioning and keep going.

It wouldn't be any harm to be prepared with a multivitamin that contains the vitamin k2.

If people are dying from blood clots in their lungs vitamin K2 is the worst vitamin to take as it 'thickens' the blood making it more likely to clot! Vitamin D taken with magnesium supplements would be the ones to take. Nearly everyone in Ireland has inadequate levels of VitD especially after winter. Magnesium helps with the absorption of VitD similar to vitC helping with absorption of iron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

The development of accurate diagnostic testing takes time. It is not easy or straightforward. Especially for a previously unknown virus.

There have been many comments, not only here, suggesting that tests should be quick, available to evryone, easy to use, easy to acquire, cheap to buy etc.
    Any test claiming to be any of these will be unreliable moneymaking scam.

Antibody tests will try to measure the amount of IgG produced in response to being exposed to SARS CoV 2.

Some barriers to developing an accurate test would include, but not limited to:
    - False positivity to the presence of other Coronavirus
    - Interference from any medication the patient is on
    - Interference from medication from patients with autoimmune conditions
    - False negativity from those on immunosuppressants
    - Blood sample interferences from haemolysis, lipaemia, icterus (how red, cloudy or jaundiced the blood sample is)
    - False reactivity from Biotin (a vitamin that patients may be taking or may be in cosmetics) This reacts will a lot of immunoassays.

The test will give you a numerical result, but then how do you interpret it.

Then there had to be a value set as to what will be considered a negative or positive result.
    What will be the titre that determines the clinical significance of the result.
    >100mmol/l, >500mmol/l, >1000mmol/l??

There are so many elements to developing a reliable assay. It is anything but easy.

Absolutely agree there are a lot of variables. 99.9% of posters on here have no idea what they are actually talking about, they wouldn’t know an immunoassay if it fell out of the sky and hit them on the fúcking head.

People bang on about unreliable Antibody tests, that’s true a lot of these finger prick tests are unreliable. Especially those from China that UK and Spain had their pants pulled down over, I think I remember reading about some Irish firm made something similar..... reality is IMO these are just rubbish.

The finger prick tests takes full blood sample, ie normal red blood and you are trying to get it to react to some sort of reagent in a bag or in a stick test a bit like like pissing on a home pregnancy test or an on the spot drug screen test. It’s hard to get an Antibody reaction in those conditions, hormones and chemicals is much easier.

Testing serum is better, it refines the sample. You wouldn’t put crude oil in a high performance car, you have to refine the oil into high octane petrol to get the best result.

most Immunoassay uses Chemiluminescent or Electrochemiluminescence which is very sensitive, and fortunately when it comes to developing assays you don’t necessarily have to completely reinvent the wheel you just need to nail the particular antibody. The analysers, research, experience etc is already there but as Martina says there are lots of variables and it usually takes years of studies and correlations to get it through FDA approval which is the yardstick.

Obviously any test for Covid will have to have an EUA as it won’t be fully FDA approved but at the moment there’s no other choice, will these work for immunity passports etc? Who knows every day is a test day but my belief is that most of these IVD companies been doing this for years they will bring out improvements as they go along.
    jackboy wrote: »
    There is progress being made though. There is a company launching a test in the next few weeks.

Abbott released their IgG serology test last week for the Architect platform. RD have a Total antibody assay detects both IgM and IgG coming out in May for the Es. Diasorin and Beckman have something in the pipeline too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,170 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

owlbethere wrote: »
    Vitamin K2 is supposed to help with blood clotting. Vitamin k2 can be found in green leafy vegetables.

When someone gets flu they are generally too unwell to eat and keep down food. My understanding of aches and pains experienced during a flu is that, is body is drawing nutrients from anywhere in the body to keep functioning and keep going.

It wouldn't be any harm to be prepared with a multivitamin that contains the vitamin k2.

This is not good advice, for so many reasons, and this is not influenza.

People should discuss these things with their doctors and not take the word of Dr. owlbethere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Cases in Sweden are higher than its Nordic neighbours but similar to Irelands deaths per capita, but cases are increasing massively right now in Sweden and they are not in Ireland, we are worse than the USA and Portugal for deaths per capita and better than the Netherlands, who will succeed with getting herd immunity at the lowest number of deaths ?

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭jackboy

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Abbott released their IgG serology test last week for the Architect platform. RD have a Total antibody assay detects both IgM and IgG coming out in May for the Es. Diasorin and Beckman have something in the pipeline too.

Do you think there is a good chance some of these may be useful?

I know the FDA are desperate to get at least one of these on the market and are working with the companies to fast track the approval process. The FDA may approve one of these over the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

ZX7R wrote: »
    To be fair there has been very mixed messages and press releases coming out today.
    Latest I read from our minister for health
    No big bang of relaxing of recommendations come the 5th,
    But he didn't say there would not be.
    So I say for now construction and associated firm's will be back.

Don't know how your making that assumption in fairness the only consistent advice has been from the CMO stay indoors don't get complacent or all the good work weve done will quickly be undone. On the other side our governments message has completely fallen apart the last 2 weeks or so why I have no idea its all over the place.

Unless theres a redoubling of efforts by people in the next 9 days not to act like idiots and just assume everythings grand and break the restrictions then the CMO will advise restrictions remain in place and who will be to blame for that us because we suddenly got bored sitting on our arses and decided feck that.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

Cases in Sweden are higher than its Nordic neighbours but similar to Irelands deaths per capita, but cases are increasing massively right now in Sweden and they are not in Ireland, we are worse than the USA and Portugal for deaths per capita and better than the Netherlands, who will succeed with getting herd immunity at the lowest number of deaths ?

Immunity for other coronaviruses lasts months to a couple of years tops. Its very unlikely we ll ever develop herd immunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

shinzon wrote: »
    Don't know how your making that assumption in fairness the only consistent advice has been from the CMO stay indoors don't get complacent or all the good work weve done will quickly be undone. On the other side our governments message has completely fallen apart the last 2 weeks or so why I have no idea its all over the place.

Unless theres a redoubling of efforts by people in the next 9 days not to act like idiots and just assume everythings grand and break the restrictions then the CMO will advise restrictions remain in place and who will be to blame for that us because we suddenly got bored sitting on our arses and decided feck that.

Shin

It down to working, it went from the NPHET would not recommend,to Dr Nolan saying it's of my opinion
    Classic PR at work now.
    If you have been following updates for example from rte instead of a new article realised it's an update on the exciting article.
    Slide of hand tactics , the narrative sounds the same but the wording paints a different picture.

Yet again it must be repeated that the death counts by country are more or less useless because countries are not all using the same criteria. As for herd immunity, it's very existence has yet to be proven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

The development of accurate diagnostic testing takes time. It is not easy or straightforward. Especially for a previously unknown virus.

There have been many comments, not only here, suggesting that tests should be quick, available to evryone, easy to use, easy to acquire, cheap to buy etc.
    Any test claiming to be any of these will be unreliable moneymaking scam.

Antibody tests will try to measure the amount of IgG produced in response to being exposed to SARS CoV 2.

Some barriers to developing an accurate test would include, but not limited to:
    - False positivity to the presence of other Coronavirus
    - Interference from any medication the patient is on
    - Interference from medication from patients with autoimmune conditions
    - False negativity from those on immunosuppressants
    - Blood sample interferences from haemolysis, lipaemia, icterus (how red, cloudy or jaundiced the blood sample is)
    - False reactivity from Biotin (a vitamin that patients may be taking or may be in cosmetics) This reacts will a lot of immunoassays.

The test will give you a numerical result, but then how do you interpret it.

Then there had to be a value set as to what will be considered a negative or positive result.
    What will be the titre that determines the clinical significance of the result.
    >100mmol/l, >500mmol/l, >1000mmol/l??

There are so many elements to developing a reliable assay. It is anything but easy.

Very interesting, Martina! Thanks for this information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Well, that’s not really misunderstanding then. That’s wilfully not wanting to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭schmoo2k

Jim_Hodge wrote: »
    Yet again it must be repeated that the death counts by country are more or less useless because countries are not all using the same criteria. As for herd immunity, it's very existence has yet to be proven.

While true it is about the most comparable stat we have (and I think Sweden and Ireland have similar reporting methodologies for example?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,517 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Do people actually think life is going on as normal in Sweden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭frillyleaf

Do people think they’ll relax the restrictions on the 5th or are we in this for another week? I would think before restrictions are lifted at all that we will have to start wearing masks in public.

People are getting fed up and complacent now. CMO was spot on in the time frame of placing restrictions as his timeline for this fatigue has been accurate.

I think overall it is being handled very well apart from the lack of travel restrictions and support to nursing homes. Hopefully lessons will be learned from this and we can start opening up 5th May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

CNN doing a piece on Japan right now. Seems the Japs are in a spot of bother going by this report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Dominic Raab on the Andrew Marr show this morning said the UK are only counting hospital deaths because it makes international comparisons easier. You couldn't make it up.

It's not a competition but the UK govt obviously see it that way.

He also didn't dispute Andrew Marr's assertion that the number of death in the UK are double the reported figure i.e. over 40k.

read the first line again, cases in Sweden are higher than their Nordic neighbours

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,517 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

joe_99 wrote: »
    Dominic Raab on the Andrew Marr show this morning said the UK are only counting hospital deaths because it makes international comparisons easier. You couldn't make it up.

He also didn't dispute Andrew Marr's assertion that the number of death in the UK are double the reported figure i.e. over 40k.

Lies and politics.

Bozo went for the stiff upper lip method of combating a pandemic and almost got himself killed.

It has been an absolute car crash, but true to form the Tory's will lie and cheat and deflect instead of holding their hands up.

read the first line again, cases in Sweden are higher than their Nordic neighbours

So? Read the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

frillyleaf wrote: »
    Do people think they’ll relax the restrictions on the 5th or are we in this for another week? I would think before restrictions are lifted at all that we will have to start wearing masks in public.

People are getting fed up and complacent now. CMO was spot on in the time frame of placing restrictions as his timeline for this fatigue has been accurate.

I think overall it is being handled very well apart from the lack of travel restrictions and support to nursing homes. Hopefully lessons will be learned from this and we can start opening up 5th May

If they learned any lessons, we wont be opening up on May 5th. It hasn't been handled well, we were too slow to react.

So? Read the rest.

so the fact that cases in Sweden are higher than their Nordic neighbours is a point you missed

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭ek motor

Boggles wrote: »
    Do people actually think life is going on as normal in Sweden?

Things are bad in Sweden:

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/apr/19/anger-in-sweden-as-elderly-pay-price-for-coronavirus-strategy

so the fact that cases in Sweden are higher than their Nordic neighbours is a point you missed

I missed nothing. The tenet of the piece was death rate and herd immunity. But, move on, life's too short for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

ek motor wrote: »

hardly, similar or worse stories in every country that has far more extreme containment measures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

I have some questions... perhaps some of the more 'connected' here could provide some answers.

I know that this is a new virus and that there are a lot of unknowns, so it is inevitable that mistakes have been made in the public health response of the crisis looking retrospectively. But that does not excuse the 'powers that be' from veering away from what is international best practice now.

There appear to be many decision making bodies in Ireland dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic NPHET, HSE, DOH, CMO and the politicians. The latter 4 usually say that their decisions are based on advice from one of the other bodies. It's a kind of civil service round robin, so that no one can be readily identified as the one who actually made the decision.

I am still very unclear as to who has the final decision making power...

(1) Where does the buck stop ?

(2) Who is to be held accountable for some of the more questionable decisions ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,012 ✭✭✭✭bilston

joe_99 wrote: »

Rather than seeing it as a competition surely it is more likely they want to be able to compare themselves to other countries so they can figure out what works in some countries and what doesn't in others?

The UK get a lot of stick on this MB for only counting hospital deaths. What do the majority of other countries do? Not a loaded question, I genuinely don't know the answer. I know Ireland counts all deaths, but it might be harder to collate all those stats in a bigger country on a daily basis?

I missed nothing. The tenet of the piece was death rate and herd immunity. But, move on, life's too short for this.

you chose to focus on one part not the other, move on

Dundalk, Co. Louth