Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Garda Checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Irish are allowed enter the country and travel home.

And you seem confused by my stance on this issue.

They have no home as such so shouldn't have been allowed leave the port....

If they could prove they had an address to go to them this could be an ideal situation for customs and revenue and cab to work together and seize assets if can't be proven how they could afford to buy....

"Gardai turned back cars who tried to travel over 12km because shopping queues in a closer town were "too long".

Motorists were looking to drive from Newbridge to Naas in Co Kildare.

However, they were turned back by officers at a checkpoint in the town on Wednesday, as their journey was not essential."

(https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/terrible-excuses-gardai-been-given-21908914)

Turned back because the reason to travel further was not essential. Simple as. Gardai can she have turned people back from going to the shop if choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

If the pharmacy in your town has poxy stock and expectation is it wouldn't have exactly what you need then going to that pharmacy is a wasted journey where the one in the next town would have what you need, especially if you have to q up at your local one and risk exposure while waiting.

If there are 5 pharmacies in your town that would be a hard one to argue

They have no home as such so shouldn't have been allowed leave the port....

If they could prove they had an address to go to them this could be an ideal situation for customs and revenue and cab to work together and seize assets if can't be proven how they could afford to buy....

Two parts here.

A, if they have no home they are homeless. How do you enforce a travel restriction on someone that's not set in a certain place? Tricky but my opinion would be that they are Irish and having entered the state, were allowed travel to where they intend to stay. I'm not aware of a restriction in that regard.

B, indeed it would. Maybe they have. Maybe they will. Nothing to do with this thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Yesterday was like normal times going around. Loads of traffic, any car park at a shop was packed and people going around in groups everywhere. The retail park at Tesco in Maynooth looked like it was the Saturday before Christmas.
    There’s been too much good news the past few days and people have stopped giving a ****, so we definitely need more checks and the Gardai to come down like a ton of bricks on everyone.
    Have to agree with this. The crowds in and around our local park this morning are ridiculous. Cars pulling up and families getting out for a wander or a picnic, or to catch up with friends who they just happen to meet my accident. There are Gardaí everywhere but it seems like nothing is being enforced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,910 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

At a 3 lane checkpoint on the way to Naas about 2 weeks ago there were at least ten trailers/mobile homes being towed by boyos in white vans and they - unlike many others - were not being automatically told to turn around . Passed a high crime prosecution itinerant ‘camp’ last week - they were racing their sulkys up and down the 3 lane road outside the camp - not a gaurd in sight despite a huge local garda station & it in close proximity to a big shopping centre. Same place this week had half their caravans gone - they are definately being let move around and do what they want - same **** as usual.
    Problem with the likes of a checkpoint is where do you send them ‘home’ to? It was at the ferry port they should have been turned around.

fullstop wrote: »
    Have to agree with this. The crowds in and around our local park this morning are ridiculous. Cars pulling up and families getting out for a wander or a picnic, or to catch up with friends who they just happen to meet my accident. There are Gardaí everywhere but it seems like nothing is being enforced.

It’s been on the wane since the Bank Holiday but the latter half of this past week just points to them giving up altogether on enforcing this. Shows how many people are absolute scumbags too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Irish are allowed enter the country and travel home.

And you seem confused by my stance on this issue.

The Curragh is not their home so why did Garda allowed them to travel there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

That's all your opinion based on nothing. It's not based on the wording of the law.

It's a better opinion of the law than yours with all due respect
    The law does not go into specifics for a reason
    I can tell you,a guard interpreting that law as you can go to supervalu and not lidl in the same town and expects his/her instruction to stand up in court would be mistaken
    The law does not state that specific instruction
    Any Garda with a leaf of experience would agree with me
    I did come across one telling a young lad to go home when bringing a trailer of cattle to an out farm
    He called the sergeant who over ruled the young inexperienced Garda in that instance
    The law needs to be enforced for all our good but not time wastingly courts wise or in such a way as to lessen public good will with pedantry

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

scwazrh wrote: »
    Because they're a protected species, the Guards would face opposition up to possible violence, social distancing would be impossible and the courts would likely set them free, again, and the outspoken bleeding hearts would be out in force in the media. Again. Would you go into such a camp and try to force them to leave? I wouldn't.

Never mind that as Irish citizens they can't be stopped at the borders, or quarantined or tracked even if they were each hacking up a lung, because the Irish authorities in government are about as much use as tits on a bull and this crisis has shown that on quite a few levels. As it stands I could come in from abroad, again hacking up a lung, with a positive test result in my back pocket and walk straight into a supermarket. Self quarantine is advisory. As far as I'm aware there's no legal reason to stop me doing those things.

I do not blame the Guards on this. Their hands are essentially tied and they figure all they can practically do is keep some sort of eye on them. Quite simply it's easier, safer and better to try and enforce the law elsewhere. Sad state of affairs, but true. And bugger all politicians want to touch that ridiculous state of affairs with a bargepole.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,773 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

See if you can get a couple of photos of the lads with their muscly physique over the weekend.

Glad to see we are agreed that some cyclists can be selfish tossers with a sense of entitlement. And no I wont be taking photos of them but they are back out again today hill climbing in the mountains in numbers. Like yourself they just dont get that we are in a public health emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,068 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Right, so your changing the scenario now. You said you needed to return a product. Now it's that the product ran out and needs replenishing.

Read it back again, I’m talking about the general scenario rather than one singular, nothing about ME, read it back to yourself again.. . :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭statto25

Gardai all over Mayo today. Really stepped it up a couple of notches today interviewing people getting off trains and multiple checkpoints

The checkpoints have gotten extremely scarce I've noticed all during the week and even today....

Not seeing anything like the few weeks previous to that.....

Even yesterday on the N11 at faseroe there was oy a few there and they were oy stopping random cars but were still having a look at the discs in the windscreen....

The checkpoints have gotten extremely scarce I've noticed all during the week and even today....

Not seeing anything like the few weeks previous to that.....

They’ll be back next weekend- I guarantee you ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Two things will make people ignore the Law. Complacency & thinking the law is stupid. If a Garda tells you to do something, that doesn't make sense just because it's the law or their interpretation of it, you will obey, turn back & find another way.

The law is very flexible & relies on Garda discretion. If, after this, it's found that Gardai were over zealous the Oireachtas won't allow similar powers again.

A friend, who owns a Garden Centre, has already spoken to his solicitor concerning Gardai refusing to allow people to travel to his legally open shop. And before someone questions the opening, he has a letter from his solicitor & the Gardai confirming that he can legally open.

Discodog wrote: »
    Two things will make people ignore the Law. Complacency & thinking the law is stupid. If a Garda tells you to do something, that doesn't make sense just because it's the law or their interpretation of it, you will obey, turn back & find another way.

The law is very flexible & relies on Garda discretion. If, after this, it's found that Gardai were over zealous the Oireachtas won't allow similar powers again.

A friend, who owns a Garden Centre, has already spoken to his solicitor concerning Gardai refusing to allow people to travel to his legally open shop. And before someone questions the opening, he has a letter from his solicitor & the Gardai confirming that he can legally open.

Doesn’t mean he should be open though. Despicable behaviour really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

scwazrh wrote: »

You could make that same argument about literally anywhere in the country, they have to go somewhere, like it or not.

Doesn’t mean he should be open though. Despicable behaviour really.

Why ? He is rigorously enforcing distancing & people are at less risk than at their local supermarket. If garden centres shouldn't open why are they on the Essentials list ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭scwazrh

TheChizler wrote: »
    You could make that same argument about literally anywhere in the country, they have to go somewhere, like it or not.

They have to have an address somewhere for van registration, insurance , social welfare payments . Their home certainly isn’t the nice grassy area that the rest of are not allowed visit

They’ll be back next weekend- I guarantee you ;)

Oh I understand that but it seems to be very lax now which is poor seen as there are so many extra Gardai in....

Obviously there are random checks of course but I'm seeing a lot less presence also as in vehicles and foot patrol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,923 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Oh I understand that but it seems to be very lax now which is poor seen as there are so many extra Gardai in....

Obviously there are random checks of course but I'm seeing a lot less presence also as in vehicles and foot patrol....

But that's just you're personal experience based on the area you live in. Doesn't it mean it can be applied nationwide.

I've driven the car 4 times since the lockdown began. Twice I happened upon a checkpoint. Once was two weeks ago, the other was yesterday. But that logic I could suggest that they have checkpoints out a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,247 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Discodog wrote: »

Is your mates garden centre around dublin, you dont have to name it here but I could use a few bits. PM me if it is.

I absolutely am in favour of the restrictions and completely understand why most of it is necessary but the DIY stores and garden centres being closed even if engaging in people limits and distancing is madness imo.

But that's just you're personal experience based on the area you live in. Doesn't it mean it can be applied nationwide.

I've driven the car 4 times since the lockdown began. Twice I happened upon a checkpoint. Once was two weeks ago, the other was yesterday. But that logic I could suggest that they have checkpoints out a lot.

I'm on the road all day/night depending on my shift, just telling what I'm seeing the past week is much more lax to weeks previous, where there were checkpoints all over the place, getting stopped to and from work and then at work numerous times going through them....

Dublin city and surrounding areas had more then I've ever seen and this has definitely lowered....

I cross 3 counties and that's even quieter imo.

Is your mates garden centre around dublin, you dont have to name it here but I could use a few bits. PM me if it is.

I absolutely am in favour of the restrictions and completely understand why most of it is necessary but the DIY stores and garden centres being closed even if engaging in people limits and distancing is madness imo.

Sorry Galway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,278 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I'm in and out of work daily; went days and days without anything after the Easter weekend ended without even seeing one (one of my routes to work would often see one further along a road I was legitimately turning off anyway) - but hit two yesterday.

Branded vehicle for an allowed service gets waved through or some joking chat at most. Was swapped to that to save money versus mileage and its probably been the most useful thing my employer has ever done!

I worked nights the last 2 nights, stopped both nights on the way to work, once yesterday on the way home & twice this morning on my way home.
    Dublin City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Saw an idiot at a checkpoint yesterday absolutely berating a Garda (His wife and child with him). He wanted to cycle further on up the road and the Garda was trying to explain the 2km limit. The clown was hurling abuse. Should have been locked up.

I'm just happy that you used the word have instead of the word of.

JL555 wrote: »
    I'm just happy that you used the word have instead of the word of.

Innit bruv