If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chitchat 10/10- Now VIRUS-FREE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Anyone ever invest in trees with the company below??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Wheres the best place to get ibc tanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭straight

marathon wrote: »

NO THANKS.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//showthread.php?p=110041316

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,329 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Where can scallion seeds be got ? My mother gave me a list of all she wanted and can't get scallion seeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

whelan2 wrote: »
    6 weeks since kids were at school. Seems ages ago since they went to school

And in our case 17 school days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Where can scallion seeds be got ? My mother gave me a list of all she wanted and can't get scallion seeds.

Thegardenshop.ie should have them.

https://www.thegardenshop.ie/scallion-seeds/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I just put out 10 l/ha, but I know of some who put it out at 25l/ha if that's any good to you. I'm no expert, just feeling my way.

Would you have any idea what the perfect carbon : nitrogen ratio of a fertilizer should be?

Compost is 20:1
    Microbes themselves are 8:1

So would 8:1 sound right and that leaves nitrogen available to the plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,623 ✭✭✭✭Water John

naughto wrote: »

Depends where you are. You'd have to get them fairly local. Got a few used food grade ones via a third party, €50 each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Probably Done Deal. But check out the seller's other adds to see who you're dealing with first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Probably Done Deal. But check out the seller's other adds to see who you're dealing with first.

No flies on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

straight wrote: »

Cheers that makes my mind up 100%ðŸ‘ðŸ‘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

marathon wrote: »

There was a fund similar to that one that was sold last year. Check out the forestry forum, I think the thread is called 'the third forestry fund'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Make sure and get food grade if used for storing water fof cattle.

Better living everyone

If I can get my hands on two it I'll be for oil

Label it as teat spray and hope any would be thieves would assume thats what it is.

Better living everyone

Label it as teat spray and hope any would be thieves would assume thats what it is.

A shotgun I find works wonders

Were relying on our wits to save us down these parts still.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,329 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Thegardenshop.ie should have them.

https://www.thegardenshop.ie/scallion-seeds/
    Out of stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭emaherx

_Brian wrote: »
    I must look at those, we did a power and electricity project here last week and I made the kit out of stuff I had hoarded in the shed.

7-E68-F109-D37-B-4457-A096-BC894-BB1-B68-A.jpg

Generating electricity from an old motor to light a bulb.

kids had great craic making this yesterday, Arts and crafts and tech in the one lesson. (Even more craic trying to play Mario Bros. with it after)

49813142582_04f27fd111_z.jpgIMG_20200423_152904 by Emaherx, on Flickr

49812296568_0d8dc828e6_z.jpgIMG_20200423_144707 by Emaherx, on Flickr

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

emaherx wrote: »
    kids had great craic making this yesterday, Arts and crafts and tech in the one lesson. (Even more craic trying to play Mario Bros. with it after)

The poor dog in the background is very dejected looking.

jimmy G M wrote: »

The poor dog in the background is very dejected looking.

Thats why I love this forum..... lads always look at the background :pac:
    she gets like that when they are all inside.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

Out of stock

Seems to be common to a lot of places now. People who never grow anything are givining it ago and the likes of scallions are probably popular for small plots.

Noticed the same with baking stuff too. flour and yeast are in short supply in some shops.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,375 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Clear herd test thank god. Vet was an hour late but when it’s clear I don’t mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

Clear herd test thank god. Vet was an hour late but when it’s clear I don’t mind.

Same here thank god. Now if the bullocks hadn’t got into the grass seeds straight after it would have been a great morning altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

TheFarrier wrote: »
    Same here thank god. Now if the bullocks hadn’t got into the grass seeds straight after it would have been a great morning altogether

Great. Nice to have the relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

Just reading about this on the Irish Times, who in their right mind would allow a 14 year old to drive a big powerful tractor or any other piece of machinery for that matter. There needs to be a big crack down on this by the HSA/Gardai, maybe doing spot checks on farms etc. I have two nephews aged 13 and 15 who live on my brother's farm, no way in the world would they be allowed to even sit in the cab of the tractor while it's being driven by my brother never mind being allowed to drive it themselves. Lunancy of the highest order.

We have cuckoo back again, they came back here last year after being absent for maybe 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

We have cuckoo back again, they came back here last year after being absent for maybe 20 years.

Heard one here in our garden this morning, first time in many years also, great to hear.

Was in garden centre earlier getting bedding plants for the mother.

Guards came in and checked on their social distancing work. They are running a tight ship but are only open because they sell fuel and dog food.
    The guard said “but everybody here is buying flowers”, the owner said, go down to Tesco and they are allowed sell flowers and compost.

Guard agreed and headed off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Was in garden centre earlier getting bedding plants for the mother.

Guards came in and checked on their social distancing work. They are running a tight ship but are only open because they sell fuel and dog food.
    The guard said “but everybody here is buying flowers”, the owner said, go down to Tesco and they are allowed sell flowers and compost.

Guard agreed and headed off.

Some Yoke probably reported that shop
    Meanwhile, heard of the first death of someone I knew of coronovirus today
    Used do some work here years ago
    Mid 40's