Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,102 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

We have to give up on this vaccine idea, it's a pipe dream, should grandparents never be allowed within 2 meters of their grandchildren again, should the over 70's never be allowed a normal life, will kids not be allowed play together, were in 1984 and a lot of people are wishing it stays that way. There are severe mental health issues with these people and I wonder if they ever knew what it was like to be free, I'm assuming there mainly city dwellers living in cramped isolation most of their lives and the social to them is media. Sad, sad people.

The vulnerable people will have the choice to go out any take their chances. They have the choice to take their chances now as cocooning is only advised for those groups. They will just have to accept that they are at high risk of contracting the disease and dying as a result.

Their choices are to either stay cocooning at low risk of death or to go out with a higher risk of death. And it is a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

VonLuck wrote: »
    That would be very short notice for businesses to reopen, if that turns out to be one of the reduced measures.

Bushiness have already being told to open, I am involved with 3 vendors and all are going back on site this Thursday or next Monday. Its reduced staff but its a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,886 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

It can't if it's surpressed, what can is the likes of the Government allowing people through our borders with no forced isolation under lock and key for a month. Keelings and the UK traveller convoy the other day have shown how limp wristed they are when it comes to stopping the spread. They literally have undone all our efforts, the guards look like a shower of sheep farmers afraid to tackle the wolves. The travellers have already told them to go f themselves and their lockdown the rest of us won't be far behind.

Keelings crowd are living in isolation right now.

costacorta wrote: »
    May 4th I presume a state of the nation address

It'll be the Friday before the Bank Holiday I'm guessing. Gives proper notice and we'll get a general timeline of what's to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SNNUS

I really don't understand the whole we must lock down until vaccine.. A vaccine is just a possibility not a certainty and would be years off. Plan A cannot go on indefinitely, We have to live with the virus for now and the future guidelines should reflect this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭facehugger99

We have to give up on this vaccine idea, it's a pipe dream, should grandparents never be allowed within 2 meters of their grandchildren again, should the over 70's never be allowed a normal life, will kids not be allowed play together, were in 1984 and a lot of people are wishing it stays that way. There are severe mental health issues with these people and I wonder if they ever knew what it was like to be free, I'm assuming there mainly city dwellers living in cramped isolation most of their lives and the social to them is media. Sad, sad people.

The phrase 'misery loves company' is very apt.

These past few weeks has really been an eye-opener at the amount of people with absolutely nothing of value on their lives, constantly logged onto social media and braying for tighter and tighter lockdowns.

They need to realise the rest of us are not going to live in their fear-caves with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,844 ✭✭✭Nermal

Idbatterim wrote: »
    But what about Italy and their staggering 12% mortality rate?

He should have ended the interview at this point, he was clearly being interviewed by a simpleton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

It's amazing after so many weeks into the restrictions that people still don't know why the measures are in place.

No wonder we have so many people saying to end the lockdown ASAP!

People do realise what the lockdown was supposed to achieve. I’ve said it before on here.

What’s difficult for people to understand is why we’re constantly bombarded with news /spin about all the capacity that’s been created throughout the country and it’s still available for use.

There’s no point having something if your not prepared to actually have to use some of it.

We hear about this many beds that many beds available whilst 1 million people receive state assistance and the country is mostly shutdown and slowly going down the drain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭snowcat

jester77 wrote: »
    Not true, take Hokkaido for example. Daily cases down to just a few day, they lift restrictions and only 26 days later they have to re-impose the restrictions.

Read carefully what I said. Hokkaido never had a significant outbreak before they eased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

What does a true collapsed healthcare system look like And what are the repercussions?

I was listening to some NPR show the other day and Ali think they mentioned the cost of a healthcare system collapse in the states would be astronomical so our lockdown is the only thing we can do.

Imagine the societal scar if we just let elderly people die off in such a blatant way? The whole concept of how we view civilized would be thrown on its head. But it shows why they practice elderly killing in indigenous tribes. When times are tough, it's the natural way for humans to cut the fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭storker

It's amazing after so many weeks into the restrictions that people still don't know why the measures are in place.

They do know why. It's the evil world guv'mints attacking everybody's freedom. Or something. :D

These past few weeks has really been an eye-opener at the amount of people with absolutely nothing of value on their lives, constantly logged onto social media and braying for tighter and tighter lockdowns.

They need to realise the rest of us are not going to live in their fear-caves with them

If they keep up the €350 payment I don't mind staying in isolation for another couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭addaword

We had 79 deaths today. Double that of Sunday

We are not out of the woods yet, unfortunately.

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The lockdown has been effective, but it’s not the solution long term. It’s far too risky. Social distancing is the only show in town until we find either a vaccine, an effective treatment, or in the worst case develop herd immunity.

The restrictions will be gradually eased in a safe way. The lockdown has given businesses a chance to figure out how they can trade safely in a socially distant world. It has given offices a chance to figure out how they’ll manage their staff in a socially distant world, and it has given the health service a chance to figure out how it can most effectively deal with this.

From May on were likely to see gradual returns to normality, at least as normal as you can be with social distancing. Things won’t be like they were before, but they’re not going to stay like they are now.

Piece in the examiner today that suggests construction sites will be up and running again for certain projects (social housing etc). Sounds like a sensible move. No interaction with the general public, controlled site access, good candidate for initial measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

But it shows why they practice elderly killing in indigenous tribes. When times are tough, it's the natural way for humans to cut the fat.

Jaysus thats the third "open upper" in 24 hours delighted to write off the elderly. Just cant wait for that juicy inheritance can ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,105 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

What does a true collapsed healthcare system look like And what are the repercussions?

I was listening to some NPR show the other day and Ali think they mentioned the cost of a healthcare system collapse in the states would be astronomical so our lockdown is the only thing we can do.

Ours was collapsed going into this, people piled on trolleys everywhere, that was costing lives and dare I say it hygiene practices by our health staff was very poor. I've witnessed an outbreak in a hospital here a few years ago, it was a piss take some of the staffs behivour around critically ill people, that hospital has unfortunately lost some staff members to the coronavirus but I'm not one bit surprised as they were losing patients up to this. If there's any positive to all this it's the kick in the arse our health system badly needed to avoid preventable deaths and severe infections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Mic 1972 wrote: »
    The simple logic is that lifting the restrictions will bring us back to the start of the outbreak

The peak in Europe seems to be easing now. Worth Following Austria in nxt few weeks to see what is likely to happen .. Most European countries will probably follow the same protocol .
    Slowly open back up when numbers are low enough for the healthcare system to function. Test, trace, isolate any exciting outbreaks. At the start of the outbreak we had very few cases. We now have the ability to carry out more tests and hopefully more resources to contact trace. The simple logic tells us that being so restricted like now until a vaccine is unsustainable.

awec wrote: »
    The lockdown has been effective, but it’s not the solution long term. It’s far too risky. Social distancing is the only show in town until we find either a vaccine, an effective treatment, or in the worst case develop herd immunity.

The restrictions will be gradually eased in a safe way. The lockdown has given businesses a chance to figure out how they can trade safely in a socially distant world. It has given offices a chance to figure out how they’ll manage their staff in a socially distant world, and it has given the health service a chance to figure out how it can most effectively deal with this.

From May on were likely to see gradual returns to normality, at least as normal as you can be with social distancing. Things won’t be like they were before, but they’re not going to stay like they are now.

Piece in the examiner today that suggests construction sites will be up and running again for certain projects (social housing etc). Sounds like a sensible move.

If the lockdown has only managed to keep the infections stable, what will happen when we go back to normality with social distancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,886 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I think it's the first time ever in their meaningless lives that they think they have some little control over others. If you're long term unemployed/under employed by choice this lockdown had many benefits as validation of their laziness. If you do very little bar go up and down to Tesco and the offie/take aways then the impact would be fairly minimal.
    Can spot the types on social media. Usually with a very classy "Staythe****athome" strap line on their profiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭lastusername

If the lockdown has only managed to keep the infections stable, what will happen when we go back to normality with social distancing?

Testing should be massively ramped up, as well as contact tracing (via an app), so that people will know far more quickly if they have it and need to isolate.

It hasn’t kept them stable, it’s dropped them.

Relaxing them may or may not lead to an increase. An increase itself is not an issue; once it’s not uncontrolled. I think this what some are not getting, the end result here is that there is going to be a level of infection that we deem acceptable.

No wonder we have so many people saying to end the lockdown ASAP!

We know why, we just think the 'hospitals will be overwhelmed' argument is nonsense. Second column in from the right is ICU admission, third in is hospital admissions.

https://twitter.com/RF_HFC/status/1252210492531183622

Bear in mind these figures relate to a situation where capacity was readily available. When capacity is not available, the hospital doesn't disappear. Those who would benefit most get treated. The fatality rate does not skyrocket, this impression comes from people quoting completely erroneous Italian/Spanish death rates calculated on the basis of confirmed cases.
    The simple logic is that lifting the restrictions will bring us back to the start of the outbreak

Indeed. That's what is so depressing. We've strangled our economies and lives for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,105 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Testing should be massively ramped up, as well as contact tracing (via an app), so that people will know far more quickly if they have it and need to isolate.

The app is a good idea but it'll be lost on the older people. My Mrs can't even work the Xbox after 10yrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭lastusername

The app is a good idea but it'll be lost on the older people. My Mrs can't even work the Xbox after 10yrs.

Ha, well guess you can help them from a distance (simple phone or video call maybe!).

Are you going to force people to get the app?

Is the app capable of telling me if I touch a surface a few minutes after someone with the virus touched it?

Is app going to work when I go to a packed club, pub or sports game?

Will the authorities be notified if the app says I had a close contact, and I ignore it?

Will this massively ramped-up testing have the same 30% false negative rate that the current tests have?

Will half the people who get it still be asymptomatic?

https://www.reddit.com/r/ukpolitics/comments/g591z9/coronavirus_peak_is_past_and_now_lockdown_worse/

"The pandemic has peaked and draconian measures are now unnecessary, a leading scientist claimed yesterday. Carl Heneghan, director of the centre for evidence-based medicine at Oxford University, said that the impact of the lockdown was “going to outweigh the damaging effect of coronavirus”."

awec wrote: »
    It hasn’t kept them stable, it’s dropped them.

Relaxing them may or may not lead to an increase. An increase itself is not an issue; once it’s not uncontrolled. I think this what some are not getting, the end result here is that there is going to be a level of infection that we deem acceptable.

You could say the numbers have dropped - in the last two days. Before that it was the highest conformed transmissions for the previous two weeks. So there was a big lag between lockdown and the drop in the last two days.

I acknowledge that infections can go a bit higher as the health service can cope with a bit more. But we're still focusing entirely on COVID. No normal hospital business except emergencies.

I think people are becoming restless and they governments are Reacting by dripping restrictions. Then infections will rise again and people will call for more restrictions, then governments will react again and increase restrictions.

In one way it's cowardly and avoiding being proactive. In another way it's clever as it will get the buy-in from people if they call for it before government imposes it.

You could say the numbers have dropped - in the last two days. Before that it was the highest conformed transmissions for the previous two weeks. So there was a big lag between lockdown and the drop in the last two days.

I acknowledge that infections can go a bit higher as the health service can cope with a bit more. But we're still focusing entirely on COVID. No normal hospital business except emergencies.

I think people are becoming restless and they governments are Reacting by dripping restrictions. Then infections will rise again and people will call for more restrictions, then governments will react again and increase restrictions.

In one way it's cowardly and avoiding being proactive. In another way it's clever as it will get the buy-in from people if they call for it before government imposes it.

Non-emergency hospital treatment is going to be very limited in either scenario I would think. The priority for the next few years will be maximising capacity for covid to try minimise the restrictions required in society.

We’re still going to be very restricted compared to what we deem normality, but it’ll be a more sustainable level rather than what we have today. A better balance between safety and the need to get people working again and society functioning again.

It’ll take many months of gradual change to figure out what this new reality is, it’s not going to happen instantly at the start of May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

The simpleton's logic is that lifting the restrictions will bring us back to the start of the outbreak

No offence to your Mrs specifically but a big part of me is furious about this. We're all doing this for vulnerable people and old people are the biggest vulnerable group. It's not about not wanting to use technology, it's their civic duty to figure it the fcuk out so they can at least do their bit to help save the nation.

Big part of me thinks that if old people couldn't be arzed learning to use an app to help get through the COVID crisis, they they can shape up or ship out.

Anyone who couldn't be arzed to learn to use an app that will help get us through this crisis, is no addition to the country.

Do old people even realise that they're the main group were doing all this for? The entire nation putting everything on hold, mainly for them. Bet they can't wait to get back out and vote for the same old political parties that will shaft the young and really stick the boot in after everyone gave up so much to keep them safe.

I really hope old people get with programme and learn to use the bloody app.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭VonLuck

In my view it'll reach a point where it will be up to the individual whether they want to risk being closer than 2m with a loved one and potentially put their health in jeopardy. Admittedly the risk would be pretty low, but a risk to be considered nonetheless.