Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XVI- 21,983 in ROI (1,339 deaths) 3,881 in NI (404 deaths)(05/05)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,155 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

bekker wrote: »
    The COVID-19 PPE situation is the States seems to be reaching new depths.

This reads like an extract from a covert operation novel, but it's from the prestigious New England Journal of Medicine.

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMc2010025

But Trump has secured (read outbid other countries) billions and billions of PPE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Miike wrote: »
    Of note in the studies you've quoted in the first part of your comment. There is serious flaws in their study which they admit to, in terms of how they recruited people to be tested. That data is next to worthless

Blood donors in Sweden found 11% of people had antibodies and these would have been regarded as healthy people to give blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Miike wrote: »
    Of note in the studies you've quoted in the first part of your comment. There is serious flaws in their study which they admit to, in terms of how they recruited people to be tested. That data is next to worthless

I wouldnt go that far but it is a highly biased candidate sample and 4% positive rate cant be extrapolated to the wider population.

As for the LA study, I dont know, I have no idea how the candidates were found for this other study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,818 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Fair play to nurses standing up to Trumptards in the US.

200420-coronavirus-protest-denver-cs-821a_e17cf118569f789e18476b6e1c378af8.fit-860w.jpg

200420-denver-coronavirus-protest-cs-1259p_ce7ec1ee1a19c66fbe4e690c79598af4.fit-860w.jpg

200420-coronavirus-protest-denver-cs-821a2_e17cf118569f789e18476b6e1c378af8.fit-860w.jpg

200420-denver-coronavirus-protest-cs-100p_ce7ec1ee1a19c66fbe4e690c79598af4.fit-860w.jpg

Jesus christ, that's just so depressing on such a grand scale.

Are there any other nation's gobshites doing this, or is it just American ones?

Tony EH wrote: »

Should be grateful she didn't get out of the car and shoot him as her constitutional right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

fritzelly wrote: »
    Don't think viruses are conscious enough to know when to stop mutating :D

maybe just not a human type of consciousness. :-)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,212 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Is the virus causing upheaval or is the response causing upheaval? The worldwide virus death toll still hasn't surpassed the Haiti earthquake deathtoll in 2010.

Estimates for the Haiti earthquake death toll are between 100,000 - 300,000 at the most. So far, official figures for Coronavirus put the death toll at 170,000.

So, currently we're, at least, well past the half way point. The difference is, the Haiti earthquake is over and Coronavirus is still going. Not to mention, a lot of countries are under-reporting the death toll for Coronavirus and about 1/3 of the earth's population is on some form of lockdown. If it wasn't for those last 2 points, the death toll for Coronavirus would be much, much higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

niallo27 wrote: »
    Blood donors in Sweden found 11% of people had antibodies and these would have been regarded as healthy people to give blood.

Sweden are taking a herd immunity approach. Not even remotely comparable.

speckle wrote: »
    maybe just not a human type of consciousness. :-)

Existential crisis moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

But Trump has secured (read outbid other countries) billions and billions of PPE
    Trillions, so why is he using the feds to attempt a hi-jack of PPE?

Existential crisis moment

nawh think I just lost conciousness for a while happens when trumpitdity comes on air.

owlbethere wrote: »
    Before this pandemic, has vets seen SARS like illness in animals like in livestock, pets, zoo animals?

If yes, does the veterinary world have a vaccine that could possibly be built on for human use?

dont know about a vacine but we have alot to be grateful to cats for re remdesivir. its was originally for ebola but wasnt used then....

https://news.vin.com/default.aspx?pid=210&Id=9235842&useobjecttypeid=10&fromVINNEWSASPX=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Thinking it be a good time to do some DMT, either that or I still have a few Guinness in the fridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Let's all laugh at Trump and his silliness

Our own Government have let old people die and now decide they will try pretend they care a few weeks too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Let's all laugh at Trump and his silliness

Our own Government have let old people die and now decide they will try pretend they care a few weeks too late

You'll go on to tell us about the nursing home deaths in the US I presume under Trump's watch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,594 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You'll go on to tell us about the nursing home deaths in the US I presume under Trump's watch?

We should worry about our own country before we start criticising other countries or their leaders.
    I'm still trying to understand why we don't have state quarantine for people coming in, how Keelings fruit is more important than Irish people who are told not to travel beyond 2k but they can get workers in from another country.

eagle eye wrote: »
    We should worry about our own country before we start criticising other countries or their leaders.
    I'm still trying to understand why we don't have state quarantine for people coming in, how Keelings fruit is more important than Irish people who are told not to travel beyond 2k but they can get workers in from another country.

Couple of thoughts - we didn't expect some Irish company to just fly in a couple of hundred people from another country considering the situation we are in ignoring all health advice - anger should be directed at the company not the government because a company sees profits before health

The current caretaker government - there is probably only so much they can get away with without the remit of the people to control the government and add on top the WHO don't stop people moving around. I would hazard a guess if we had a proper government we may have had a total lockdown then again if FF were in charge it would have been more a Trump scenario...worse still SF harping on about forever homes and travellers have a right to attend funerals of someone they've never met

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

A Pandemic is scary, the Internet plus a Pandemic is unnecessarily scary. Hard times but in hard times we’ll prevail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,594 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

fritzelly wrote:
    Couple of thoughts - we didn't expect some Irish company to just fly in a couple of hundred people from another country considering the situation we are in ignoring all health advice - anger should be directed at the company not the government because a company sees profits before health
    Anger at both and Keelings will pay for it, just watch and see all their products being left on the shelf.
    The government still have not set up quarantine for people coming in. I think we should have enforced, state monitored quarantine. I think anybody who wants to come in to Ireland should have to pay for the quarantine, it'd be a good deterrent.
    So I'm criticising the country for letting people in here to go where they want freely.
    As far as the WHO is concerned, they have been found out. They have failed miserably during this pandemic on multiple occasions so I'm disregarding them now. I won't be reading or following their advice from here on. Ignoring Taiwan was their first mistake and they have continued to show that they are not up to doing what we all expected if them.

Anger at both and Keelings will pay for it, just watch and see all their products being left on the shelf.
    The government still have not set up quarantine for people coming in. I think we should have enforced, state monitored quarantine. I think anybody who wants to come in to Ireland should have to pay for the quarantine, it'd be a good deterrent.
    So I'm criticising the country for letting people in here to go where they want freely.
    As far as the WHO is concerned, they have been found out. They have failed miserably during this pandemic on multiple occasions so I'm disregarding them now. I won't be reading or following their advice from here on. Ignoring Taiwan was their first mistake and they have continued to show that they are not up to doing what we all expected if them.

Alas if the government had been as draconian as the likes of Italy, Spain and China there would have been a revolt around civil liberties (nutcases like Waters and O'Doherty).
    I even posited in one of the previous threads some time back I would prefer a 4 week draconian measure rather than an 8+ week soft lockdown
    My immediate family - siblings etc - are encroaching on the high risk groups - I don't want to catch this, in fact I fear if I do catch it would I survive it - probably as I'm still relatively healthy (I think) but by god I don't want to have to go thru what some people are going thru to save their lives.
    The unknowns of the virus are very scary - the other half is going stir crazy, out and about every day and have to tell them every time you go out you increase your chance of catching it (the type to just like having a chat with shop owners and strangers)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Tony EH wrote: »

The proportion of these protesters going around flying confederate flags would suggest this is about more than the virus.

Anyone watch Panorama tonight?
    One thing a nurse said we make sure no patient dies alone - family cannot be there, so sad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Are you joking?

We are not comparing here, we are saying both are a disgrace but some people you included think to shout about another countries problems that are worse than ours makes our govt doing a good job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

I was watching euronews and the price of oil fell and crashed. We're looking at an economic depression here. There was no need whatsoever for Keelings to fly people in from abroad. They could have aimed for students to work for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭snoopboggybog

Will people like Kermit who think that stopping immigration, forced quarantine etc. are wrong and undemocratic support localised lockdowns later on in the year as they spring up?

I think that's the only way any country can open up properly. Deal with the massive onslaught at the start nationally and then deal with continued outbreaks at the neighbourhood level. There will be some extra resistance in countries due to immunity but we don't know yet how much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭overkill602

shut the airport DOWN for passangers now or quarantine 14 days make travelers pay, why should anybody lockdown when we are allow airport traffic
    4 London, 1 glasglow and 1 amsterdam flight in to day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭NetChat101

owlbethere wrote: »
    I was watching euronews and the price of oil fell and crashed. We're looking at an economic depression here. There was no need whatsoever for Keelings to fly people in from abroad. They could have aimed for students to work for them.

A lot of students who would have earned maybe €150 from part time work are now getting €350 to stay at home. Can't see them queueing up to pick fruit for a lot less money.