Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Garda Checks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,822 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

The ticket for use of a phone while driving a car will be in the post if seen.
    Another Whoooooosh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭kravmaga

So you have seen the Gardai driving in-between checkpoints. Well done you.

We are all well aware you have an issue with the go safe Vans. You don't stop going on about it and again I point out that those Vans shouldn't bother you because you are of course not speeding. Correct?

No, that's not what I said, read my post again, I said I have not seen any checkpoints since the Easter b/h , Im an essential worker and in the Dublin area.

I have no issue with Go Safe speed detection vans, I wasn't speeding, Ive 3 points on my licence which are currently due to be removed in June for your information smarty pants .

I also have a Tom Tom sat nav which warns me when the speed limit changes and also have cruise control in my vehicle.

Whats with the attitude anyways? You sound angry? Take up Yoga or try listening to some Zen chillout music on Youtube. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Not allowed unless dealing with a suspected case. Apparently it would cause alarm amongst the public

How would you know this? Do tell? Would you be a member by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,773 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If he had reached for his pocket, those guys would probably have shot him or tased him. You don't need an 'excuse' to film the police in a public place. They should have no fear of being filmed.

ah here this is just ridiculous, it was in the UK. If he had of done that in the US he would have found a pile of cops on top of him for not following their orders. You seem to be making out that the police intended to bring that girl down a dark alley and hand out a Rodney King style beating the way you're going on

It's fairly obvious to anyone who watched the video that this was nothing to do with exercise. This was about making sure the arrest wasn't recorded so they couldn't be held accountable.

Seeing as you missed it all three of the police in the video were wearing body cams so it most definitely was recorded and they most definitely could be held accountable. If the woman being arrested had any complaint about police brutality their body cams were there for investigation.

Andrew you're just digging yourself a hole here for the sake of it, the police were just doing their job under the new powers they have but this little up start of a so called journalist just wanted to be a dick and annoy them. This is a pandemic and the rules are there for a very good reason, the more we have idiots like him breaking the rules the longer we will be in lockdown, its that simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Dommcc wrote: »
    Have been in the UK dealing with a family matter, the death of an elderly relative and her surviving 90 yr old husband. Been self isolating for 35 days in London. Am coming home to Clare on Thursday and will be driving from Dublin Port to Clare. What is the situation with the Gardai and roadblocks. Will be self isolating when I get home. Is there anything I need to know. How zealous are they being?
    They are quite zealous but you might not get stopped, and I doubt they would turn you around when you're arriving from UK.

https://www.dfa.ie/travel/travel-advice/coronavirus/
    What to do on entering Ireland from abroad:

The Irish Health Authorities require anyone coming into Ireland, apart from Northern Ireland, to restrict their movements on arrival for 14 days. Check the Irish Health Service COVID-19 Advice Page for full information on these requirements. This includes Irish residents. Exemptions are in place for providers of essential supply chain services such as hauliers, pilots and maritime staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Meanwhile in Galway - according to Facebook:

Load of people down at Menlo castle at illegal party & 8 sulkys racing around kiloughter & ballindooley ridiculous carry on Gardai have been rang

kravmaga wrote: »
    How would you know this? Do tell? Would you be a member by any chance?

Correct as I have said before in threads.

It's also how I know the exact same number of checkpoints will be done today as at the weekend

Correct as I have said before in threads.

It's also how I know the exact same number of checkpoints will be done today as at the weekend

So the Commissioner has said how many checkpoints have to be carried out every day irrespective of demand or need ?

What list of Essential Services/Employment do the Gardai use ?

For example Garden Centres & Hardware Stores can legally open & are listed as Essential Retail but have been advised not to. If someone is travelling to a Garden Centre are you instructed to stop them ?

Landscapers/Gardeners are legally allowed to work. Are they on the Garda list ?

Discodog wrote: »
    So the Commissioner has said how many checkpoints have to be carried out every day irrespective of demand or need ?

What list of Essential Services/Employment do the Gardai use ?

For example Garden Centres & Hardware Stores can legally open & are listed as Essential Retail but have been advised not to. If someone is travelling to a Garden Centre are you instructed to stop them ?

Landscapers/Gardeners are legally allowed to work. Are they on the Garda list ?

All organisations have plans in advance for any given day. It's not ad hoc.

There is no Garda list outside of the public one.

If they are entitled to open the decision is with the company.

All organisations have plans in advance for any given day. It's not ad hoc.

There is no Garda list outside of the public one.

If they are entitled to open the decision is with the company.

There are lots of public lists. The real list is in the Act. Do the Gardai on checkpoints have copies of this ?

Another point has arisen regarding stores like Aldi & Lidl. Both are legally allowed to open but they sell lots of non food items. Is it ok for someone to buy a Pizza Oven or dog bed as long as they also buy a can of beans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Anyone know if the Gardai showed up to shut down this weekend street party?

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dublin-street-party-fortlawn-blanchardstown-21893979

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,763 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

There are lots of public lists. The real list is in the Act. Do the Gardai on checkpoints have copies of this ?

Another point has arisen regarding stores like Aldi & Lidl. Both are legally allowed to open but they sell lots of non food items. Is it ok for someone to buy a Pizza Oven or dog bed as long as they also buy a can of beans ?

Asking the real questions here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Tenzor07 wrote: »

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/dublin-street-party-fortlawn-blanchardstown-21893979

no they didn't , the rules only apply to taxpayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭neckedit

This is getting stupid now, the Gardai are not checking your shopping. If any one says otherwise we need to see proof. Not the usual, it happen to a pal of mine, or, my friend works in Aldi and he saw it.....

Just the facts people.... let's deal with just the facts...

I don't get your first point. The list has been released by multiple state agencies. If you are seeing random lists made by random people, I would suggest a Google search.

They are selling the weekly specials too my knowledge but there's a delay on the cycling stuff in my local Aldi.

I'm not the commissioner nor will I probable be the guard that stops you but so far only 7 people have been arrested and judging by the media reports those people were looking to push both boundaries and buttons. I'm human, you are human, we all have parents, siblings, etc. Plenty were still out there working on various areas. Let's try and apply some common sense and consideration for others and we will be fine.

neckedit wrote: »
    This is getting stupid now, the Gardai are not checking your shopping. If any one says otherwise we need to see proof. Not the usual, it happen to a pal of mine, or, my friend works in Aldi and he saw it.....
    Just the facts people.... let's deal with just the facts...

Hey Judge Anonymous, you know the Gardai don't provide signed papers saying they searched your shopping bags. And no one has to provide video evidence of such to the court of public chat boards either.

The Gardai do check shopping bags...

And aren'r we glad they did: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1250328082763800577

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭celticWario

There's similar "bingo parties" to "raise funds for frontline workers" popping up everywhere, we had one around the corner during the week, started mid afternoon ended maybe 3 or 4 in the morning, Gardai called twice, said they would send a car around never did, followed up the next day asking why they never sent anyone down and they were more interested in my name and address so hung up. In places like this we're on our own, Gardai are too busy manning checkpoints on roads and getting photo ops carrying shopping for people, total farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Anyone know if it was reported to the Gardai while it was happening?

I can only imagine due to the scale of this outdoor party that someone must have called, has to be some decent people in the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,138 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I can only imagine due to the scale of this outdoor party that someone must have called, has to be some decent people in the area.

That's a bit more assumption than I'd be comfortable with relying on.

I don't get your first point. The list has been released by multiple state agencies. If you are seeing random lists made by random people, I would suggest a Google search.

They are selling the weekly specials too my knowledge but there's a delay on the cycling stuff in my local Aldi.

I'm not the commissioner nor will I probable be the guard that stops you but so far only 7 people have been arrested and judging by the media reports those people were looking to push both boundaries and buttons. I'm human, you are human, we all have parents, siblings, etc. Plenty were still out there working on various areas. Let's try and apply some common sense and consideration for others and we will be fine.

The only applicable legal list is this one:

SCHEDULE 1
    Regulation 3
    ESSENTIAL RETAIL OUTLETS

1. Outlets selling food or beverages on a takeaway basis, or newspapers, whether on a retail or wholesale basis and whether in a non-specialised or specialised outlet.

2. Outlets selling products necessary for the essential upkeep and functioning of places of residence and businesses, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

3. Pharmacies, chemists and retailers or wholesalers providing pharmaceuticals or pharmaceutical or dispensing services, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

4. Outlets selling health, medical or orthopaedic goods in a specialised outlet, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

5. Fuel service stations and heating fuel providers.

6. Outlets selling essential items for the health and welfare of animals (including animal feed and veterinary medicinal products, pet food, animal bedding and animal supplies), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

7. Laundries and drycleaners.

8. Banks, post offices and credit unions.

9. Outlets selling safety supplies (including work-wear apparel, footwear and personal protective equipment), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

10. Hardware outlets, builders’ merchants and outlets that provide, whether on a retail or wholesale basis - (a) hardware products necessary for home and business maintenance, (b) sanitation and farm equipment, or (c) supplies and tools essential for gardening, farming or agriculture purposes.

11. The following outlets insofar as they offer services on an emergency basis only: (a) optician and optometrist outlets; (b) outlets providing hearing test services or selling hearing aids and appliances;
    8 [121]

(c) outlets providing for the repair of mechanically propelled vehicles or for the repair of bicycles and any related facilities (including tyre sales and repairs); (d) outlets selling office products and services for businesses or for applicable persons working from their respective places of residence, whether on a retail or wholesale basis; (e) outlets providing electrical, information and communications technology and telephone sales, repair and maintenance services for places of residence and businesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Hey Judge Anonymous, you know the Gardai don't provide signed papers saying they searched your shopping bags. And no one has to provide video evidence of such to the court of public chat boards either.

The Gardai do check shopping bags...

And aren'r we glad they did: https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/1250328082763800577

I remarked a few weeks ago the cops were making quite a few drug busts at routine check points this weather, good business for them. The users who have to go and get must be quite nervous by now and as the gardai have got some joy from this bag checking lark I'd not be shocked if it became part of their routine.

The only applicable legal list is this one:

SCHEDULE 1
    Regulation 3
    ESSENTIAL RETAIL OUTLETS

1. Outlets selling food or beverages on a takeaway basis, or newspapers, whether on a retail or wholesale basis and whether in a non-specialised or specialised outlet.

2. Outlets selling products necessary for the essential upkeep and functioning of places of residence and businesses, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

3. Pharmacies, chemists and retailers or wholesalers providing pharmaceuticals or pharmaceutical or dispensing services, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

4. Outlets selling health, medical or orthopaedic goods in a specialised outlet, whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

5. Fuel service stations and heating fuel providers.

6. Outlets selling essential items for the health and welfare of animals (including animal feed and veterinary medicinal products, pet food, animal bedding and animal supplies), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

7. Laundries and drycleaners.

8. Banks, post offices and credit unions.

9. Outlets selling safety supplies (including work-wear apparel, footwear and personal protective equipment), whether on a retail or wholesale basis.

10. Hardware outlets, builders’ merchants and outlets that provide, whether on a retail or wholesale basis - (a) hardware products necessary for home and business maintenance, (b) sanitation and farm equipment, or (c) supplies and tools essential for gardening, farming or agriculture purposes.

11. The following outlets insofar as they offer services on an emergency basis only: (a) optician and optometrist outlets; (b) outlets providing hearing test services or selling hearing aids and appliances;
    8 [121]

(c) outlets providing for the repair of mechanically propelled vehicles or for the repair of bicycles and any related facilities (including tyre sales and repairs); (d) outlets selling office products and services for businesses or for applicable persons working from their respective places of residence, whether on a retail or wholesale basis; (e) outlets providing electrical, information and communications technology and telephone sales, repair and maintenance services for places of residence and businesses.

What is your question?

bubblypop wrote: »
    What is your question?

My question was regarding which lists are given to Gardai ? The government ones have said that Garden Centres, Hardware stores can't open but the list, provided in the Act, says they can.

On Saturday the Taoiseach said that Landscapers/Gardeners can't work when the Act list lists them as an essential service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Muahahaha wrote: »
    ah here this is just ridiculous, it was in the UK. If he had of done that in the US he would have found a pile of cops on top of him for not following their orders. You seem to be making out that the police intended to bring that girl down a dark alley and hand out a Rodney King style beating the way you're going on

Seeing as you missed it all three of the police in the video were wearing body cams so it most definitely was recorded and they most definitely could be held accountable. If the woman being arrested had any complaint about police brutality their body cams were there for investigation.

Andrew you're just digging yourself a hole here for the sake of it, the police were just doing their job under the new powers they have but this little up start of a so called journalist just wanted to be a dick and annoy them. This is a pandemic and the rules are there for a very good reason, the more we have idiots like him breaking the rules the longer we will be in lockdown, its that simple.

Great that they were wearing body cams, though those cameras and the systems around them are far from foolproof;

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-39730665

But the question remains, why would the police be so concerned about him filming discreetly, from a distance, not interfering with the arrest in any way?

He wasn't 'breaking the rules' as journalism is an essential service in UK regulations.

They just decided to try to bully and intimidate him, so there was no chance of him filming anything that happened.

My question was regarding which lists are given to Gardai ? The government ones have said that Garden Centres, Hardware stores can't open but the list, provided in the Act, says they can.

On Saturday the Taoiseach said that Landscapers/Gardeners can't work when the Act list lists them as an essential service.

Gardai have access to the same lists as everyone else.
    That's the list.

Gardai have access to the same lists as everyone else.
    That's the list.

Very few people have accessed the Oireachtas site & downloaded the Act. So a Garda will have no problem with someone going to a Garden Centre or Hardware Store ?

Why would they?
    Of course, they are not open anyway, so no-one will be going to one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,595 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Why would they?
    Of course, they are not open anyway, so no-one will be going to one.

Unless they are going to pickup a click and collect order, eg from Crown Paints Coolock.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Unless they are going to pickup a click and collect order, eg from Crown Paints Coolock.

Yea, sure nothing wrong with that?