Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid19 Part XV - 15,251 in ROI (610 deaths) 2,645 in NI (194 deaths) (19/04) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Boggles wrote: »
    A trampoline an essential item?

Fúck me, are people drinking cans all ready?

Hahaha you can hear the pichik-fizz of those ring pulls...
    :D:D (come on, it's cocktail hour somewhere.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

doylefe wrote: »
    You don't have to go hugging the person you're buying from. Arrange it to keep physical distance. Pay online (instant money transfer) or leave cash in a box. The item can be left out for you to pick up. Use gloves while handling it. Disinfect it when home.

The virus can be spread by just normal talking and breathing.

Going out to buy a trampoline is just an extra risk and a risk that fool could have avoided.

I don't understand how people are trying to get around the restrictions. I really don't.

Anyone who pays for things online for things from adverts or done deal is a fcuking fool and asking to be scammed.

Will you leave your playstation games out in the rain to be picked up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Wibbs wrote: »
    Well M they like everyone else have been told they're useless, even a negative, by the same "experts" who brought you such highly intelligent gems as: "It's alright to visit your granny in a car home" and "people coming home from hotspots in Europe will be grand" and "asymptomatic spread is of little risk when living with a Covid contact person" and "we're on top of testing". So I'm hardly surprised.

The longer this goes on the less people are going to pay any heed to these briefings. If they can't be 100% transparent with the general population then they'll lose them fairly lively.

They've pretty much missed every major milestone that they themselves set and rather than giving an honest explanation they just keep digging.

I have a very real suspicion that the numbers they are plugging in to their "model" look a lot different to the ones we get drip fed feed.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Clearly the restrictions are needlessly draconian, and arbitrary. No difference driving to your closest supermarket vs driving a longer distance.

Nobody has defined what essential items are. Maybe a trampoline is essential to this man.

When you go grocery shopping, are you only putting essential items in your basket? I doubt it.

Nobody defined what essential items are. What world are you living in?

Here you go, essential services and buying trampolines and selling playstations isn't on it

https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/dfeb8f-list-of-essential-service-providers-under-new-public-health-guidelin/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭JTMan

The WSJ are reporting here on the massive food shortages in India due to the lockdown. Really sad and worrying. Perhaps the Indian lockdown needs to change.

- Stores say some basics such as eggs, yogurt and cooking oil are increasingly hard to find.
    - Farmers in India’s breadbasket are about to harvest the wheat crop. But their seasonal helpers aren’t showing up, and the few truckers willing to work are unable to buy food on the road and are getting harassed by police.
    - Bigger problems ahead if things don’t return to normal in the coming month.
    - People who move the essentials from farm to fork aren’t showing up for work.
    - “There are so many human interventions in the Indian supply chain" that all is takes is a few not to go to work for serious food supply issues.
    - Much of the labor force is spooked and doesn’t want to come to work even if they are allowed.
    - While most farms are small, many still require seasonal help during harvest, often from other Indian states or even Nepal. Fear and travel restrictions are keeping the help home. (Similar issues with immigrant labour on farms not arriving in part of Europe).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

JRant wrote: »
    This virus will pass in a month or two and we can get back to living a normal life again.
    That's fantastic news to wake up to on an Easter Sunday morning.

I might just go back to bed for another hour before I have to face reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

It’s just typical Irish reaction. Ah Shur we’ll go through the motions and make it look like were doing a great job. Guards leaning in to drivers windows should be a no no.

I think we are gone well past the contact tracing stage and it’s ridiculous how can you contact trace the 500 plus positive results that came back from Germany ten day after the test was carried out ?

How many people have these people been in contact with through work or supermarkets etc.

We need another plan - Stepping up testing is fine but not worth a jog if these results take 7-10 days to get results

That’s just going to mean a rolling two weeks extension on our current restrictions.

We’re never going to get ahead if we stay behind!!

There is no value contact tracing the German positives from the backlog.

Only a complete idiot would do this. Why waste precious resources contact tracing someone from 3 or 4 weeks ago when they are now either cured, in hospital, or tested positive themselves.

Far better to contact trace on latest positives as you have some chance of being up to date and not wasting resources.

But Harris I believe said they will start contact tracing the German positives from the backlog. You couldn' make this nonsense up.

Successful contact tracing depends on efficient testing. Our testing has been a shambles. It thus follows our contact tracing is also a shambles.

The whole testing is a shambles carried out for PR reasons only. Much like when Harris said every woman in Ireland should get a smear test as a result of that crises. That ended up overwhelming the system. Another PR exercise that ended in disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

It’s just typical Irish reaction. Ah Shur we’ll go through the motions and make it look like were doing a great job. Guards leaning in to drivers windows should be a no no.

I think we are gone well past the contact tracing stage and it’s ridiculous how can you contact trace the 500 plus positive results that came back from Germany ten day after the test was carried out ?

How many people have these people been in contact with through work or supermarkets etc.

We need another plan - Stepping up testing is fine but not worth a jot if these results take 7-10 days to get results

That’s just going to mean a rolling two weeks extension on our current restrictions.

We’re never going to get ahead if we stay behind!!

I saw a guard leaning into a window last week. No more than two foot from the passenger seat Persian face. I was in shock.

I posted it the day I saw it but basically got told I was telling lies. Glad other people are seeing how dumb some people in authority are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

Not sure what she doesn't understand. Uk went down herd immunity route and allowed big soccer games and Cheltenham go ahead. Those decisions account for their high numbers. They don't even incluse those who die in nursing homes or at home. In reality there's probably close to 2 million cases in the UK going by a 1% fatality rate.

She understands all that (even mentions Cheltenham and a Stereophonics gig in Cardiff) her point is that the UK press isn't picking up on this.

Achasanai wrote: »
    She understands all that (even mentions Cheltenham and a Stereophonics gig in Cardiff) her point is that the UK press isn't picking up on this.

Sterophonics gig is interesting....iirc south wales was a particular hotspot for coronavirus last few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

A trampoline an essential item

Where in the world is bouncing up and down in place in your garden considered essential that you have to go and buy a trampoline

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,011 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Mwengwe wrote: »
    I do find this increasingly noteworthy - we've had loads of TFL deaths in the UK, bus driver deaths in America etc. But can't remember reading anything about supermarket workers even getting sick in notable numbers, never mind dying. It's weird, they're the busiest places at the moment.

I agree & they should be tested. One "super spreader" supermarket worker could infect a lot of people. It's even stranger given how slow they were to implement safety measures. But are people's occupations being published ?

sideswipe wrote: »
    You are missing the point- this is about a United front, all shoulders to the wheel to reduce the risk of infection, flatten the curve and get back to some form of normality earlier.
    One lad decides a trampoline is essential and drives to another county, longer journey more chance of having an accident ete etc.
    Somebody else decides a new puppy is essential and drives twice as far to answer a done deal ad. Somebody else thinks I haven’t seen my parents down in cork for 5 weeks sure I’ll go for a spin and stand in the garden for a chat. All of a sudden you have lots of people not putting their shoulder to the wheel the risks of invention, road accidents etc increase and we end up taking longer to get where we need to be as a country.

It very much is a United front and it's fantastic to see the vast majority of people respecting the restrictions. However, that United front needs to be just that. We can't have the current ludicrous situation whereby people are told to stay at home for fear of fines/imprisonment and yet allow people to fly or sail into the country willy nilly. It completely undermines everyone else's efforts. Now some argue that the numbers are small. How small is an unknown because they won't tell us but it's the optics of it that grinds my gears and I can't imagine I'm alone in that.

MarkY91 wrote: »
    I saw a guard leaning into a window last week. No more than two foot from the passenger seat Persian face. I was in shock.

I posted it the day I saw it but basically got told I was telling lies. Glad other people are seeing how dumb some people in authority are.

They have so much interaction with people, they themselves can pick up the virus and spread it on to every car they stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

JTMan wrote: »
    The WSJ are reporting here on the massive food shortages in India due to the lockdown. Really sad and worrying. Perhaps the Indian lockdown needs to change.

- Stores say some basics such as eggs, yogurt and cooking oil are increasingly hard to find.
    - Farmers in India’s breadbasket are about to harvest the wheat crop. But their seasonal helpers aren’t showing up, and the few truckers willing to work are unable to buy food on the road and are getting harassed by police.
    - Bigger problems ahead if things don’t return to normal in the coming month.
    - People who move the essentials from farm to fork aren’t showing up for work.
    - “There are so many human interventions in the Indian supply chain" that all is takes is a few not to go to work for serious food supply issues.
    - Much of the labor force is spooked and doesn’t want to come to work even if they are allowed.
    - While most farms are small, many still require seasonal help during harvest, often from other Indian states or even Nepal. Fear and travel restrictions are keeping the help home. (Similar issues with immigrant labour on farms not arriving in part of Europe).

This is happening in the UK also, to some extent at least. Goes to show how much the big companies depended on cheap migrant labour from Europe. Even though 10000 have signed up to a land army I was saying to himself last week they will get a bit of a land alright. I worked in that fruit harvesting area with migrants back in the day and the speed at which people work is astonishing. It is back breaking stuff. You would be shattered. A lot of the volunteer chaps and lassies rocking up in their tracksuits for their first give it a whirl gig in the fields and orchards will nearly be more of an anoyance to the producers than a help.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/environment/2020/mar/25/uk-farmers-fear-huge-labour-shortfall-despite-interest-in-land-army

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

shinzon wrote: »
    Where in the world is bouncing up and down in place in your garden considered essential that you have to go and buy a trampoline

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Shin

If you have a child that is missing Occupational Therapy at the moment.

Phoebas wrote: »
    That's fantastic news to wake up to on an Easter Sunday morning.

I might just go back to bed for another hour before I have to face reality.

Thought I'd bring a bit of cheerful spread on a rainy Easter Sunday morning :)

In all seriousness though, this will pass and life will get back to normal. Probably far quicker than some of the neurotic folks think and a bit slower than some of the more laissez fair types believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭blackcard

Seamai wrote: »
    For a trampoline?

I would say that he just wanted to be able to check that his neighbours weren't going more than 2 km from their homes. Solid citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,457 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

optogirl wrote: »

Plenty other things a child can do.

Giving them Covid 19 because you saw a cracking deal on done deal is not therapy, it's wreckless stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭shinzon

Fair enough I stand corrected there, however theres still a trade off of whether you take the risk of getting infected and bringing the virus into your home which could lead to something far more serious or staying put and safe as you can.

A justification can be made for any journey but at the end of the day is it worth the risk. In the end I don't think so do you.

Shin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Is that what they have for OT, a sh1t load of trampolines?

Boggles wrote: »
    Plenty other things a child can do.

Giving them Covid 19 because you saw a cracking deal on done deal is not therapy, it's wreckless stupidity.

Again nobody knows how this transaction happened. No more dangerous than going to the supermarket or receiving a package. In fact probably much less risky. Pay online, collect item, disinfect it. I really don't see what the big hoo-ha is.

Is that what they have for OT, a sh1t load of trampolines?

? Nobody said anything like that but the type of sensory and muscular input that trampolines provide would be part of some OT sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Pitch n Putt

MarkY91 wrote: »

The proper procedure would be to leave the window down enough to pass a piece of paper through it but don’t obviously let the guard hold your essential letters :rolleyes:

Yes the guard wears gloves but how many other letters have they handled then handed back at each check point. They don’t change gloves after every car which obviously wouldn’t be practical.

Guard should kneel to speak to people with the car window acting like a shield that we see now in most supermarkets etc.

Some guards probably take a bit of offence if you don’t fully roll down your window for the interaction but they must realise that the spread can work both ways and they should protect themselves as well as the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Clearly the restrictions are needlessly draconian, and arbitrary. No difference driving to your closest supermarket vs driving a longer distance.

Nobody has defined what essential items are. Maybe a trampoline is essential to this man.

When you go grocery shopping, are you only putting essential items in your basket? I doubt it.

I heard tampolines are more useful than ventilators. Read it on WhatApp so must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

People still going on about the trampoline? Not much news was there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

An unnecessary journey is just that, unnecessary.

Say on your unnecessary journey you have an accident, emergency services are called, taken to hospital etc. putting unnecessary strain on hospitals.

**** me there are some stupid ****ers out there that dont understand this.

Again nobody knows how this transaction happened. No more dangerous than going to the supermarket or receiving a package. In fact probably much less risky. Pay online, collect item, disinfect it. I really don't see what the big hoo-ha is.

Somebody that can ignore the restrictions (and for a trampoline) probably doesn't really care about picking up the virus in the first place. Fair enough if people actually want to catch it but I wouldn't trust these types of people to self isolate either. They would be the type out in the shops and posting letters (which has actually happened).

You just cannot make excuses or exceptions. I just don't understand stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

BanditLuke wrote: »
    I heard tampolines are more useful than ventilators. Read it on WhatApp so must be true.

Mental Wellness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Trampolines are essential to children with special needs like autism. I guarantee you that.