Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭HBC08

ITman88 wrote: »
    Yes, and that curve will be sufficiently flattened by then.

I’m sorry but people will have to get back to work, we can’t be paid to sit around doing nothing indefinitely.

Our kids will be picking up the bill for our inactivity

You're throwing out some bold predictions as fact there buddy.(Delighted to hear itll all be sound by April 12th though,ill make my holiday in Portugal now)

What time is the next presser?
    Simon,Leo and ITman88 telling us whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Dan O Brien was on earlier, he reckons if the economy can get started up again by summer the recovery could be quick but any longer and we are screwed.

By summer does he mean the beginning of June?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭citysights

So if the restrictions aren’t lifted and sounds like they won’t be what are ye going to do on Easter Sunday? Sounds like a selfish question but am sad for my elderly parents in isolation.

Am thinking of getting my kids to paint pictures and objects yellow and send via social media to my parents and make a little Easter video.

Mods move to another forum if off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

odyssey06 wrote: »
    That's not what it means either. Flattening the curve is about what height the peak reaches.

wMJBgLczxnQQBsEC9QBmuW-650-80.gif

Sufficiently flattening the curve one might say

growleaves wrote: »

Or May the official start of Summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Yes, and that curve will be sufficiently flattened by then.

I’m sorry but people will have to get back to work, we can’t be paid to sit around doing nothing indefinitely.

Our kids will be picking up the bill for our inactivity
    The peak will be flattened when like 1% of the population is infected? Dream on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

HBC08 wrote: »
    You're throwing out some bold predictions as fact there buddy.(Delighted to hear itll all be sound by April 12th though,ill make my holiday in Portugal now)

Leo's comments suggested they will be looking at current restrictions late next week. Just looking mind, but if the numbers are down below a 5% daily increase then that look might be favourable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

jmayo wrote: »
    If there is ever a major war again in this part of the world it will probably last all of a week before the white flag is raised lest anyone be discommoded, anyone suffer a mental breakdown or the economy suffers.

Exactly everyone would be inside watching Netflix afraid or reality.

HBC08 wrote: »

Leo himself said he will look at it when he confirmed state exams going ahead.
    Pubs will remain shut, but as many as is safe need to be reemployed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

Of course we are screwed. This is post-WW1 stuff. Hyperinflation, blame game and a massive war to follow.

Anyone who cannot see this and only short term is a danger to society.

U WOT M8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,380 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Or May the official start of Summer?

Official start of summer is June 1st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

American stats, 40% of hospitalisations are under 55 and 20% between 20 and 45.

Over 70s may have the highest mortality rate, but we're all affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,373 ✭✭✭chicorytip

I think paying 350 euro a week to those who have lost jobs is excessive. We simply can't afford to and will be looking for another bailout if things don't improve within the next two months. The appropriate rate of payment ought to be the equivalent of the Jobseekers Allowance 203 p.w.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,308 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

growleaves wrote: »

He just said summer didn't mention which month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

Padre_Pio wrote: »

Their population is ridiculously unhealthy, they'll suffer big time from this.

Logan Roy wrote: »
    Their population is ridiculously unhealthy, they'll suffer big time from this.

Unfortunately we're not paragons of health either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

VinLieger wrote: »
    Wanna make a bet on that? 50 quid says your absolutely talking through your arse.

A 100 says you are too.

So many ****ing experts on here its nauseating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,130 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Unfortunately we're not paragons of health either.

Judging by the vast numbers of people out walking, cycling and jogging/running, and no pubs open, we might not be THAT bad :P

chicorytip wrote: »
    I think paying 350 euro a week to those who have lost jobs is excessive. We simply can't afford to and will be looking for another bailout if things don't improve within the next two months. The appropriate rate of payment ought to be the equivalent of the Jobseekers Allowance 203 p.w.

Its helicopter cash it'll go right back into the economy. Its doable for 12 weeks any longer and its not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭storker

Pheonix10 wrote: »
    That would actually be a good solution to have 2 weeks on and off. It allows those to travel for essential but not critical journeys.

Sounds like a great way to ensure that the "on/off/on/off" cycle continues for very much longer than one concentrated "off".

Official start of summer is June 1st

That’s a contentious one, we learned in school May Day was the start of Summer, the meteorological crowd say it’s June.

It may need a thread in itself to vote

Send on the link for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

In fairness, people who have lost their job because of the virus and through no fault of their own deserve a bit more than does who where unemployed before all this started. Many will be payingrrent and mortgages which reflected their previous income which has now disappeared. That rate is only available for the duration of the Pandemic Emergency, hopefully most of these people will be able to return to their jobs after the crisis.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Here's my speculative 2c on potential options ahead of us. This is literally back of the envelope, armchair speculation.

Firstly, we have to recognise that the Irish government, love them or hate them, have done a really good job overall in managing this crisis. I'm not a fan of them however they have stepped up to the plate and taken action. We are ahead of some other Western countries and without the need for more stricter lockdowns, for now.

People are forgetting why there is a lockdown in place. Its not because of the virus, its because of our health system. If we have a health service with an infinite number of ICU beds and staff, there would be no lockdown. No country can cope with the level of hospitalisation that the virus has handed to us. Thats what the lockdown is all about.

Therefore the government can only consider relaxing rules when the forecasting of hospitalisation reduces dramatically and we are not at the level yet.

However the trade off is that we have a nation of housebound unemployed citizens. Each day that goes by is a day toward economic disaster, a point of no return where some existing businesses close with no possibility of re-opening.

As stands, regardless of when restrictions in Ireland are lifted, the tourism sector is decimated. That will take years to recover. The clock cant start on that until such a time as inbound and outbound tourism kicks off again.

Business and the economy is linked and relies on people have money to spend. A gym trainer might say, "I will be grand, I coach my clients online". Which is fine, assuming the clients have the disposable income for what is considered a luxury expense. Same for folks holding down a job with any business now, it can't last forever.

There is a limit to how long this can be sustained. We don't live in a comparable world to WW2 or the 1918 flu. Globalisation has made the world smaller and more connected. Public support for a lockdown will only go so far. We are being drip fed lockdowns in 2 week measures which makes sense. The government knows there is a limited capacity for an extended lockdown hence why its strict. I really cant see it getting stricter as essentially that would mean becoming a police state. Therefore as I mentioned in a previous thread, the responsibility ultimately lies with us, the citizens to adhere to the measures in place.

Its awful though, the mental health impact is massive and its going to get worse. Many people have lost a sense of purpose and direction. This can't be ignored either and to be fair, the government is aware of this.

So what does this all mean? Easter weekend it will be announced we are battening down the hatches till end of April. The message from the government will be one of hope, that we are making progress in flattening the curve. Generally speaking the public will accept it, hate it but accept it.

The real challenge will come end of April. I suspect the government may extend again but might have some light at the end of the tunnel and offer a vague to semi-vague idea of when and what restrictions will be the first to be lifted.

This all of course assumes that lockdown is effective in reducing the number of people requiring hospitalisation.

Send on the link for that

FYI
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/apr/01/coronavirus-young-americans-covid-19

Also it seems today Coronavirus is now the deadliest infectious disease in the world, beating TB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Did the North and Republic not agree a joint approach yesterday?

They agreed to share info, and to consult where possible, but NI is still aligned to the rest of the UK and their approach to fighting the virus.

FYI
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2020/apr/01/coronavirus-young-americans-covid-19

Also it seems today Coronavirus is now the deadliest infectious disease in the world, beating TB.

Can only be assumed though until we fought covid for a year or so.

TB has a vaccine and infects 10m and kills over 1m

No way should people who lost their jobs through no fault of their own be paid the same as the dole lifers. There not jobseekers

Can only be assumed though until we fought covid for a year or so.

TB has a vaccine and infects 10m and kills over 1m

Ah yep, if it disappears tomorrow it's nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

All we can do is hope for a leveling off over the next week