Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

R Kings and other car raffles

• 31-03-2020 7:58pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Have gotten a lot of sponsored posts about this on Facebook
    Is it legit?
    Seems to have a lot of winners from Limerick

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭SQ2

Not going into the friend of a friend story, but it would appear to be real

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Totally legit, I know several people who have won cars and other items.

Great prizes and live draws on Facebook almost every day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭kieran.

Kevwoody wrote: »

Know one person who won a range rover on it.

kieran. wrote:
    Know one person who won a range rover on it.

90% of people who win a car or whatever are tagged on Facebook, a quick look will show all profiles are genuine.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I had the same suspicions as the OP, kept seeing a lot of winners from Co Roscommon where I'm from - the son reckons it's legit though, he knows a lad won a car on it a few weeks ago seemingly.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,379 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Am i right in saying they advertise multiple draws for random cars, but they actually only give a certain amount of them away as they’re all the same draw?

Anyone know which charity they’re affiliated with?

colm_mcm wrote:
    Am i right in saying they advertise multiple draws for random cars, but they actually only give a certain amount of them away as they’re all the same draw?

colm_mcm wrote:

They will advertise a certain car and it will have a countdown timer for a set amount of days for the draw, almost always it will sell out in a few hours, or a day or 2. If this happens, they will have the draw the following day.

On any one day you could have 2 or 3 cars being drawn, along with some smaller prizes, all of which are separate draws with separate tickets.

As I said, everything is very transparent and above board. I too was sceptical until I recognized some of the winners, and then a few friends won.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Carodh

I know a recent winner of a car from Co Clare.

colm_mcm wrote:

Why would they be affiliated with a charity?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Now im getting posts for two other car draws lol.Are they Irish based?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭un5byh7sqpd2x0

I won a Ferrari Le Ferrari on it last week :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Was thinking similar lately. I personally know two different people who have legitimately won cars from them.

Seems to be just very successful. Wouldnt be interested personally, €30 or whatever for a 1 in 900 shot of winning some tastelessly modified Caddy van. Plenty of people are though and they seem to sell out quick, which is why I think Kings is so successful vs others trying to replicate it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I know a girl that won a BMW 420d in December and another one the exact same model and colour in February!

I’ve entered a few times but Unfortunately no luck yet but I was close a few weeks ago. My number was 763 and 764 won a Nissan GTR!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,379 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Why would they be affiliated with a charity?

As far as I know, any raffles which do not have a charitable purpose aren’t legal in Ireland.

There were amendments to the gaming and lotteries act discussed in the Seanad before Christmas but I don’t know if that bit was changed recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭Darksoul

It's real, a lad has won a scrambler and a red Audi back to back raffles couple of months ago, fair play to him but insane luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

My cousin won a BMW on it.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    As far as I know, any raffles which do not have a charitable purpose aren’t legal in Ireland.

There were amendments to the gaming and lotteries act discussed in the Seanad before Christmas but I don’t know if that bit was changed recently.

They are Northern Irish based if that makes a difference? All the games are priced in pound sterling and most prizes are UK reg'd. Just seems to have a large following in the republic.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

https://www.mayonews.ie/news/34742-lucky-liam-lands-westport-house
    Liam admits that he had felt his luck was in before Christmas, when he won a Mercedes E350 and £2,000 on the R Kings Competitions Facebook page, after he bought a ticket for that draw for just £22.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

I think you answer a simple question when you enter this some how makes it a competition and not technically a raffle?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,233 ✭✭✭✭ted1

The cars aren’t worth much. They probably get them cheap off trade and raffle them off for a good mark up

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

As far as I know they're legit. I read somewhere that they sell enough tickets to cover cost of car plus profit and that they only buy the car after the draw, so they can't really lose.

Edit to say: I may not be talking about this exact company but a similar car draw one

Do they raffle new cars or they all boy racer yokes

ted1 wrote: »
    The cars aren’t worth much. They probably get them cheap off trade and raffle them off for a good mark up

To be fair, most of the stuff is high enough value. They've done Escort Cosworths, R35 Skylines, an i8, loads of f10 5 series and new model A6's. Evo's, AE86's etc.

If they do raffle a low value car, there's usually a couple of grand cash or a holiday lumped in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I had the same suspicions as the OP, kept seeing a lot of winners from Co Roscommon where I'm from - the son reckons it's legit though, he knows a lad won a car on it a few weeks ago seemingly.

Ya 100% legit.

Quite a few winners from Roscommon lately. There was another rossie purple patch before the Christmas as well. A month or two ago quite a few people from cork were lucky.

The mind tends to note patterns subconsciously hence certain counties coming up a few times in the space of a few weeks sticks out but in reality it is just random.

I personally know 2 people who've won. One of them won an f10 M5.

I've never entered one of the raffles myself though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'd hate to win one and get stuck with VRT!

Oh they all northern cars?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I’m sure I’ve seen them raffle the odd Irish car, but I think most stuff is UK registered. I do wonder if they give the winner the option of cash instead of their car, kinda like what they do on winning streak!

Ya 100% legit.

Quite a few winners from Roscommon lately. There was another rossie purple patch before the Christmas as well. A month or two ago quite a few people from cork were lucky.

The mind tends to note patterns subconsciously hence certain counties coming up a few times in the space of a few weeks sticks out but in reality it is just random.

I personally know 2 people who've won. One of them won an f10 M5.

I've never entered one of the raffles myself though.

They may be legit in the sense that the raffle really happens, but afaik they are actually illegal, as you need approval from the District Court to run them for that sort of value (and the value of District Court raffles tops out at 25 or 30k), and should be some element of charity to them.

Makes no odds as there's no real will from the Gardaí or Revenue to prosecute whoever is running them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Honestly I reckon if they were doing something wrong they wouldn’t have been allowed to get as big as they have gotten.

I dont know anything about cars was just wondering when i saw all the sponsored posts