CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

Question.

Company I work for supplies pallets. We supply to every place.

We have machines and tool equipment plus a good few staff. Let's say we could be considered essential for shops like lidl aldi etc to continue business.

If we need a spare part for our machines but the engineers are closed. What is considered essential?

While I think safe distancing and extra precautions is great. I cant get my head around what's considered essential and nonessential

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭regedit

We live in Kildare and my elderly mum in Dublin. She has multiple health issues and would be considered high risk. I have tried 3-4 online delivery stores but Tesco's earliest delivery slot is 15 April, Supervalue the same etc so will have to drive 50 km unfortunately to get her groceries. Hope I am not stopped having to explain my actions but it's either this or she starves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,161 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

What happens to people living in rural areas further than 2km from shops and essential services?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Is there a list of these essential businesses yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Gael23 wrote: »
    What happens to people living in rural areas further than 2km from shops and essential services?

what do you think???

the 2km rule is for walkers and joggers only ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,320 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

regedit wrote:
    We live in Kildare and my elderly mum in Dublin. She has multiple health issues and would be considered high risk. I have tried 3-4 online delivery stores but Tesco's earliest delivery slot is 15 April, Supervalue the same etc so will have to drive 50 km unfortunately to get her groceries. Hope I am not stopped having to explain my actions but it's either this or she starves!

You should be fine, I'd imagine Gardai will understand, and this is permitted under new rules. Best of luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

Self employed Electrician here. I'm guessing my services are still considered essential in the event of a break down?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    You should be fine, I'd imagine Gardai will understand, and this is permitted under new rules. Best of luck

I’ll be driving food to my folks today, same as you couldn’t get a delivery. I’ll just explain it to the guards. They will know you are genuine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭NetChat101

regedit wrote: »

One of the exceptions to the 2km rule is if you have to care for a family member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭munster87

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,161 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

regedit wrote: »

Could you take her to stay with you for a while?

ewc78 wrote: »
    Self employed Electrician here. I'm guessing my services are still considered essential in the event of a break down?

Where will you get your parts? This idea of essential and nonessential really doesnt make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭autumnbelle

Yeah call outs are on the list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭Hooked

https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/

Updated list here BUT I still can’t be sure if they are going to amend it... as it only lists retailers???

It also says those stores must observe physical distancing but also says we should only go out for food and medicine? So do I go to B&Q to get repair materials - or am I not allowed out with the exception of food/medical.

I’m all for these measures but the info is contradictory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭NetChat101

Obviously if your supermarket/chemist is more than 2km away you can go for your essentials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭regedit

Could you take her to stay with you for a while?

We have kids and the fear is they could pass it on if they somehow acquire it. Children have very good immunity. Elderly people not so

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 480 ✭✭ewc78

Where will you get your parts? This idea of essential and nonessential really doesnt make sense

Would have plenty of parts at home. Just wondering if I get a phone call to say someone has no power in sockets or heating is not working or something then would that be considered a essential service to go fix them?
    Then again do I really want to be going into someone else's house now, but on the other hand I'd hate to see someone stuck with no power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭speckle

vunerable groups
    https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/guidance/vulnerablegroupsguidance/
    surprised people with cardiac issues not mentioned more or high blood pressure or vision impaired.

Would have plenty of parts at home. Just wondering if I get a phone call to say someone has no power in sockets or heating is not working or something then would that be considered a essential service to go fix them?
    Then again do I really want to be going into someone else's house now, but on the other hand I'd hate to see someone stuck with no power.

That's a fair point. But I'm sure there is a lot of sparks in the country that wont be as lucky as you to have everything needed to carry out there job... while I think you should be considered essential. What's to say your parts provider isnt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Hooked wrote: »
    https://www.gov.ie/en/news/7e0924-latest-updates-on-covid-19-coronavirus/

Updated list here BUT I still can’t be sure if they are going to amend it... as it only lists retailers???

It also says those stores must observe physical distancing but also says we should only go out for food and medicine? So do I go to B&Q to get repair materials - or am I not allowed out with the exception of food/medical.

I’m all for these measures but the info is contradictory

No mention of what types of manufacturing/construction which is essential?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Regarding your 10k run/walk or 40k cycle. Many say they are living in isolated rural areas. Ok I'm very familiar with that, my home place is above as isolated as you can get.

However why not look on it as an exercise in self discipline to adhere by the guidelines? It is lent after all... It's all me, me, me my routine, I want to stay in shape etc.

It's also very easy to organise circuit training in your garage or garden with free weights, core exercises. You can run the perimeter of the circle within a 2k radius, over 12k.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,444 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

So are all construction sites closed now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,140 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Owl McGregor has really bandwagoned this one. He’s getting more frequent than Tony bleedin’ Holohan.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

I think that's due later....

They will certainly have to clarify what's essential/non-essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭Hooked

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

Exactly - I’m in a printers, luckily 2km from my gaff. We print a lot of material for HSE, med-tech and similar companies. Could be argued essential, especially as we had orders yesterday for Covid-19 specific medication records, but the list in gov.ie ONLY includes retail!

As I’ve said in earlier posts, I’m all for this LEO.CKDOWN - I own that phrase now - but the info is contradictory

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,880 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

pc7 wrote: »
    So are all construction sites closed now?

To be clarified. They can't be all closed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/two-metres-not-enough-when-social-distancing-39083182.html

An article about the 2 metres distancing, which thus far I have found to be a pragmatic recommendation rather than scientifically accurate. And so it is.
    Quote -
    "a new analysis by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the US has found that viral droplets expelled in coughs and sneezes can travel in a moist, warm atmosphere at speeds of 10-30 metres (33ft-100ft) per second, creating a cloud that can span approximately 7-8 metres (23ft-27ft)"

"The researchers also warn that droplets can stay suspended in the air for hours, moving along airflow patterns imposed by ventilation or climate-control systems.

Virus particles have already been found in the ventilation systems of hospital rooms of patients with coronavirus, which the team believes could have been carried on "turbulent clouds" of air."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Will the bins be collected? I assume in cities, yes. But the private companies that service rural areas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Will the bins be collected? I assume in cities, yes. But the private companies that service rural areas?

We'll see when they release the list, but Id imagine bins are essential. Other than that, check your provider?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Question.

Company I work for supplies pallets. We supply to every place.

We have machines and tool equipment plus a good few staff. Let's say we could be considered essential for shops like lidl aldi etc to continue business.

If we need a spare part for our machines but the engineers are closed. What is considered essential?

While I think safe distancing and extra precautions is great. I cant get my head around what's considered essential and nonessential

Talk to your manager