Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

So is this 2km thing pure arbitrary or is it going to be enforced? I can’t see us going down the militant route so is it going to be up to us to comply with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Vivienne23

shesty wrote: »
    Why?

I switched off before he got to that exact point but are they allowed to go do shopping and that?

A bit of me feels that it is how it is - I have said a lot here that we are stuck at home for 2 weeks with 3 small kids now, and I really noticed the absolute lack of kids anywhere the few times we have gone down the road. Why is it so tough to ask over 70s to stay in when we have been doing it already??? I genuinely am asking that question by the way, I am not being smart. It is for their direct benefit mainly.

My OH just pointed out this now may mean he will have to go do the shopping for his parents, which basically exposes him to more time spent in shops. (online shopping is booked out for weeks around here so it is not possible)

Click and collect ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Is this reactive or proactive?
    Ie is it actually getting getting much worse here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Class MayDresser

Last time I'm saying it :) The 2km thing is just for exercise. You can go further to shop for food.doctor etc.

No way I'm running 6km to the shop. They swinging the piss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Mr.S wrote: »
    Doing the same. Go go go.

About to that now. Hopefully the weather keeps up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,486 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

champchamp wrote: »
    So have I work tomorrow or not? Would be nice to know sometime soon
    What do you do? Not sure asking here will help...maybe contact your work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Hurrache wrote: »
    Ah ffs, would yis all bleedin do an online course in Comprehension with the spare time yer going to have.
    Now, now, not everyone saw it and people need to process it. In 20 pages the same questions will surface. It's what it is! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

paddythere wrote: »
    That's really annoying though and ridiculous. How are they possibly gonna enforce it: stop people in the middle of a jog and ask them how far away they live?
    I'm all for restrictions but I wont be changing my jogging routines
    Don't complain when they have to ban leaving the home for exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

That's the kinda spirit that will get us through this

Not agreeing with wishing you to be hurt bit but in fairness your post came across as selfish and self obsessed.

Not the right spirit we need now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

So it's not possible to catch the virus within a 2km radius of your home.......can any experts confirm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

That's really annoying though and ridiculous. How are they possibly gonna enforce it: stop people in the middle of a jog and ask them how far away they live?

Thank goodness! We were all so worried you’d give up on jogging! Thankfully not!

Get over yourself. Your little jogs can wait for the sake of saving people lives. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

champchamp wrote: »
    So have I work tomorrow or not? Would be nice to know sometime soon
    Nobody on here can tell you that.

Lundstram wrote: »
    Gardens all across Ireland will be immaculate for the next few weeks.

I’m going to be mowing the lawn every evening anyway. What else can you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Is this a garda/army enforced lockdown with checkpoints and actual restrictions, or just stronger recommendations?

This is Ireland. Do people really think that we are going to have an army enforced lockdown? Seriously do we have the numbers for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭sterz

eagle eye wrote: »
    This 2km thing is a load of codswallop. I've been driving out to the middle of nowhere to walk my dogs where there is nobody else. If I walk them within 2km of my house I can't avoid people.

Oh yeah, that annoucement didn't apply to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭TTLF
    save the trouble and jazz it up

times like this I wish I owned a holiday house rather than a caravan in a park... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

So small minded that you need to be forced to do something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭banie01

xbSWVkC.jpg

Paraphrasing from a movie that's sub-titled Judgement Day may or may not be cause for panic?!
    tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭Speak Now

J. Marston wrote: »
    Gonna be a rake of Christmas babies this year.

Rake of divorces more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

So is this 2km thing pure arbitrary or is it going to be enforced? I can’t see us going down the militant route so is it going to be up to us to comply with?

Is it so hard to heed the advice for two weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

I'm not adhering to a restriction if its retarded, simple as

So you're doubling down as a selfish idiot.
    Enjoy your run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Kerryite wrote: »
    Seriously?? That’s the most selfish thing I’ve heard in ages. Don’t you know anything about what’s going on?

Yea I was actually warning people about this virus on january but this 2km thing is ****ing stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

J. Marston wrote: »
    Gonna be a rake of Christmas babies this year.

Cancelled imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So I missed the briefing and the news sites are not exactly clear.

Is this a garda/army enforced lockdown with checkpoints and actual restrictions, or just stronger recommendations?

Given the list of "essential' businesses during the week was still pretty long, has this been redefined? Like is a standard office now closed?

Simon Harris tweeted the letter from Dr Holohan. See point 18.

https://twitter.com/SimonHarrisTD/status/1243640354018078729?s=20

Regrettably he left out pages 4 & 5 from the tweet and the government website is down so no clarification yet on exactly what are essential services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Kerryite wrote: »
    Seriously?? That’s the most selfish thing I’ve heard in ages. Don’t you know anything about what’s going on?

Yea I was actually warning people about this virus on january but this 2km thing is stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Covid-19: Taoiseach announces further restrictions

For 2 weeks. With no penalties if I do go out!?

And then what?

Really all this is pointless. People are gonna go out anyway but really it doesn't ever matter.

It may delay the surge but it is coming and our healthcare system was sh1t and is still sh1t and thousands more are gonna die because it has been left in sh1t by one incompetent money grabber politician after another for 3 decades.

Vaccine, if it ever comes, won't be this year, we cant keep tripping over ourselves to out do some other countries social giveaway bonanza until next year.

Maybe should have put the money into ICU beds instead and get a wriggle on to infecting 1.9 million people with this thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Gardai have the power to enforce if they consider it necessary.

It's 2 weeks lads, just shorten your walking route ffs

I'm not adhering to a restriction if its retarded, simple as

There is certainly something retarded, it's not the restriction though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭CSU

Government covid site won't load for me but maybe will later when things die down

ffs...

how hard is it to get a txt file availabe before announcements like this *facepalm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭ihdxwz4a3pem9j

To be honest, as a healthcare worker in the critical care division, I think that the government is acting very well. The general consensus amongst my colleagues is that Varadkar and Harris are handling this really well. It was an unpredictable crisis. There is an amazing mobilisation of resources and support plans. The hospital is a collegiate place at the moment. From top-down, I think that the government, the HSE and individuals want to really help fight this virus. Ultimately, the decision was made to value lives above all else in this country.

I think that those who tout the health of the economy above all else and criticise the 'draconian' measures lack a certain foresight re:the excess mortality if we don't try to curb the spread. Social distancing is one of the few interventions which has a demonstrated benefit. To forego this, would be to set a fire in a forest. While we would have the short-term benefits of the economy proceeding as status quo, this contagious illness would propagate. The cost of sustaining an overwhelmed health service would be financially unviable. Additionaly, illness results in loss of life, which results in loss of vital skills and earning potential. For example, a healthcare worker costs an inordinate amount of time and money to train, both at an undergraduate and postgraduate level. Furthermore, a healthcare worker will pay taxes to the economy for 40 years. Either way, the economy will be in an equally bad state. I am glad that our government chose the life-conserving route.

Ní neart go cur le chéile