Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part XI - 2,615 in ROI (46 deaths) 410 in NI (21 deaths)(29/03)*OP upd 28/03*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Holohan appreciation post

tumblr_me1pha0Pcu1rnr47go8_250.gifv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭mohawk

Yeah, it's been like Picadilly Circus in the forest park beside me this last couple of weeks. Normally you might see 1 or 2 an evening.

In fairness some of it is because gyms have been shut and near me a few spots for walking have closed so people are restricted where they can go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭dan786

statesaver wrote: »
    Will the Post Office be closed ?

No, comes under essential service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

Sure look, at least the clocks go forward on Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So I missed the briefing and the news sites are not exactly clear.

Is this a garda/army enforced lockdown with checkpoints and actual restrictions, or just stronger recommendations?

Given the list of "essential' businesses during the week was still pretty long, has this been redefined? Like is a standard office now closed?

Just stronger recommendations it seems like

On the 2k radius, does that mean I can go for a walk for 2k from my home and then 2k back to my home? Or 1K out and 1K back?

Specifically said 2k radius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

" Yeah, just on my way to Dunnes now officer".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭King_Joffery

I'm guessing the NCT centers will be closed?? I've a test at 4pm Monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I'm at a loss to what the figures ( dead ,+,ICU ) actually mean. Are we on better, worse or the same as Spain and Italy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭munster87

dan786 wrote: »
    I have posted this 3 times already.

2KM radius in only for exercise. You can go outside that for essential needs like food, medicines, doctor etc.

Maybe he likes to do jumping jacks in the bread aisle

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Yes, but some may consider that exercise might assist in boosting their immune system, an important thing with regards to CV.

You do realise these aren't normal circumstances, right? If they ended up in hospital, do you think they'd be able to exercise then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Coneygree wrote: »
    No wonder the place is f*cked, the amount of people commenting here about the 2km radius. If ye watched the conference or read the tens of articles already online ye'd see it is a 2km restriction for exercise not for work or shops. People here must be exchanging brain cells for rolls of toilet roll.

It’s actually incredible the amount of stupidity you come across. Just listen and read the articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

I feel like they tried to squeeze the last bit of juice into the economy before doing this unfortuantely.

This should of been done 10 days ago.

Did Tony Holohan just say that 71 were in intensive care as of this morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭paddythere

Run 1k then do a circle and the 1k back. 1k + 2xPixR(1) + 1k = 8.2k = 5.17 miles.
    That's really annoying though and ridiculous. How are they possibly gonna enforce it: stop people in the middle of a jog and ask them how far away they live?
    I'm all for restrictions but I wont be changing my jogging routines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 dickdonk14

Question on cocooning. I have a 6 year old with asthma and a wife who works in a essential job. So we will have to stay ĺck in for 2 weeks will she be able to claim social welfare payment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

2KM ffs nearest shop to me is 6km away

Last time I'm saying it :) The 2km thing is just for exercise. You can go further to shop for food.doctor etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Get Real

Lundstram wrote: »
    Sure look, at least the clocks go forward on Saturday night.

Except they go forward 🀣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Canonfan

Leo has a medical background. Why no mention of wearing surgical masks? I'm no expert on this but I see doctors and nurses wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,061 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

paddythere wrote: »
    That's really annoying though and ridiculous. How are they possibly gonna enforce it: stop people in the middle of a jog and ask them how far away they live?

I hope you sprain your ankle on your next run. Genuinely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    One in my house over 70 and one under . I presume the one under 70 can go shopping ?
    Your call I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,575 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I'm guessing the NCT centers will be closed?? I've a test at 4pm Monday!

They are essential services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

Flood of cash, from where? At least 40% unemployment by the end of this. There will be no money, no jobs, no private businesse, no tax take to pay the HSE dealing with this. It's over. Think end of WW1, hyper inflation, blaming and war.

there's billions in people's private savings in this country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 Pencil Neck

2KM ffs nearest shop to me is 6km away

Looks like the non attentive pass leaving people will starve ! Huzzah !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Right so.....sorry to ask.

As regards testing. I know personally of a number of people who definitely had it but their test was cancelled. One improved thankfully but one is getting another test on Monday as still bad at home.

What if an old/vulnerable person is in a similar situation and goes downhill quickly. Given the advice is to stay at home and call ambulance if worsens, this would potentially leave some vulnerable people at risk of dying.

This has two net effects.
    1. number of cases is lower than actual by a significant margin
    2. number of deaths recorded could potentially be lower if no post mortem test carried out

Are we doing post mortem tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

paddythere wrote: »

Thanks, your country people salute you.

Idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Tandey

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Just don’t be a dick and they won’t need to ‘enforce it’
    Just do it

What about the people who will be dicks though. They won’t be jailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭champchamp

Is there a list of essential jobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭CSU

Can someone direct me to the new list of essential services please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

ricero wrote: »
    I feel like they tried to squeeze the last bit of juice into the economy before doing this unfortuantely.

This should of been done 10 days ago.

Bill Gates was on CNN last night, he said total lock downs were needed.