Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want a shutdown NOW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

People need to be locked in their bedrooms and not come out until a whistle is blown by the local garda when this is over. Food will be slid under the door in a process known as flood sliding. Exercise will consist of dancing to old style music on the radio.

Sarcasm I know, but what you described seems to be what several here want. Laughable.

Not for long.

We will not even be allowed go walking in a week or so for months because people like you had to get out of the house.

Not really. The problem is that there are a wide range of reactions to this, and the manner in which people behave reflects this. Many people are engaging in proper social distancing, whereas others are mingling. As long as there are no definitive and enforced rules, the people who mingle, will continue to mingle. Most Irish people have never faced a crisis in their lifetimes, and so will be resistant to anything that limits their "freedoms".. and that includes their perceived right to socialise/gossip.

The problem isn't with the people who walk/run and maintain social distancing. I've encountered many people who will cross the road to avoid passing by another person. Others are wearing masks or covering their mouths/noses with something while passing others. All good there.

The issue is with the people who mingle. The people who will sit outside within a few paces of each other, talking directly towards each other and not covering their mouths/noses while doing so. The corner store at the end of my residential road is a prime example. It's a meeting point for a number of official walking lanes, and has a number of tables/seats outside. I've seen groups of women sitting there in their running gear having a chat, while their kids/teens play or hang out in the large parking lot nearby. Sure, they're maintaining an element of social distancing, but not really taking it seriously.

We need to be aware of the differences and respect those who are taking it seriously. Actual isolation without it being enforced is unrealistic in this country. A large percentage of the population will self-isolate for a while, but will come out after a week or so, because they see so many others not doing so. I'm not blaming anyone for that, because it's human nature to behave that way.

Nope. We need to be reinforcing the recommended "rules" for social distancing, even to the point of nominating private individuals to walk around reminding people how to behave. Like watchmen. Although some people will resist being told, and just laugh it off. Again, most Irish people haven't any direct experience of being in danger, and can't comprehend the actual risks. Others will fall in line easily enough.. for a while.

Eventually though, there will likely need to be enforced social distancing. If that fails, then enforced isolation. I suspect the country needs to go through those stages..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,047 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

You didn't answer the poster's question which was a genuine question. Instead you put the poster down. The poster is not trying to justify it , they are asking how if they are out in the countryside, cycling a bike on their own, coming home without having touched a single thing...... how is that putting people at risk?

Should everyone who wants to go out and about, do it? What affect would that have? It would help spread the virus and prolong the problem and increase pressure in the health service which will eventually become overrun.

So I did answer the question earlier in the thread. I said it would have little effect in the specific case but it goes against the spirit of trying to minimise the spread. If we all do what the poster is suggesting and go out and about as we please to do whatever we want, then the whole thing would be a mess.

So the poster has a choice: be part of the solution by not d1cking about, or do what they’ve already decided they’re going to do and go for a jolly up with whatever justifications it takes to make them feel better about themselves. If they are being honest, they’ll know they’re behaving poorly.

But as you’ve pointed out, it’s not against the law so it can’t be any harm, right?

Just ask long as people know that the poster going on a jolly-up is poor behaviour, and they shouldn’t follow suit, then I’m happy and the integrity of the thing we’re all doing together will only be compromised a small bit by the poster doing whatever they want.

This is a thread calling for an extremely strict lockdown, where movement of the kind I've described would be restricted if not banned outright. I am not spending any time convincing myself, because I know this to be the best information available based on what I have read and what seems to be consensus among the people working on this. I'm trying to lay out my points and reasoning as clear as possible, as to why I'm wary of these kinds of requests.

Physical activity, beyond the obvious physical health benefits, is known to be hugely beneficial mentally, also. I don't think this can be dismissed lightly, especially given the current circumstances where people's lives have been changed drastically and suddenly. Taking this away would be an extremely serious measure, and based on current knowledge, how much is to be gained, versus the extra strain this will place on the population?

I'm only talking about it, because, well, that's what this thread is, lol. I'm not shouting it from the rooftops, and I doubt the readership of this forum is a significant representation of the population. To encourage people to try and maintain some level of normality while also being as careful as possible? I do think that would be a good thing actually, and again, that seems to be our current policy. I understand where you're coming from on that though, that people need to be responsible and not overstep boundaries on this. Again, caution and consideration are key here. I will let the experts make the public announcements, and all I'm doing here is repeating that, but as we're here on a discussion forum, I think it's okay to discuss, no?

You're not really reading or responding to the points I'm making properly and I can tell you're getting a kick out of it. Normally it'd lower my opinion of a person, but, not pulling the piss, I understand where you're coming from. This is a fuccked up time in our history and none of us can really say we saw this coming. I know you're upset and frustrated with the state of things and you think I'm throwing caution to the wind and not taking this seriously. If I'm coming across as disingenuous, I don't mean to. All I'd ask from anyone else is to return the favour and not let your frustration and fear with regards to the S H I T hand we have all been dealt dictate your posting.

As per above, I am not being willfully ignorant of anything here, and it's not nice to be framed as such. No one in the world has a monopoly on the fear and uncertainty at the moment.

Of course. Sure go and enjoy yourself and have the common sense not to tell people where you were.

Honestly I wonder if you’re just messing and don’t have any intention to go out for such a stupid reason.

You could exercise in the house. I live in a small house and have been doing exercise classes on YouTube. Go out, run free, be an edgelord and fly in the face of all the decent people who are actually trying to help the situation.

When we look back on how we behaved during this crisis, I wonder if you’ll admit you did this kind of thing or will you just pretend you behaved well instead by washing your hands and not going on holiday?

Do what you like, unless you think the virus is a serious concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Of course. Sure go and enjoy yourself and have the common sense not to tell people where you were.

Honestly I wonder if you’re just messing and don’t have any intention to go out for such a stupid reason.

You could exercise in the house. I live in a small house and have been doing exercise classes on YouTube. Go out, run free, be an edgelord and fly in the face of all the decent people who are actually trying to help the situation.

When we look back on how we behaved during this crisis, I wonder if you’ll admit you did this kind of thing or will you just pretend you behaved well instead by washing your hands and not going on holiday?

Why are you ignoring WHO, HSE and Irish government advice?

• Subscribers Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Realistically even a 75% take up in social isolation will halt the virus in its tracks... And from what I'm seeing the vast, vast majority of people are distancing.

We just need to do enough so as not to over run our health system.

There will always be complete idiots who think they can all do as they please, in every walk of life, but if enough of us adhere to do what we are supposed to, we will stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Should everyone who wants to go out and about, do it? What affect would that have? It would help spread the virus and prolong the problem and increase pressure in the health service which will eventually become overrun.

So I did answer the question earlier in the thread. I said it would have little effect in the specific case but it goes against the spirit of trying to minimise the spread. If we all do what the poster is suggesting and go out and about as we please to do whatever we want, then the whole thing would be a mess.

So the poster has a choice: be part of the solution by not d1cking about, or do what they’ve already decided they’re going to do and go for a jolly up with whatever justifications it takes to make them feel better about themselves. If they are being honest, they’ll know they’re behaving poorly.

But as you’ve pointed out, it’s not against the law so it can’t be any harm, right?

Just ask long as people know that the poster going on a jolly-up is poor behaviour, and they shouldn’t follow suit, then I’m happy and the integrity of the thing we’re all doing together will only be compromised a small bit by the poster doing whatever they want.

The best point you've made is that the less careful and considerate among the population may not get the point. But that was always going to be the case. Rightfully, there's backlash against the kind of idiots opening their pubs for lock-ins and continuing to have parties etc. This is stupid, dangerous behaviour and I agree should not be tolerated.

The rest? No basis in fact given our current knowledge. Where am I suggesting that everyone "do as they please"? You've again, not actually read what I've said and are projecting your own meaning onto it. There's nothing even slightly "edgelord" about anything I've said, unless HSE and WHO guidelines are somehow edgy now? All I've said is that if you are taking precautions, being outdoors is not harmful. Leaving your house does not hit a magic kill switch that is pressed to transmit the virus as soon as you step outside the bounds of your property.

You're also mocking me over taking actual tangible steps there, i.e not travelling and frequently washing my hands. Two of the most effective ways to halt the spread, and you're dismissing it. Why?

I'll say this once more. A virus needs to come into contact with a suitable host (human). If said human is avoiding contact with other humans and leaving no potential traces of a virus on surfaces that may be shared by other humans, it's fairly irrelevant where that human happens to be. I'm inside my house the majority of the day, and when I'm not, I'm keeping my distance.

Thus far, no one has responded to this with anything other than emotionally charged "just don't", without any facts backing it up. And again, I get it. We all want to control how this plays out, for the better. We are all scared. But there's no evidence to suggest that exercising outdoors alone is putting people at risk, and all the guidelines I've read, from multiple countries and authorities, are actually backing this up. I'm not suggesting anything radical here.

I am saying a situation where people cannot leave their homes without permission from local authorities is horrible and should be a real last resort when all else fails and the evidence supports this as the required measure. A lot of people seem to want to jump to this stage in the hope that it is the most effective measure, and I don't see a lot of thought going into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

When it's growing exponentially every 4 days and it takes you 2 weeks to know whether or not your measures have helped, would it not make sense to err on the side of caution?

I thought this interview with specialist in the times was brilliant https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/confronting-coronavirus?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fhealth%2Fconfronting-coronavirus

It was great to get some honesty and not "everything is absolutely 100% fine and good and lovely, just stay in and wash your hands!" I don't want to obsess over every bit of bad news but I don't want to be lied to like a child. And I wouldn't lie to a child either. Brene Brown said something like: "The most dangerous thing in the world for a child is the silence in which to invent their own story". If you hold back information people realize it and they go out looking and then they find lies, because the liars don't hold back disinformation.

The best point you've made is that the less careful and considerate among the population may not get the point. But that was always going to be the case.

You're also mocking me over taking actual tangible steps there, i.e not travelling and frequently washing my hands. Two of the most effective ways to halt the spread, and you're dismissing it. Why?

Yes I’d say you’re being neither careful or considerate. As you say, that was always going to be the case.

Oh you’re washing your hands? Why didn’t you say? Washing your hands means you get a free pass for a day to go for a jolly-up and you can’t get or spread the virus or encourage others to go for their own jolly up.

Look, just go and enjoy yourself and then deny you ever did anything that stupid. If you at least don’t encourage others to do it then you can at least reduce the risk of others following your lead. That’s the most important thing.

Yes I’d say you’re being neither careful or considerate. As you say, that was always going to be the case.

Oh you’re washing your hands? Why didn’t you say? Washing your hands means you get a free pass for a day to go for a jolly-up and you can’t get or spread the virus or encourage others to go for their own jolly up.

Look, just go and enjoy yourself and then deny you ever did anything that stupid. If you at least don’t encourage others to do it then you can at least reduce the risk of others following your lead. That’s the most important thing.

How's the view from that horse?

I am about to go for a run, in line with WHO advice, and will not get within a number of metres of another human. Zero, actually zero, risk to me or anyone else

Just listening to the CEO of the Irish Medical Organisation being interviewed by Ivan Yates on Newstalk (half an hour ago) and she said it is absolutely VITAL for people's physical and mental health that they get outside for exercise in these times. Social distancing should be practiced and not going out in groups of more than 4 family members. Walking, running, cycling all encouraged using these measures.

There you go lads.....straight from the horses mouth. ElDuderino09 and realdanbreen you need to step back from your devices for a while, maybe get a breath of fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Looks like further lockdown measures might be announced tonight. ICU beds are projected to run out on April 4th so its not surprising, in fact it sounds like too little too late

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1243598814952521733

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Looks like further lockdown measures might be announced tonight. ICU beds are projected to run out on April 4th so its not surprising, in fact it sounds like too little too late

https://twitter.com/FergalBowers/status/1243598814952521733

The rules are there already. It’s just about enforcement. If what we have now can’t be enforced, it’s hard to see how stricter ones can be

We might see a closure of construction sites and/or restrictions on flights into the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Jeez I find the people thumbing their noses at social distancing absolutely odious but a walk or run by yourself is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Jeez I find the people thumbing their noses at social distancing absolutely odious but a walk or run by yourself is fine.

Exactly.

I'm lucky I live in a rural area. I ran 5k this morning and met 1 person walking a dog. If you can maintain social distancing then you should be able to get out and exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,640 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

SHUTDOWN!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

SHUTDOWN!

Not before time. Should have been done 2 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Well your wish came through.. lockdown for at least 2 weeks....

Not fully of course as this is Ireland but there are crazies going around as it is....

Had a looper start on me on the bus earlier.... Oap too... You would think he would want to be keeping back from others....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Source for official lockdown?

LOCKDOWN

Comes only 3 days after the previous measures were announced, the government is at sixes and sevens on this issue now. One day the government sanction the safety of horse racing going ahead behind closed doors then three days later it wasnt deemed to be safe. On Tuesday they were saying it was fine for construction sites to stay open, today they are saying it isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,011 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Source for official lockdown?

Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭Risteard81

Utterly outrageous response.

Totalitarianism as I have pointed out.

Adolf Varadkar strikes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,775 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Giblet wrote: »
    Are you for real?

I just woke up. What's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭CaoinDory

So is it only essential work being allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭flexcon

Well that’s my trip to Kerry gone.

I have a relative been flown in from panama on Sunday into Dublin. Was supposed to collect them with their car. Probably not doable now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

If martial law is your wet dream, I'm afraid you are going to be terribly disappointed.

Ahhhhhhhhh

Ahhhhhhhhh

Instead of a stupid response, look up the meaning of martial law.
    New rules have no impact on me dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Cork_Langer1

This isn't a lockdown.

People can still go out, fines are useless as they won't be payed, and the stations will be full in a day if they start detaining people.

Fcuk the Irish media and their LOCKDOWN hard on.