Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 9)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Leggy, you bless me with your very presence :)

Jupiter, I've been up and down in vicious mood swings even more so now. The good news is as tearful as you may be now, it actually does pass quite cleanly. Be gentle with yourself while down, it'll be ok..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

People hitting the hay early round these parts.

No I just killed the conversation as usual :o

I'm still awake. Watching Peep show. I liked people sharing their poems before. I must go find the poem thread. I think there's one.

Do you remember this one from school:

There was a boy whose name was Tom,
    Who made a high explosive bomb,
    By mixing up some iodine
    With sugar, flour and plasticine.
    Then to make it smell more queer
    He added Daddy's home made beer.
    He took it off to school one day
    And when they all went out to play,
    He left it by the radiator
    As the heat was getting greater.
    The mixture in the bomb grew thick
    And all at once began to tick..

That's all I can remember off the top of my head. I presume they were all blown to smithereens.

I bet they don't teach that in schools anymore in case they give any budding terrorists inspiration.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

You and your dirty movies, Seph. We're all too innocent for that craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

People hitting the hay early round these parts.

I'm only hitting it due to arse hole neighbours. They shout and scream during the night at their 3 year old that cries constantly. When that finishes it picks up again at 6/7am. The child cries again and they start shouting again. Once my house is awake, they go back to bed until after lunch. Fooking crazy ****. So I always get a head start on the oul sleep. London was fooking quieter.:D

Work.
    Today was the first day I noticed my Mam sounding down on the phone.
    It's been a few long lonely weeks for her & no end in sight.
    I think I will send her something 2moro.... Maybe flowers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

I'm still awake. Watching Peep show. I liked people sharing their poems before. I must go find the poem thread. I think there's one.

Do you remember this one from school:

By mixing up some iodine
    With sugar, flour and plasticine.
    Then to make it smell more queer
    He added Daddy's home made beer.
    As the heat was getting greater.
    And all at once began to tick..

That's all I can remember off the top of my head. I presume they were all blown to smithereens.

I bet they don't teach that in schools anymore in case they give any budding terrorists inspiration.
    Yeah I remember that! :D
    Tom's Bomb by David Hornsby

By mixing up some iodine
    With sugar, flour and plasticine
    Then, just to make it smell more queer
    He added Daddy's home-made beer.
    As the heat was getting greater
    And very soon it seemed to tick
    Miss Knight came in and gazed with awe
    To see the bomb upon the floor
    "Dear me", she said "it is a bomb,
    An object worth escaping from"
    She went to Mr Holliday
    And said in tones that were not gay,
    "Headmaster, this is not much fun
    There is a bomb in classroom one!"
    "Great snakes" said he, and gave a cough
    And said, "I hope it won't go off!
    But on the off chance that it does
    I think we'd better call the Fuzz"
    A policeman came and said, "Oh, God,
    We need the bomb disposal squad
    Some firemen and a doctor too,
    A helicopter and its crew
    And, since I'm shaking in the legs
    A cup of tea and hard boiled eggs!"
    A bomb disposal engineer
    Said, with every sign of fear,
    "I've not seen one like that before,"
    And rushed out, screaming, through the door.
    Everyone became more worried
    Till Tom, who seemed to be unflurried
    Asked what was all the fuss about?
    "I'll pick it up and take it out."
    He tipped the contents down the drain
    And peace and quiet reigned again
    Tom just smiled and shook his head
    And quietly to himself he said:
    "Excitement's what these people seek,
    I'll bring another one next week!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,952 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

bubblypop wrote: »
    Work.

That's a lovely idea BP , with maybe a handwritten card from you , that she will still have long after the flowers are gone ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

bubblypop wrote: »
    Work.

Or a couple of different treat type things if she's into that?. Like something from a bakery and a moisturiser? I second mam's idea, a note would be lovely..

Guy Person wrote: »
    Yeah I remember that! :D
    Tom's Bomb by David Hornsby

By mixing up some iodine
    With sugar, flour and plasticine
    Then, just to make it smell more queer
    He added Daddy's home-made beer.
    As the heat was getting greater
    And very soon it seemed to tick
    Miss Knight came in and gazed with awe
    To see the bomb upon the floor
    "Dear me", she said "it is a bomb,
    An object worth escaping from"
    She went to Mr Holliday
    And said in tones that were not gay,
    "Headmaster, this is not much fun
    There is a bomb in classroom one!"
    "Great snakes" said he, and gave a cough
    And said, "I hope it won't go off!
    But on the off chance that it does
    I think we'd better call the Fuzz"
    A policeman came and said, "Oh, God,
    We need the bomb disposal squad
    Some firemen and a doctor too,
    A helicopter and its crew
    And, since I'm shaking in the legs
    A cup of tea and hard boiled eggs!"
    A bomb disposal engineer
    Said, with every sign of fear,
    "I've not seen one like that before,"
    And rushed out, screaming, through the door.
    Everyone became more worried
    Till Tom, who seemed to be unflurried
    Asked what was all the fuss about?
    "I'll pick it up and take it out."
    He tipped the contents down the drain
    And peace and quiet reigned again
    Tom just smiled and shook his head
    And quietly to himself he said:
    "Excitement's what these people seek,
    I'll bring another one next week!"

Haha yes! Glad I'm not the only one that remembers! That brings back memories. I remember now you've shared it all that I used to think the bit about his shaking legs and needing tea and hard boiled eggs was so funny!!! :D

Sorry for being grim Seph.

I'm sure they don't teach it anymore though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

When did they teach that? Nothing like that in my day, which was a bit before most of you I think.

Yeah it's starting to hit hard now for a lot of people I think. It's like as the numbers go up the noose tightens or something. A good friend of mine was tested positive for it today and the mother of a good friend of mine is in isolation waiting for results. Looking at Spain, America, Italy.... Jesus like...

Jupiter you wouldn't be human if that didn't happen to you at this time honestly, it's hard not to get down with it all. We all miss our loved ones, what I wouldn't give to give my nieces a big squeeze right now! I just keep telling myself how different I'll be after this, everyone I love in life is going to know it when I next see them in person. I'll damn near squeeze the life out of them and let them know it. I am dishing out virtual hugs to you all.

And one more poem from my childhood though I suspect it was exclusive to inner city Dublin estates.. Ahem...

Chilly on the willy
    Cold on the hole
    Put you hands on your diddies
    And go for a stroll :)

Sardonicat wrote: »
    When did they teach that? Nothing like that in my day, which was a bit before most of you I think.

Learned it in primary school. Not sure what class. I'm 36 .. so late 80s, early 90s??

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 21,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Learned it in primary school. Not sure what class. I'm 36 .. so late 80s, early 90s??

Pfffft! You're only a baby.:P

Awww thanks! :):):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,146 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Yeah it's starting to hit hard now for a lot of people I think. It's like as the numbers go up the noose tightens or something. A good friend of mine was tested positive for it today and the mother of a good friend of mine is in isolation waiting for results. Looking at Spain, America, Italy.... Jesus like...

Jupiter you wouldn't be human if that didn't happen to you at this time honestly, it's hard not to get down with it all. We all miss our loved ones, what I wouldn't give to give my nieces a big squeeze right now! I just keep telling myself how different I'll be after this, everyone I love in life is going to know it when I next see them in person. I'll damn near squeeze the life out of them and let them know it. I am dishing out virtual hugs to you all.

And one more poem from my childhood though I suspect it was exclusive to inner city Dublin estates.. Ahem...

Chilly on the willy
    Cold on the hole
    Put you hands on your diddies
    And go for a stroll :)

We sang that..a bit different!!!!

Is it chilly on the willy, is it cold on the hole,
    Put your hand on me diddy and w'ell go for a stroll.

anewme wrote: »
    We sang that..a bit different!!!!

The version I had ended with "put your hand on your diddy and we'll go for a stroll". Not a Dub.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Well if she's only a baby that must mean I'm a baby so too!

:-P

What a kindly offer that I graciously accept. Thank you. :p
    I am joking.....unless you're interested in which case I was serious.

BuileBeag I'm 36 too, we are a pair of 36 year old babies. :D

wzBc5kf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,146 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The version I had ended with "put your hand on your diddy and we'll go for a stroll". Not a Dub.

No benefit whatsoever in putting Hand on own diddy !

None at all, but it took me a few years to realise that! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Panda Killa

In these days of self isolation I'm afraid that's the only hand going on diddies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

One of the great ironies of life. Or is it a tragedy?

And yes, you are all babies because I'm just a young wan and I'm older than ye so ye have to be mere babas.

Diddies, one of the funniest words ever. I thought it was a Co. Limerick term but apparently not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

You and your dirty movies, Seph. We're all too innocent for that craic.

Crack.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Jupiter don’t be hard on yourself, your only human and we all have ups and downs. Sending you virtual hugs (Hugs)

Now bedside :)

What a kindly offer that I graciously accept. Thank you. :p
    I am joking.....unless you're interested in which case I was serious.

BuileBeag I'm 36 too, we are a pair of 36 year old babies. :D

Explains why we both remember the poem! I imagined you as early 20s. Dunno why.

My poetry memory from primary school is having to learn an excerpt from The Deserted Village by Oliver Goldsmith. It was in our history book in 5th or 6th class in the section about hedge schools.

Cheery stuff, it's no wonder I'm an eternal optimist.

I'll never forget learning the poem by seamus heaney I think It was and about a young lad and his baby brother got knocked down by a car, can't remember the name of it, grim stuff.

:EDIT: Its called midterm break.

I'll never forget learning the poem by seamus heaney I think It was and about a young lad and his baby brother got knocked down by a car, can't remember the name of it, grim stuff.

:EDIT: Its called midterm break.

That's a standout in my mind, also Emily Dickinson and Siegfried Sassoon