Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want a shutdown NOW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,864 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Full lockdown in India, and already people are begining to go hungry, and panicing for food in soup kitchens in great numbers, these are some of the extereme problems of total lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

In the specific case, not much. If everyone goes to go do whatever they want to do then we might as well forget the point of the lockdown in the first place.

We're supposed to say home to prevent the spread - even when we would prefer to be out and about.

Instead of looking for ways to go out and about and do whatever we want, this thing would be much more successful if we just play ball.

I get you. While I'm saying all this, I do want to be clear, I am making an effort. I am taking this seriously. There's a LOT of things I've wanted to do but have not been able to. I'm supposed to be out of the country on holiday right now, but got over that fairly quickly because in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter. There's friends I've been dying to see for weeks, and that's been put on hold obviously. Outside of the people I live with and the odd work colleague before the office shut down, my contact has been minimal. It's a pain, but necessary. I'm not looking to bend any rules for the craic here, and my hands are scrubbed MANY times a day. I've been to the shop once this week and will likely not need to until early next week. I won't, again, to minimise contact and try do my bit to halt the spread of the virus.

But surely people simply being outside is not doing any harm, despite what people seem to be saying. We're all scared. None of us know how this is really going to play out. We all have people we are worried about and rightly so. People seem to be forgetting, the directives from our own authorities are not the same as in other countries. We have not actually been told not to leave the house, and in fact exercise etc is encouraged as long as it's done safely. This, to me seems like a really sensible approach.

I just genuinely feel like this is getting to people more than they maybe even realise, and while I understand that, I do feel laying off on the hysteria would honestly help things. This was the point I was trying to make in my first post in this thread. There's a real horrible atmosphere brewing where everyone is scrutinising everyone else, sometimes rather unfairly in my opinion, and I can only put this down to fear. Going to throw on half a tinfoil hat there (not really) and say that I think total lockdown as per Italy, Spain, and to a lesser extent, the UK, has happened because the situations in those countries deteriorated rapidly after government inaction and public apathy and now that **** is really hitting the fan, it has to be seen that measures are taken. It seems like some people are really wishing for this to be case here, and I'm sure if was necessary to actually make the situation better, it would have been done, but from my understanding, we've had somewhat of a head start with our measures. People are being driven insane by the realisation that you ultimately cannot control the actions of others, and out of lack of faith that people will do the right thing, you get threads like this where demands are made for harsh enforcement, so that they feel they've done all they can to control this.

While out EXERCISING IN THE FRESH AIR ALONE today, I noticed 99% of people I came across observing good social distancing practice. It was fairly reassuring tbh, with almost everyone respecting each others' space and anxieties. If you go by what's said online however, you'd swear everyone is carrying on as normal.

Again, I DO care about trying to do our best against this. Some level-headedness would be appreciated though. If the data says I'm full of ****, so be it, I'll update my stance accordingly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,047 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I get you. While I'm saying all this, I do want to be clear, I am making an effort....

Well shur, you’ve done your best to convince yourself that you doing it isn’t a risk so I think you’ve made up your mind about whether you’re going to do it or not. I’m not your dad. You don’t need to explain yourself to me. But I think you know it’s not a good idea.

You’re free to behave well or poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,131 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

I get you. While I'm saying all this, I do want to be clear, I am making an effort. I am taking this seriously. There's a LOT of things I've wanted to do but have not been able to. I'm supposed to be out of the country on holiday right now, but got over that fairly quickly because in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter. There's friends I've been dying to see for weeks, and that's been put on hold obviously. Outside of the people I live with and the odd work colleague before the office shut down, my contact has been minimal. It's a pain, but necessary. I'm not looking to bend any rules for the craic here, and my hands are scrubbed MANY times a day. I've been to the shop once this week and will likely not need to until early next week. I won't, again, to minimise contact and try do my bit to halt the spread of the virus.

But surely people simply being outside is not doing any harm, despite what people seem to be saying. We're all scared. None of us know how this is really going to play out. We all have people we are worried about and rightly so. People seem to be forgetting, the directives from our own authorities are not the same as in other countries. We have not actually been told not to leave the house, and in fact exercise etc is encouraged as long as it's done safely. This, to me seems like a really sensible approach.

I just genuinely feel like this is getting to people more than they maybe even realise, and while I understand that, I do feel laying off on the hysteria would honestly help things. This was the point I was trying to make in my first post in this thread. There's a real horrible atmosphere brewing where everyone is scrutinising everyone else, sometimes rather unfairly in my opinion, and I can only put this down to fear. Going to throw on half a tinfoil hat there (not really) and say that I think total lockdown as per Italy, Spain, and to a lesser extent, the UK, has happened because the situations in those countries deteriorated rapidly after government inaction and public apathy and now that **** is really hitting the fan, it has to be seen that measures are taken. It seems like some people are really wishing for this to be case here, and I'm sure if was necessary to actually make the situation better, it would have been done, but from my understanding, we've had somewhat of a head start with our measures. People are being driven insane by the realisation that you ultimately cannot control the actions of others, and out of lack of faith that people will do the right thing, you get threads like this where demands are made for harsh enforcement, so that they feel they've done all they can to control this.

While out EXERCISING IN THE FRESH AIR ALONE today, I noticed 99% of people I came across observing good social distancing practice. It was fairly reassuring tbh, with almost everyone respecting each others' space and anxieties. If you go by what's said online however, you'd swear everyone is carrying on as normal.

Again, I DO care about trying to do our best against this. Some level-headedness would be appreciated though. If the data says I'm full of ****, so be it, I'll update my stance accordingly!

China, Italy and Spain says hello in a week.

I don’t think there’s much research being carried out on the risks associated with a day out in the Kerry mountains so I think you’re fairly safe on that score.

Look, go and do whatever you want. You’ve made up your mind to go do what you want and all you’re doing now is justifying it to yourself.

Well shur, you’ve done your best to convince yourself that you doing it isn’t a risk so I think you’ve made up your mind about whether you’re going to do it or not. I’m not your dad. You don’t need to explain yourself to me. But I think you know it’s not a good idea.

You’re free to behave well or poorly.

I genuinely do not think it's a bad idea for me to be outside, getting exercise, while avoiding contact with other people, no. I am not touching surfaces that are shared with others, I'm on my bike, so HAVE to maintain distance regardless. I do not see how this is poor behaviour.

China, Italy and Spain says hello in a week.

I think you missed the bit where they said they DO care. And because they DO care, they can’t be causing a problem. That’s how it works, right?

The way this works is a virus spreads from host to host, in this case via airborne droplets and particles which can remain on surfaces, particularly metal ones.

Avoiding contact with other people, not gathering, are the most tangible, real ways to fight this.

If a person is outside of their home, but does not come into close contact with other people and touches absolutely nothing that may be shared with other people, then how is there a significant risk posed?

I genuinely do not think it's a bad idea for me to be outside, getting exercise, while avoiding contact with other people, no. I am not touching surfaces that are shared with others, I'm on my bike, so HAVE to maintain distance regardless. I do not see how this is poor behaviour.

If you don’t see it as poor behaviour, why are you spending so much time convincing yourself? Just go and enjoy yourself. Your enjoyment in the countryside is more important than the civil problem. So just go and enjoy yourself and stop trying to justify your decision. If you had much cop on, you’d just go do it and not talk about it.trying to justify it will only encourage similar minded people to do likewise. Would that be a good thing or a bad thing, in your opinion?

The way this works is a virus spreads from host to host, in this case via airborne droplets and particles which can remain on surfaces, particularly metal ones.

Avoiding contact with other people, not gathering, are the most tangible, real ways to fight this.

If a person is outside of their home, but does not come into close contact with other people and touches absolutely nothing that may be shared with other people, then how is there a significant risk posed?

Just stay at home.

Jesus what is wrong with you people?

What will it take for you to realise how serious this is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭timmy_mallet

Just stay at home.

When will it take you to realise that it's the at-risk that need to be isolated, and nobody else?

If you don’t see it as poor behaviour, why are you spending so much time convincing yourself? Just go and enjoy yourself. Your enjoyment in the countryside is more important than the civil problem. So just go and enjoy yourself and stop trying to justify your decision. If you had much cop on, you’d just go do it and not talk about it.trying to justify it will only encourage similar minded people to do likewise. Would that be a good thing or a bad thing, in your opinion?

You didn't answer the poster's question which was a genuine question. Instead you put the poster down. The poster is not trying to justify it , they are asking how if they are out in the countryside, cycling a bike on their own, coming home without having touched a single thing...... how is that putting people at risk?

In Ireland we have NOT been told not to go out and exercise, in fact it is encouraged. Likewise in the UK. My daughter lives in Hertfordshire and is now working at home. Since Boris's "shutdown" and rules of 1 form of exercise a day she is cycling everyday in the countryside. What is your problem with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Still in the office, seems mad

Just stay at home.

we have been encouraged to "socially distance" ourselves. That is NOT the same as isolation at home all day. There is absolutely nothing wrong with cycling alone in the countryside if you do not have symptoms, in fact it is to be encouraged.
    Who exactly do you mean by "you people"? The hundreds of thousands of healthy, fit, people of all ages who are not sick, have no symptoms and are actually allowed by our Government to exercise outdoors, as long as it is not in groups of more than 4 people??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

When will it take you to realise that it's the at-risk that need to be isolated, and nobody else?

You must be a troll or else have serious difficulty understanding English.
    This virus is infecting all age groups. Yes most at risk is elderly, I know 2 cases in icu, one is 59 the other is 28. Neither have underlying conditions.
    Idiots like you are the greatest barriers to beating covid 19.

boetstark wrote: »
    You must be a troll or else have serious difficulty understanding English.
    This virus is infecting all age groups. Yes most at risk is elderly, I know 2 cases in icu, one is 59 the other is 28. Neither have underlying conditions.
    Idiots like you are the greatest barriers to beating covid 19.

Of course it infects all groups, no need to state the glaringly bloody obvious.

Lovely anecdote, thanks.

"Beating" covid19, what are you gibbering about, you frothing imbecile. It cant be beaten, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭revelman

This is a bizarre thread. I’ve just come across it for the first time now. I get that there may be people who need to stay at home for health reasons but there is absolutely nothing wrong in going out for a walk as long as you take reasonable precautions and maintain your distance to others - this is a very serious virus but it does not spread like Ebola thankfully. In fact, it is probably best for the general health of the nation (both physical and mental) if people exercise.

In the same way, it is good for the nation that certain people go out to work. I’m lucky enough to work from home but my other half is deemed an essential worker and has to go out every day - one of the tens of thousands of people that has to keep the country going so that the majority can stay at home.

Strange thread.

revelman wrote: »
    This is a bizarre thread. I’ve just come across it for the first time now. I get that there may be people who need to stay at home for health reasons but there is absolutely nothing wrong in going out for a walk as long as you take reasonable precautions and maintain your distance to others - this is a very serious virus but it does not spread like Ebola thankfully. In fact, it is probably best for the general health of the nation (both physical and mental) if people exercise.

In the same way, it is good for the nation that certain people go out to work. I’m lucky enough to work from home but my other half is deemed an essential worker and has to go out every day - one of the tens of thousands of people that has to keep the country going so that the majority can stay at home.

Strange thread.

Shutdown fetishists. Ignoring public health policy and advice to scream at people for following it. Odd.

Strange thread.

Not for long.

We will not even be allowed go walking in a week or so for months because people like you had to get out of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭revelman

Not for long.

We will not even be allowed go walking in a week or so for months because people like you had to get out of the house.

You do understand that this is a coronavirus? It is incredibly serious and everyone must follow public health advice. But this is a coronavirus and therefore if you avoid other people and practice proper hygiene you cannot transmit it or catch it.

Its an anecdote.

Also, maybe mind your own language and insults first.

Do you mind explaining what part of 2 humans seriously ill is amusing or hearsay.

You do understand that this is a coronavirus? It is incredibly serious and everyone must follow public health advice. But this is a coronavirus and therefore if you avoid other people and practice proper hygiene you cannot transmit it or catch it.

Oh I understand that.

But many of your fellow country people don't.

Do you mind explaining what part of 2 humans seriously ill is amusing or hearsay.

What would I do that? I've mentioned neither of those things.

Not for long.

Sure you're not going out now anyway, what's the difference?

What would I do that? I've mentioned neither of those things.

Firstly apologies for insults, but I don't think of myself as a frothing imbecile.
    I am genuinely frustrated as I see kids out playing together as if it's summer holidays.
    I really think we have only one shot at this, and why not err on safe side for a week or so.

Firstly apologies for insults, but I don't think of myself as a frothing imbecile.
    I am genuinely frustrated as I see kids out playing together as if it's summer holidays.
    I really think we have only one shot at this, and why not err on safe side for a week or so.

Because the err-ing never ends.

This is a thread calling for an extremely strict lockdown, where movement of the kind I've described would be restricted if not banned outright. I am not spending any time convincing myself, because I know this to be the best information available based on what I have read and what seems to be consensus among the people working on this. I'm trying to lay out my points and reasoning as clear as possible, as to why I'm wary of these kinds of requests.

Physical activity, beyond the obvious physical health benefits, is known to be hugely beneficial mentally, also. I don't think this can be dismissed lightly, especially given the current circumstances where people's lives have been changed drastically and suddenly. Taking this away would be an extremely serious measure, and based on current knowledge, how much is to be gained, versus the extra strain this will place on the population?

I'm only talking about it, because, well, that's what this thread is, lol. I'm not shouting it from the rooftops, and I doubt the readership of this forum is a significant representation of the population. To encourage people to try and maintain some level of normality while also being as careful as possible? I do think that would be a good thing actually, and again, that seems to be our current policy. I understand where you're coming from on that though, that people need to be responsible and not overstep boundaries on this. Again, caution and consideration are key here. I will let the experts make the public announcements, and all I'm doing here is repeating that, but as we're here on a discussion forum, I think it's okay to discuss, no?

You're not really reading or responding to the points I'm making properly and I can tell you're getting a kick out of it. Normally it'd lower my opinion of a person, but, not pulling the piss, I understand where you're coming from. This is a fuccked up time in our history and none of us can really say we saw this coming. I know you're upset and frustrated with the state of things and you think I'm throwing caution to the wind and not taking this seriously. If I'm coming across as disingenuous, I don't mean to. All I'd ask from anyone else is to return the favour and not let your frustration and fear with regards to the S H I T hand we have all been dealt dictate your posting.

Just stay at home.

As per above, I am not being willfully ignorant of anything here, and it's not nice to be framed as such. No one in the world has a monopoly on the fear and uncertainty at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,602 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Just back from my daily 5km run, plenty of people out walking and running. Everyone observing physical distancing. Same thing in the supermarket this evening on the way home from work. From some of the posts here I think some people will only be happy if the whole country goes into hibernation, which of course won't happen.

That's great news.

Of course it has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that thousands of people( with the potential to infect many thousands more ) are gone to work in completely non essential workplaces this morning and as I have pointed out previously many of these workplaces are completely unsuitable for social distancing. Add on the fact that many believe that social distancing is in itself some kind of magic bullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

That's great news.

Of course it has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that thousands of people( with the potential to infect many thousands more ) are gone to work in completely non essential workplaces this morning and as I have pointed out previously many of these workplaces are completely unsuitable for social distancing. Add on the fact that many believe that social distancing is in itself some kind of magic bullet.
    YOU don't get to decide what is essential and what isn't. The government/ their experts and WHO do believe SD is a method to contain the spread. Personally I'll go with their advice as opposed to a randomer on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Munsterman12

People need to be locked in their bedrooms and not come out until a whistle is blown by the local garda when this is over. Food will be slid under the door in a process known as flood sliding. Exercise will consist of dancing to old style music on the radio.