Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

D.Q wrote: »
    It's always the same posters in here scaremongering. It's such a fast moving thread it's easy to forget that or miss it, but it's the same people all the time. Revelling in it, shrill hysteria and anxiety masquerading as straight talking realism.

You could say the same about the flat earthers, who no matter what the numbers are, still seem to think everything is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    I'm saying there is a shortage of PPe in Ireland, yet anybody - whether it's a chinese shop, or McGregor seems to be able to just buy them from China, yet we have nurse going onto Social media and saying that they don't have equipment in hospitals - seems a little at odds, as to why hospitals can't just buy directly

40k tests abandoned of people showing "symptoms" and referred by a GP.

Personal pleas from frontline medial staff including videos on Social Media looking desperately for Personal Protection Equipment because their employer hasn't got their shít together.

So both testing kits and PPE, all the essential items required for a pandemic nowhere to be seen.

Gross incompetence.

(but dont worry they'll be here Friday) A month into tackling a pandemic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Blueshoe wrote: »
    But the 6 didn't require treatment so wouldn't have added to a waiting time. It's irrelevant

It's not irrelevant, it was a Satuday night and the place was like a warzone, they were clogging up the place, between the 7 of them no one could get near the toilets, people had to stand because this gang were taking up the seats and adding to the chaos. Another eejit had split his lip and all he was worried about was getting back into town to catch up with his mates in time for the last pint, don't get me started, you weren't there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,360 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

givyjoe wrote: »
    Did you miss the facts/stats in the rest of the post FFS. They're trending upwards on a steep curve. It's hardly scaremongering to suggest that curve will continue, at least until the lockdown has effect on numbers. One day of less deaths, doesn't not mean the overall trend is levelling off.

SPAINWED.png?itok=CiIGUiKZ

These are the factual figures until this morning.

This current 24 hour period will not be reported for Spain until 10 am Irish time tomorrow morning.

This time yesterday was 451 deaths. Today 656...so it's going to be grim when reported.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Any mention of location of clusters?

4 apparently east west north and possible one in the south. Just stay 2 metres away from there and you'll be grand..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Doubtful.

Shares are down across the board by 30 or 40%.
    Businesses and corporations are losing money hand over fist.
    GDP is down.
    Unemployment is up.

There's always ways of making money during a crisis, but I highly doubt a worldwide lockdown is the best way to increase your earnings. Unless these wealthy people happen to own hand sanitizer and mask factories.

Buy and hold. Dow Jones industrial average is much much higher now than 2008. Almost treble I believe. Factor in inflation and it's still far far higher.
    Many of the giants Ie Apple, Alphabet etc were way overdue a drop though. overvalued.
    The Us are ready to throw 2trillion at the economy which will of course include a corporate bailout and Us, European and Asian stock markets have rallied on the news. China lifting restrictions has also been a major factor.

Indicators show a likely bear market though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭growleaves

this guy and other crackpot linked here recently sound very intelligent but still have no good explanation for health services/ICU beds becoming completely overwhelmed in italy, spain, china, new york etc. the first guy didnt even address it. this guy vaguely mentions air quality at one point.

if this was business as usual, there would be zero issues with ventilators, ICU beds etc.

it's pretty amazing how people so educated can be so dumb.

You're only showing your ignorance here.

What normally happens with ICU facilities? All the ICU facilities in the world always would be full and overwhelmed all of the time if every elderly and/or very infirm person was put on a ventilator.
    His explanation is basically "oh well most of those deaths were people dying anyways, so I'm only going to count the healthy people who die of corona"

He says that for every 30 deaths per day caused by this corona virus, "we do not realise that 20, 30 or 40 or 100 patients positive for normal Corona viruses are already dying every day."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭xtal191

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

loved it when they had guys doing press-ups on the streets :D thats the way to do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

The guards hands are tied here, like most socially rotting countries in the West. We've swung too far to one side.

A proper bit of bateing the head off some people would do wonders. The quickest journey from disrespectful shoitebag to respectful is via an unmerciful thumping with the guaranteed threat that it will happen twice as bad if they step out of line again :p

90% don't need it, but that 10% who do...

Seamai wrote: »
    It's not irrelevant, it was a Satuday night and the place was like a warzone, they were clogging up the place, between the 7 of them no one could get near the toilets, people had to stand because this gang were taking up the seats and adding to the chaos. Another eejit had split his lip and all he was worried about was getting back into town to catch up with his mates in time for the last pint, don't get me started, you weren't there.

Monday to Thursday should only take a few minutes so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

SPAINWED.png?itok=CiIGUiKZ

These are the factual figures until this morning.

This current 24 hour period will not be reported for Spain until 10 am Irish time tomorrow morning.

This time yesterday was 451 deaths. Today 656...so it's going to be grim when reported.

There's two numbers on the 25th, with a difference of 700+. Can't see the exact numbers.

Edit: knew I saw 700+ somewhere today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

The GI (gastrointestinal) symptoms are no joke. Someone who deteriorated, now in the hospital.

https://twitter.com/annamariechang/status/1242935820216160256?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

growleaves wrote: »

What normally happens with ICU facilities? All the ICU facilities in the world always would be full and overwhelmed all of the time if every elderly and/or very infirm person was put on a ventilator.

He says that for every 30 deaths per day caused by this corona virus, "we do not realise that 20, 30 or 40 or 100 patients positive for normal Corona viruses are already dying every day."

Everything he says is based on a worst case scenario of 30 deaths per day with 1 million infected in Germany. That was based on infected vs deaths in Germany 3-4 days ago. They have ~37000 infected and have had around 30 deaths per day for the last 2 days. This means his mathematical “model” is already inaccurate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

growleaves wrote: »

If Covid-19 was a normal everyday virus that people get all the time anyway, then it wouldn't be clogging up hospitals. His view is that a fictional hysteria has been built around the virus, but that it's just a regular virus like any other - he's saying Italy and China don't count as reliable references for mortality rate because of the air population. That well may be the case, the mortality rate is probably much lower, but it still doesn't explain the clogging up of the hospitals. He can't say that it's a normal virus when it's clearly having an abnormal impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,194 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

STB. wrote: »
    40k tests abandoned of people showing "symptoms" and referred by a GP.

Personal pleas from frontline medial staff including videos on Social Media looking desperately for Personal Protection Equipment because their employer hasn't got their shít together.

So both testing kits and PPE, all the essential items required for a pandemic nowhere to be seen.

Gross incompetence.

(but dont worry they'll be here Friday) A month into tackling a pandemic.

There is a shortage all over the world.

Every country is trying to get them.

Were not unique.

Only so much can be produced in a time of worldwide universal crisis.

There will be a shortage of every essential item soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    Doubtful.

Shares are down across the board by 30 or 40%.
    Businesses and corporations are losing money hand over fist.
    GDP is down.
    Unemployment is up.

There's always ways of making money during a crisis, but I highly doubt a worldwide lockdown is the best way to increase your earnings. Unless these wealthy people happen to own hand sanitizer and mask factories.
    Buy and hold. Dow Jones industrial average is much much higher now than 2008. Almost treble I believe. Factor in inflation and it's still far far higher.
    Many of the giants Ie Apple, Alphabet etc were way overdue a drop though. overvalued.
    The Us are ready to throw 2trillion at the economy which will of course include a corporate bailout and Us, European and Asian stock markets have rallied on the news. China lifting restrictions has also been a major factor.

Indicators show a likely bear market though.

growth assets pretty much just lost what they made in 2019, so while people think wore 30% drop, it's not that big of a drop overall. Like others have eluded to, once wr get to the other side, the markets will pick back up again.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    growth assets pretty much just lost what they made in 2019, so while people think wore 30% drop, it's not that big of a drop overall. Like others have eluded to, once wr get to the other side, the markets will pick back up again.

A hold I would be talking about would be minimum 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

A lot of posters here are clearly politically motivated. Obviously hate the government..so I'd suggest a lot should be ignored. A lot of good and bad work done in the last 10 years to turn around the country.but not concentrating on certain issues cost them dearly. But im struggling to see many faults the last 3-4 weeks. What were people expecting. That we would sail through a pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

Is it slowly getting to the point where we can start to say Ireland is going to be OK. Look at the growth pattern over the past week and looking at the ICU figures it looks like we will cope with this and hopefully will end up with a death rate similar to the seasonal flu.

A hold I would be talking about would be minimum 5 years.

What do you mean?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    Is it slowly getting to the point where we can start to say Ireland is going to be OK. Look at the growth pattern over the past week and looking at the ICU figures it looks like we will cope with this and hopefully will end up with a death rate similar to the seasonal flu.

...and if you're good Santa will bring you presents...

I agree with "hope".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Were not unique.

3 ways to make a living. Be first, be smarter or cheat. Helluva lot easier to be first.....That's the failing.

There was clearly a chance of a global pandemic. Orders should have been in at the point.

kilkenny31 wrote: »

It's being like a week or so - we are only at the beginning of this - we'll probably have 1000+ new cases by Sunday.

These posts really make me think that people just don't get how serious this is - like it' not going away this virus,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

xtal191 wrote: »

The general public in the UK are only starting to realise how serious it is. Over the last couple of weeks English friends have been posting social gatherings on Instagram without a care in the world, meanwhile in Ireland we’ve been limited our movements and preparing.

Johnson’s flip-flop from herd immunity to social isolation has been criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

Can you refuse to go to work in a non essential job?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Were not unique.

Particularly as the US situation worsens

However businesses are turning their skills to producing these items and I am hopeful lessons on what is needed have been learned and indeed addressed. A couple of weeks of China getting it's industries back up and running may actually deliver benefits around the world they could not take advantage of themselves

There will be some irony if the USA end up importing a lot of equipment and PPE from China while Trump claims US products are far superior to anyone else's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

Can you refuse to go to work in a non essential job?

Do you still want to get paid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭growleaves

They have ~37000 infected and have had around 30 deaths per day for the last 2 days.

37k active infections that we know of, it may be revised upwards in time. That's what the Oxford University Infectious Diseases Lab report was saying (which one poster on this thread characterised as 'BS' - well that settles that)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,360 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

xtal191 wrote: »

Woah. You don't prepare something like that unless you are fairly sure you are going to need it.

London is epicenter of UK outbreak.