Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

RiseAbove4 wrote: »
    Playing devil’s advocate here, but;

The John Campbell guy on YouTube who gets at least 100 thousand views a day. Who is he?

Why should he be listened to?

What are his qualifications in all this?

He’s not a virologist is he?

he's a nurse and made it into American TV, listen to him a bit and you'll hear a lot
    of shyte, tries to talk learnedly about science beyond his grasp..
    he's a self proclaimed influencer really.

The chief medical is saying there are good signs and that we will not have 15,000 cases by next month.

Deep down I knew we would do better than other European countries.

We are going to be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 gkelly2020

Mezcita wrote: »
    More rumours. Yay.

I wish it was a rumor, its direct from someone working there im afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

JP100 wrote: »
    Please refrain from being idiotic. It wasn't a gripe. It was merely a question as to why they don't have a settled time for the daily announcements as other jurisdictions do. I also care very little for what your preference is on the matter. Nor do I have a preference for a particular time for the announcement. The whole intention of the post was to try to and glean what the thought process would be in, say for example, not just having an announcement at 9pm each evening. Something that quite clearly went over your head.

Excuse me?

And yes, you were griping. Why does it matter if it’s 7:30pm or 8pm or 9pm? How does that actually affect your day?

I’d imagine the thought process is “Let’s only hold the briefing when we have confirmed the figures and anything else we want to add”. Once the information is ready to go, why hold on it until later in the evening? It’s a very minor concern, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Xertz wrote: »
    There are a huge issues with that in the states with overuse of diagnostic tests, to the point that the number of CT scans some people were getting was actually dangerous in itself. Where someone might have maybe needed one or two in a lifetime, they were instead getting one ordered every time they presented with random symptoms as the doctors involved would be able cover themselves legally by having the imaging paper trail.

That is entirely the governments fault for not reigning in sue for the moon, years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

The problem is that you could potentially kill somebody who otherwise would have survived if you are not properly trained.

There are people who are dying in Spain and Italy, because there is no ventilator to give them!

We have less ventilators than the european average.

That could be us in a few weeks, if things turn bad here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The John Campbell guy on YouTube who gets at least 100 thousand views a day. Who is he?

I find hm very good he was right more than not, so far.
    I think he had a doctorate in nursing.
    Not a virologist as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

mariaalice wrote: »
    The chief medical is saying there are good signs and that we will not have 15,000 cases by next month.

Deep down I knew we would do better than other European countries.

We are going to be grand.

We are going to be grand.....

Lets not get in anyway complacent. WHO extremely worried about countries getting confident and relaxing restrictions as they try kick-start economies. Rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭otnomart

Boggles wrote: »
    Germany only banned it to build up their resources.

They are exporting again.

I don't hold that against Germany, I think it was the most prudent decision they could make.

But for some odd reason if the Irish do it we will be destroyed by some sort consequences down the line.

Germany is also saying No to the "coronabonds" - which the Irish Gov has been calling for
    https://www.ft.com/content/258308f6-...f-41bea055720b
    https://www.rte.ie/news/europe/2020/...e-coronabonds/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭iwillyeah1234

rusty cole wrote: »
    he's a nurse and made it into American TV, listen to him a bit and you'll hear a lot
    of shyte, tries to talk learnedly about science beyond his grasp..
    he's a self proclaimed influencer really.

to be honest , from what i've seen of him, he's just gathering daily covid19 news into a digestible 10 to 15 minute daily video, in an understandable format.

he's not peddling "cures" or any conspiracy nonsense.

he's no different to any mainstream news organisation, but with a bit more facts and statistics based on daily reporting coming out of Hopkins, CDC, NHS and other bodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

jim-mcdee wrote: »
    How do you know transmission rates have gone down? They aren't flipping testing anyone unless you're in a bad way with it.

Well, unless and until we have unlimited testing capacity, that’s going to be the case.

All we can do is work with best estimates based on extrapolation from the number of tests being carried out.

Labs are up scaling and also there’s work going on globally on trying to get availability of rapid test kits which may make this a lot easier but it’s just going to take time. While we don’t have time. It’s still going to take it as it involves actually developing systems and then mass manufacturing them.

Until then we are reliant on lab processing.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    We are going to be grand.....

Lets not get in anyway complacent. WHO extremely worried about countries getting confident and relaxing restrictions as they try kick-start economies. Rightly so.

Of course.

94% of those tested in Ireland so far have been negative for covid 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

There are people who are dying in Spain and Italy, because there is no ventilator to give them!

Last count I heard we had about 1300 with 90 on order per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

What's he saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

gkelly2020 wrote: »

It's local gossip and is basically insulting to the Consultants around the country who use their many years of experience to try and help people. They are contractually obliged to work various days in each hospital. So they can't just not turn up.

No doubt there is a few useless feckers but the suggestion that 'large numbers' of them acting the maggot during this crisis is mind blowing. Link us up to some proof and I'll take it all back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭kilkenny31

How does this compare to other pandemics in history in spreading. 450000 in 4 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭JP100

Excuse me?

And yes, you were griping. Why does it matter if it’s 7:30pm or 8pm or 9pm? How does that actually affect your day?

I’d imagine the thought process is “Let’s only hold the briefing when we have confirmed the figures and anything else we want to add”. Once the information is ready to go, why hold on it until later in the evening? It’s a very minor concern, seriously.

It was a simple question but you are now griping over a simple well intentioned question on a discussion forum. I suggest you go for a walk or something to help yourself calm down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

We probably should be doing (if we aren’t already) at least small scale representative randomised testing to get a sense of how far this is spread.

I mean for example we could just ask people to volunteer for a study or something?

It wouldn’t take up much resources but it could be useful in assessing spread.

niallo27 wrote: »
    What's he saying.

just daily reports on the pandemic, done in a low tech pen-and-paper way

https://www.youtube.com/user/Campbellteaching/videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭cosanostra

If we have truly ran out of PPE in our hospitals then the number of patients admitted is not accurate bear in mind hospitals have cancelled elective surgeries and our casualty dept are the quietest they've ever been

In all these cases, the rate limiting step is trained HCPs, not the number of ventilators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    How does this compare to other pandemics in history in spreading. 450000 in 4 months.

We never had proper counts like this before I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

gkelly2020 wrote: »

That's still a rumour and very different to what my daughter is seeing every day in the hospital she nurses in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,204 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Did the UK release figures for today regarding their cases or deaths?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

cnocbui wrote: »
    Contrast the Irish governments apparent innaction with the German governments. who's health system is in a vastly better position then the HSE, to start with:

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-03-09/germany-faces-backlash-from-neighbors-over-mask-export-ban

And India:

And France:

Irish government doesn't mind health workers potentially dying in this country while companies are seemingly allowed to export life saving protective equipment.

This isn't a surprise. How many people here were homeless while we were taking in refugees from the middle East.

I read comment here yesterday that during the famine people here died of hunger while we gave away food to other countries.

In all them years, not much has changed.

good lord.. that happened fast.

over 450,000 confirmed cases on the Hopkins map now

https://coronavirus.jhu.edu/map.html

Did the UK release figures for today regarding their cases or deaths?

yes - they have a detailed breakdown by region/county/town over here:

https://www.arcgis.com/apps/opsdashboard/index.html#/f94c3c90da5b4e9f9a0b19484dd4bb14

Edit:
    the offical government webpage that links to that statistics dashboard is via here:
    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-track-coronavirus-cases

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    Yeah for example the city of Brescia in Italy has around the same population as Cork but around twice the population density. Its much more likely to spread if there are a lot of apartment blocks, people sharing elevators and handrails in stairways etc. That's why I think Ireland is being spared the huge increases in transmission.

Who would have thought that our urban sprawl of ugly semi detached houses would end up being to our benefit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,764 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Does anybody know how many people are recovered in Ireland?