CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

Boggles wrote: »
    You have obviously not looked at the news.

Why is New York currently demanding 25,000 of them if the problem as you stated isn't ventilators?

I don't know. I don't live in NY. What has the demand of ventilators in New York have to do with the fact that you need to be specially trained nurse to mind a patient on a ventilator?
    But also, what is your opinion on vasopressors? How do you manage them? How do you manage ventilator associated infections?

We need more staff properly trained to use them. That is the main limiting factor. Not availability of ventilators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Boggles wrote: »
    6% has been touted as the figure of positive testing so far.

That figure will likely increase given we have 45% community spread.

But even using that figure out of the 40,000 (which is not the figure anymore it's gone up) we have missed 2,400 positive people or almost double our confirmed cases.

That's a big problem and a huge fúck up.

Our data is at least 9+ days if not more behind, where it should be only 3 days.

4% positive according to Professor Anthony Staines https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0324/1124971-coronavirus-covid19-ireland/

20,000 more people every day wanting to be tested was never going to be viable.

Obviously this way it reduces the hypochondriacs at least some of them. If you have a symptom then self isolate for 2 weeks unless it gets worse.

The issue is going to be finding the asymptomatic cases now though. In Italy 7% of cases are asymptomatic with another 7% being described as having "few symptoms". 46% of people mild and 25% severe with 5% critical. 11% not specified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I’m officially giving up. People asking is woodies and Smyths open as they want to get balloons and toys for birthdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

walshb wrote: »
    7.30 p.m. is Ireland's update...
    How did you get it first? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,182 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

fin12 wrote: »
    Hi
    sorry off topic but can someone please tell me if you subscribe to an apple podcast? What happens? Is there a fee? I couldn’t see any information.

No fee. Just search, subscribe and enjoy. There is a thread here on podcasts, depends on your tastes and interests I suppose.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057056325&page=11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

The state *is* trying absolutely everything it can do to get PPE and there's a huge shipment of it due later this week.

I don't think anyone understood the scale of what was coming. That's fairly clear as the same issue has cropped up in basically all health systems in every EU country and all cross the US, Canada and everywhere else.

There is a finite supply of PPE and the ability to mass produce it was also curtailed by what was going on in China.

The supplies are ramping back up and we will have some.

The James's staff are appealing for any PPE that happens to be available in industry or stocked somewhere to be brought forward ASAP.

There may well be companies in various sectors out there from food to healthcare who've stockpiles of PPE that may not be essential and could be brought to better use in hospitals.

I just think those ranting at those trying their damnedest to get this stuff delivered and achieved would be better of putting their energy into trying to help rather than going on sniping attacks.

Nobody has all the solutions to this. Nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

We listened to the announcement yesterday, and one or two said "Oh, so back to normal in the office on Monday, so"

I immediately said "If I come in on Monday, and there's more than there is today, I'm turning on my heels and going home."

**** it, my job can be done from home, I went in because they haven't figured out a way to divert phones (mostly because general admin and IT have stayed away from the office.)

I still have to go to work. This poem has been rattling round my head, though our present threat relates more to older people and immuno compromised - Base Details by Siegfried Sassoon. (I am a bit pissed off, can you tell.. :) )

If I were fierce, and bald, and short of breath
    I'd live with scarlet Majors at the Base,
    And speed glum heroes up the line to death.
    You'd see me with my puffy petulant face,
    Guzzling and gulping in the best hotel,
    Reading the Roll of Honour. "Poor young chap,"
    I'd say — "I used to know his father well;
    Yes, we've lost heavily in this last scrap."
    And when the war is done and youth stone dead,
    I'd toddle safely home and die — in bed.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    4% positive according to Professor Anthony Staines https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0324/1124971-coronavirus-covid19-ireland/

20,000 more people every day wanting to be tested was never going to be viable.

Obviously this way it reduces the hypochondriacs at least some of them. If you have a symptom then self isolate for 2 weeks unless it gets worse.

The issue is going to be finding the asymptomatic cases now though. In Italy 7% of cases are asymptomatic with another 7% being described as having "few symptoms". 46% of people mild and 25% severe with 5% critical. 11% not specified.
    That 6% came from Cillian de Gascun last night, stats over the last week of their lab work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭jim-mcdee

I have had mild symptoms last 5 days that are starting to clear up. Anyone know if it's possible to pay for a test as mine has been cancelled I think. I would like to get back to work if I don't have it and would like to have some idea of I have some immunity. Thanks

mosii wrote: »
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJlLVpJu7ZQ

Spreading exponentially ,its going to be a long few months,take care everybody.

Interesting video. Says to drink plenty of fluids (water etc) in order to combat thickening of the mucus in the lungs. He's blunt about smokers: just stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭MOR316

Was in Tesco Rathmines today and in the carpark people were disposing of crate loads of beer bottles. Clearly people are taking the opportunity to have house parties!

Couples out walking two abrest holding hands making it impossible for others to observe 2 metres social distance while passing.

Irish people are incapable of doing the right thing unless the Guards force them to. Gombeen nation.

Can't read anything into that.

I've a **** load of empty beer cans and bottles, whiskey bottles and coke cans in the garage, all ready for the bottle banks, built up over the last 2 months. I've not had anyone over to my house since Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,193 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

john_doe. wrote: »
    :( This thing is frightening.

Everyone prob reads the underlining health news or elderly and thinks it wont get them , but the disease is dangerous and can take anyone.

That is so sad, not looking great for the UK.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭JP100

I see today's briefing is due to take place at 7.30pm. I wonder why they haven't one regular time for these announcements but instead have different times pretty much every other day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Gretas Gonna Get Ya!

Mate. You obviously have never worked in a hospital. To look after a patient on a ventilator, you need specialist training. Tell me how you manage PEEP in a mechanically ventilated patient if it's so easy.

Is it more complicated than someone needing a ventilator to survive, but not having any free to give them?

Like that spanish doc on twitter, who had to take a ventilator off a 65yo patient... so he could give it to a young kid?

That's a whole different type of complicated... :(

We've just being getting our weekly shop lately and some people will come up to you and say are ye stocking up or panic buying?
    Local Centra looks like a F1 track with red stripes everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

jim-mcdee wrote: »
    I have had mild symptoms last 5 days that are starting to clear up. Anyone know if it's possible to pay for a test as mine has been cancelled I think. I would like to get back to work if I don't have it and would like to have some idea of I have some immunity. Thanks

See out the isolation period, talk to your gp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭john_doe.

That is so sad, not looking great for the UK.

ya shocking it can kill a 21 year old with no health issues.
    people think maybe she had something, but really this thing can just bloody kill you irrelevant of the age or condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

To be quite honest, the vast amounts of beer bottles arriving at those bottle banks would tend to indicate there were a spate of house parties because the pubs are closed. You can be damn sure of it.

We have a huge issue with alcohol and inability to cop on, as do many countries, but I think there was definitely a spate of people being stupid.

There's no way around that and people need to cop on immediately. This stuff isn't some kind of joke or conspiracy to spoil their fun. The fact that we've all had to take these steps, even if they destroy the economy, should be signal enough that it's INCREDIBLY SERIOUS.

On the plus side, the transmission rates do seem to have gone down and the number of contacts people are coming up with have been cut drastically, so the message is clearly getting through in a large way.

I think we need to get the message across more clearly on how social distancing actually works and what it aims to achieve too. There' a lot of mythology going around out there and it's not all coming from Ireland either. The communications elsewhere are terrible.

If you explain it clearly and give people an object to achieve, then it starts to work.

In a lot of the world it seems to be being interpreted as an arbitrary use of lockdown powers, particularly in the way it's being picked up on social media by some in the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭mohawk

God knows how many PCR machines we have in the state with all of the Pharma / biotech companies here? Tweet below saying Trinity have one. Are we really using all of our available resources

Why would pharma have loads of PCR machines? They aren’t needed by anyone I have ever worked for.
    The university’s research labs have them however they do not maintain, calibrate and validate their equipment the same way as a hospital or industry does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,149 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

I'll post what I want, its blood boiling, one minute hes looking for nurses personal details, the next hes having a dig at the people trying to move the country through this. What's that jumped up tosser ever done here ?
    Get real, the man is on a pure agenda run.

What have I done, as a private citizen I've obeyed the social distancing, I stay home as much as possible, I've made myself available to volunteer groups locally and I've signed up to volunteer to the HSE.

And you?

With an autoimmune problem I'm staying at home because I am high risk along with my 2 elderly parents.

Good for you if you are volunteering but I'm sure most of us don't want to hear your constant complaining about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

https://www.rte.ie/amp/1126361/?__twitter_impression=true

NI testing only around 40 people per day and moving to 1000 soon.

I presume they're only testing those in hosptial same as the uk ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

spookwoman wrote: »
    With an autoimmune problem I'm staying at home because I am high risk along with my 2 elderly parents.

Good for you if you are volunteering but I'm sure most of us don't want to hear your constant complaining about him.

Best wishes to you and your parents, stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭davemckenna25

JP100 wrote: »
    I see today's briefing is due to take place at 7.30pm. I wonder why they haven't one regular time for these announcements but instead have different times pretty much every other day.

Probably because the work they are doing behind the scenes and the meetings going on are far more important than giving us a brief at the same time every day.
    Which they are correct about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

bekker wrote: »
    Italy Dead/Resolved 7,503/9,362 = 44.49%, within the 44.+>45.+% for the last 10 days or more.

When is Italy predicted to reach the peak of their cases?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Well, that shows why so many healthcare workers are being infected. They are treating people of varying severity of the disease all day long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Vile vermin coughing in peoples faces. Should be kicked to bits. Dragged up scum.

Fair play to Tommy Robinson the other day battering a few youths who did it to an old couple. Need the same attitude in this country.

Is it more complicated than someone needing a ventilator to survive, but not having any free to give them?

Like that spanish doc on twitter, who had to take a ventilator off a 65yo patient... so he could give it to a young kid?

That's a whole different type of complicated... :(

If you have ventilators and they are improperly managed, a patient may die due to the mismanagement of them (due to lack of training). I'm not saying that ventilators aren't essential. I'm just saying that the number of ventilators we have is more than the number of suitably trained health care professionals who are needed to make the equipment work effectively.

Issues that can arise from been on a ventilator: Basis, pneumothorax, ventilator lung injury, alveolar damage. These are not easily recognised by untrained staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

fritzelly wrote: »
    Why don't you just spell out your agenda against the government - instead of searching for every twitter post trying to feed it
    Maybe the conspiracy forum would be more suited to your ramblings

Haha love it.

This morning I was told no problem with PPE. Where's you're proof? Now I've an antigovernment agenda. I don't. I think they are doing a good job on the whole. Sending people to effectively die because they don't have adequate protection is like sending a soldier to fight a war without bullets or a rifle or a helmet.

We wouldn't stand for it. Although we have a high tolerance for spin. And I'm not talking about 103.8.

I've an anti bull**** / antihorse**** / antifvckwit agenda. Guilty as charged. I'm blessed that I can count. The testing thing looked great. Oh we have naval ship on the Liffey etc. It's all PR spin to keep extend and pretend. What was point of taking samples if we can't process them.

https://twitter.com/handyman1543/status/1242776686749499394?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Well, that shows why so many healthcare workers are being infected. They are treating people of varying severity of the disease all day long.

Or they're in contact with people showing no symptoms like other doctors and nurses. Cannot presume they are getting infected from patients