Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

What are we doing as a sovereign nation to protect our health care workers?

Someone on here said masks are manufacturer in Limerick. Ventilators built in Galway? God knows how many PCR machines we have in the state with all of the Pharma / biotech companies here? Tweet below saying Trinity have one. Are we really using all of our available resources?

Can't we divert things we produce to serve our need first.

By the way I agree with you but I think it's morally reprehensible to keep supply from those who need it most in the medical sense.

This throws light on the whole economics of healthcare. Shows the whole private / public thing to be a sham.

You can't profiteer on sick people.

https://twitter.com/stjamesdublin/status/1240996071805014016?s=20

Dont worry, the hero paddy is saving the day single handed. He knows more than any politician.

Even though absolutely none of this falls under the CMOs watch. Sorry to keep giving this idiot so much air time but its blood boiling that he is basically attempting to be the voice of the nation while at the same time asking for the personal details of a covid patient to give to a foreign journalist. Sickening

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1242860831894908928?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,951 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

gabeeg wrote: »
    Well then it will be all the GPs fault, as almost all requests for testing would have gone through them.

So what you're saying is that in the middle of a global pandemic, GPs were requesting spurious tests when people presented with a common cold.

Sounds highly unlikely to me, pal, but we're all loving your righteous anger

Again your underestimating how stupid the Irish public is, a lot of the referrals are over the phone you tell the gp what the symptoms everyone knows and he referees you to a test

Look people need to get smart the government aren't going to safe us
    Its on us as people to save our self's ,
    Everyone been told what to do countless times at this stage but still can't do it , not the governments fault its the peoples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Sono Topolino

Was in Tesco Rathmines today and in the carpark people were disposing of crate loads of beer bottles. Clearly people are taking the opportunity to have house parties!

Couples out walking two abrest holding hands making it impossible for others to observe 2 metres social distance while passing.

Irish people are incapable of doing the right thing unless the Guards force them to. Gombeen nation.

Boggles wrote: »
    No it isn't.

Ventilators are most definitely the problem.

How do I know this? the entire world are looking for more of them.

You have to be highly trained to insert a ventilator not to look after a patient on one.

Mate. You obviously have never worked in a hospital. To look after a patient on a ventilator, you need specialist training. Tell me how you manage PEEP in a mechanically ventilated patient if it's so easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

Slight improvement in Italy today - 5,210 new cases, 683 deaths.
    Italy Dead/Resolved 7,503/9,362 = 44.49%, within the 44.+>45.+% for the last 10 days or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Do we really produce ventilators?

Or do we assemble it?

If we bring in parts and put them together we all know what will happen if we keep productions to ourselves.

No one will ship the parts here.

Again, no one wants to horde complete produce. Just enough.

There is a company in Galway making them and we are struggling to get ours in from China. Then that is fúcking nuts on every level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

Slight improvement in Italy today - 5,210 new cases, 683 deaths.

Seems to be levelling off. Terrible to treat human lives as statistics but that's what we have to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 smallfryy

Was in Tesco Rathmines today and in the carpark people were disposing of crate loads of beer bottles. Clearly people are taking the opportunity to have house parties!

In fairness now I have quite the collection of beer bottles ready for the bottle bank here and I've not had anyone over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,511 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Mate. You obviously have never worked in a hospital. To look after a patient on a ventilator, you need specialist training. Tell me how you manage PEEP in a mechanically ventilated patient if it's so easy.

You have obviously not looked at the news.

Why is New York currently demanding 25,000 of them if the problem as you stated isn't ventilators?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭threeball

I don't think its a f*ck up by the government,

I think the government under estimated how ****ing stupid the Irish public is, way to many people just turning up with nothing more than a common cold and causing the whole process to go to its knees,

Its the peoples fault not the governments that they had to change testing strategy

All the d1ckheads that normally swamp A&E are now swamping the testing systems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

'5210 new cases and 683 new deaths in Italy. Protezione Civile chief Borrelli, the person usually holding the daily press conference, is at home with a fever, while the former chief Bertolaso is now hospitalized in Milan after having tested positive to the virus'.

My God, grim reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Hi
    sorry off topic but can someone please tell me if you subscribe to an apple podcast? What happens? Is there a fee? I couldn’t see any information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

We listened to the announcement yesterday, and one or two said "Oh, so back to normal in the office on Monday, so"

I immediately said "If I come in on Monday, and there's more than there is today, I'm turning on my heels and going home."

**** it, my job can be done from home, I went in because they haven't figured out a way to divert phones (mostly because general admin and IT have stayed away from the office.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Dont worry, the hero paddy is saving the day single handed. He knows more than any politician.

Even though absolutely none of this falls under the CMOs watch. Sorry to keep giving this idiot so much air time but its blood boiling that he is basically attempting to be the voice of the nation while at the same time asking for the personal details of a covid patient to give to a foreign journalist. Sickening

https://twitter.com/paddycosgrave/status/1242860831894908928?s=19
    If you have such an issue with him why do you keep posting his stuff and going on about him.

TBH he does seem to be trying to do something, what are you doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Seems to be levelling off. Terrible to treat human lives as statistics but that's what we have to watch.

italy had 2 daily decreases this week but a jump again yesterday. This is another decrease but until its a noticeable increase for a couple of weeks consistently theres no way they are over that hump yet.

South of Italy may be an issue now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,148 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

What are we doing as a sovereign nation to protect our health care workers?

Why don't you just spell out your agenda against the government - instead of searching for every twitter post trying to feed it
    Maybe the conspiracy forum would be more suited to your ramblings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,592 ✭✭✭✭walshb

7.30 p.m. is Ireland's update...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,764 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

smallfryy wrote: »
    In fairness now I have quite the collection of beer bottles ready for the bottle bank here and I've not had anyone over!

We've just being getting our weekly shop lately and some people will come up to you and say are ye stocking up or panic buying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

Busy? Quiet? I always remember what that doctor from Bergamo tweeted a couple of weeks back about going when its quiet. He considered it very important.

Busy, know a cashier working there and she has said although it has calmed down since the initial panic buying but she said theres never really been a calm time the past few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,450 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

spookwoman wrote: »
    If you have such an issue with him why do you keep posting his stuff and going on about him.

TBH he does seem to be trying to do something, what are you doing?

I'll post what I want, its blood boiling, one minute hes looking for nurses personal details, the next hes having a dig at the people trying to move the country through this. What's that jumped up tosser ever done here ?
    Get real, the man is on a pure agenda run.

What have I done, as a private citizen I've obeyed the social distancing, I stay home as much as possible, I've made myself available to volunteer groups locally and I've signed up to volunteer to the HSE.

And you?

You have obviously not looked at the news.

Why is New York currently demanding 25,000 of them if the problem as you stated isn't ventilators?

I don't know. I don't live in NY. What has the demand of ventilators in New York have to do with the fact that you need to be specially trained nurse to mind a patient on a ventilator?
    But also, what is your opinion on vasopressors? How do you manage them? How do you manage ventilator associated infections?

We need more staff properly trained to use them. That is the main limiting factor. Not availability of ventilators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

6% has been touted as the figure of positive testing so far.

That figure will likely increase given we have 45% community spread.

But even using that figure out of the 40,000 (which is not the figure anymore it's gone up) we have missed 2,400 positive people or almost double our confirmed cases.

That's a big problem and a huge fúck up.

Our data is at least 9+ days if not more behind, where it should be only 3 days.

4% positive according to Professor Anthony Staines https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0324/1124971-coronavirus-covid19-ireland/

20,000 more people every day wanting to be tested was never going to be viable.

Obviously this way it reduces the hypochondriacs at least some of them. If you have a symptom then self isolate for 2 weeks unless it gets worse.

The issue is going to be finding the asymptomatic cases now though. In Italy 7% of cases are asymptomatic with another 7% being described as having "few symptoms". 46% of people mild and 25% severe with 5% critical. 11% not specified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,249 ✭✭✭joeguevara

I’m officially giving up. People asking is woodies and Smyths open as they want to get balloons and toys for birthdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

walshb wrote: »
    7.30 p.m. is Ireland's update...
    How did you get it first? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

fin12 wrote: »
    Hi
    sorry off topic but can someone please tell me if you subscribe to an apple podcast? What happens? Is there a fee? I couldn’t see any information.

No fee. Just search, subscribe and enjoy. There is a thread here on podcasts, depends on your tastes and interests I suppose.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057056325&page=11

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

The state *is* trying absolutely everything it can do to get PPE and there's a huge shipment of it due later this week.

I don't think anyone understood the scale of what was coming. That's fairly clear as the same issue has cropped up in basically all health systems in every EU country and all cross the US, Canada and everywhere else.

There is a finite supply of PPE and the ability to mass produce it was also curtailed by what was going on in China.

The supplies are ramping back up and we will have some.

The James's staff are appealing for any PPE that happens to be available in industry or stocked somewhere to be brought forward ASAP.

There may well be companies in various sectors out there from food to healthcare who've stockpiles of PPE that may not be essential and could be brought to better use in hospitals.

I just think those ranting at those trying their damnedest to get this stuff delivered and achieved would be better of putting their energy into trying to help rather than going on sniping attacks.

Nobody has all the solutions to this. Nobody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

We listened to the announcement yesterday, and one or two said "Oh, so back to normal in the office on Monday, so"

I immediately said "If I come in on Monday, and there's more than there is today, I'm turning on my heels and going home."

**** it, my job can be done from home, I went in because they haven't figured out a way to divert phones (mostly because general admin and IT have stayed away from the office.)

I still have to go to work. This poem has been rattling round my head, though our present threat relates more to older people and immuno compromised - Base Details by Siegfried Sassoon. (I am a bit pissed off, can you tell.. :) )

If I were fierce, and bald, and short of breath
    I'd live with scarlet Majors at the Base,
    And speed glum heroes up the line to death.
    You'd see me with my puffy petulant face,
    Guzzling and gulping in the best hotel,
    Reading the Roll of Honour. "Poor young chap,"
    I'd say — "I used to know his father well;
    Yes, we've lost heavily in this last scrap."
    And when the war is done and youth stone dead,
    I'd toddle safely home and die — in bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

rossie1977 wrote: »
    4% positive according to Professor Anthony Staines https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/0324/1124971-coronavirus-covid19-ireland/

20,000 more people every day wanting to be tested was never going to be viable.

Obviously this way it reduces the hypochondriacs at least some of them. If you have a symptom then self isolate for 2 weeks unless it gets worse.

The issue is going to be finding the asymptomatic cases now though. In Italy 7% of cases are asymptomatic with another 7% being described as having "few symptoms". 46% of people mild and 25% severe with 5% critical. 11% not specified.
    That 6% came from Cillian de Gascun last night, stats over the last week of their lab work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭jim-mcdee

I have had mild symptoms last 5 days that are starting to clear up. Anyone know if it's possible to pay for a test as mine has been cancelled I think. I would like to get back to work if I don't have it and would like to have some idea of I have some immunity. Thanks