Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Logan Roy

17larsson wrote: »
    So construction sites remain open

Looks like this is the next thread stick to beat the gov with.

Some people won't be happy until we're all welded into our homes and the army patrolling the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

The two lads love waffling on and on.

Just get to the point and stop grandstanding.
    They are not talking to you, people need and like to have it all explained and emphasised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

Yes. Surprised about that. The unions are not happy.
    All my work is on building sites but I'm not sure how happy I am with that either. Sanitary conditions are not good in any of these sites and with so much physical work, sharing tools, toilets, getting stuff from wholesalers every day etc. I feel the need to self-isolate every time I come home.
    As much as it would cost I was still sort of hoping sites would close for a period

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Did he say something about retired army members rejoining the army ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭AdrianG08

Its their moment to be statesmanlike. Keep it short, sweet and clear. Less is more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

It absolutely is going to be.

Apologies - my phrasing is off in my post,

This isn't primarily an economic emergency, it's a primarily a health emergency. Construction, in particular large sites - should be curtailed. Solo tradesmen not so much but sites with >100 workers should be closed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

statesaver wrote: »

Rejoin at the same rank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Logan Roy wrote: »
    Looks like this is the next thread stick to beat the gov with.

Some people won't be happy until we're all welded into our homes and the army patrolling the streets.

Well it would be a start.

He did, at the rank they left at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

1 in 4 healthcare workers :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,563 ✭✭✭✭walshb

is_that_so wrote: »
    It will be published later.

That's not the point....

He was addressing the nation.....he absolutely belted out a heap of places, like he didn't want people to realize what was happening

Very contrived and theatrical all this.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Switched it off when Harris started speaking. I've no interest in listening to someone I've no respect for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭gifted

17larsson wrote: »
    All my work is on building sites but I'm not sure how happy I am with that either. Sanitary conditions are not good in any of these sites and with so much physical work, sharing tools, toilets, getting stuff from wholesalers every day etc. I feel the need to self-isolate every time I come home.
    As much as it would cost I was still sort of hoping sites would close for a period

I've worked on building sites for 30 years....no way will there be social distancing happening....not a hope!

Did Leo seriously compare himself to the 1916 rebellion leaders in terms of bravery? Cheap and tacky PR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

walshb wrote: »
    That's not the point....

He was addressing the nation.....he absolutely belted out a heap of places, like he didn't want people to realize what was happening

It's going to be on a list later. What difference does it make. Why is this an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

AdrianG08 wrote: »
    Theres alot of nonsense in this speech, Leo seizing his reeling in the years moment.

Some of the information relating to business supports/unemployment assistance is extremely vague.

He stated that would be given detail after he spoke. Stop expecting to be spoon fed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Interesting choice of words from Robin Swann (NI minister for health) just now. He was asked about deploying the army
    Folks, will I use the Army? Will I call in the Army If I have to? If we get to a stage where they can provide a service that we can't, folks I'll use whoever's at my disposal. I'll use whatever tool I have at my disposal to tackle this virus. If the Irish army want to come up and help us too when they've it sorted down there I'd be more than happy to welcome them

https://www.bbc.com/news/live/uk-northern-ireland-politics-52017531

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,061 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

spookwoman wrote: »
    1 in 4 healthcare workers :eek:

Was it not that 1 in 4 of new cases are members of the healthcare professions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭gifted

That's not the point....

Only leave home for essential services....but garda will be at parks to ensure social distance....which is it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

fritzelly wrote: »
    Rejoin at the same rank

But why ? Does he envisage using the Army at some stage ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

A lockdown that's not called a lockdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

ET4zGqQUYAE-zML?format=jpg&name=900x900

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

keano_afc wrote: »
    Switched it off when Harris started speaking. I've no interest in listening to someone I've no respect for.

I’ve no respect for this post funnily enough either. Stop taking up room on this thread with nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,563 ✭✭✭✭walshb

J_E wrote: »
    It's going to be on a list later. What difference does it make. Why is this an issue.

Why is clear clarity from a leader addressing a nation during a pandemic not important?

Grand, lads...if you can't keep up with me, sure it''ll e online later for you all.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,869 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

When are we getting an update of the new cases, is it 6 or 8.30 PM.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

otnomart wrote: »
    Accomodation sharing (with family or with flatmates) must certainly be a factor.

If you take a house share with 4 flatmates from 4 different Counties, they have close contacts not only with each other, but also with 4 different workplaces and then with 4 different sets of friends and 4 different families.

Dublin (together with London) must be the European capital with the highest number of accomodation sharing.

Is this your prepared speech for all situations?

I've read this same post at least 3 times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,147 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Guess so if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

That's not the point....

I thought it was staright up and to the point tbh, little waffling

For support, not the shooting of miscreants some people are hoping for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Why is clear clarity from a leader addressing a nation during a pandemic not important?

Grand, lads...if you can't keep up with me, sure it''ll e online later for you all.:rolleyes:

Here you are
    ET4zGqQUYAE-zML?format=jpg&name=900x900