Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid19 Part X - 1,564 cases ROI (9 deaths) 209 in NI (7 deaths) (25 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭irishgeo

mac.in wrote: »
    A new virus stepping in. It's reported in china. It's said to be more dangerous than Coronaviurs.

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

Spread by rodents not humans so it's not really relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

This is a very uneducated opinion. They didn't just f*ck off... the conditions here were deplorable for doctors & nurses, working ridiculous hours and getting paid f*ck all.

One of my best mates is a doctor, he's just returned to Ireland after over 10 years. He's walked into a disaster zone which he is only too happy to do what he can. He's cancelled his wedding, parties and everything else that's going on in his life to help fight this.

So please, educate yourself before you make idiotic comments. At the very least, have some respect for doctors. Your life or the life of one of your loved ones might depend on one of them in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,845 ✭✭✭facehugger99

My next-door neighbor works in a care home and her son comes to visit her every day at the house. He works security for the LUAS. The fact she's not taking the provided social distancing guidelines seriously is very worrying. The fact she works in a care home and her son works as security on public transport who then visits her daily has the potential to be catastrophic. He should be distancing himself because of the nature of his work and she should have more cop on!!!

It's the same with another house on my road. An elderly lady constantly has visits from the same people who don't live there. Kids coming and going in and out of the houses playing on the road.

Same with three houses across me, they are all related to one another and continue to go in between each other's houses. The elderly woman who lives in one of them has had cancer and has been in-and-out hospital. One house with the father out working, has a newborn, a 3 y/o and a 8 y/o were all out together on the green playing with other kids on the road and their parents.

Lot of curtain-twitchers on this thread.

Mind your own business and stop looking out the window would be my advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

mac.in wrote: »
    A new virus stepping in. It's reported in china. It's said to be more dangerous than Coronaviurs.

Link here

jG2yPmD.png

Also, you get it if you have sex with Hanta Claus...

More utter nonsense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Cousin of mine works there. Team she is on is now in isolation.

What facility is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

TTLF wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure he meant they should give another time frame of school closures
    (e.g. Schools will remain closed until the Easter holidays, the situation will be reviewed then) for example

As a student, I would much rather a timeframe knowing how long school will be closed for (as of the current review) than just "hmmm yes schools will remained closed for now"

How about looking at what happened in China/Italy/Spain and how long this has been going on. If you really need a date in order to keep you focused then 1st September is looking very likely at this stage...however is subject to review in August.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Xertz

Fit and able bodied and subject to self isolation here due to a pending test and mild symptoms.

Thanks Tesco! I know you're under pressure but, what exactly can I do?

I probably have enough beans and pulses and stuff for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Lot of curtain-twitchers on this thread.

Mind your own business and stop looking out the window would be my advice.
    It's everyone's business, you so-and-so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,758 ✭✭✭weisses

While admirable on face value I can't help but think it might have the unintended consequence of keeping prices higher for the native catch.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/minister-not-proposing-fishing-fleet-tie-up-despite-covid-19-impact-1.4208243

Fish landed in Dingle is transported straight to mainland Europe AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭TheDenialTwist

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    A company over there called The Range are the same - they bought in freezers to claim they were essential!
    They sell Ikea type stuff.

Is that the same as The Range here in Little Island in Cork? Or is that a totally different store?

Turns out that yes indeed The Range here in Cork is part of the UK Chain. One of the fastest growing retailers in the UK.

I wonder will the Cork branch procure some freezers in an effort to be considered as "essential" now also. They sell housewares, gifts, lighting, arts and crafts, furniture and so forth. So, obviously non essential. Well, unless they get the freezers delivered on time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

https://www.ajc.com/news/virus-claims-two-georgia-healthcare-workers/XTijtgzE6z2gcoZ7QLvPZN/
    42 year old healthcare worker in Georgia USA found dead in her home from coronavirus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

It wouldn't surprise me if you were one of the simpletons in that queue for the chipper in Howth.

If you read any of my posts you would have found that I am quite the opposite,having called those very people out on their stupidity and their sheep like behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭lbj666

Keyzer wrote: »
    This is a very uneducated opinion. They didn't just f*ck off... the conditions here were deplorable for doctors & nurses, working ridiculous hours and getting paid f*ck all.

One of my best mates is a doctor, he's just returned to Ireland after over 10 years. He's walked into a disaster zone which he is only too happy to do what he can. He's cancelled his wedding, parties and everything else that's going on in his life to help fight this.

So please, educate yourself before you make idiotic comments. At the very least, have some respect for doctors. Your life or the life of one of your loved ones might depend on one of them in the near future.

Exactly no one who is not in the profession has any authority to judge any doctor, nurse, administrator even porter and this moment in time. They are facing an unprecedented like a wartime situation that few other industries have to face. Many people "****ed off" to work for the NHS because of the better working conditions but now could be facing a situation far worse than here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

If these doctors are such heroes and care about ireland so much why did they let the tax payer fund their education and then f*ck off to sunnier climes? I think they just want to be lauded in the media tbh.

What are you doing to help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

paddythere wrote: »
    Wont it be similar in Ireland then? A lot of 20 and 30 somethings (sometimes with their own kids) still living at home with their parents

People are just looking for reasons that we are different.

Is that the same as The Range here in Little Island in Cork? Or is that a totally different store?

The range doesn't sell Ikea stuff. It's a bit more like Woodies, only less focused on DIY and more on home decor and random 'stuff' - cups, plates, fabric, art and hobby, lighting. They're NOT an essential store by a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,415 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It's untrue to say that Ireland "couldn't provide a living for them". There's no doctors going hungry in Ireland. It's just that the pay and conditions in Australia are more attractive than in Ireland, before you even start talking about weather, desire to travel etc.

One flaw that I don't understand about the HSE is that they only usually offered 6 month contracts for NCHDs. I've a cousin who had to move on four different occasions to different hospitals around the country every six months. Imagine the disruption is you had to do all the hassle of trying to find and rent a new place every six months. Even so much as they had to finish work on a sunday evening, pack up everything, drive a few hours to the new place and start in another hospital the following morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

enricoh wrote: »
    They left coz the workload is desperate in Irish hospitals and you pay half your wages in tax at a rediculously low threshold to fund spongers.
    Fair play to them coming back and putting themselves in harm's way to help out.

What if patients in Perth die because there aren't enough doctors / medical professionals on call? It's a city of 1.985 million over a quarter of the population of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭LillySV

Can’t believe there’s pricks here begrudging health professionals who are willing to come home and help us!! How retarded are some people on this Island?
    A major reason why loads of them abroad is cause there were no jobs for them here... particularly nurses where moratorium stopped them from working here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    Not much use though - people that are in final years in college need a timeframe of when they expect to be closing until imo.

We should probably just ask the virus.

I'm sure if the minister just gets Commander Data to setup the universal translator, he could ask it what its intentions are and when it plans to leave us alone.

Oh wait... sorry that's actually sci-fi and this is just real life dystopia.

Sorry for being sarcastic, but there's no way of knowing the answers to these things. We're basically in a complete natural disaster level mess right now.

The reality is nobody knows. This is day-by-day, week-by-week, try and figure it out as we go along.

I'm sure universities can figure something out by continuing online only for now.

All I could suggest is keep in touch with your academic staff / course coordinator and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭kingshankly

marilynrr wrote: »
    How would Tesco even know any person or families individual circumstances?

Have your date of birth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

spookwoman wrote: »

My only question is...

Will my local chipper be closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Some absolutely disgusting attitudes towards medical staff who want to return I must say.

This scutter above takes the biscuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

LillySV wrote: »
    Can’t believe there’s pricks here begrudging health professionals who are willing to come home and help us!! How retarded are some people on this Island?
    A major reason why loads of them abroad is cause there were no jobs for them here... particularly nurses where moratorium stopped them from working here

Do you want them running the risk of infecting who knows how many people on the way "home"???? The whole world is tackling this virus at the moment. We are all affected, doesn't matter where we are. Any country's win is a win for the whole world at the moment. It was a stupid initiative anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

Keyzer wrote: »

He cancelled his wedding because all weddings are affected by this. Don't make out he cancelled it to run into a hospital to save lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Have your date of birth

Knowing their customers ages doesn't mean that they know that the person isn't vulnerable or doesn't have vulnerable people in their household!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bekker

What facility is it ?
    We don't need to know.

I'm generally very critical of HSE and Irish media on information dissemination, in this case it's a closed environment and all contacts should be readily traceable.

There are far more relevant questions.

Why has it take until today for the IT to establish from HSE that there is only capacity to process 33% of publicised 4,500 tests daily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

What are you doing to help?

Are these doctors doing it for free all of a sudden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

One flaw that I don't understand about the HSE is that they only usually offered 6 month contracts for NCHDs. I've a cousin who had to move on four different occasions to different hospitals around the country every six months. Imagine the disruption is you had to do all the hassle of trying to find and rent a new place every six months. Even so much as they had to finish work on a sunday evening, pack up everything, drive a few hours to the new place and start in another hospital the following morning.

I’ve a cousin who had to do that Galway, Drogheda, And a couple of Dublin hospitals. He Emigrated in the end.