Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part IX - 785 cases ROI (3 deaths) 108 in NI (1 death) (20 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Some of the posters on here need to take a long hard look at themselves with some of the boll1xology they are posting.
    Any bit of good news or optimism and they are straight in to knock peoples hopes and project their doom and bitterness on others.a cross between a doom merchant and a drama queen in the dna make up and they thriving on it.
    The same ones are experts on the health services and practicing social distancing then and it only a new concept.sheep following sheep and they thinking they are the shepherd.afraid to die but afraid to live.
    Drama queens the lot of them.do the people of this great country a favour and go outside and go for a walk and get some fresh air in to ye.bring yere tin foil hats along with the other nonsense Ppe crutches ye have adopted with ye if ye want.
    Any fcuker sneering at another posters optimism should be removed from the thread and only allowed post in a drama queen, doom merchant,idiotic fool section that none of the rest of us can see.
    What a time to be alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭woohoo!!!

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Good idea.
    Let’s arm ourselves with a measuring tape.
    And social distance the fook outta dis town.
    Don't be silly. Use a cattle prod, much more effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

pH wrote: »
    Which part?

Where is the official announcement we're no longer following Leo's original strategy of 60% infected and 90,000 deaths?

Perhaps you can quote his new figures for total infected and deaths?

It wasnt a 'strategy'. The figures outlined are a worse case scenario if the eejits and gob****es dont cop themselves on ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Some of the posters on here need to take a long hard look at themselves with some of the boll1xology they are posting.
    Any bit of good news or optimism and they are straight in to knock peoples hopes and project their doom and bitterness on others.a cross between a doom merchant and a drama queen in the dna make up and they thriving on it.
    The same ones are experts on the health services and practicing social distancing then and it only a new concept.sheep following sheep and they thinking they are the shepherd.afraid to die but afraid to live.
    Drama queens the lot of them.do the people of this great country a favour and go outside and go for a walk and get some fresh air in to ye.bring yere tin foil hats along with the other nonsense Ppe crutches ye have adopted with ye if ye want.
    Any fcuker sneering at another posters optimism should be removed from the thread and only allowed post in a drama queen, doom merchant,idiotic fool section that none of the rest of us can see.
    What a time to be alive
    I bet that felt sooo good!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,386 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Can you clarify your second sentence? Genuinely interested. I know predictive texting is a pain in the hole the way it prioritises mistaken words over real words.

Certainly and apologies.

People are hypochondriacs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Lillyfae

Raconteuse wrote: »
    That poster was saying Irish people are really dirty and "Ireland is kill". Self loathing shyte.

I didn’t put too much thought into that tbh, so many posts here look a bit dyslexic I thought it was just another one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭beolight

frillyleaf wrote: »
    If a distribution issue is affecting people on the frontline from being equipped with PPE there is a shortage issue. They may have loads of stock but if they are not getting to the staff that need them this is an issue.

It doesn’t matter if it’s due to numbers or to distribution - the end result is still the same - some staff do not have them hence there is a shortage. This is happening not particularly to people in hospital but with other care workers coming into contact with people - they don’t have enough PPE

HSE have a responsibility to ensure that all care workers/Garda/volunteers etc coming into contact with elderly/ vulnerable from now on are equipped with PPE and that masks should be handed out to this eldery/vulnerable also to wear when they have to interact with health care works/ guards/ volunteers

Will this be the case?

If your checking on neighbours please wear a mask or scarf if you don’t have one

Seen a video from Spain of communities making their own mask and distributing them to elderly/ vulnerable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Varadkar playing failed election politics?
    If true, this is the sign of an a*sehole, not a leader.
    (Most of it is behind paywall)
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/varadkar-open-to-unity-government-without-sf-39064647.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭endainoz

What a time to be alive

Your the total opposite though, borderline complete denial. Common ground needs to be found, no point ignoring warnings and goading people who dont agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

They are not Latin. We have a pub culture.

This whole we are so different bull**** needs to stop. We are not.
    I'm certainly not in denial - I'm furious at those in denial and those not practising the guidelines - but I think differing societies and environments can make some difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Former Real Madrid president Lorenzo Sanz has died of Corona virus

I'm beginning to think there's something in the Latin gene pool, the death rate in Italy and Spain just doesn't stack up against most of the rest of the world, even the Chinese weren't hit like this were the case must have been in the 100's of 1000's

Funny I remember back in January people saying it was something about Asian race that was making them die/catch it in such large number, people even posting erroneous studies claiming the virus would have no effect on white people...
    Much more likely right now is the Chinese figures are complete bull****. Very likely that deaths of patients with other comorbidities were listed as the COD instead of COVID 19, as the Chinese do with common flu. Now all the severe Chinese measures make complete sense, martial law, sealing people into their homes, halting the entire economy for months. You really think it's possible at all that more people have died in one Italian province in a few days than all of China in a 3 month epidemic?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

What a time to be alive

Feel free to post in the good times happy sunshine hug thread if you don't want to hear opinions different than your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Varadkar playing failed election politics?
    If true, this is the sign of an a*sehole, not a leader.
    (Most of it is behind paywall)
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/varadkar-open-to-unity-government-without-sf-39064647.html

A sign of someone with a serious amount of common sense to be fair ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Very tense in this thread.
    We need a distraction.

I'll make the sound of a barnyard animal and you all try to guess what it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

fits wrote: »
    It’s a personal account from a doctor.

That isn't written as well as the account by the Italian surgeon and also contains images of hospitals in Italy not U.K. hospitals. Daily mail is not a good news source, never has been, never will be.

Coveney on Radio 1 saying they will come up with better schemes next week to help those who have lost jobs.
    UK's announcement has kicked them up the arse I think.

Blueshoe wrote: »
    Do you think someone might have said letting more people become sick and more dieing is a smaller price in the long run.
    The good of many over the few. It's not unheard of and is part of human nature in a way.

You're a nasty piece of work. Some of us value elderly and vulnerable loved ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

Nobody has the right to tell anybody to do anything. She could have asked politely. Nobody is entitled to respect because of their age, earn it like everyone else.

How does an elderly person earn respect during a brief encounter with a tool in a supermarket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭endainoz

We need a distraction.

Baby ox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Achasanai

pH wrote: »
    Go listen to Varadkar's speech on the 9th March- expects 60% of the population infected, 3% fatality rate. That's the 'herd immunity' approach, here in Ireland announced by Leo.

Strangely though, even though the UK have officially changed their policy based on the Imperial College report of the 16th March, there has been no official announcement that we have done the same.

In fact many of the day to day announcements would suggest Ireland is currently following the 'herd immunity'/mitigation/'flatten the curve' approach.

My understanding is that the herd immunity is not the same as flattening the curve. Any of the charts I've seen regarding herd immunity is that you get an explosion of the curve initially but the payoff is that the disease dies down sooner after that.

gozunda wrote: »
    A sign of someone with a serious amount of common sense to be fair ...
    No, not really.
    It's playing electoral politics and what happened to 'we're all in this together' baloney he talked of last week.
    It's the height of a*seholery at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

endainoz wrote: »
    Your the total opposite though, borderline complete denial. Common ground needs to be found, no point ignoring warnings and goading people who dont agree with you.

I’m not the one that is goading.
    There’s people losing their livelihoods and the drama queens want more hardship.sit at home fear mongers thriving on others misfortune.
    They should be ashamed of themselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

You're a nasty piece of work. Some of us value elderly and vulnerable loved ones.

I wouldn't make that call. I have elderly parents myself. I'm saying that there are times when those with the power make these types of decisions.
    I couldn't do such a thing. But some people have no conscience .

Less of the insults please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Maxpfizer

wadacrack wrote: »
    Alot on here believing what they want to and in denial . Social distancing of 2 meters isn't going to do much. We have people out in large groups. We aren't going to escape this. I don't see how we aren't hit as badly as Italy. The Latin cultures kissing/greeting is just a belief system many have formulating for some hope but it won't make any difference. 40,000 waiting to be tested says it all. 173 available beds in ICU. The numbers don't lie

We won't be as badly hit as Italy because, even though we are behind on implementing measures nationwide, people have been behaving more cautiously in general since it started kicking off in other countries.

Tomorrow will be my 4th week of working from home and for many colleagues it is the same.

Every time I've been to the supermarket in the past 2 weeks it has benn relatively quiet and most people are being careful.

The fact of the matter here is that an individual who is infected will not be able to spread the virus around too much because 90% of the country is doing social distancing to some extent.

Hand sanitizer was difficult to come by here as early as February 21st (I know because I bought some and it was almost all gone in Boots) and that is over a month ago now.

If you have more people actively taking precautions then the opportunities for the virus to spread are much less.

So even today when I go to local shop at worst I am within a dangerous proximity to maybe 2 or 3 people and then I am back at home for a few days only leaving to for a 30 mins walk each day, coming into contact with nobody.

This would be compared to 5 weeks ago where each day I would be in proximity to potentially 10s or even 100s of people.

Even those people out in large groups right now. They aren't commuting on busy trains and buses. They aren't shopping in packed stores that open onto packed streets. They won't be going to the pub or out for dinner and even if they do those places are quiet too.

We are already reducing the spread of the virus just with the majority of us being more careful.

We need a distraction.

Some posters are looking at the lovely weather but just can't go out on principle, even though they really might be best served by doing so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Not one for posting rumours but this comes from a very close friend very high up in the HSE in the UK. He has recieved an email from higher ups stating Boris johnson wants to pass emergency bill tomorrow and UK will be on lockdown from Wed. Looks like its 90% going through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

What a time to be alive
    Jaysus dude, social distancing is just being sheep?

I agree with you on the misery merchants, but please, do not go around saying extreme measures to stem the spread of this devastating virus https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/ is people being sheep or tinfoil hattery. It's just irresponsible. Already people are buying into this fallacy by thanking you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Not one for posting rumours but this comes from a very close friend very high up in the HSE in the UK. He has recieved an email from higher ups stating Boris johnson wants to pass emergency bill tomorrow and UK will be on lockdown from Wed. Looks like its 90% going through.

I think a lockdown will happen at some point, not just the UK but all countries. More a case of doing it at the right time.