CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I want Leo to call me precious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

joe40 wrote: »
    Thought the speech was very good, much better than the leadership coming from Boris

A ****ing jam donut would be a better leader than Boris.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Well said. Put it way better than I could.

It was a great speech, and my respect for our government has gone up hugely these last few days, I was initially angry for the seemingly slow response.

Much complex work must be going on behind the scenes now, I'd like to see concrete action to help people financially over the next few weeks and months. This was hinted at in the speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Anyone that thinks Trump's speech today, or any day of this crisis, was good should look into patenting whatever you are smoking/drinking/swallowing as it is one hell of an hallucinogenic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Why the hate for the UK and US? I watched both their press conferences and they are going to massive lengths and throwing billions at the virus. At the end of the day it will probably be one of them who will beat the virus in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

awec wrote: »
    Excellent speech. The right message delivered in the right way.

I'm no fan of FG but credit where it's due he did well. I liked the way he didn't try to sugarcoat it. Seems like they are doing everything they can. It al means nothing if those baboons in the north aren't on the same page though. The island ought to be treated as one for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I was very quick to criticise the early handling of this situation by the government, but Leo will go down in the history books for that speech.

Himself and his colleagues have impressed me hugely over the last week or so.

Fareplay for coming out with a reassuring address on an iconic day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭cozar

walshb wrote: »
    Trump is an absolute charlatan!

Thought trumps tone and manner is more subdued. He sounds a bit scared maybe realization has set in for him or he knows more than letting on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I hope a lot of elderly people feel assured and some security after watching that. Compare it to Boris who basically said ye are all gonna die good luck t’ye

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,628 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

"Precious", or "Mmmmyyyy preshussssss"? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,132 ✭✭✭Big Ears

No we are not at war.relax with the drama

Not actually at war of course, but Emmanuel Macron has frequently mentioned being 'at war' with the virus in a figurative sense.

These speech was to put the Irish public into the same frame of mind.
    'Never was so much owed by so many to so few', was a phrase for on Churchill during WW2 in relation to the RAF crew.
    Varadker tweaked it slightly but pretty much said the same about our Frontline Healthcare staff.

He also specifically used the word Emergency, in a sense that would evoke reminders for people here to WW2, or 'The Emergency' as it was known in Ireland.

He is preparing people for extraordinary circumstances, where many will have to perform above and beyond their normal duties in work/life, and imo he did a decent job in getting that message across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Would anyone know if there’s a transcript of the speech anywhere. Thanks. Just missed it live, and by the time the RTE Player gets to the point, I’ll have given up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,525 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

carolmon wrote: »
    Cocooning? What a sugar coated term for isolation for months....my god even prisoners are not allowed to be put in solitary confinement for more than a regulated period of time... it's a human rights breach
    What the hell are you on about?
    He is trying his best to protect people who are at risk, I am seriously glad we have him as our leader at the minute tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Leo is trying to scare us with this talk of 15,000 cases, which is an enormous number for a country of our size.

But he is right to try to scare us, because we should be scared. The 15,000 number is avoidable if we all do the right thing, but if we carry on like the clowns in Cheltenham and Temple Bar last week then it could be worse than he is saying.

Basically, the message was, get your act together, this will be as bad as we let it get. Be afraid and do the right thing. I thought it was controlled and impressive, and exactly what we needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Bullocks

_feedback_ wrote: »
    I was very quick to criticise the early handling of this situation by the government, but Leo will go down in the history books for that speech.

Himself and his colleagues have impressed me hugely over the last week or so.

Fareplay for coming out with a reassuring address on an iconic day..

I'd agree, and Coveney speaking well too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

darced wrote: »
    Why the hate for the UK and US? I watched both their press conferences and they are going to massive lengths and throwing billions at the virus. At the end of the day it will probably be one of them who will beat the virus in the end.
    Aye, throwing money around like confetti won't beat the virus. Let them at it. I've far more confidence in our lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

can easily imagine her doing it, whats your point?

God she's woeful, just imagine her with that unforgiving voice of hers, would have been awful :(

Thought Leo did a great job, the calm before the storm, before the surge! Months to go, mid summer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

rdwight wrote: »
    The really bad bit was RTE's inability to competently stream an event. But that's hardly new.
    It cut out halfway thru and we had to watch two ads. Not that we were really watching anyway, we were watching the Mary Wallopers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Varadkar is playing a stormer at the moment while the other parties are running scared. You may not like his policies as I don't but he's one hell of a leader as he proved on Brexit!! They should pass a Dail motion to keep the Government in place for next 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Prime time on soon on RTE ONE and RTE NEWS NOW.

https://twitter.com/RTE_PrimeTime/status/1239981927387537414?s=19

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Cold shower needed i think mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,134 ✭✭✭✭walshb

cozar wrote: »
    Thought trumps tone and manner is more subdued. He sounds a bit scared maybe realization has set in for him or he knows more than letting on?

Yes, he’s a lot more careful and measured of late.

He just comes across as a person who cares only about himself...couldn’t give a fook about anyone but him..

Though the deliberate baiting of China and the Chinese virus..can’t help himself. Constantly playing to the galleries.

Odd man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭mick987

walshb wrote: »
    This 15000 figure is looking quite likely...

Serious!
    If that is the official figure what will the real figure be ( with all the untested people)

I know you're basking in the warm glow of his speech but get a grip :rolleyes:

Why don't you stick to smashing the thanks button of any post that criticizes Varadkar instead of worrying about that. The pattern is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

most of us are in that top 5%

Yeah. People don’t realise how privileged we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The main thing to take from the speech by Leo is it's up to us as individuals to stop the spread of this virus, if we all follow the advice about handwashing & keeping distance from others we can beat this without having to **** the whole country down and costing hundreds of thousands of jobs to be lost.

But we need to do it together, every person that ignores the advice is a risk to us all. It's simple advice to follow and doesn't cost each of us more than a few mins a day to follow so it rests on each of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Economic ruin certain. We'll be back into the 1950s after this. A lost decade coming up. We'll have to borrow billions and pay it back jig time. Taxes up, services cut. Recession. I doubt the foreign multinationals will stay or be able too to be honest. Pretty apocalyptic actually, there are no bright lights from this

I disagree. Every country will be in the same boat. A way will be found to get things going again and they will. And there's no reason to suspect that all the foreign multinationals are going to bail out. We're still the only English speaking country in the EU and the Eurozone, we still have a relatively well educated workforce, they will still want to do business. The tech companies have plenty of money and the pharmaceutical sector isn't going to tank.

I thought it was a good speech. I felt very emotional watching it. When you compare it to that giant orange slug of a man in the US, who is trying to lay blame on every other country with his "Chinese virus" and blaming Europeans for bringing it in etc, Leo stood up there tonight and declared solidarity with the people suffering in all corners of the world.

As far as people feeling disappointed about no lockdown.. well I can understand that. He called out a lot of our crucial services and all gratitude and respect to them but there's a lot of people still being packed into offices and factories doing non essential jobs and putting themselves and they're loved ones at risk unnecessarily.

My father is one of those people in a non essential job. He's also one of those in the high risk category. I was hoping a lockdown would be announced for his sake. 'Cocooning' will do the trick as he's in his 70s but doesn't sound like it's happening yet.

And for those complaining that he's frightening people.. well I'm sorry but we need to be afraid. This is scary. This is scary as f*cking hell and its the people who aren't afraid that are making matters worse. This needs to be taken seriously. Not a little serious. A whole lot of serious. If you're looking for reassurances that this isn't bad, tough luck. This is bad and I'd prefer my Taoiseach to say it like it is.

Oh and the "not all heroes wear capes" made me cringe so much but look, I assume hes trying to appeal to the younger audience. He needs them on board so they respect the measures and stop putting the rest of us at risk with their gatherings.

Rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,052 ✭✭✭saabsaab

This thread is full of misinformation and causes undue stress . Some of the posts are ridiculous. We all have enough to be worrying about without this.

Very reassuring listening to Leo Varadkar....glad he mentioned the ****e that’s been put out online by idiots . I had been following this thread but I’m out now

. Had long walks and hikes these last 2 days and those have been the best hours I spent, not here on Boards.ie following the Coronavirus thread !

Stay well everyone.

I hope you stay well too. However this tread from the beginning got most things right and was a good pointer to where we are today. Very few idiots and little misinformation just look at the first thread on this and you will see that.