Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Administrators Posts: 55,043 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Excellent speech. The right message delivered in the right way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ah jaysus WUG, :( keep safe and well. More lego may be required. :)

Sure if anything, we were doing the isolation thing before it was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rdwight

Right tell us the new bad bits.

The really bad bit was RTE's inability to competently stream an event. But that's hardly new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Syncpolice

walshb wrote: »
    Trump is an absolute charlatan!

I laughed when he said he was ahead of the curve today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,593 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Stealing some Churchill quotes was corny, but at least he laid it all out with no doubt as to the serious of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

The modeling doesn't seem to take any impact from the measures already put in place.

They've used the term flatten the curve and we're doing that but they wont be 30% per day say 3 or 4 weeks down the line if the measures being put in place are effective.

Like I said if its 15k that gives us the highest number of cases per capita in the world

It takes account of people coming back from Cheltenham, Uk in general Spain and all over Europe etc.

It takes account of people who have been out socializing over the past few weeks.

It takes into account that testing has been put on the long finger.

It takes into account numbers told to self isolate.

It takes into account people who have been behaving as if nothing is happening.

I saw a claim that by the end of the week the real figure may already be 2000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

LRNM wrote: »
    The people want info and leadership. This speech didn't deliver any of that.

The bit where he said we will have 15000 cases by the end of the month.
    Thats info.
    Understand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

statesaver wrote: »
    I agree but 15000 cases by the end of March ???? That would mean nearly a 1000 cases for he next 14 days

That isn't the way it works. The spread is running at 30% new cases a day. That means the number of cases is doubling every 2.5 days. So, it doubles twice every 5 days. So if we are at 15,000 cases in, say, 4 weeks time, we would only be at 3750 total cases 5 days before that. It ramps up each day, not a constant addition each day.

One big issue with that is that if we go much beyond the 15k, we will be at huge numbers. Even if we manage to push the doubling rate out from 2.5 days to 7 days with our current social distancing, we would still be at 60,000 cases by mid April, 240,000 cases by the end of April. Obviously we wouldn't let it get that far because if we continue to see exponential growth after April 1st we will baton down the hatches to try and stop it exceeding 60k (if we haven't done that already before then).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Thought the speech was very good, much better than the leadership coming from Boris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Honestly your man's speech in Independence day was way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

We bailed out the banking crisis in 2008, NOW it's time for the super-wealthy to bail us out, ie. the small minority who own the vast majority of the wealth.
    Or inversely > The bottom 95% hold 28.4% of world wealth.

most of us are in that top 5%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,192 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Please, leo is a waste if space and only his speech writer is keeping him going.
    Yes, all bow down before him now but as with everything in life, he better make the most of the praise he's receiving here ..it's very transitory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

This! WTF. We are talking about everyone that can help, helping. But €30 a phone call which, and I am only guessing, will take a few minutes. There is something not right about this.

Happy to be slated, but I would have thought emergency legislation mandating doctors to do a free few calls would have been reasonable!

€30 for taking a phone call, how much extra do those who actually perform the test get? Or those working in the hospitals etc...

I understand it was probably forced on them as a compromise to stop people being charged, but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,405 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Syncpolice wrote: »
    Getting back to the coronavirus

Is there a good chance of rolling lockdowns

Week locked down and then a week allowed out?

Legislation to put it on the books will probably be passed Friday. But it will be used when needed. The worst has yet to come, but we will be ready for it.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Irish_peppa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I want Leo to call me precious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

joe40 wrote: »
    Thought the speech was very good, much better than the leadership coming from Boris

A ****ing jam donut would be a better leader than Boris.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Well said. Put it way better than I could.

It was a great speech, and my respect for our government has gone up hugely these last few days, I was initially angry for the seemingly slow response.

Much complex work must be going on behind the scenes now, I'd like to see concrete action to help people financially over the next few weeks and months. This was hinted at in the speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Anyone that thinks Trump's speech today, or any day of this crisis, was good should look into patenting whatever you are smoking/drinking/swallowing as it is one hell of an hallucinogenic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Why the hate for the UK and US? I watched both their press conferences and they are going to massive lengths and throwing billions at the virus. At the end of the day it will probably be one of them who will beat the virus in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

awec wrote: »
    Excellent speech. The right message delivered in the right way.

I'm no fan of FG but credit where it's due he did well. I liked the way he didn't try to sugarcoat it. Seems like they are doing everything they can. It al means nothing if those baboons in the north aren't on the same page though. The island ought to be treated as one for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I was very quick to criticise the early handling of this situation by the government, but Leo will go down in the history books for that speech.

Himself and his colleagues have impressed me hugely over the last week or so.

Fareplay for coming out with a reassuring address on an iconic day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭cozar

walshb wrote: »
    Trump is an absolute charlatan!

Thought trumps tone and manner is more subdued. He sounds a bit scared maybe realization has set in for him or he knows more than letting on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I hope a lot of elderly people feel assured and some security after watching that. Compare it to Boris who basically said ye are all gonna die good luck t’ye

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I want Leo to call me precious

"Precious", or "Mmmmyyyy preshussssss"? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Big Ears

No we are not at war.relax with the drama

Not actually at war of course, but Emmanuel Macron has frequently mentioned being 'at war' with the virus in a figurative sense.

These speech was to put the Irish public into the same frame of mind.
    'Never was so much owed by so many to so few', was a phrase for on Churchill during WW2 in relation to the RAF crew.
    Varadker tweaked it slightly but pretty much said the same about our Frontline Healthcare staff.

He also specifically used the word Emergency, in a sense that would evoke reminders for people here to WW2, or 'The Emergency' as it was known in Ireland.

He is preparing people for extraordinary circumstances, where many will have to perform above and beyond their normal duties in work/life, and imo he did a decent job in getting that message across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Would anyone know if there’s a transcript of the speech anywhere. Thanks. Just missed it live, and by the time the RTE Player gets to the point, I’ll have given up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,403 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

carolmon wrote: »
    Cocooning? What a sugar coated term for isolation for months....my god even prisoners are not allowed to be put in solitary confinement for more than a regulated period of time... it's a human rights breach
    What the hell are you on about?
    He is trying his best to protect people who are at risk, I am seriously glad we have him as our leader at the minute tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭fisgon

Leo is trying to scare us with this talk of 15,000 cases, which is an enormous number for a country of our size.

But he is right to try to scare us, because we should be scared. The 15,000 number is avoidable if we all do the right thing, but if we carry on like the clowns in Cheltenham and Temple Bar last week then it could be worse than he is saying.

Basically, the message was, get your act together, this will be as bad as we let it get. Be afraid and do the right thing. I thought it was controlled and impressive, and exactly what we needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

_feedback_ wrote: »
    I was very quick to criticise the early handling of this situation by the government, but Leo will go down in the history books for that speech.

Himself and his colleagues have impressed me hugely over the last week or so.

Fareplay for coming out with a reassuring address on an iconic day..

I'd agree, and Coveney speaking well too