Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VIII - 292 cases ROI (2 deaths) 62 in NI (as of 17th March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Mr.S wrote: »
    Shoutout to the boards.ie thread!

Yes. Boards was on this way before Government. Leo is warning us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭JRant

He said the emergency services were getting tooled up :)

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

Fantastic speech. Very measured. He more or less suggested to forget about boards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

top speech. inspiring even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Was there much need for a TV address, given he said nothing new?
    Probably was, people need to be reassured and he did say March 29 is just a mark along the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭freddie1970

Some difference between Leo and Boris..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Taois did well there IMO. Most people get their news either from RTE or from mad wans on social media. A reasonable summation from An Taoiseach to these people to make clear what's happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭05eaftqbrs9jlh

LRNM wrote: »
    wtf was the point of that? :confused:
    Optics.

He's so slimy, I can't stand it. I think he loves this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

It's like I'm in a version of the hunger games or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

brevity wrote: »
    I liked it. He did well.

It was grand. I just don't rate him as the most inspiring speaker. He did ok

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,398 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Excellent speech IMHO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

The contrast in compassion from Leo compared to boris and trump is vast

Absolutely no comparison to those 2 clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

Have to hand it to him, was a good speech in fairness.

"Calm before the storm"

"Not all heroes wear capes" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Mwengwe

Nosnon wrote: »
    Ok, Have to ask, what the fück do you want him to say and/or do?

I don't think he's necessarily doing anything wrong at the moment but people bowing down before him for putting a speech together (with help I'd imagine) is a bit irritating. I hope he's putting measures together for homeless people/direct provision centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Where’s all the 11 am Tuesday morning drama queens gone?wheres the shut down ye were waffling about?

For everyone strung out on this thread complaining that nothing new was said, just think of older people who probably only consume RTE news nightly.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

sterz wrote: »
    My experience in Dublin city centre over the past few days would suggest otherwise unfortunately.
    The people you meet in the City Centre don't necessarily represent all of Ireland though. Give people some credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

He referenced Churchill's Battle of Britain speech.

Solid speech.

If there was a General Election after the crisis, he could get a result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

C__MC wrote: »
    Imagine Mary Lou doing that
    Brilliant from Leo.

can easily imagine her doing it, whats your point?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

To lay the seeds of what is to come, it’s not going to be pretty, so when it happens people will be somewhat prepared even mentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,669 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

No lockdown?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Excellent speech IMHO.

I agree but 15000 cases by the end of March ???? That would mean nearly a 1000 cases for he next 14 days

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

To lay the seeds of what is to come, it’s not going to be pretty, so when it happens people will be somewhat prepared even mentally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭marvin80

C__MC wrote: »
    Imagine Mary Lou doing that
    Brilliant from Leo.

Mary Lou spoke a lot better than Leo and Michael Martin in the debates and many times in the Dail but anyway..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Well done Leo, serious stuff.

Feels like we're at war, which I guess we are in a way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭LRNM

Far from a good speech imo. The way it was pre-announced it had everyone thinking it was going to be a big important announcement.

But no, just thanks lads you're all doing a great job.

Nothing new. No info. Just back patting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Excellent speech. When you look at the mish mash crap coming from leaders of so many other countries our leaders get at A+.

We are in good hands and have a government we can trust, that’s more then many. Clear message of what’s possibly to come, this is so important to fight this.

Superb, this is exactly what I imagined we needed and our leaders are not letting us down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Leo: We'll be fine, don't worry. It'll be grand.

Also Leo: You should be absolutely f*cling terrified, and will likely die.

I have to imagine you had the wrong channel. He did not say the second thing in the slightest. This is the sort of utter and complete nonsense he asked people to stop going on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭Curlysue76

Some difference between Leo and Boris..

Exactly what my 17 yr old daughter said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Great address from Leo. There was nothing remarkable about what he said, but he done an excellent job of summing up the current mood in the country, on what's a very a poignant day for us.