Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Goldengirl wrote: »
    Most attended Mass no matter how sick they were?

There was a general election in the middle of it as well. And we were fighting the brits too.

At least we don’t have a war of independence running concurrently with this epidemic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Stheno wrote: »
    Is anyone else a bit scared?

I'm terrified for my mam. Genuinely upset about what could happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Yep. Trump mentioned it at the press conference.
    He said Beasty is a great guy doing a fantastic job and we are lucky to have great people like Beasty helping win the war against Covid-19.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,582 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

With bars being closed and people not socialising, a positive may be that drug dealers' cash flow could be severely curtailed the next few weeks.

They selling hand sanitizer underground I hear

• Registered Users Posts: 81,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Zero new confirmed cases in the USA in the last 24 hours, according the today's WHO Situation Report. Confirmed is .post definitely the operative word.

Holiday destinations like Las Vegas must be riddled with it, people handling playing cards, using slot machines, eating from buffets etc will spread it like wildfire through the casinos and hotels.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,564 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The market is going to rocket tomorrow because the US Fed is going to inject $700bn of QE and has unveiled a load of other measures today too.

Going to be really strong days on the financial markets for that reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,812 ✭✭✭amacca

Heated debate going on sky news right now.

I know that loathsome tit Brendan O'Neill trying to weasle his way out of politicising the thing

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭solidasarock

Stheno wrote: »
    Is anyone else a bit scared?

I am more scared of how people are going to react with incoming restrictions then I am about getting the virus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

As someone who worked in healthcare, you should know waiting for a vaccine won't be the solution this problem. The steps being taken will hopefully ensure Health services are not overwhelmed, and the virus can be managed over time.

Yes this is all well and good. However my point still stands that taking steps to try to slow it down via lockdowns will very likely mean this is going to be far far longer than 2 weeks. I'm meeting far too many that think this will a couple weeks and it will blow over.

The approach of managing it numbers wise needs the realization that this will need to be maintained a lot longer than people are thinking and most likely will have accept that said services will very likely see a drop in standards due to the economic knock on cause 2/3 weeks ain't gonna hack it unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Probably very few.
    Which is why I don't believe the numbers. They should said say zero cases that we know of from our limited testing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,325 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Another thing that worries me is the reality of economics and how it isn't as simple as people think just to shut down various places.

All these at risk groups such as the elderly, disabled etc rely on benefits to keep them alive. If non essentials roles are locked down I don't know what will happen to these things with a reduced tax rate that will make the recession look like a laugh

Gardai, healthcare workers etc may volunteer to keep working without pay but what about the various supplies needed to aid them.

As said this is coming from my view that a 2/3/4 week lockdown is grand in theory but I'm astonished at the amount of people I've been talking to that believe this magically means it will allow the virus to "blow over" once lockdown is lifted it only takes a handful to start another blitz of it again

Can we handle possible months of continuous lockdowns? I don't know

They did in China Lurgan Klopp. And it appears to be working for them so that's the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭daheff

Akrasia wrote: »
    The EU really needs to make an announcement tomorrow to say all member states need to impose restrictions and announce ECB funding to al euro zone members to fund these restrictions

At a central bank level, the ECB could easily print money to cover some emergency costs with zero inflationary impact due to the huge supply chain impacts.

Ecb could pay everybody who gets let go or loses pay for the duration of this emergency. It will save economies and allow us to get back to life a lot quicker afterwards. This has the potential to make the 2008 financial crisis seem like a picnic.

4 months for most businesses not getting much of not any income...and asked to still try pay workers. Most companies are not going to be able to deal with this. The whole house of cards will come falling down

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭spookwoman

I am more scared of how people are going to react with incoming restrictions then I am about getting the virus.

For us that are not social creatures it will be probably easy, for the ones that have to be out socialising it will be hard and I can see people not obeying it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

The market is going to rocket tomorrow because the US Fed is going to inject $700bn of QE and has unveiled a load of other measures today too.

I would have thought the opposite?
    https://www.ccn.com/dow-outlook-darkens-as-travel-ban-threatens-stock-market-crash-again/

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭derossi

I will look for a test tomorrow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

[F] a) Incubation period for most people is less than 7 days but for almost everyone (or everyone, we're not sure) is about 14 days so people infected today may only develop symptoms on 30th March (roughly).

Perhaps a typo here. Could you clarify please?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,997 ✭✭✭threeball

Does anyone know if the border closures in Europe are for public traffic only or will freight be impacted too. If that gets locked down then supply chains will start to fail. I presume they will let trucks carrying goods through

• Registered Users Posts: 9,325 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

amacca wrote: »
    I know that loathsome tit Brendan O'Neill trying to weasle his way out of politicising the thing

Can't stand that príck. I used to listen to Eamon Dunphy podcasts sometimes but stopped cos he always had that boring rightist brexit git on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Is that why futures right now are showing the US markets collapsing in the morning again?

Good job you're not an economist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

Another thing that worries me is the reality of economics and how it isn't as simple as people think just to shut down various places.

All these at risk groups such as the elderly, disabled etc rely on benefits to keep them alive. If non essentials roles are locked down I don't know what will happen to these things with a reduced tax rate that will make the recession look like a laugh

Gardai, healthcare workers etc may volunteer to keep working without pay but what about the various supplies needed to aid them.

As said this is coming from my view that a 2/3/4 week lockdown is grand in theory but I'm astonished at the amount of people I've been talking to that believe this magically means it will allow the virus to "blow over" once lockdown is lifted it only takes a handful to start another blitz of it again

Can we handle possible months of continuous lockdowns? I don't know

Get the ECB to print like fcuk. Keep as many people alive as possible. And worry about the bill afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭rogieop

threeball wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the border closures in Europe are for public traffic only or will freight be impacted too. If that gets locked down then supply chains will start to fail. I presume they will let trucks carrying goods through

We had prepared for a hard border. We have plenty in reseeve. We are fine in that regard.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,997 ✭✭✭threeball

Yes this is all well and good. However my point still stands that taking steps to try to slow it down via lockdowns will very likely mean this is going to be far far longer than 2 weeks. I'm meeting far too many that think this will a couple weeks and it will blow over.

The approach of managing it numbers wise needs the realization that this will need to be maintained a lot longer than people are thinking and most likely will have accept that said services will very likely see a drop in standards due to the economic knock on cause 2/3 weeks ain't gonna hack it unfortunately.

2 weeks was never realistic. You're likely looking at 2 months with a drip feed of exposure to the population over that time.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,288 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Probably very few.

My wife is showing every symptom of the disease, was told yesterday that she would be tested in the next day or 2. Didn’t happen today, hopefully tomorrow

The reason it’s important for us is that she is on anti inflammatory steroids because she has asthma and thats fine unless she has coronavirus where these can potentially make her much worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭sallyanne12

gifted wrote: »
    Scared of catching it?

Scared of the economy?

Scared of losing your job?

Scared of no food on the shelves?

I'm scared of 3 of the 4 above...

Taking the right precautions so confident of not catching it..

I wish I could say the same but I don't think anyone can feel confident of not catching it, risks can be hugely reduced but everybody has a risk all the same!
    It's extremely contagious. I am very scared :(
    It's airborne which I didn't know so if someone was In a shop and coughed, it stays in the air for hours... hard not to catch :(

• Registered Users Posts: 22,288 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I wish I could say the same but I don't think anyone can feel confident of not catching it, risks can be hugely reduced but everybody has a risk all the same!
    It's extremely contagious. I am very scared :(
    It's airborne which I didn't know so if someone was In a shop and coughed, it stays in the air for hours... hard not to catch :(
    I’m not confident of anything right now

Lombardy is one of the richest places in Europe and they are devastated. Nobody is going to escape this without some personal tragedy unless treatment becomes available very soon

• Registered Users Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Am I alone in thinking that it's kind of odd that Russia is not reporting many cases relative to their population?

Turkey is the same, but Erdo is a moron, so feck that, just like Putin I suppose.

I for one don't believe the stats. But nothing I can do. Any word from either State on media anywhere?

That is exactly what I was saying about 4 threads ago!
    Apparently closed borders and closed travel down fast. But their sheer lack of cases for the size of their population is unreal. Conspiracy theory?

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭Pseudonym121

Ellie2008 wrote: »
    F me that guy is impressive

Yeah but he's from Sligo - which under these circumstances I'm willing to forgive. ;-)

We have really good, world class medics here. We always have. It isn't recognised in Ireland but it is recognised internationally just how good our training is and how good Irish doctors are.

It appears to be the same with Irish nurses too who are in high demand abraod but obviously I know it best from my own friends who have emigrated since 2007.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Blueshoe

daheff wrote: »
    Same as the army are doing in Spain France Italy.

Maintain checkpoints & assist civil authorities in doing what they need to do.

What are the checkpoints for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

TheCitizen wrote: »
    They did in China Lurgan Klopp. And it appears to be working for them so that's the way to go.

Oh I agree we have to roll with it C, we have no other means at the moment. I'm just pointing out it will need to be a lot longer than 2 weeks and this talk of "weekly reviews" well I believe we could be looking at a lot of extensions, most likely coupled with a lift then a necessary restart of another lockdown(s) due to various new flare ups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭derossi

Btw, you don't have to say about a test, I have been washing hands last few weeks, using anti bac, have a supply of foods. I was never a bring on the end of times kind of fella, I just bought a wee bit extra the last few weeks. I was loking in the press tonight, I was self isolated for two weeks, I will be grand. end of week will be big choices but i'll live.