Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,094 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I think the timing is very unfortunate. If Cheltenham was on last week, it wouldn't have been such an issue, next week and it would have been cancelled. It's a very different world today from last Friday.

Can't help thinking the brits are being very laissez-faire about the virus, though. Was on to a colleague in the UK yesterday and got no sense of urgency about Covid at all. 'Nah, mate, no cases here', he was amazed that we're all WFH and self-isolating as much as possible. Mind you, he could just be an eejit.

Is the rugby (WALES/Scotland) still on? Amazing if it is.

Its brexit mentality, let's not take any measures those EU people are putting into action because we are our own nation bullsh1t. They're setting themselves up for disaster.

Or, maybe they actually want this. Perhaps they want a "cull"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Count as high as you can go. Then try and beat that number.

Out loud - near your spouse/roomate/dog.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

I think the timing is very unfortunate. If Cheltenham was on last week, it wouldn't have been such an issue, next week and it would have been cancelled. It's a very different world today from last Friday.

Can't help thinking the brits are being very laissez-faire about the virus, though. Was on to a colleague in the UK yesterday and got no sense of urgency about Covid at all. 'Nah, mate, no cases here', he was amazed that we're all WFH and self-isolating as much as possible. Mind you, he could just be an eejit.

Is the rugby (WALES/Scotland) still on? Amazing if it is.

As things stand yes it is and in a full stadium in Cardiff as well.:( That will surely be called off as well though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Was chatting with my local pharmacist yesterday and she was telling me of one woman she knows that has a stockpile of surgical masks who told her she hasn't opened the boxes yet, but has them "just in case" for later. She also told me they got a consignment of masks on Tuesday IIRC that were gone within the day and yet not one person has walked into the pharmacy actually wearing one. That's just how dumb some mo'fos are.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Floppybits

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Football manager

Try and guide a non league side to the premier league ha

Or championship manager 01/02. You can lose days with that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,207 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Ficheall wrote: »
    And a thread from 2015 with people discussing their history of Covid-19
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057394059

Those fecking "I had it before it was a pandemic" hipsters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

dontpanic wrote: »
    This is the point - DEEP, DEEP down in IMMINENT life or death situations you are probably right.

Schools closed for a few weeks is not a life or death situation. Not even the virus itself is guaranteed death.

That's not me downplaying the virus. It's me saying that the intrinsic NEED to survive is being triggered at a very shallow level.

Edit: My main point that I'm trying to get across is that this behaviour is driven by greed, not survival.

From a few of the posts am wondering if anyone here has actually suffered a full on panic attack?

People are scared reading of the deaths. Read the main corona thread. Folk are terrified for their loved ones. and then suddenly are told of more rules. So they literally panic as in sheer terror not about food but about the situation in general.

Panic demands action.as the only way to deal with it

And as we read here there are many innocent reasons for the shopping yesterday and today.

We are in an unprecedentedly scary situation. Need to allow leeway - and to be ready to help old and sick folk to get supplies. As I am sure you strong young ones are doing and as is being done for me. This is all too serious to war on folk. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,080 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

id rather get the virus than wear a face mask.

does anyone on here even know anyone who has it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭OldRio

Just back from the shops. Nobody panic buying. Actually the town, Carrick on Shannon was quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,063 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

iamstop wrote: »
    Outbreak
    12 Monkeys

12 monkeys was on the other night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

biko wrote: »
    Ask your wife, there's a lot to fix around the house.

Rookie mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Graces7 wrote: »
    From a few of the posts am wondering if anyone here has actually suffered a full on panic attack?

People are scared reading of the deaths. Read the main corona thread. Folk are terrified for their loved ones. and then suddenly are told of more rules. So they literally panic as in sheer terror not about food but about the situation in general.

Panic demands action.as the only way to deal with it

And as we read here there are many innocent reasons for the shopping yesterday and today.

We are in an unprecedentedly scary situation. Need to allow leeway - and to be ready to help old and sick folk to get supplies. As I am sure you strong young ones are doing and as is being done for me. This is all too serious to war on folk. .

Honestly giving into panic right now is the worst thing we can do.

It will only makes things worse for others. What about parents of young kids who were working all day only to head down to the shops and milk and bread and other essentials needlessly all gone?

It's mental. Quite selfish in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Well it seems like the government are going to have to take more extreme measures to drum in the social distancing thing. Just drove past the local playground here and it was absolutely packed with children playing and parents standing around drinking coffee yapping. This is a pretty affluent area in Dublin also. These people are selfish self centred arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭irishgrover

pgj2015 wrote: »

yes, I personally know multiple people who have it and are in hospital. Thankfully mostly during well (they are all youngish and healthy).

With regards you personal preference for getting it, statistically speaking if you are young and healthy you should be ok. However if you do get in and you don't treat it seriously it's quite probable that you will give it to someone, who will give it to someone, who will die.. a parent, grandparent, someone who has cancer, someone with an existing condition, someone completely unknown to you...

So what the government is doing is it is trying to limit everything to protect us all, especially the vulnerable

Started watching Utopia again last night..

There's only like 13 episodes.. very relevant..

Exceptional tv..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Surprised nobody has suggested just keeping up with the main Covid thread in Current Affairs / IMHO. It's a full time activity all in itself!

It was taken for granted that you were contributing manically..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

_Brian wrote: »
    Just out of Aldi. I usually do weekly shop Thursday evening but it was a zoo so skipped it.

Busy but not manic at all.

Didn’t see one person panic buying. Small amount of loo roll on shelves but not loads.

Quite a few shelves still empty from yesterday’s rush and I heard staff saying that what is out is what the shop has, nothing in stores to go out.

No frozen veg or chips, not a sausage other than that vegan muck.

Plenty of meat, cheese, bread, alcohol, milk, butter, yougherts

No hand soap, hand steriliser, certain types of nappies, no eggs, no flour. No cat food
    Hmm that's a bit rich!...it wasn't Vegans that caused all this, it was the "muck" that meat eaters consume.

I think I will be happier eating the "Vegan muck" from now on, it's much safer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭no.8

pgj2015 wrote:

That's a very odd philosophy. Im sure you would wear one if you knew those walking around you had it. Its not only the risk of you getting it, it's the risk of you passing it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,741 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

No sport
    No gigs
    Pubs possibly closed next

https://youtu.be/e6dcQqbUuQ0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Wibbs wrote: »
    Was chatting with my local pharmacist yesterday and she was telling me of one woman she knows that has a stockpile of surgical masks who told her she hasn't opened the boxes yet, but has them "just in case" for later. She also told me they got a consignment of masks on Tuesday IIRC that were gone within the day and yet not one person has walked into the pharmacy actually wearing one. That's just how dumb some mo'fos are.
    Sounds like there's a market out there for surgical mask boxes .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭AulWan

Just back from Supervalu (Knocklyon). Definitely very busy, and shelves getting low on some things but they were restocking.

No problem with queues getting in or finding a parking space. Picked up my order but went in for a few more bits. There was loo roll available, but apparently ladies hygiene products are in demand, so stock up, ladies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,336 ✭✭✭✭branie2

REM - It's the End of the World as We Know It

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

That thread is a farce. I got roundly abused on it a couple of weeks ago and decided to walk away when i pleaded for more awareness and pro action against the virus.

Said people needed to prepare and educate themselves on what was happening in China, abused.

Said it was right to cancel the rugby, abused.

Said it was right to cancel flights from Italy, abused.

Said it was right to cancel Cheltenham, football, close the schools etc.., abused.

Good few really good posters got banned from it early doors for "creating panic" apparently. Funnily enough a renowned doctor from Denmark was on the radio yesterday saying the ridiculous push back against "panic" has caused more harm than good and lead people into a false sense of security.

Yeah but absolute sh itshow in there for a long while tbh. But sure we'll be grand, it's just a cold bro.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Can see a good album coming of all this.

Now That's What I Call a Pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Make a baby.
    2021 babies will be abundant.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Pubs possibly closed next

there would be rioting in the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Day Lewin wrote: »
    i confidently predict a baby boom in nine months time.

There will be many sets of twins called Corvo and Corona.

I will name my child ‘Cyrus the Virus’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Randle P. McMurphy

Feisar wrote: »
    Just on the general topic, do people not keep a decent stock of stuff at home regardless of the current scenario?

I like to buy extra non perishables when they are on special offer, so am well stocked anyway. I've been stocking up more than usual over recent weeks due to what's coming. I'm in the at risk group and most likely won't survive if i catch it. I am self isolated since last week and won't be going anywhere for the duration.

I didn't panic buy yesterday as I'm well prepared already. I can see why some people did panic though. A certain proportion of the till workers are bound to get infected and pass it on before they show any symptoms. I can understand people wanting to stock up so they don't have to go near a shop for a while. Especially now that parents will be dragging their carrier kids around shopping. Not to mention the young people with mild symptoms ambling in to buy their coffee and deli sandwiches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

I will name my child ‘Cyrus the Virus’.

Who becomes a pretty decent right back.