Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Covid stuff to Current Affairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Dogg Munde wrote: »
    He did, he said he had coronavirus

He said his mother had it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Yesterday when crossing the road I saw in the front passenger seat of a car a stack of white paper towels so high I could see them. It was just such an odd sight. I shan't forget it as long as I live.

This panic buying makes me despair of the IQ of the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

mfceiling wrote: »
    So the guy on Primetime there who is in isolation in Italy but says the shops are still trading and you can buy your groceries must be lying?

My brother in law lives in Rome and says there's still plenty of fresh fruit and veg etc in the shops and markets.

There will be food...we are a nation of food exporters. Small bit of perspective is needed.

I thought they were given allocated times to go to the shops, so while shops were open, there was a limit as to how many could shop at a time.

Could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Cheltenham is just a drink, drugs and gambling orgy.

I've never been interested in going but you've sold me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

He needs a good kick up the hole. Gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭taylor3

Jeff2 wrote: »
    Have people started filling their cars with fuel yet.?

Only a matter of time I'd say.

Did tonight. Needed petrol so just filled her up €70 worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Hope he spends the full 2 months in jail and gets rode sideways each and every single day.

And what would be your punishment for a person that steal a bike in daylight while Garda is watching and doing nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

stinger31 wrote: »
    I've already heard of people being burnt on money that was owed to them. My friend has a business that gets subcontracted a lot, he has a team of 6 lads that help him. He's already done the work but was told tonight he's not getting paid and tough sh1t.

This has all the hallmarks of the last recession i'm afraid. I can see massive lines down the dole office like the last time.

Last recession was just a recession, there was still money in circulation this one will see most pubs/restaurants , cloth shops , car dealerships just close up till this blows over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I wouldn't be using Italy as a way things should go.

Major flaw with that.

I don't think the Irish are understanding the concept of social distancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

i dont know what is worse the panic buying or the dry jokes about toilet paper i see floating around on whatsapp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Lundstram wrote: »
    Just because you've no interest in horse racing (like me) doesn't give you the right to critcise these people.

Criticise the respective governments for allowing it to go ahead.
    What business is it of yours what others do? Stay at home until it's all over if you're that concerned.
    Self isolate if you're so worried.
    Some people on this forum have a very unhealthy fixation on the Cheltenham festival.
    If you don’t like it, just don’t watch it. It’s that simple.
    Ah here, are ye even thinking about what you're writing at all?

People are objecting because they don't like horse racing and not because of the pandemic of a highly contagious virus for which there is no vaccination or drug, and which kills?

"What business is it of yours what others do?" when what others do is very very much our business in certain respects at the moment.

"Just self isolate" - yeah just quit work.

"If you don't like it, don't watch it" - wtf? What does that have to do with fears around the spread of COVID-19?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

I'm going out shortly to my local Aldi and setting a few cars on fire in the carpark, just to add to the general panic.

It closed 43 minutes before your post so the car park will be empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

GreeBo wrote: »
    It doesn't matter how full the shelves are next week if no one is leaving their houses due to high rates of infection such as we see in northern Italy at the moment.

It's a far better idea to be in crowded shops today with 50 odd cases compared to potentially thousands of cases in a week's time.
    That's good and well if people stayed at home next week, but the people who were in loading up their trolleys with weeks and weeks worth of shopping are the very ones that'll be off out next week wandering around the shops, "cause sur' what else are they supposed to do? Stay home all day??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Depeche Mode - Shake The Disease

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,944 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It won’t be serious until the lads get the digger out and bust open an Aldi or Lidl, it will be full scale Irish panic then.

Hope he spends the full 2 months in jail and gets rode sideways each and every single day.
    Das Reich wrote: »
    And what would be your punishment for a person that steal a bike in daylight while Garda is watching and doing nothing?

He'd have to strip and go for a swim in a lake but unknown to him, the lake is beside a camp of randy lumberjacks. And they know just how to party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

And for when we're all self-isolating...Nick Cave - Cabin Fever!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

So we know what the shops were like today, but what are the pubs like this evening?

The good bit about the snow and the hurricanes is that we could go to the pub and just wait it out. Now, we have to do the opposite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Corona - Rhythm of the Night

John Murphy - In the House, in a Heartbeat (28 Days Later)

The Prodigy - Voodoo People

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

It closed 43 minutes before your post so the car park will be empty.

No, there are still some people there trying to fit 12 bales of bog roll into the boot.

_Brian wrote: »
    It won’t be serious until the lads get the digger out and bust open an Aldi or Lidl, it will be full scale Irish panic then.

Defiantly going to be one broken into before the weekend is out.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Dies Irea : The days of wrath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,739 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

So we know what the shops were like today, but what are the pubs like this evening?

The good bit about the snow and the hurricanes is that we could go to the pub and just wait it out. Now, we have to do the opposite

Would be interested how Pubs pan out.

Can't see them staying open - as filthy places anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

https://worldcams.tv/ireland/dublin/temple-bar

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Kate Bush - Breathing (1980)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Incidentally this score is utterly brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,779 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I hate to be defending FF and FG,but there is freedom of movement laws in eu,which might make banning italians very difficult to do??

We've spent last 2 years argueing over brexit,on this very issue

That being said,i do think the EU should step.in and suspend free movements as much as is viable to do so

The EU need to act fast and amend laws to suit the health crisis that is engulfing the continent. Otherwise Ireland needs to act in defiance of the EU to hell with the consequences, to hell with pleasing the European Union..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

ecoli3136 wrote: »
    He'd have to strip and go for a swim in a lake but unknown to him, the lake is beside a camp of randy lumberjacks. And they know just how to party.

Where is this lake, just so we can avoid it?