Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackrock Boys engage in some of the greatest horseplay of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

dubrov wrote: »
    I think you're mixing up South Dublin and London accents

A lot of people in here seem very confused. A few teenagers engaging in a bit of roughhousing on holidays and some jealous people think it’s some sort of attack on the working classes. Boys will be boys, lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

A post that smacks of ignorance and bitterness, a broadside as dirty as the inner lining of your “ballon-seat” trousers, N.

The worst these boys are guilty of is being “reckless”, in that they are swimming while intoxicated.

I’m not sure if it’s that people on here have issues with the fact the guys are having a bit of, mostly, harmless “fun” or if it’s because they’re doing it in an athletic capacity. More jealousy perhaps?

I don’t know what bog hole you crawled out of, N, but I’d suggest you get yourself back down there lest you make yourself look like more of a fool.

Are you up in north county Dublin, yourself? Perhaps one of the spot that reeks of old vegetables, you know, where they grow the sprouts? Might disguise your own fetid “musk”.

You do get a lot of “begrudgery” coming down from there.

Shocked by the level of personal abuse in this post !

What is a ballon-seat trousers ?....I am not acquainted with that item of apparel....maybe it's a fashion item in your neck of the woods ??

I have no problem with goys having a bit of fun...but find the whole rugby head culture....people being "Legends" Dudes sitting around a pool in Asia roaring out "Rock Chants" seems very elitist to this poster ...as for goys jetting out to Japan for a bit of "Cornage" that is plain disrespectful.

Thats my point pilgrim .......which I am entitled to make and without the foul personal abuse you have seen fit to use.

M'Kay ?

In other words, he's never met a stereotype South Dubliner

Au Contraire mon ami....I have met far too much of them !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

A post that smacks of ignorance and bitterness, a broadside as dirty as the inner lining of your “ballon-seat” trousers, N.

The worst these boys are guilty of is being “reckless”, in that they are swimming while intoxicated.

I’m not sure if it’s that people on here have issues with the fact the guys are having a bit of, mostly, harmless “fun” or if it’s because they’re doing it in an athletic capacity. More jealousy perhaps?

I don’t know what bog hole you crawled out of, N, but I’d suggest you get yourself back down there lest you make yourself look like more of a fool.

Are you up in north county Dublin, yourself? Perhaps one of the spot that reeks of old vegetables, you know, where they grow the sprouts? Might disguise your own fetid “musk”.

They do literally get way with murder TBF.
    A seven-week trial did nothing to establish how Brian Murphy was killed in a savage and drunken attack, his father claimed today.

Denis Murphy, whose 18-year-old son was kicked and beaten to death outside a Dublin nightclub said the trial had left him with “more questions than answers” as he spoke for the first time about the devastating impact his son’s death has had on his family.
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/brian-murphys-family-brutalised-by-trial-137466.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

IAMAMORON wrote: »

Snobbery is an Irish thing.

No it is not.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭Motivator

PCeeeee wrote: »
    No it is not.

Snobbery isn’t, begrudgery is.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,576 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Didn’t three of them get convicted for it? One got most of the blame as the others, one in particular, “turned” on him. I believe he was from Monaghan or some other godawful place.

There was a fourth lad who got let go due to someone saying he was wearing a blue shirt when, in actual fact, it was grey.

Either way, there were a lot more than four of them involved. They were the ones who “got away” with it but that was due to cowardice on their part.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I’m guessing you ‘literally’ bleed blue and white and love to get a ‘Rock chant going.

The lads in that clip on Twitter probably weren’t even born when Brian Murphy was killed.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,369 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The accent is a bit painful but it's not a patch on PJ Gallaghers one, he's torture to listen to on the radio.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    No you are most definitely wrong. I actually quite like culchies, I have slowly come to accept them over time. It is not really a chip on the shoulder type of thing.

But McCreavy was overlooked with the decentralisation plan, very unfortunate for everyone really.

As I said culchies are fine, it is the climbing, settling ones that move up to the big smoke, they are the problem, they are the ones that phucked everything up.

It is all their fault in fairness, their school choices are elementary after that.

You really should not be giving RTE any credit for the accent, you're reaching too far there pal. Giving RTE credit for anything is not advised, they really don't deserve it.

As I said the accent was developed by ambitious young female culchie types, who wanted rich husbands.

It's 2019, there's about 200 different nationalities in this country and most of them in Dublin yet you're bladdering on about culchies like it's still 1985 when there was nobody else here.

The accent is a bit painful but it's not a patch on PJ Gallaghers one, he's torture to listen to on the radio.

I’m fairly certain most people from Dublin put on their accent, no matter what side of the socio-economic divide they’re on.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I’m fairly certain most people from Dublin put on their accent, no matter what side of the socio-economic divide they’re on.

Fairly certain ? Go to sleep Hogan....you are either certain or you are not...no such thing as "Fairly Certain"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Blackock boys certainly dont put it on. The natural, genuine Rock accent, is perfectly good, and is indeed very characteristic of that school, and does also convey an authority, distinction, education level, and leadership character, that defines them as men of the highest quality.
    Its when others ape it, and just dont manage it, that the poor and flawed effort, combined with them not being really that class of person in the first place, clearly comes off as fake or wannabe, and has the offputting effect that tends to be referred to and charicatured as a D4 accent. But very different to the pure or authentic Blackrock college accent.

Fairly certain ? Go to sleep Hogan....you are either certain or you are not...no such thing as "Fairly Certain"

“Fairly certain” is used all the time, what are you on about. I’m almost definitely sure you’re talking out of your hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

“Fairly certain” is used all the time, what are you on about. I’m almost definitely sure you’re talking out of your hole.

[Mod]

I'm 'Fairly Certain' there will be a mod action in the offing if you don't tone down the rhetoric & insults.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Change the accents in that video to that of lads from de flats or ballyer and you’d see those defending these clowns banging a very different drum.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Those posh schools and latent homosexuality eh?

Some amount of resentment and jealousy in this thread. It’s utterly pathetic.

I can tell you this, if any of you were face to face with the lads in that clip you’d be singing from a different “hymn sheet”. That’s for sure.

It’s all so easy to “have a go” when you’re poured into a chair, hiding behind a computer screen.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

What have these kids done?

If it was a bunch of kids from Kildare shouting about savage crack or kids from Dublin 1 shouting about a deadly buzz it would be completely innocent and fun and so is this!

“Savage cabbage” is another one they like to shout. Country people, I mean.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

It really wouldn’t

Blackock boys certainly dont put it on. The natural, genuine Rock accent, is perfectly good, and is indeed very characteristic of that school, and does also convey an authority, distinction, education level, and leadership character, that defines them as men of the highest quality.
    Its when others ape it, and just dont manage it, that the poor and flawed effort, combined with them not being really that class of person in the first place, clearly comes off as fake or wannabe, and has the offputting effect that tends to be referred to and charicatured as a D4 accent. But very different to the pure or authentic Blackrock college accent.

Going to a private school doesn't make them any better than peole who went to public schools.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,398 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

Going to a private school doesn't make them any better than peole who went to public schools.

The Rape of Lucretia

No one ever see the anagram of the op's name?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

M5Ye6Ut.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Anyone who ever went to the school remember the story about a Mr Baylor?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Omackeral wrote: »
    M5Ye6Ut.jpg

Had he ordered a bottle of stout, of the shelf of course. Maybe vintage would be warranted but a pint of draught, nah.

First they came for the socialists...

Imagine the “uproar” if he’d ordered a soft drink??

Or, indeed, if it ever happened (it never happened).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

For anyone who has never read them the Ross O Carroll Kelly books are something you should treat yourself to.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.