Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I was in Aldi, Dublin Road, Limerick. At the pasta section there was only the long stick spaghetti type.

Maybe Sunday night is not a good barometer to determine panic buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

The rest of the world is now at the stage China was at on the 29th January (7.7k cases). Could well double the cases or nearly triple by Friday.

So we could have 3 cases by then. Time to have a bit of perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

theballz wrote: »
    I am just back from Dublin airport, an incredible amount of flights arriving from Italy tonight. Much more than I would have ever realised

They needed to be banned. It’s ridiculous

Just from northern Italy? Or what would your solution have been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Phoebas wrote: »
    The two cases here are people from here who got arrived back from Italy.

If we closed off flights from Northern Italy, these people would still have come home - except that they would have a longer route home, possibly infecting more people on the way.
    My point is more so they should have been tested when coming back into the country.
    What about the hundreds of people on flights going from and to northern Italy? Just keep that up, look at the source of most breakouts in other European countries what could go wrong...
    Irish people still going back and forth not a bother...

YFlyer wrote: »
    I was in Aldi, Dublun Road, Limerick. At the pasta section there was only the long stick spaghetti type.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,949 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Honestly reading the last few pages of this current thread the government and HSE and department of education can’t win. Because if they were all forthcoming they’d be someone bitching and complaining about that approach as well. I wouldn’t be surprised if the anger over the lack of info officially released is due to fact that we Irish want to know everyone’s business but get thick when other people know ours.

Only problem I can see is there is still zero restriction or check on flights coming in from Northern Italy, it should be the first port of call for the government to keep its people safe and at minimum risk
    As I said let Irish citizens only frlyon from Italy and have them tested on arrival

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Michelinextra.

YFlyer wrote: »
    I was in Aldi, Dublin Road, Limerick. At the pasta section there was only the long stick spaghetti type.

Did they have much chocolate ice-cream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

So we could have 3 cases by then. Time to have a bit of perspective.

that is myopia not perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

Why would anyone be going on a flight to northern Italy ? And anyone coming home from northern italy are surely being screened some how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,385 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

drkpower wrote: »
    Just from northern Italy? Or what would your solution have been?
    Northern Italy would be a good start yup

I am due to fly to Verona in April, no sign of cancellations or the like. I am going to lose the cost of flights etc but others between then and now will be going back and forth, you can't see how risky that is of hundreds/thousands do same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

I wonder how many of the people calling for drastic action in relation to this virus, actually got the flu jab.

I'm not diminishing the seriousness it is obviously very worrying but amazing how people can neglect flu jabs. I hope this incident gives a better understanding of just how deadly all viral outbreaks can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

In fairness, the level of information coming from the HSE is abysmal, and leads to all kinds of speculation and worry and panic.

East of the country.... honestly the world and its mother knows the name of the school now, and did within ten seconds of the email landing in the parents' inbox via yes.. social media.

This kind of obfuscation probably suits the HSE as they do what is required, and know that SM will do the rest for them eg naming the place, but they are in the clear and haven't said anything much to identify anyone.

Every kid in that school will know who went to Italy on holidays with their family. TikTok.

Yes these two where Irish but you hardly think there the only people on the plane?

So planes loads of people still flying in from the breeding ground of the infection in Europe,

Ban flights from Northern Italy only returning flights for "Irish Citizens" if they want to come home the have to be tested on arrival and quartined its actually fairly simple.

What does testing on arrival mean?

What are you testing for?
    What do you do if the test is negative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

coastwatch wrote: »
    Not patient zero, but a "super spreader" because of the way the case was managed.
    A 38 year old Italian man, from the town Codogno, 60km from Milan

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-health-italy-paralysis-insight/as-coronavirus-slams-italy-paralysis-and-anxiety-spread-idUSKCN20M2WB

Interesting article. I hadn't known that Italy banned flights from to/from China as early as 31 January. At that stage they had two cases. They still had two cases up to 6 February, and three from there until 20 February, after which the cases sky rocketed.

Is this evidence that once the virus is in the country, travel restrictions are pointless?

that is myopia not perspective

People need to step away from the thread and take a deep breath of reality here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

Jesus Christ it has been said five or six times in this thread he was with his folks not on any school trip.

What happened attention spans?

Threads moving too fast. It's impossible for anyone to keep up. All important information is going to be mentioned numerous times every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The growth in Italian cases is extremely similar to Hubei.
    In Hubei cases went from a few dozen which stayed around that number for several days and then grew rapidly from 17th January for seven days to reach 1200 cases on the 24th of January. And then of course continued to grow even more quickly thereafter, increasing by several thousand daily from then on . That was whath happened despite massive containment efforts whcih of course are non-existent in Italy
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_the_2019%E2%80%9320_coronavirus_outbreak

Could be seeing extremely fast growth across continental Europe in the next few days, France Spain and Germany have also all already passed beyond the point at which growth massively accelerated expoenentially in Chinese cities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭leavingirl

joe40 wrote: »
    I wonder how many of the people calling for drastic action in relation to this virus, actually got the flu jab.

I'm not diminishing the seriousness it is obviously very worrying but amazing how people can neglect flu jabs. I hope this incident gives a better understanding of just how deadly all viral outbreaks can be.
    Lols

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,949 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

drkpower wrote: »
    What does testing on arrival mean?

What are you testing for?
    What do you do if the test is negative?

It means test them when departing
    Driving test
    Give them a free puppy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

Why would anyone be going on a flight to northern Italy ?

Becuase most people I know would drop a few grand on a holiday yet won't go 35 or 50 quid more for the travel insurance.

Then they have a 'shur i paid for it, may go now' attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

From Reddit

Very good paper. From it:

We also show that if these measures had been less restrictive on
    public movement, then a significant increase in the total size of the epidemic would have occurred. It is evident, that control of a COVID-19 epidemic is very dependent on an early implementation and a high level of restrictions on public functions.

And:

It is evident, that control of a COVID-19 epidemic is very dependent on
    identifying and isolating symptomatic unreported infectious cases.

So the government must act soon and hard. And no matches, St. Patrick's day parades etc. And rogue spreaders must be hunted down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Only problem I can see is there is still zero restriction or check on flights coming in from Northern Italy, it should be the first port of call for the government to keep its people safe and at minimum risk
    As I said let Irish citizens only frlyon from Italy and have them tested on arrival

Well I’d agree with that approach as clearly to everyone northern Italy is the jumping off point for the spread in Europe and South America(wasn’t it Brazil ?) and it shouldn’t be taken personally by the Italians but restrictions of some kind need to be put in place.

gmisk wrote: »
    Northern Italy would be a good start yup

I am due to fly to Verona in April, no sign of cancellations or the like. I am going to lose the cost of flights etc but others won't be, you can't see how risky that is of hundreds/thousands do decide to go and come back?
    Just northern Italy?
    So what do you think those Irish returnees would have done in response?

You have to tease through the implications if your suggested approach; if you want to be taken seriously (after all that’s what public health professionals need to do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭Gavlor

This thread is tinfoil hat comedy gold. The end of the word posse are in their element.

Years of stocking up on tins of beans and dog food is finally slightly less crazy than heretofore!!

The problem in this country is people are just nosy.
    The can't just take what they are told at face value, they have to know all the details.
    No-one can just believe that they will be contacted if they need to be, or that they will be told any details they need to be.
    It's always the same.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nailed the info there D and mentioned the most obvious if not so obvious for many aspect; the higher the filtration, the harder to breath. It could even be a basic "test" for efficacy. If you can breath normally with zero effort, like in the paper facemask, then it's not nearly so effective as more a confidence booster. If you've ever strapped on an NBC military grade actual gasmask, the difficulty in breathing is apparent from the get go.

And 48 hours ago I knew feck all about them! Turns out I had a FFP2 mask from some spraypainting last year, so took to learning some more about it to see if it was any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Ridiculous that flights are still coming in from Northern Italy. Italy is Wuhan 5-6 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Can someone explain schools' obsession with skiing trips? It's ridiculous. Bring them to see some historical sights. What's with all the skiing craic?

It's to teach them how bád aviation emissions are, a bit of Catholic Irish guilt for when they protest at all the bád adults stealing their future ón Planet Earth.....

It's s load of boll0x is what it is

Very good paper. From it:

We also show that if these measures had been less restrictive on
    public movement, then a significant increase in the total size of the epidemic would have occurred. It is evident, that control of a COVID-19 epidemic is very dependent on an early implementation and a high level of restrictions on public functions.

And:

It is evident, that control of a COVID-19 epidemic is very dependent on
    identifying and isolating symptomatic unreported infectious cases.

So the government must act soon and hard. And no matches, St. Patrick's day parades etc. And rogue spreaders must be hunted down.

Rogue would mean they are deliberately spreading the virus. Is that what you are insinuating?

Gavlor wrote: »
    This thread is tinfoil hat comedy gold. The end of the word posse are in their element.

Years of stocking up on tins of beans and dog food is finally slightly less crazy than heretofore!!

Normally you get a classic post once a week. This thread is churning them out every few minutes. Great craic.