Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part III - 9 cases across the Island - 503 errors abound!! *read OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Rob A. Bank

d51984 wrote: »
    School are been brilliant getting back to us straight away.

From The WHO China report

Data on individuals aged 18 years old and under suggest that there is a relatively low attack rate in this age group (2.4% of all reported cases)...

The Joint Mission learned that infected children have largely been identified through contact tracing in households of adults.

Of note, people interviewed by the Joint Mission Team could not recall episodes in which transmission occurred from a child to an adult.

This is good news for the families of isolated children.

https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/who-china-joint-mission-on-covid-19-final-report.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

What's the best food to be eating during this crisis?

spam, really popular in Hawaii and their website has loads of great recipes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,114 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

givyjoe wrote: »
    Not in Italy, South Korea or Iran.

Or anywhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

You know that if everyone got this the global death toll, judging from current mortality rates posted

This is based on obsevered rates which given many have cold like symptoms and because they don't immediately go into "I'm going to die mode" and go to A&E and get counted, these rates have been said to not be accurate reflection of cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Only China have tried hard and fast methods of control and are slowing it.

Everywhere else is rising so far, it has been "ah surelookit, be grand".
    https://www.newsnow.co.uk/h/Hot+Topics/Coronavirus+Outbreak?type=ln

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Boozybooze

https://www.contagionlive.com/news/covid19-sarscov2-and-pregnancy-does-the-past-predict-the-present

My pregnant friend is taking leave from school for two weeks. I think she's dead right.

Why now with only one confirmed case? She'd want to be waiting till it gets much worse.

GoneHome wrote: »
    Report on Journal.ie now of a second school in Dublin closing for 14 days

Try reading that again - seriously some people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,109 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

givyjoe wrote: »
    Not in Italy, South Korea or Iran.

There was a pretty disturbing thread on twitter in relation to Iran and governance in the country as a result of mishandling this whole thing. I'll see if I can dig it up.

Bambi wrote: »
    Apparently they sent him in even though he was starting to show symptoms

Absolute mongos if true.

Someone just made that up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

There are a lot of elderly people who live in Drumcondra do they not have a right to know?

I live is santry....Cycle by the school going to and from work.

My niece is in a local primary school.

My niece trains with Na Fianna on the school grounds . Her dad's a mentor. Only for the storm they'd be there on Saturday.

One of the girls I work with has a daughter in that school.

sh1T the brick time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Maybe tell them to start with Greece, a hoard of 30,000 (potentially 4.5m) are inbound from Turkey.

Nice job crowbarring your rascist/anti refugee agenda in to this thread. Your parents must be proud of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

PANDEMIC
    Get your PANDEMIC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,511 ✭✭✭harr

https://www.contagionlive.com/news/covid19-sarscov2-and-pregnancy-does-the-past-predict-the-present

My pregnant friend is taking leave from school for two weeks. I think she's dead right.
    But why two weeks this thing might be only getting started proper in two weeks time and could last months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,426 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

A secondary school I think you mean?
    The Journal is still showing one school to close.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭gabeeg

Elessar wrote: »
    Came here to post this. The doomsdayers need to be banned from this thread. Everybody needs to relax. Yes, take precautions especially if you have an underlying condition. But this isn't the end of the world like some here seem to think it will be.

There is even some evidence that the 2% rate is not accurate and this virus is not anymore dangerous than severe seasonal infuenza:

Still dangerous for certain areas of the population of course, but not world endingly fatal that some seem to think it is.

There's been literally zero people who've suggested it is.

You're having an argument with an internet persona you invented. What's that like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Secondary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Literally the exact same as what you could do with the flu. People weren't this scared with ebola ffs. Bit of cop on is needed.

There weren't over a thousand cases of ebola in Italy, and hundreds in Germany and France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭baldbear

adam88 wrote: »
    My neighbour went out and bought a brand new chest freezer and is currently on her way to aldi and lidl to full I up, you cant make this stuff up

You need to move quick and rob that freezer whilst they are in Aldi. The end is nigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,387 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Brains.
    Most people on here safe enough then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

d51984 wrote: »
    From School : Student was in Italy with family and not on a school trip. Student is a 3rd year pupil.

Bloody upper middle class and their foreign holyers ....what wrong with going to Skerries or Arckla.......if it all comes crashing down we know who to blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

A 2% fatality rate sounds pretty f**king high to me. Anyone saying “relax it’s only a 2% mortality rate” is gone too far down the opposite side of scaremongering and actually isn’t taking the situation as seriously as it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

KiKi III wrote: »
    A 2% fatality rate sounds pretty f**king high to me. Anyone saying “relax it’s only a 2% mortality rate” is gone too far down the opposite side of scaremongering and actually isn’t taking the situation as seriously as it should be.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

baldbear wrote: »
    You need to move quick and rob that freezer whilst they are in Aldi. The end is nigh.

Or hide in it and jack in the box when they get back scaring the sh1te out of the greedy guts.

*please ensure freezer is plugged out during jack in the box phase to avoid freezing/death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,441 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Imagine being a parent trapped in a house with a teenager (maybe several) for 2 straight weeks without a break.

I mean teen lads are bad enough, but ones who can't get an empty house for a few minutes to "relieve the urge"..... I mean just inject me with the virus now and be done with it......

Hyzepher wrote: »
    It is closing

Yeah the secondary school not a second school

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Elessar wrote: »
    Came here to post this. The doomsdayers need to be banned from this thread. Everybody needs to relax. Yes, take precautions especially if you have an underlying condition. But this isn't the end of the world like some here seem to think it will be.

There is even some evidence that the 2% rate is not accurate and this virus is not anymore dangerous than severe seasonal infuenza:

Still dangerous for certain areas of the population of course, but not world endingly fatal that some seem to think it is.

Have you seen the Italian figures for critical care and icu beds. The more people infected with mild cases mean there are more cases needing hospitalization. This puts massive pressure on hospitals, so you’re having a heart attack or in a car crash with no where to go. That is the major issue, the pressure as numbers rose hence the WHO say to slow spread to give them time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

There was a lad on Claire Byrne Show who came back from Korea or somewhere where his colleague had coronavirus and he asked the HSE to test him

They told him "you'll be grand"......

Absolute state of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Cupatae

VinLieger wrote: »
    One case that caught it in an area that has reported 1700 cases in 1 week, an area we have had people returning from for weeks. Ignoring the reality or facts wont make it go away

Neither will mindless panic or worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1000. This kinda thing really brings out the blithering idiocy in too damned many. It does show how close the modern civilised world is to crapping itself over little enough. Can you imagine if something like the Plague was on our shores?

For what exactly? In locked down Wuhan, a city of many millions nobody starved to death and the shops still had supplies. Do you really think people are going to run out here? Jesus Christ, there's preparation and there's atomic powered hysterical overreaction.

I do agree, but in London everywhere is out of hand gel, which is a basic enough way to try to stay safe without overreacting. My friend hasn't been able to get any at all because it's all sold out, so is planning to get several bottles, at least, if she finds a place selling it. If a huge capital city like London can be out of hand gel, it isn't that much of a stretch to think that in a true crisis (because currently in London there have barely been any cases at all), it could be out of milk, bread or other essentials. It would only take a small fraction of the population to start panic buying to clear all the shelves.

And this is how it starts. My friend didn't rush out and buy hand gel because she's laid back and wasn't too worried. Now she'd like to have some (because it's been advised by the NHS), she's likely to buy several bottles, because if she doesn't buy them, someone else will, and she doesn't know when it will be back in stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Mr.S wrote: »
    + add in the fact most students commute via bus with DCU students.

oh boy!

Never thought of that. DCU at the bottom of my road.

My local spar has DCU student accommodation above and beyond it.