Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronavirus Part II - Its arrived - We're Doomed!!! See OP for Mod warnings

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Why would they do that when there are no corona virus outbreaks here?

Italy had two cases about 72 hours ago, now it has the third most in the world. Things change very quickly with a highly infectious virus

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

No he didn’t. He mentioned the demographics. An Analyst would have recognised this.

you had another bad day honey?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,569 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

sdanseo wrote: »
    There is no doubt this is a pandemic of major concern, but just look at context.

So far, 100,000 cases (and we have many experts saying that's probably 10 times or more in reality). So say a million.
    2634 deaths which is probably a reasonably close to accurate number as they are much more likely to be accurately reported.

So far this year in two months, assuming average incidence each month:
    up to 150 million people have had the flu
    up to 415,000 have been hospitalised from the flu
    54,000 people have died from the flu.

The Chinese know all that about flu and yet they locked down an entire province of 11 million people because of coronavirus. They don't do that for flu. That's the real context.

When see the real figures of deaths in Wuhan from coronavirus AND all its secondary conditions, it'll be clear why China, Russia, Italy, Japan, the US etc are all acting as they are.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

Mic 1972 wrote: »

No. You are just pretending to be something you are not. Just pulling you up on it darling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

wakka12 wrote: »
    Italy had two cases about 72 hours ago, now it has the third most in the world. Things change very quickly with a highly infectious virus

It's only down to testing, they already had most of them cases. Just they know about them now.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

This is worth mentioning again, and not to be doomy, but there could be huge knock on effects on healthcare for everyone.

Why we need to "flatten the curve".

That's why we need to limit travel and daily activities, not to prevent the virus, but to ease the pressure points on the health system.

https://twitter.com/zeynep/status/1232352734990520331?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭macwal

*******DEPT OF HEALTH UPDATE********

We are all getting a packet of Wet Wipes

Simon-Harris-Wet-Wipes-Feb-2016-2.jpg

Prefer soap myself...

d7267755d77730082b7a60f87f4ad98b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 55,474 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mod: Cut this crap out, please.

sdanseo wrote: »
    There is no doubt this is a pandemic of major concern, but just look at context.

So far, 100,000 cases (and we have many experts saying that's probably 10 times or more in reality). So say a million.
    2634 deaths which is probably a reasonably close to accurate number as they are much more likely to be accurately reported.

So far this year in two months, assuming average incidence each month:
    up to 150 million people have had the flu
    up to 415,000 have been hospitalised from the flu
    54,000 people have died from the flu.

Its probably 2-3 times more infections than are being reported. The mortality rate on the boat is 0.5% where all infections are accurately reported, and internationally its 1.3%

No. You are just pretending to be something you are not. Just pulling you up on it darling.

can you stop bullying people around? everything was fine here today until you showed up
    How do we report troll in here?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

do you mean they were old and sick people so it's ok?

Its not even that. Say the virus takes hold in a country with modern medical superstructure. High risk people die yeah? But there is a phase chance point for what constitutes risk. Ive read many recovering need the use of ventilators. If enough people are getting sick the ventilators run out. Add to that the medical staff are reducing and becoming ill through attrition to the virus. What constituted high risk in the beginning can change rapidly is a medical system is overloaded.

These are questions that cant be fully answered. Its a novel virus and a novel situation for humans. Technology, rapid travel, new medicinal techniques. Too many factors really to know. The only guiding principal is pandemics occur. Every few hundred years. And can wipe out double digit percentages of global population when they do. Thats baseline probably isnt changing. Is this a big one? Fu*king hope not.

Algeria has announced it's first positive case
    https://twitter.com/ennaharonline/status/1232386293440688129

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Tomato1

Not a hope the HSE can handle this. We're already far beyond breaking point and our hospitals are overcrowded and run down.

We still haven't been issued with masks and are being told we can't source them.

The only thing we have received is an a4 sheet of paper on what to do if we encounter somebody we suspect may have the disease.

They haven't even told us where to bring these patients when it happens.
    There's maybe 15-20 beds in the country that could suitably handle this.

Most of us are laughing our arses off at how much of a joke the HSE are handling this when we see then news and hear the politicians talk shíte on TV and the radio.
    They're all lying through their teeth btw.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Mic get a grip, I never said that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭Duke of Url

can you stop bullying people around? everything was fine here today until you showed up
    How do we report troll in here?

There is a report button on my post. Use it.

He didn’t say what you posted and you know it.

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    Its not even that. Say the virus takes hold in a country with modern medical superstructure. High risk people die yeah? But there is a phase chance point for what constitutes risk. Ive read many recovering need the use of ventilators. If enough people are getting sick the ventilators run out. Add to that the medical staff are reducing and becoming ill through attrition to the virus. What constituted high risk in the beginning can change rapidly is a medical system is overloaded.

These are questions that cant be fully answered. Its a novel virus and a novel situation for humans. Technology, rapid travel, new medicinal techniques. Too many factors really to know. The only guiding principal is pandemics occur. Every few hundred years. And can wipe out double digit percentages of global population when they do. Thats baseline probably isnt changing. Is this a big one? Fu*king hope not.

In that regards I agree with you. The critical condition rate is very high and highly worrying when numbers start to pile up

• Registered Users Posts: 28,569 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Algeria aswell is that 6 countries today declaring their first cases?

Only a matter of time before we're next.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

CDC says it's time to start prepping in the US. They recommend calling your kids schools to ask about plans, and also talking to your work.
    This is happening.
    https://www.cnbc.com/2020/02/25/cdc-outlines-what-closing-schools-businesses-would-look-like-in-us-pandemic.html

Coronavirus live updates: CDC warns Americans to prepare for 'significant disruption'
    https://www.yahoo.com/gma/white-house-requesting-1-25b-part-2-5b-041225702--abc-news-topstories.html

• Registered Users Posts: 12,172 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »

These questions can be answered by looking at what the chinese did and are doing in wuhan. It's not pretty but it stopped the virus from taking over the whole country. It's still spreading in china but its slowing down each day.

The Italians seem to have done an ok job even if they were a bit slow out of blocks, we won't know for sure for another few days though. Id be surprised if we dont see one or two similar outbreaks elsewhere in europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Tomato1 wrote: »
    Not a hope the HSE can handle this. We're already far beyond breaking point and our hospitals are overcrowded and run down.

We still haven't been issued with masks and are being told we can't source them.

The only thing we have received is an a4 sheet of paper on what to do if we encounter somebody we suspect may have the disease.

They haven't even told us where to bring these patients when it happens.
    There's maybe 15-20 beds in the country that could suitably handle this.

Most of us are laughing our arses off at how much of a joke the HSE are handling this when we see then news and hear the politicians talk shíte on TV and the radio.
    They're all lying through their teeth btw.

There are reports that the HSE are refusing to test people because they actually have no test kits, 6 weeks after it became obvious they'd need some.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

Not seen anyone else mention that it's almost 100 years to the year since the Spanish Flu - some coincidence.

Hope in a week's time we have some kind of better news. To think this time last week things seemed to be slowing down.

Be specific, what am i pretending to be that I'm not exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Is there anything to be said for another mass?
    In light of the aul end times tribulation, rapture and what have ye...

fr336 wrote: »
    Not seen anyone else mention that it's almost 100 years to the year since the Spanish Flu - some coincidence.

Hope in a week's time we have some kind of better news. To think this time last week things seemed to be slowing down.

it was the calm before the storm apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

There is a report button on my post. Use it.

He didn’t say what you posted and you know it.

Ah lads will you both stop its ruining the thread discussions.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,919 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You’d be afraid to watch this unfolding, but afraid not to as well.

Let’s park the HSE for a minute and it’s capacity to deal with this, and focus on communication and containment. I’d say it’s here already, so good clear non hysterical information is needed right now.

The “ah we’ll be grand” attitude won’t help us much. Neither will panic.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    There are reports that the HSE are refusing to test people because they actually have no test kits, 6 weeks after it became obvious they'd need some.

I'm hearing lots of grumblings from staff that they'll just go sick if it arrives here.

Anywhere here's our guideline for it, which is pretty out of date at this stage.
    I suspect we'll get an updated version by the end of the week.

Note it says transport patient to nearest "receiving hospital". That more than likely means one of the Dublin hospitals.

imgur.com/fuImrjw.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

MadYaker wrote: »
    These questions can be answered by looking at what the chinese did and are doing in wuhan. It's not pretty but it stopped the virus from taking over the whole country. It's still spreading in china but its slowing down each day.

The Italians seem to have done an ok job even if they were a bit slow out of blocks, we won't know for sure for another few days though. Id be surprised if we dont see one or two similar outbreaks elsewhere in europe.

We dont actually know what the Chinese Communist Regime has actually done. Or if the numbers are accurate. You may trust a regime that's murdered tens of millions of its people. I will not.

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Ah lads will you both stop its ruining the thread discussions.

Totally agree mate, I reported him for bullying. Should have done it before

cant embedd but you get the idea