Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,961 ✭✭✭✭elperello

maccored wrote: »
    Going by the info he received, yes he did. How do you know he is incorrect?

I was out for a while.
    I see things have moved on since.
    He has apologised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,573 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

tobsey wrote: »
    What that poster didn’t post about Bertie Ahern, which I alluded to above, is the second google result when you search for “Bertie Ahern Paul Quinn”:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ahern-says-quinn-not-a-criminal-1.992814?mode=amp

Berries words are being twisted here and he correctly clarified them one month later in the Dail, it when under pressure of an election 13 years later.

The IMC are not standing for election and have nothing to gain in this.

As usual, when victims are used for political reasons the truth gets murkier and murkier.

Here is what the IMC had to say. As far as I know they haven't been asked to apologise nor have they retracted it.
    “We think that the attack on Paul Quinn was planned and carried out by local people and that it arose from
    local disputes,” the IMC said.
    “Whatever the immediate reason for the killing certain aspects of these disputes go back some time and were
    not unconnected with continuing illegal activity.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fmurder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

elperello wrote: »
    I was out for a while.
    I see things have moved on since.
    He has apologised.
    No choice really given what happened last night on TV. It was either that or it being the only news about SF till Saturday and the only question from the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,402 ✭✭✭emo72

People are being attracted to the idea of change but there is no point in changing to a party that haven’t a clue what they’d do if they got into power.

look i know SF are dodgy as ****. but its all we have left until a decent party comes along. thers no way you could vote for FF/FG/LAB/GREENS, they all had their time and led us to here. ****esville. i cant forgive leo for ****ing housing up. and as for "ive listened to the people and i understand now". why were you not listening before leo? youve been very aloof and dismissing. and now your listening? right now before an election? i dont believe you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭imfml

Does potential Taoiseach Mary Lou know what's going on in her party though. She is President of Sinn Fein and was caught out by basic questions about Northern Ireland, where they are in Government. I have considered a vote for SF but just finished watching the debate on player and based on what I saw, I'm don't think it would be sensible.

imfml wrote: »
    Does potential Taoiseach Mary Lou know what's going on in her party though. She is President of Sinn Fein and was caught out by basic questions about Northern Ireland, where they are in Government. I have considered a vote for SF but just finished watching the debate on player and based on what I saw, I'm don't think it would be sensible.

in fairness is she the leader down south only? is it michelle o neill up north? knowing all the facts and figures in one juridiction is enough i guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

maccored wrote: »
    and the SCC has what to do with a murder in the north? In fact what do SF have to do with that murder? I've been waiting all day on that answer

Well then why did a senior SF politican get involved making allegations against the victim and offering assurances that PIRA were not involved in the murder?
    Nobody cares. Its a 13 year old story brought up in order to sling mud at SF. An undesirable got mixed in with other undesirables and it led to an undesirable situation.

Also didnt the media at the time mention the victim was involved in criminality?

Funny how some murders matter to the shinners and some don't.
    At times like this one can actually see the point that unionists often make. :rolleyes:

Funny how you are also throwing mud at the victim trying to see if some of it sticks.
    I would have thought ML would have put the word out to desist.
    It's not. It's exactly politicians using victims, however willing, to score points in the run up to an election. Then Taoseacht Bertie Ahern said it was a criminal matter, not related to the IRA.
    I agree, if FF/FG were linked.
    SF are not a normal party. They didn't leave part of the country to suffer under British/Unionist rule. Neither side come out great in conflict. Or maybe the Troubles were no more than Haughey buying tailored shirts to some.

It is a bit fooking rich of shinners to complain about others using dead murder victims to further their own cause.

BTW bertie ahern later apologised for the implication that Quinn was a criminal.
    BTW he did it in 2007, not 2020.

And you can say that again, "SF are not a normal party".

Funny how only one party seems to want to remove a court designed to remove terrorists and those involved in terrorism.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭tobsey

The IMC are not standing for election and have nothing to gain in this.

As usual, when victims are used for political reasons the truth gets murkier and murkier.

Here is what the IMC had to say. As far as I know they haven't been asked to apologise nor have they retracted it.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fmurder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382

The IMC said it wasn’t the IRA at an organisational level, but that former members of the IRA were involved. Therefore the IRA and it’s members know what happened.

The IMC didn’t say Paul Quinn was involved in criminality. Connor Murphy did. The issue isn’t whether it was current or former members that committed the murder, it’s that a leading member of Sinn Fein said the man who had every major bone in his body broken by a gang was involved in criminal activity. Murphy said that as if to excuse his IRA friend’s actions because they were justified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

jmayo wrote: »
    Well then why did a senior SF politican get involved making allegations against the victim and offering assurances that PIRA were not involved in the murder?

At times like this one can actually see the point that unionists often make. :rolleyes:

Funny how you are also throwing mud at the victim trying to see if some of it sticks.
    I would have thought ML would have put the word out to desist.

It is a bit fooking rich of shinners to complain about others using dead murder victims to further their own cause.

BTW bertie ahern later apologised for the implication that Quinn was a criminal.
    BTW he did it in 2007, not 2020.

And you can say that again, "SF are not a normal party".

Funny how only one party seems to want to remove a court designed to remove terrorists and those involved in terrorism.

Gas alright. Re read my comment it answers what you just posted about. I'm losing interest lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

emo72 wrote: »
    in fairness is she the leader down south only? is it michelle o neill up north? knowing all the facts and figures in one juridiction is enough i guess.
    This must be the most halarious excuse so far. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I'm losing interest lads.

Good.

It'll be nice to get a break from your victim-blaming sh;te for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

SF are not a normal party.

That maybe the first independently verifiable statement that you have made on these boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Phoebas wrote: »

Sinn Féin.

The All Ireland party!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Sinn Féin.

The All Ireland party!!

Apparently not. Who knew, eg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,573 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The IMC said it wasn’t the IRA at an organisational level, but that former members of the IRA were involved. Therefore the IRA and it’s members know what happened.

The IMC didn’t say Paul Quinn was involved in criminality. Connor Murphy did. The issue isn’t whether it was current or former members that committed the murder, it’s that a leading member of Sinn Fein said the man who had every major bone in his body broken by a gang was involved in criminal activity. Murphy said that as if to excuse his IRA friend’s actions because they were justified.

I quoted and linked to what the IMC said. 'It was not unconnected to illegal activity'

Adams, Murphy etc all condemned the killing, immediately.

Phoebas wrote: »

ah g'wan outta dat. im no SF fanboy, but the outright hatchet job been done on them this week will win them more votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,402 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I am watching six one...they are seriously running down MLM....not biased at all!

I'm not very clued in on it but how often in say the last ten years has the special criminal court been used?
    Why should things get so bad as for us to have to use it anyway? isnt it better to prevent cancer rather than having to wait until it get to such a point that any victory is only a Pyrrhic one?

Prevention would be better than cure, by this I mean, tougher sentences on the criminals. None of this, " he stabbed a guy to death while out on bail or suspended sentence holding a jacket of 60+ priors.
    People don't give a **** about the SCC, banging that drum is a real old politicians act of desperation to be honest.
    I've no issue with attacking, poking holes all day in Sinn feinn policy, I'm ambivalent about them myself like most I feel but if she turned round in the morning and said Im happy with the SCC and I'll cut the ribbon on it myself sure leo would be sayinf she's a notorious homophobic cos she hates will and grace..I mean FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,775 ✭✭✭✭L1011

rusty cole wrote: »
    I'm not very clued in on it but how often in say the last ten years has the special criminal court been used?

Loads. We even needed to have a second entire stream of it from 2016-9 due to the case load.

Their opposition is because it was the only way to trial provos and more recently the "Good Republican" Murphy. Nothing else.

If they want to show clean hands from the old days, they need to stop that kind of crap. They also need to get beyond having the likes of Ellis, Anderson, Conor Murphy etc still as candidates/reps/front benchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

ah g'wan outta dat. im no SF fanboy, but the outright hatchet job been done on them this week will win them more votes.
    You are a SF fanboy grasping at straws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

SF is toast to many of my vintage. Those younger than me who would vote for them may not bother to get out of the scratcher to do so. Talk is cheap and activism is hip.

But that is not to say I don't admire SFs ability to attract younger voters. Those who don't care about what went on before won't care of course. Target Market...Grand.

It is still there to this day though that is the problem. Army Council probably runs the show. Well you just have to look at the response from MLMD to the issue of the Special Criminal Court and the Quinn issue. It is reprehensible IMV. She is a nodding donkey to the powers that be, but talks the talk quite well. Apart from last night. No way back from that.

We can deal with all the other issues from FFG legally. But unfortunately SF will ALWAYS have a whiff of cordite around them.

Good.

It'll be nice to get a break from your victim-blaming sh;te for a while.

Lie. Link to me victim blaming?

Edgware wrote: »
    You are a SF fanboy grasping at straws

im just an innocent wanderer that wandered into the wrong thread:D

but jaysis, i now know how the SF fanboys feel.

Gwan de shinnerbots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Zetor19

There is also the chance the rte bullying of sf backfires on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

[quote="jmayo;112455592"

.[/quote]

You are attributing apathy specificly to SF supporters ?

How many mothers have buried sons where there was little to no justice?
    How many times have we ‘bemoaned the courts and their soft sentencing
    Excuses of ‘drug problems but recovering’, ‘bad backgrounds’ , early release, 100+ previous convictions, out on bail
    It’s all bullish!t and everyone knows it won’t change.
    You would swear the government and the media are paragons for justice the way theyre talking
    They don’t give a sh!te for Paul Quinn’s mother, anymore than they care for any other average Joe who is a victim of crime, that they never comment on.
    If they did there’d be a push for proper sentencing in this country.
    It’s disengenous
    This obvious bullish!t is doing as much for SF as was done for Trump and Brexit.
    I’m not a SF/FG/FF etc supporter, just a realist.

im just an innocent wanderer that wandered into the wrong thread:D

but jaysis, i now know how the SF fanboys feel.

Gwan de shinnerbots!

Some of us just want rid of FF/FG :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Zetor19 wrote: »
    Mary Lou calmly dug a hole of her own making and jumped into it. New definition of bullying to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Zetor19 wrote: »

There’s no bullying going on - well apart from in SF there a few years back. If anyone suspects that our national broadcaster is being partisan then there’s a broadcasting commission you can complain to.

It’s complete nonsense of course. This is a topical issue and is getting the coverage across the media that it deserves. If that annoys SF then so be it.

Some of us just want rid of FF/FG :)
    that'd be me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Lie. Link to me victim blaming?

Eg, about an hour ago where you said Quinn wasn’t going to a study group when he went to meet his death at the hands of a bunch of psychopaths.

My word. Really.