Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Billcarson wrote: »
    Sf and their supporters are all barbarians I guess. Guess that makes me a barbarian too. Keep throwing your mud at sinn fein ,desperate times call for desperate measures. Go on sure milk it for all it's worth.

That doesn’t answer the question. SF’s minister of finance in the north now says that Quinn wasn’t involved in criminality. That’s the party line. So is he wrong?

Simple question I would have thought. Kind of a yes or no one tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

I addressed your comment and added my own. My correcting you was responding.

What that poster didn’t post about Bertie Ahern, which I alluded to above, is the second google result when you search for “Bertie Ahern Paul Quinn”:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ahern-says-quinn-not-a-criminal-1.992814?mode=amp

Berries words are being twisted here and he correctly clarified them one month later in the Dail, it when under pressure of an election 13 years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Its about time the media woke up and starting scrutinising these murderous psychopaths that are associated with SF.

Why did we need to wait until less than a week from polling day fro the tough questions to be asked and the SF political front to be nailed down on this?

What a fcuking dereliction of duty from the so called 5th Estate as these subversives stand poised to try and wrest control of out democratic institutions.

One hopes it's not too late.

Most of the swing to SF is from weak-minded fools, the on-going scandal may be enough to scare some of them back to their 'senses', such that they are.

Because much of it is old news and/or common knowledge.

The answer is in your question. Point scoring.

They're stood down, even signed a peace treaty thanks to Sinn Fein.

Comrade, these 'weak minded fools' are the electorate. The same people vote FF or FG from time to time. I don't think your tude is helping FF/FG.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭facehugger99

More of the hysterical scaremongering. Was there another poll somewhere?

Very good Francie.

On here 24/7 trying to bat away every anti-SF post.

I hope they're paying you well.

Floating voter my arse - showing yourself up big-time.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I think Breege Quinn would be better off asking Leo why he never tasked the Garda Commissioner to crack down on border smuggling gangs the way he did when Kevin Lunney got savagely beaten.

A week on from the Garda Commissioner getting involved there (and 8 years after a campaign of intimidation and violence, resulting in no arrests began!)...police were knocking on the door of a house in Manchester and it was all over.

If "the suspect" hasn't died then he'd have ended up in the SCC. The reason being that the level of intimidation and thuggery he demonstrated meant that the ordinary courts couldn't work.

But he was SF/IRA through and through and it's Sinn Fein who have being calling for the SCC to be abolished. This is the circle of concern and it's very recent and well after the troubles.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Just saw Mary Lou on T.V. Not so cocky now that she's been caught out. No smart arse one liners today

tobsey wrote: »
    What that poster didn’t post about Bertie Ahern, which I alluded to above, is the second google result when you search for “Bertie Ahern Paul Quinn”:

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ahern-says-quinn-not-a-criminal-1.992814?mode=amp

Berries words are being twisted here and he correctly clarified them one month later in the Dail, it when under pressure of an election 13 years later.

So he got the ML treatment but folded. The lad was hardly off to study group when he met with these criminals. Anyway it'll fall out of the news cycle and the minds of FF/FG after the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 67,496 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

If "the suspect" hasn't died then he'd have ended up in the SCC. The reason being that the level of intimidation and thuggery he demonstrated meant that the ordinary courts couldn't work.

But he was SF/IRA through and through and it's Sinn Fein who have being calling for the SCC to be abolished. This is the circle of concern and it's very recent and well after the troubles.

They didn't know he would die when they knocked on the door.

Action was taken...is the point. When it was politically expedient (public outcry...the 'public' FG/FF listen to, in Dub 4 etc, not the border communities) for them to do it.

They ignored it for 8 years, including attacks on Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

So he got the ML treatment but folded. The lad was hardly off to study group when he met with these criminals. Anyway it'll fall out of the news cycle and the minds of FF/FG after the weekend.

Jesus, Matt, show a bit of restraint. The young lad was beaten to death by at least 10 men in a shed with iron bars and clubs studded with nails. Horrific stuff. You just come across as nasty with posts like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Unbelievable.

Anyone catch that poll in Donegal? Was dealing with a customer when it was on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Billcarson

Its about time the media woke up and starting scrutinising these murderous psychopaths that are associated with SF.

Why did we need to wait until less than a week from polling day for the tough questions to be asked and the SF political front to be nailed down on this?

What a fcuking dereliction of duty from the so called 5th Estate as these subversives stand poised to try and wrest control of out democratic institutions.

One hopes it's not too late.

Most of the swing to SF is from weak-minded, gullible fools, the on-going scandal may be enough to scare some of them back to their 'senses', such that they are.

The only weak minded fools are fg/ ff filth like yourself. There is in many ways a civil war going on n this country. People like you that are happy enough to go along with the fg/ff merry go round. Others like me who want something different.. let the battle commence on Saturday.

The lad was hardly off to study group when he met with these criminals.

Jesus Christ.

Mask slips eh?

Suckit wrote: »
    It is painfully obvious.

I think some on the fence may be swayed and some younger voters may not have heard the details being printed today, but for anyone else that had planned on voting SF before last night, it shouldn't change a thing.
    They were well aware of SF links etc.
    They were and may be still planning on voting for SF for a change, shake up. Sick of the other two. I would hazard a guess that the majority of people planning on voting SF this weekend wouldn't normally be SF voters, it is FFFG that have driven them to this, so really they only have themselves to blame. I would also agree with you that what is written today and tomorrow probably won't change anything for a lot of them.
    It's pretty predictable what will happen if FF/FG get in again, there is 100 years of it to look back over in case anybody is unsure.

Sinn Féin’s core vote will still vote for them after last night. They accept their position on the SCC and know there are some skeletons in the closet over the troubles. I understand why their supporters accept these things as a fallout from the troubles even though I don’t agree with them

However most of Sinn Féin’s gains this election are from people looking for chance. ML lost loads of them last night but not because of her disastrous answers to the SCC and Paul Quinn questions but because she showed all her promises are impossible to deliver and she has no ability to plan for the future.

She said that demographics would take of themselves on the pensions issue, when ever piece of evidence in the world says otherwise.

She said they would build 100,000 social houses. When asked how they would do it when the construction sector was at capacity she said we have to aim big. So they’ve picked the largest number of houses to put in their manifesto with no plan on how to build them.

The same on the climate change questions. Their investment would be massive, with no details whatsoever.

She also spoke of increasing capacity in the health sector by providing more beds. But wants to have a marginal tax rate of 57% on the consultants and specialists needed to treat the patients.

People are being attracted to the idea of change but there is no point in changing to a party that haven’t a clue what they’d do if they got into power.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,331 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

They didn't know he would die when they knocked on the door.

Action was taken...is the point. When it was politically expedient (public outcry...the 'public' FG/FF listen to, in Dub 4 etc, not the border communities) for them to do it.

They ignored it for 8 years, including attacks on Gardai.

You missed my point about SF looking to abolish the SCC. Too many ties to people like him and the good republican, slab.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,604 ✭✭✭✭elperello

maccored wrote: »
    Going by the info he received, yes he did. How do you know he is incorrect?

I was out for a while.
    I see things have moved on since.
    He has apologised.

The IMC are not standing for election and have nothing to gain in this.

As usual, when victims are used for political reasons the truth gets murkier and murkier.

Here is what the IMC had to say. As far as I know they haven't been asked to apologise nor have they retracted it.
    “We think that the attack on Paul Quinn was planned and carried out by local people and that it arose from
    local disputes,” the IMC said.
    “Whatever the immediate reason for the killing certain aspects of these disputes go back some time and were
    not unconnected with continuing illegal activity.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fmurder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

elperello wrote: »
    I was out for a while.
    I see things have moved on since.
    He has apologised.
    No choice really given what happened last night on TV. It was either that or it being the only news about SF till Saturday and the only question from the media.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭emo72

People are being attracted to the idea of change but there is no point in changing to a party that haven’t a clue what they’d do if they got into power.

look i know SF are dodgy as ****. but its all we have left until a decent party comes along. thers no way you could vote for FF/FG/LAB/GREENS, they all had their time and led us to here. ****esville. i cant forgive leo for ****ing housing up. and as for "ive listened to the people and i understand now". why were you not listening before leo? youve been very aloof and dismissing. and now your listening? right now before an election? i dont believe you.

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭imfml

Does potential Taoiseach Mary Lou know what's going on in her party though. She is President of Sinn Fein and was caught out by basic questions about Northern Ireland, where they are in Government. I have considered a vote for SF but just finished watching the debate on player and based on what I saw, I'm don't think it would be sensible.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭emo72

imfml wrote: »
    Does potential Taoiseach Mary Lou know what's going on in her party though. She is President of Sinn Fein and was caught out by basic questions about Northern Ireland, where they are in Government. I have considered a vote for SF but just finished watching the debate on player and based on what I saw, I'm don't think it would be sensible.

in fairness is she the leader down south only? is it michelle o neill up north? knowing all the facts and figures in one juridiction is enough i guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

maccored wrote: »
    and the SCC has what to do with a murder in the north? In fact what do SF have to do with that murder? I've been waiting all day on that answer

Well then why did a senior SF politican get involved making allegations against the victim and offering assurances that PIRA were not involved in the murder?
    Nobody cares. Its a 13 year old story brought up in order to sling mud at SF. An undesirable got mixed in with other undesirables and it led to an undesirable situation.

Also didnt the media at the time mention the victim was involved in criminality?

Funny how some murders matter to the shinners and some don't.
    At times like this one can actually see the point that unionists often make. :rolleyes:

Funny how you are also throwing mud at the victim trying to see if some of it sticks.
    I would have thought ML would have put the word out to desist.
    It's not. It's exactly politicians using victims, however willing, to score points in the run up to an election. Then Taoseacht Bertie Ahern said it was a criminal matter, not related to the IRA.
    I agree, if FF/FG were linked.
    SF are not a normal party. They didn't leave part of the country to suffer under British/Unionist rule. Neither side come out great in conflict. Or maybe the Troubles were no more than Haughey buying tailored shirts to some.

It is a bit fooking rich of shinners to complain about others using dead murder victims to further their own cause.

BTW bertie ahern later apologised for the implication that Quinn was a criminal.
    BTW he did it in 2007, not 2020.

And you can say that again, "SF are not a normal party".

Funny how only one party seems to want to remove a court designed to remove terrorists and those involved in terrorism.

The IMC are not standing for election and have nothing to gain in this.

As usual, when victims are used for political reasons the truth gets murkier and murkier.

Here is what the IMC had to say. As far as I know they haven't been asked to apologise nor have they retracted it.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/murder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fmurder-of-quinn-not-linked-to-ira-leaders-1.919382

The IMC said it wasn’t the IRA at an organisational level, but that former members of the IRA were involved. Therefore the IRA and it’s members know what happened.

The IMC didn’t say Paul Quinn was involved in criminality. Connor Murphy did. The issue isn’t whether it was current or former members that committed the murder, it’s that a leading member of Sinn Fein said the man who had every major bone in his body broken by a gang was involved in criminal activity. Murphy said that as if to excuse his IRA friend’s actions because they were justified.

jmayo wrote: »
    Well then why did a senior SF politican get involved making allegations against the victim and offering assurances that PIRA were not involved in the murder?

Funny how some murders matter to the shinners and some don't.
    At times like this one can actually see the point that unionists often make. :rolleyes:

Funny how you are also throwing mud at the victim trying to see if some of it sticks.
    I would have thought ML would have put the word out to desist.

It is a bit fooking rich of shinners to complain about others using dead murder victims to further their own cause.

BTW bertie ahern later apologised for the implication that Quinn was a criminal.
    BTW he did it in 2007, not 2020.

And you can say that again, "SF are not a normal party".

Funny how only one party seems to want to remove a court designed to remove terrorists and those involved in terrorism.

Gas alright. Re read my comment it answers what you just posted about. I'm losing interest lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

emo72 wrote: »
    in fairness is she the leader down south only? is it michelle o neill up north? knowing all the facts and figures in one juridiction is enough i guess.
    This must be the most halarious excuse so far. :D

I'm losing interest lads.

Good.

It'll be nice to get a break from your victim-blaming sh;te for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,347 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

SF are not a normal party.

That maybe the first independently verifiable statement that you have made on these boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,281 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Phoebas wrote: »
    This must be the most halarious excuse so far. :D

Sinn Féin.

The All Ireland party!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Sinn Féin.

The All Ireland party!!

Apparently not. Who knew, eg?

The IMC said it wasn’t the IRA at an organisational level, but that former members of the IRA were involved. Therefore the IRA and it’s members know what happened.

The IMC didn’t say Paul Quinn was involved in criminality. Connor Murphy did. The issue isn’t whether it was current or former members that committed the murder, it’s that a leading member of Sinn Fein said the man who had every major bone in his body broken by a gang was involved in criminal activity. Murphy said that as if to excuse his IRA friend’s actions because they were justified.

I quoted and linked to what the IMC said. 'It was not unconnected to illegal activity'

Adams, Murphy etc all condemned the killing, immediately.