Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election and Government Formation Megathread (see post #1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

David Cullinane will top the poll I reckon here, a hard worker and a good reputation even among never sinn feiners by and large. If he was a member of FF or even independent he would absolutely hoover up the votes I'd bet.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,775 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No party will do any formal deal with SF with MLMD as leader. They will make the most nuts contortions to avoid having to even consider it.

If SF go in to a coalition deal it will likely be with Pearse as leader.
    Good loser wrote: »
    I expect there will be more than 1 GE in 2020.

Very. 1982 comes to mind.

I bought my gaff off an estate agent that was a TD that was elected from the early to the late 82 GE and never again as it happens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭wmahcm

As well as FF/FG/Labour/Greens etc., SF are also proven gangsters. The only saving grace is they might look after the ordinary working person a bit better than the other scum do.

Martin has such a silken tongue I can hear him now, twittering on about 'the national interest' and 'having sincerely considered' etc etc going into a deal with SF.

As much as I don't like either Party, a FF/SF coalition might be the best government on offer for the ordinary working person, and at least they might keep some sort of a check on one another. They are not currently the worst scumbags on offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    With both FF and FG committing not to enter coalition with SF the choice is between either FF or FG leading a government or SF.

That is the choice before the electorate. I would expect voters to drift towards FF in the last days of the campaign as this choice becomes clearer.

Also the motivation of voters seeking stability is greater than that of those who seek change.

SF are only running 42 candidates. Even if they all won a seat they would not have the numbers to lead a government.

I cannot see FF doing a deal with SF, but I could see from those figures a possible SF/FG government lead by FG.

There is history there with FG and the Democratic Left, and according to both Trevor Sargent and John Gormely of the Greens they were approached by Phil Hogan and Enda Kenny in 2007 to sound out SF on a possible coalition.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,666 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

charlie14 wrote: »

There is history there with FG and the Democratic Left, and according to both Trevor Sargent and John Gormely of the Greens they were approached by Phil Hogan and Enda Kenny in 2007 to sound out SF on a possible coalition.

True and Fine Gael's former Director of Organisation & Elections Frank Flannery suggested in 2009 that they should do business with Sinn Féin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

wmahcm wrote: »
    As much as I don't like either Party, a FF/SF coalition might be the best government on offer for the ordinary working person, and at least they might keep some sort of a check on one another. They are not currently the worst scumbags on offer.

Agreed on this. As a SF voter myself, this is the ultimate kick in the face of the anti-left media that have tried to sabotaged and humiliate Mary Lou and the party in general. By God this has really backfired on the mainstream media indeed.

On the SBP poll itself, really fascinating that despite the narrative of Leo performing better that Martin, in last Wednesday's damp squib, that was "The big debate" on VM, that this hasn't changed people's opinions on FG that much.

You mention the possibility of FF/SF coalition. Posters that think that FG/SF could happen, sorry its complete fantasy talk. It won't happen and never will.

With two weeks to go ahead on polling day, its very much all to play to for, with a second GE in 2020, the most likely option IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Banner2theend

Agreed on this. As a SF voter myself, this is the ultimate kick in the face of the anti-left media that have tried to sabotaged and humiliate Mary Lou and the party in general. By God this has really backfired on the mainstream media indeed.

On the SBP poll itself, really fascinating that despite the narrative of Leo performing better that Martin, in last Wednesday's damp squib, that was "The big debate" on VM, that this hasn't changed people's opinions on FG that much.

You mention the possibility of FF/SF coalition. Posters that think that FG/SF could happen, sorry its complete fantasy talk. It won't happen and never will.

With two weeks to go ahead on polling day, its very much all to play to for, with a second GE in 2020, the most likely option IMO.

Correction. SBP Poll was concluded on 22nd January, the day of MM v LV on VM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,623 ✭✭✭Augme

robman60 wrote: »
    Yeah I'm struggling to see why they're having such a surge. The leadership change appeared to be flatly rejected in the locals and Europeans and now they've come good for no apparent reason. Is it perhaps a reaction to the RIC fiasco?

A reason for this is they are seen as the only alternative option but that thing doesn't really come in to play at the local level. Also, the locals is such a free for all and one vote can actually make a difference.

That would almost be the situation for me anyway, I voted Soc Dems in the locals as I felt they had a chance however I wouldn't bother with them in the generals as their candidate has no chance so I will leave them out as top preference and would consider giving a vote to sinn feinn party (first time ever) but the candidate in my constituency is detestable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

charlie14 wrote: »
    SF are only running 42 candidates. Even if they all won a seat they would not have the numbers to lead a government.

I cannot see FF doing a deal with SF, but I could see from those figures a possible SF/FG government lead by FG.

All SF need to lead o government is enough TDs in the Dail to vote for or not vote against Mary Lou for a Taoiseach. FG are currently leading a government with less than 50. FF could conceivably have done a deal with SF and led a government with 44.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

Arghus wrote: »
    Not voting is doubly self defeating if you don't do it on account of being fed with the status quo of politics.

A proportion of the population not voting actually suits the traditionally powerful parties.

They know they'll never have to do anything to please you if they never have to worry about you voting.

Parties and candidates don't try to represent everybody, they care about representing the people who do or could vote for them.

This is the best argument to vote you will read here. No party will meet every single one of your needs, so vote for the one that comes closest. And saying 'they are all the same' is not true, we have never experienced anything other than a FF or FG led government so it would be now accurate to say FF and FG are the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

If you are happy with the current political representation and letting others choose it, then yes, no point in voting.

Don't vote, can't complain. You had the opportunity to have your say and didn't take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

Whelo79 wrote: »
    This is the best argument to vote you will read here. No party will meet every single one of your needs, so vote for the one that comes closest. And saying 'they are all the same' is not true, we have never experienced anything other than a FF or FG led government so it would be now accurate to say FF and FG are the same.

I would suggest that you’re incorrect in suggesting that any other party that leads the Government other than FF & FG would make a difference. Sure didn’t Syriza pretty much tow European/World protocols when they got into power.

Global forces / markets dictate what policies the Government can follow, no party will ever stray from that if they want to stay in power. I was hugely impressed by Eamonn Gilmore in opposition, less so when he got into power as the supporting party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

van_beano wrote: »
    I would suggest that you’re incorrect in suggesting that any other party that leads the Government other than FF & FG would make a difference.

That's not exactly what I said. I said we can't say they are all the same because we have never experienced another party leading government.
    van_beano wrote: »
    I was hugely impressed by Eamonn Gilmore in opposition, less so when he got into power as the supporting party.

Supporting party being the key words here to relate back to my original statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭timetogo1

I was thinking the same op. Then I remembered I have Gemma O'Doherty in my constituency.

So I'll be voting for anybody but her to make sure my vote is counted.

I'm sure most people have somebody that they really don't want to vote for. Well find candidates better than that and vote for the one or two least worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭van_beano

Whelo79 wrote: »
    That's not exactly what I said. I said we can't say they are all the same because we have never experienced another party leading government.

Without claiming to be a clairvoyant I would imagine that they are all the same due to external policies dictating how a country needs to be run.

Tbh I would love to see SF become the main party in Government just to put to bed the notion that different parties can make a difference. This notion only exists because of the freedom for any opposition party has to create this wonderful utopia if they were in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭peckerhead

To paraphrase John Stuart Mill, the only thing that is necessary for cúnts to stay in power is for enough eejits to decide that their vote will change nothing.

Use yours, or STFU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

I don’t see the point in voting if you don’t have a preference. In fact I would apply that to all voting, be it a general election, local or referendum.

I think there should be more effort required to register (so long as the effort doesn’t make it harder for certain groups of people) and it should need to be renewed periodically.

My logic is, democracy is great but can be a bit ridiculous sometimes with people voting cluelessly or passively. I believe the people that are most interested should have more sway in fighting it out.

Imo undecideds shouldn’t be controlling the direction a country goes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

They have a strong td and 2 strong cllrs.

Some people saying why dont they run a 2nd candidate?

The td wouldnt want that as he blocked anyone that threatened his position before.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

They won't want to give SF a sniff of power as it then legitimises the party in the eyes of the electorate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭jd1983

Augme wrote: »
    A reason for this is they are seen as the only alternative option but that thing doesn't really come in to play at the local level. Also, the locals is such a free for all and one vote can actually make a difference.

That would almost be the situation for me anyway, I voted Soc Dems in the locals as I felt they had a chance however I wouldn't bother with them in the generals as their candidate has no chance so I will leave them out as top preference and would consider giving a vote to sinn feinn party (first time ever) but the candidate in my constituency is detestable.

I'd still vote for soc dems if I was you. The great thing about the STV system, is that you can vote for unlikely candidates and your vote is not wasted as long as you use other preferences.

I'll be voting for a soc dems candidate myself even though he's very likely to be eliminated at the beginning. I'm not sure about my 2nd preference yet, it'll probably go to either the green or Sinn Fein candidate. It's important that soc dems get 2% of first preference votes in this election, otherwise they won't get government funding. So if you'd like to see soc dems grow, then it's worth voting for their no hoper candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭horsebox1977

wmahcm wrote: »
    As well as FF/FG/Labour/Greens etc., SF are also proven gangsters. The only saving grace is they might look after the ordinary working person a bit better than the other scum do.

There is sweeping generalizations and then there is this!

At the present moment - who in SF is a gangster and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

Possible two SF TDS from my constituency both capable politicians.
    I'm not sure about Sinn Fein in government but it is good to have them in the dail.

There is sweeping generalizations and then there is this!

At the present moment - who in SF is a gangster and why?

Well for one SF/IRA quite happily blew up women and kids out shopping, and still try to defend provo murderers and pedophiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

eviltwin wrote: »
    Very popular with the work shy members of our community, not so much with working people

Hate to see non-sensical generalisations like this. Sinn fein seem to be very popular among the woking class and I think they will do really well this time around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

meeeeh wrote: »
    They burst into flames the moment they cross the village border where I live.

I think one of them was brave enough to venture in during the first election campaign after the crash. I haven't seen them since. It's a FF area and I think even FG approach it with trepidation.

Carol Nolan got in the last election. She doesn't have a chance and neither does who ever is replacing her as candidate in the constituency. I don't think they ever bother with the posters.

You must obviously hail from some horrendously backward uncouth area of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I note that Arlene Foster is appearing on The Late Late this Friday. Sinn Fein people irate about it.

I would have thought this would do favours for Sinn Fein as she is so unpopular here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

McMurphy wrote: »
    Reada Cronin in my area, I know little to nothing about her, but highly doubt she'll get in.

It will be a tough battle for a four seat constituency , but I think it will be the following.

Catherine Murphy (probably top the poll) SD
    James Lawless(FF)
    Frank O'Rourke (FF)
    Bernard Durkin or Anthony Lawlor (FG)

Hard to believe FF still do so well after ruining the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,862 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I note that Arlene Foster is appearing on The Late Late this Friday. Sinn Fein people irate about it.

I would have thought this would do favours for Sinn Fein as she is so unpopular here.

What difference if she’s on it? SF talk about a “new ireland” but complain about a unionist politician going on a light entertainment programme in Dublin. Their United ireland dream is a long way off if that’s where they’re at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Hard to believe FF still do so well after ruining the country.

Not after the last nine years it isn't.