If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Minimum alcohol pricing is nigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

If the idiots concentrated on the infrastructure in the country. Theres holes in roads here that's yad lose a bus in and I'm living in a main city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,789 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

It's laughable how poor the pro-MUP arguments are.

Depressing though when you remember that every eejit in the Dail is in favour of this nonsense. They need a good kick up the hole.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Depressing though when you remember that every eejit in the Dail is in favour of this nonsense. They need a good kick up the hole.

Maybe they'll get a good kick up the hole in the election next year.

If anyone knocks on your door, make sure you ask about this nonsense.

What's more laughable is the way people are getting so up in arms about it, as if the price of off license booze is important in the grand scheme of things.

No one is taking away anyone right to go into a shop an a buy alcohol.
    No one's rights are being infringed here.

Personally I don't think MUP is s good idea, it poorly thought out, I think a flat excess tax would be better and a ban on advertising, especially in sport, is far more important.

As someone posted a few days ago, it's a hell of a lot cheaper than in 1994

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,150 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Maybe they'll get a good kick up the hole in the election next year.

If anyone knocks on your door, make sure you ask about this nonsense.

Well not really because everyone in the Dail was in favour of MUP. I haven't heard any budding TDs saying anything against the introduction of MUP.
    Given they're all the same useless c*nts and many people don't know who to vote for, saying you'll stand against MUP would be a surefire way to win some votes, a la Casey in the Prez race.

And we are also drinking less Father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,421 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

What's more laughable is the way people are getting so up in arms about it, as if the price of off license booze is important in the grand scheme of things.
    No one is taking away anyone right to go into a shop an a buy alcohol.
    No one's rights are being infringed here.
    Personally I don't think MUP is s good idea, it poorly thought out, I think a flat excess tax would be better and a ban on advertising, especially in sport, is far more important.

"No one's rights are being infringed here."

I wasn't aware that was a necessary reason to oppose new legislation, penalties, levies, duties or taxation.

Strange proposition you are making. I don't think you have thought through the implications of it.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Well not really because everyone in the Dail was in favour of MUP. I haven't heard any budding TDs saying anything against the introduction of MUP.
    Given they're all the same useless c*nts and many people don't know who to vote for, saying you'll stand against MUP would be a surefire way to win some votes, a la Casey in the Prez race.

I'm still going to give everyone a hard time. Maybe a couple will realise, that the feeling of the people is that we don't want it.

I actually already emailed all of my local TDs, including Richard Bruton, saying I'd never vote for them again over this and tell everyone I know not to. They all wrote back saying it was for health reasons that they supported it.

odyssey06 wrote: »
    "No one's rights are being infringed here."

I wasn't aware that was a necessary reason to oppose new legislation, penalties, levies, duties or taxation.

Strange proposition you are making. I don't think you have thought through the implications of it.

I've been following this thread for years.

Words like rights and prohibition have been used a fair bit on it.

Personally I think it has a lot to do with the age profile of the posters.

Im in my late 40s the price of off license booze is about as far away from the important thing in my life as possible.

If I was mid 20s my attitude may have been a little different.

People on here ranting and raving about MUP might look back on it in 20 years and wonder WTF.

I actually already emailed all of my local TDs, including Richard Bruton, saying I'd never vote for them again over this and tell everyone I know not to. They all wrote back saying it was for health reasons that they supported it.

No politician is going to come out and say they are for lower prices, move advertising, greater availability of alcohol.

I've been following this thread for years.

Words like rights and prohibition have been used a fair bit on it.

Personally I think it has a lot to do with the age profile of the posters.

Im in my late 40s the price of off license booze is about as far away from the important thing in my life as possible.

If I was mid 20s my attitude may have been a little different.

People on here ranting and raving about MUP might look back on it in 20 years and wonder WTF.

So basically you don't care that alcohol is going to get more expensive.

Correct

Correct

Good for you.

I however, do care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Good for you.

I however, do care.

There's a lot more important stuff in the world to worry about than the price of your slab of piss-larger.

Get some perspective.

There's a lot more important stuff in the world to worry about than the price of your slab of piss-larger.

Get some perspective.

Oh good, another sheep to make broad assumptions about my drinking habits.

We should be honoured that they took time out of their busy schedule to deign to correct us on such an unimportant matter. Probably such a busy individual concerned only with important things should be getting on with, I don't know, impeaching Trump (US senators only need apply) or negotiating the Brexit withdrawal bill (If you're an MP, TD, MEP etc)
    Don't forget to tug your forelocks next time you reply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

The only people this will effect are the miserable gits sitting at home on their own drinking cans of piss because its cheap.

My fear is they will start coming into pubs a bit and bringing down the standard.

easypazz wrote: »
    The only people this will effect are the miserable gits sitting at home on their own drinking cans of piss because its cheap.
    My fear is they will start coming into pubs a bit and bringing down the standard.

If the hoi polloi are drinking at home then they are much less likely to be drink driving, getting into fights on Nitelinks etc
    They can drink away to their heart's content until they drink themselves into an early grave thereby saving the government a bundle in pension payments and all the other handouts these scroungers expect from the gubberment.

It really is mystifying why the gubberment won't just let them alone with their crate of Dutch Gold. I'm sure the posh boys in the gubberment don't want to be rubbing shoulders with such plebs when they grace us with the presence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Standards be fierce high alright

samandlarry.jpg

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

This is such a waste of energy. Put more effort into the problems the country faces. Not this ****e.only proves one thing. They must think there doing s bang up job ruining the show wasting time on this which is the real sicken part.

Im a miserable old git sat at home now with a nice glass of whiskey. The price of which I expect to increase when this comes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Im a miserable old git sat at home now with a nice glass of whiskey. The price of which I expect to increase when this comes in.

Aye, i’ll be joining the miserable old git club meself later tonight with a few glasses of vino. The oled tv and the cat beside me, what more could you want ;-)

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Aye, i’ll be joining the miserable old git club meself later tonight with a few glasses of vino. The oled tv and the cat beside me, what more could you want ;-)

So thats three mogs between us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Distiller-Moonshine-Alcohol-Stainless-Thumper/dp/B00XFXN2EU/

Suckit wrote: »

Great! After aging it for 12 years it'll be ready to drink in 2032.

Edit: ive experience building stills. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I see Leo is in the papers contemplating advocating 24hr alcohol licenses for bars and clubs in the country, as he says our current licensing laws are 'archaic', and that he fears tourists find our entertainment scene disappointing as people are forced to home at 0230.

Now I have to say I actually agree with Leo, the licensing laws are a bit of a joke in the country, pubs should be allowed to remain open 24/7 if they choose to, especially in the bigger cities, not everyone works 9-5 after all, but apart from that, the universal closing times for all pubs and clubs means hordes of (drunk) people being ejected on to the streets at the same time. Recipe for disaster.

But are Leo and his chums now saying that this demon drink that is detrimental to our health, and hence why he's all for introducing minimum pricing on the offsale stuff (not the stuff sold on licensed premises though, (that seems to be fine apparently) is worth changing the laws so it can be sold 24/7 in a pub?

Are they not even bothering to dress it up the "minimum price for offsales to pander to the Vintners" anymore, are they just being blatant now or what's the story?

*Eyes up his slab of Christmas cans*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

McMurphy wrote: »
    I see Leo is in the papers contemplating advocating 24hr alcohol licenses for bars and clubs in the country, as he says our current licensing laws are 'archaic', and that he fears tourists find our entertainment scene disappointing as people are forced to home at 0230.

Now I have to say I actually agree with Leo, the licensing laws are a bit of a joke in the country, pubs should be allowed to remain open 24/7 if they choose to, especially in the bigger cities, not everyone works 9-5 after all, but apart from that, the universal closing times for all pubs and clubs means hordes of (drunk) people being ejected on to the streets at the same time. Recipe for disaster.

But are Leo and his chums now saying that this demon drink that is detrimental to our health, and hence why he's all for introducing minimum pricing on the offsale stuff (not the stuff sold on licensed premises though, (that seems to be fine apparently) is worth changing the laws so it can be sold 24/7 in a pub?

Are they not even bothering to dress it up the "minimum price for offsales to pander to the Vintners" anymore, are they just being blatant now or what's the story?

*Eyes up his slab of Christmas cans*

The article you are referring to is the following:

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/irelands-really-archaic-licencing-laws-need-to-change-so-bars-can-stay-open-all-night-taoiseach-38811564.html

I've always thought that pubs/nightclubs like the rest of businesses should not have to apply to the courts to stay open past the 12:30 blanket curfew or 11:30 Monday to Thursday. We should be pushing for a 24/7 industry across ALL lines of business especially, if Brexit poses any possible threat to our economy. The less government intervention the better.

Having said that, I do think quick wins could be implemented to address public order offences. For example, plain clothes guards could be deployed on public transport and other areas to catch/detain disorderly people on the sly.

Dare I say that we also need to clamp down on social justice causes where the majority are being punished for the shortcomings of the minority. Seriously, any time I see measures such as the minimum unit pricing, there is almost always a social justice message hidden in the finer details. An example of this is the article here where drinkers are referred to as vulnerable. This is another example of relinquishing personal responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

So we've gone from minimum unit pricing to discourage excessive consumption (cough cough) to being able to drink as long as we bloody well like as long as we're paying pub prices.

I hope that shower are obliterated in the next election.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Is Varadkar getting notions here when it comes to opening hours? He’s only the Taoiseach after all. Did he ask permission from the Most Reverend Diarmuid Martin? It is the Church who keeps us on the straight and narrow after all. Isn’t that where the whole thing came from in the first place?