Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trevor Deely case - new witness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 957 ✭✭✭80j2lc5y7u6qs9

I think you would be correct too. 20 years later and no new leads, maybe they should ? It’s not idol curiosity but to reach out to the public
    people playing detective is what it is. they always keep stuff back for a reason

Yes Criminal Gang.
    i meant what she was at was crime? you asked .

some involvement with drugs or prostitution maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

people playing detective is what it is. they always keep stuff back for a reason

Yep. In order to corroborate possible witness info.

i meant what she was at was crime? you asked .

some involvement with drugs or prostitution maybe

Yes. More than likely you would have to assume.

where did you read that you said garda sources

In the articles printed referring to AGS sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

name that keeps popping up related to the crime gang angle is AW

In the articles printed referring to AGS sources.
    i didn't see woman only sex not stated

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Alliance123

Give us more or dm it to me pls?

i didn't see woman only sex not stated

Thiis was an older article. Will try find it.

Second that.

pm please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Fascinated, dm me too please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

ye all taking the píss?! i thought that's common knowlege, i was sure i read that name in this thread when it started. or the last thread anyway. was it deleted? alan wilson, yer man who killed that romanian one. that's just the name i keep seeing popup around the internet lol. could be complete BS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭jay1988

Google Marioara Rostas, won't take long to put 2+2 together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

FWIW I'd have walked that route 2-3 times a month for a year while living on Haddington Road in 2017 and I was propositioned once on Wilton Terrace half way between where it meets Leeson and Baggot.

Said no but had a bit of a laugh with your one and she wasn't strung out or anything but rough head on her and fairly old to be on the game.

So they're still about but are certainly a rarity.

Weird that it was so rough years ago, very affluent area nowadays.

The whole area was. Leeson Street had a long term rep for it, Fitzwilliam Street and Square and of course the Canal. It was (and still is really) the office capital of Dublin with fewer residents, lots of hotels, just off main nightlife areas and plenty of alleys around.

I used to park on Fitzwilliam Street and lived around on Leeson Street until not too long ago. I saw a few alright over the years but not that many. Maybe there was more over by Wilton Terrace but I imagine it must have quietened down a lot with as you say veterans in the game still around and an ageing clientele. I also suspect that LinkedIn moving into the area and the new Wilton Park development will kill it off.

Older taxi drivers would be probably the best people to ask on how things have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

According to the aritcles from Garda sources they believe this was a chance run in / encounter. Not premeditated. They also say a woman is at the centre of the probe who is known to AGS and has links to a crime gang. What in earth could she have been doing in that part of dublin at that time of night.

Believe. They also said MIB was a key part of their investigation and that he should contact them. Could that be because his behaviour was dodgy as all fck.

He still hasn't been in contact, after all these years. Last person seen with a missing man. (going by UK analysts opinion of Milanos footage). Fence gawking at 3/4 am, only on the night of a possible crime of course. No trace since.

Maybe the woman in question is an associate of local criminals.
    I.e MIB.

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

Ah ok i see. Yes i get it and can see the connection from a little googling. Any know why TD withdrew money from an ATM at that hour of the morning??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,435 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Ohmeha wrote: »
    I really would have love to have seen the full normal speed CCTV footage from outside the BOI building, it always looks to me MIB is chatting on a mobile 10+ seconds before Trevor appears but then it took 10 seconds for Trevor to walk a very short distance (alcohol obviously may have explained that)

I trust Gardai have better info on all his disappearance than any of us but surely after 19 years every minor detail on his disappearance including full normal speed CCTV should be released by now

The normal speed point has been addressed throughout the thread in fairness.

CCTV VHS were typically recorded at 2X, 4X, etc to save on tape space.

This means less frames per second.

Surely, someone else can shed light on this? The footage isn't being "sped up" it's as the system recorded.it

noodler wrote: »
    The normal speed point has been addressed throughout the thread in fairness.

CCTV VHS were typically recorded at 2X, 4X, etc to save on tape space.

This means less frames per second.

Surely, someone else can shed light on this? The footage isn't being "sped up" it's as the system recorded.it
    i have it downloaded and it says 25fps* but the man still walks fast. TD is well staggering too i think .zig zag four steps

*means nothing i expext

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,435 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I worked in a well known video shop type place in the early 00s.

The CCTV tapes (like most tapes) were a max of 180 minutes. So the 8X setting was always on, hence playback always appears faster.

sugarman wrote: »
    He didn't, it was at Harcourt st when they were at Coppers at 6pm or there abouts. It was supposedly for a bottle of champagne.

So he didnt go to an ATM at all after bucks. Ok. Thought i read he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

eviltwin wrote: »
    I have. I work in a 24hr service, there are always people there. I've often gone in after a night out for a cuppa and some food.

I workedin a 24 hour Tesco,it wasnt unheard of for staff to go back.Buy food and talk to the staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭political analyst

No gangland criminal would have known who Trevor was. So why murder him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

No gangland criminal would have known who Trevor was. So why murder him?

Maybe he saw or knew something he shouldn't. The garda must have some lead to suspect it.
    People in organised crime gangs are one of the few that have the know how on how to make a body disappear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭political analyst

tuxy wrote: »
    Maybe he saw or knew something he shouldn't. The garda must have some lead to suspect it.
    People in organised crime gangs are one of the few that have the know how on how to make a body disappear.

If he had come across something wrong with a customer's account at work then he would have told colleagues or the authorities about it quickly and so his murder would not have prevented the truth of whatever he found from emerging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Alliance123

If he had come across something wrong with a customer's account at work then he would have told colleagues or the authorities about it quickly and so his murder would not have prevented the truth of whatever he found from emerging.

Him missing wont have anything to do with his job. If it did the case would be a lot easier to solve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭soiseztomabel

tuxy wrote: »

Chances are if he did come across something he shouldn’t he would’ve told his workmate when he popped back in to BOIAM.

If it was something from a sinister context I imagine it was just down to bad luck and nothing as exciting as people believe.