Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Has anyone ever used EasyRentCars for car rental? Need a car for a few weeks and these seem stupidly cheap (€36 for a focus for a week). I'm very wary, so just checking if anyone has any personal experience with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Harcrid wrote: »
    Has anyone ever used EasyRentCars for car rental? Need a car for a few weeks and these seem stupidly cheap (€36 for a focus for a week). I'm very wary, so just checking if anyone has any personal experience with them
    20% "bad" reviews on Trustpilot and a lot of dodgy 5 star ratings with people with only 1 review.

https://ie.trustpilot.com/review/easyrentcars.com?languages=en&stars=1

Avoid IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

kiddums wrote: »
    I've finally ended up owning a bmw.

I got an e39 520. Only had it a few hours but loving the comfort already.

Now to learn all the quirks and what all the buttons do. ��

Best of luck with it, the straight six is a fantastic little engine, so smooth and refined, and very reliable, too. E39s are lovely cars anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭kiddums

ELM327 wrote: »
    If that's the 2.2 6 cylinder in m sport spec you've got a lovely machine there.

2.2 CE SE, M Sport pack on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Harcrid wrote: »

Worked with a guy once who rented from this crowd

Bald front tyres and no tax on the car, went back to them and they gave him another car and it wasn't much better

Was a focus or Mondeo if I remember correctly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Thanks lads. Further research has thrown up the same from other people so i'll give them a miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Am I correct in thinking that the budget didn’t change the vrt bands at all or change any grants or rules for electric and hybrid cars?
    Basically just added another tax based on NOx emissions to existing vrt for new cars and same for imports?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

carsfan2 wrote: »
    Am I correct in thinking that the budget didn’t change the vrt bands at all or change any grants or rules for electric and hybrid cars?
    Basically just added another tax based on NOx emissions to existing vrt for new cars and same for imports?

1% isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭carsfan2

I think that 1% surcharge is replaced by the NOx charge. I can’t see any mention anywhere of the new vrt bands that were mooted to take account of wltp changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭hooch-85

Completecar.ie did a good summary on it, it looks to be pre euro 6 cars will be hit quite heavily with the nox tax

https://www.completecar.ie/car-news/article/9521/New-NOx-tax-designed-to-curb-imports

Also read a piece the other day on autocar where some of the current 2019 models emit less than 10mg of nox so they are improving all the time. I don't think diesel will be killed off just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Imports are fooked! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭keano25

Basically were now, unless your fairly well off priced out of buying the better spec UK import..

Folks, the car just went in for it's NCT. It's a 2007 Mondeo, 1.8 Petrol. I was fairly confident i'd be looking at front brake pads and the handbrake needing tightened.

Unfortunately, although the brake pads are fine, the car is in a heap it'd seem, with rust issues and emissions problems. Wondering if anyone here can tell me how bad it may be? I was in two minds of keeping the car or moving on to a different one.

I've attached the NCT fail sheet so if anyone can understand the emissions report you can feel free to look, but they said there was excessive smoke so they didnt to the emissions test properly (which completely threw me off, as I've put about 50k on the clock and never noticed excessive smoke from the car). Also apparently there's some rust on the rear door sills and rear brake lines. And my front balljoint covers are cracked.

I'd budgeted about €500 for the car to go through the NCT. Am I better off just letting it go and moving on? It's actually driving fine, and hasn't given any actual real-life issues, so i was kinda keen to keep it on the road for another year but I don't want to go down a rabbit hole of sending it into the NCT every fortnight with a different effort made to fix the emissions each time :o

These are the fail sheets:

Page 1
    https://i.postimg.cc/nZBs8w4q/nct01.jpg

Page 2
    https://i.postimg.cc/gmpxGqsQ/nct02.jpg

Cheers.

*wanders off to Donedeal...*

Does it use oil? Those mondeo petrol aren't the most trouble-free of powerplants.
    Sounds fooked to me, beyond economical repair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Folks, the car just went in for it's NCT. It's a 2007 Mondeo, 1.8 Petrol. I was fairly confident i'd be looking at front brake pads and the handbrake needing tightened.

Unfortunately, although the brake pads are fine, the car is in a heap it'd seem, with rust issues and emissions problems. Wondering if anyone here can tell me how bad it may be? I was in two minds of keeping the car or moving on to a different one.

I've attached the NCT fail sheet so if anyone can understand the emissions report you can feel free to look, but they said there was excessive smoke so they didnt to the emissions test properly (which completely threw me off, as I've put about 50k on the clock and never noticed excessive smoke from the car). Also apparently there's some rust on the rear door sills and rear brake lines. And my front balljoint covers are cracked.

I'd budgeted about €500 for the car to go through the NCT. Am I better off just letting it go and moving on? It's actually driving fine, and hasn't given any actual real-life issues, so i was kinda keen to keep it on the road for another year but I don't want to go down a rabbit hole of sending it into the NCT every fortnight with a different effort made to fix the emissions each time :o

Page 1

Page 2

Cheers.

Rinse and repeat.....

Get rid, as soon as a bangeromics car starts costing it's no longer bangeromics....

You were attached before and look what that cost....

Get something with NCT and drive on.

You are doing big mileage so if it were an easy fix such as the car was only doing short runs the norm would be drive the guts put of it but that's terrible with your driving....

Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Page 1

Page 2

Cheers.

No amount of diptane will fix that .....

Get rid and get something else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Have you being monitoring the oil level lately ? While the rings are known for given trouble the PCV also causes oil burning as well.

Either way it's not worth getting fixed. If you want trouble free motoring KKV you should look at the 1.8 Civic.

Howdy do folks.

Yeah, it'd use a bit of oil alright, but I'd do fairly hefty mileage on it so I just expect that to be the norm. I've €8k sitting in the bank at the moment with no real purpose but I don't know what to do with it, car-wise.

I suppose I can flog the Mondeo with the fail sheet to someone not doing the mileage I do. The car is still very solid and feels good-as-new inside so it's a bit annoying.

If I could get it through for €500 i'd do it. I only paid about that when I bought it (November last year) so it owes me nothing, but I like it as a car, and it's not in great shape aesthetically (which is ironically a bonus as I don't feel guilty dragging it down overgrown boreens and scratching/rubbing it etc) so the thoughts of having to change is pretty annoying.

Does it make any difference that, before the NCT, the car was sitting up for an hour or so, and then only got about 10 mins of driving (heavy on the accellerator to try warm it up a bit)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Does it make any difference that, before the NCT, the car was sitting up for an hour or so, and then only got about 10 mins of driving (heavy on the accellerator to try warm it up a bit)?

Not really tbh. Just buy a cheap car with long NCT that you don't care about driving down overgrown lanes etc..

Emissions is hard to get right. It could be something simple like bad lambda sensor or another sensor like MAF but to figure out which is causing it is hard. You could find it straight away or you could keep buying new sensors trying to get it right and in the end it was a loss plus unless the mechanic had a emissions tester on him he will not know if it fixed the problem.

As said just buy another cheap car you do not care about and drive it the ground also nobody would buy that car off you also best scrape it.

............ as I've put about 50k on the clock.......................
    Howdy do folks.

Yeah, it'd use a bit of oil alright, but I'd do fairly hefty mileage on it so I just expect that to be the norm.....................
    If I could get it through for €500 i'd do it. I only paid about that when I bought it (November last year) so it owes me nothing................

Take a step back.

You bought a car for €500, that's what it was worth with some NCT on it (guts of a year presumably).
    It uses oil & it's rusty, you've put 50k kms / 30 k miles on it in almost a year.

It's worth fook all, and it's w@nked, it's not worth putting any money into.
    It's effectively scrap.

Ideally, buy another thing that's cheap, sound and has plenty test. Hopefully throw 50k kms on that too without putting much money into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Dropped the car into the mechanic to check the NCT fail sheet, rear brake imbalance and pedal is a bit spongey.
    Bit of air in the lines, last owner had a caliper replaced and obviously didn't bleed it properly, grand.
    Pedal is still a bit spongey, he went rooting and looks like the brake master cylinder or servo is leaking a small bit.
    Now I have to try source one as Mazda want near 500 quid just for the brake master cylinder.

Cars can be a pain in the hoop sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,182 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

KKV:
    Plenty of similar yokes with tax and tesht in the bangernomics thread. Time to move on, she's served you well

Yeah it looks like it's time to say goodnight to the Mondeo. Pity all the same as it's still a great car to drive. No real issues with it, other than the ones raised by the NCT. in day to day life it's still a grand yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Yeah it looks like it's time to say goodnight to the Mondeo. Pity all the same as it's still a great car to drive. No real issues with it, other than the ones raised by the NCT. in day to day life it's still a grand yoke.

Would you consider buying a Toyota or a Honda as they are normally easy to maintain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Anyone think €8k is good for landing a 2009 e90 330d Auto Msport inc vrt but not including flights, boat and potential inspection ?

There's also a pre LCi 08 325d msport there that I could probably have for a little then €7500 but it's up on AutoTrader a good while. Dunno what to make of cars that are advertised for a long time.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Would you consider buying a Toyota or a Honda as they are normally easy to maintain.

Depends what approach I take. For example, a friend of mine has a Captur, which I've been in and out of a few times and I really like it. Could pick up a 2015-2017 with approx 50k km for about €10k I'd say.

The 1.5 diesel is supposed to be fairly reliable and economic.

It'd be a car I'd take care of and become a bit of a hobby (detailing, etc).

Or I could go the opposite direction altogether and spend less than a grand and try get something that will hopefully last a year and replace it again then. Wouldn't care less if i scratched, scuffed or scraped it, but would also have the minor annoyance of having a car I don't actually like that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,031 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Or I could go the opposite direction altogether and spend less than a grand and try get something that will hopefully last a year and replace it again then. Wouldn't care less if i scratched, scuffed or scraped it, but would also have the minor annoyance of having a car I don't actually like that much.
    Don't buy a car you don't like then. Simples.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,427 ✭✭✭Dartz

Failed the NCT.

Succesfully hid the rust. Succesfully filled one of the brake lines where it'd worn a bit through with rubber cement. They didn't notice the broken exhaust hangers or the rear light that comes on and off randomly.

Failed on some cracks in a tyre valve, the timber decking and sheeting I'd left in the boot to protect the carpet from leaking oils, and on a Mankan Mankanshoko fob I'd left on the mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

If you like the Mondeo that much could you not just buy another similar one with lower miles and a years test ideally less rust and start over. I haven’t looked but I can’t imagine old model Mondeos are that much in demand should be easy to pick up another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Dartz wrote: »
    Failed on some cracks in a tyre valve, the timber decking and sheeting I'd left in the boot to protect the carpet from leaking oils, and on a Mankan Mankanshoko fob I'd left on the mirror.

How can you fail on something you had in the boot?

Like what does fail sheet say remove items from boot?