Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai giving out personal info?

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Op, how come you never answered my question about how the business got your car reg with CCTV?

Did you park on their premises?

It would have been yes. The business has a car park beside the road. The business itself was closed as I say, so the car park was empty (and not gated or anything).

So I was obviously in clear view of the cctv, so much so that they got my reg. But again: I wasn't hiding. You can't fly a drone secretly. They're big noisy hints wih flashy lights. So I would have stood out like a sore thumb anyway, even if I was trying to be discreet.

I rang the chap back. His story is now that his friend (or sister, can't recall which) lives across from the business. Seen the drone flying around and made him check the cctv.

She (not him) then got my reg plate from the cctv. Went home and returned to him with my phone number.

And be rang me.

Which all sounds nonsense to me. So I am gonna look into the data protection route. But I'm unsure what the best possible outcome is from that?

(As an aside, I googled my reg plate, searched Facebook etc. And I don't come up on any search results, nor does my business, my surname, etc.).

• Registered Users Posts: 33,938 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

you at least know someone will be held accountable for it.

As if...

Life ain't always empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭ElectronVolt

All they had was the car reg number.

Well, if you're confident that it came from the Gardai, you could follow it up through GSOC. As was said further up the thread, their computer systems log who accessed what and there'd have been no reason for searches on your plate.

The Department of Transport has access to registration details, which can be accessed for things like car makers contacting people for urgent safety recalls and I assume for things like road tolling and so on.

It's not just the Gardai who have access to that info. I'm not 100% sure what access insurance companies have, but I would assume they've some. GDPR has tightened up on a lot of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,607 ✭✭✭Feisar

It would have been yes. The business has a car park beside the road. The business itself was closed as I say, so the car park was empty (and not gated or anything).

So I was obviously in clear view of the cctv, so much so that they got my reg. But again: I wasn't hiding. You can't fly a drone secretly. They're big noisy hints wih flashy lights. So I would have stood out like a sore thumb anyway, even if I was trying to be discreet.

I rang the chap back. His story is now that his friend (or sister, can't recall which) lives across from the business. Seen the drone flying around and made him check the cctv.

She (not him) then got my reg plate from the cctv. Went home and returned to him with my phone number.

And be rang me.

Which all sounds nonsense to me. So I am gonna look into the data protection route. But I'm unsure what the best possible outcome is from that?

(As an aside, I googled my reg plate, searched Facebook etc. And I don't come up on any search results, nor does my business, my surname, etc.).

OP, a low profile is always best, leave no trace etc. You shouldn't have been on location with identifying markers, in this case your reg. Take it as a cheap lesson and move on.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Feisar wrote: »
    OP, a low profile is always best, leave no trace etc. You shouldn't have been on location with identifying markers, in this case your reg. Take it as a cheap lesson and move on.

No! He’s legally allowed spy on people. Anyone spying on him is “wrong” and needs to be punished. They cheated.

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 13,013 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Yea, I think ring him back, tell him you are very concerned about a breach of data protection and GDPR.
    Remind him how seriously the Data Protection Commissioner takes such breaches.
    Tell him he has to give you his sister or friend's number immediately for you to speak to so you can ascertain how the breach happened.
    Tell him you have a letter typed up to the Commissioner and you will be putting him personally as the culprit on it if he doesn't give up his friend's name.

To thine own self be true

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

And be rang me.

OP i'd let it go. If he is prepared to give you a bell over flying a drone then if you compound it by getting GSOC :rolleyes: and the DPC involved it might be more than a phone call you get next.

Sure everyone is either a gangster or in the RA these days

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Send in an FOI to his company and demand under GDPR he discloses all information he has on you.

Ireland's a small place though. It's relatively hard to be anonymous anywhere.

I had an incident myself where I was talking to a guy on the street in a major city and some guy I vaguely know on my facebook messaged me out of the blue saying "I saw you in deep conversation with some guy..."

A nation of curtain twitchers!

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Dammer

And be rang me.

That sounds like nonsense alright.

Did you say to him that you will be raising this with the Data Protection commission?

These are the possible outcomes

It is the person who supplied your name and phone number who is real trouble in this situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Anyway I got a phone call today off someone who wanted to know what I was taking photos of near his business. Which is grand in itself.

I'd hang up without speaking, but that is just me.

Was the drone over public or private property ... ?
    Big difference between overflying someone's home / business at close proximity and just taking photography in the street / a genuine public space.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

And be rang me.

Is the car park owned by the business?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

what a load of horse ****, OP said he gets cops often called on him, no marks on car to what business he operates, so dodgy ****er flying his drone in what seems residential area hell knows at what hours and now is annoyed because someone managed to pull details on him.

People like this should be bashed in the head with their GDPR issues, seriously seeing some **** who thinks he can go about his business yet seems dodgy as fck, gonna complain to GDPR, get a fcking life.since this stupid law came into place seems many are on high horse yet same ejits are all over social media and other crap, but oh no someone got my email or phone number how is this allowed :cool:

stupidity and entitlements run high in this country, every fcker wants to make some claim or compo issue out of thin air.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

scamalert wrote: »
    what a load of horse ****, OP said he gets cops often called on him, no marks on car to what business he operates, so dodgy ****er flying his drone in what seems residential area hell knows at what hours and now is annoyed because someone managed to pull details on him.

People like this should be bashed in the head with their GDPR issues, seriously seeing some **** who thinks he can go about his business yet seems dodgy as fck, gonna complain to GDPR, get a fcking life.since this stupid law came into place seems many are on high horse yet same ejits are all over social media and other crap, but oh no someone got my email or phone number how is this allowed :cool:

Is that you Mr business owner?

scamalert wrote: »
    stupidity and entitlements run high in this country, every fcker wants to make some claim or compo issue out of thin air.

The fcker here is the guy who thinks they can question/intimidate/threaten someone else because they’ve gained personal information with no more than a reg number and some shtbag to pull a record for them.

Fairly likely the caller is a dodgy operator under surveillance to locate machinery/assets or deal with some insurance or financing issue.

Fock him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

JayZeus wrote: »
    The fcker here is the guy who thinks they can question/intimidate/threaten someone else because they’ve gained personal information with no more than a reg number and some shtbag to pull a record for them.

Where has he intimidated or threatened the OP, OP said he was fairly pleasant

That's a massive reach haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Gardai won't have your mobile phone number. How would they have it sure? They'd have to get it through sone other organisation.

I think it's likely that he knows someone working either in the motor tax, DVLS, or NCT, or the company that runs the eToll/eFlow service and he got on to them to do him a favour.
    They would have your contact details at their fingertips.

Fair enough, you could go making data requests and all that but to what end? Do you want compensation over this? If not then what do you want?

you are only wasting your own and everyone else's time.

Are you really gonna follow up with all those organisations, and probably others that I cannot think of, and make multiple data access requests?
    Also, not all organisation's systems might record that a certain user looked at a certain file say a certain time.

Anyway, even if a request does show that someone accessed your details everyone will just deny everything down to the ground.
    The person who accessed the file will say they accessed it by mistake or a search typo. They will deny knowing the guy who rang you and the guy will deny knowing that employee.
    Look at the end of the day, everybody will know what happened, and sure lookit, we all do and get favours from time to time . but it's all so low level and casual there's no proof of anything. It's not like the organisation had done crazy corporate policy to dish out details to random enquirers.

And let's say you find the person who accessed the number? What do you want to happen? Do you want them sacked? Do you want the guy who rang your fined? Do you want bring the organisation who had the data prosecuted, solicitors, barristers, a day in court over it and a big juicy haul of compensation?

You're on a wild goose chase here my friend. There are more important things in life than cold callers.

There's also the likelihood that he simply just knows someone who knows you and they have him your number.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

OP would you consider yourself to have an eventful life, that you get to worry about these things?

The less exciting sequel to nightcrawler

• Registered Users Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

When a guard does an off the record enquiry, they get their mate to do it, so it doesnt show up later.
    How does the garda's mate explain it then - it's still a garda needing to explain why they accessed the same information.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

How does the garda's mate explain it then - it's still a garda needing to explain why they accessed the same information.

If they are half as inventive as our OP they should have no problem convoluting some sort of a story.

I am out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

gwalk wrote: »

There is an implicit, intended or not intimidation there.

They explain it the same way as the fella in eFlow or DVLS.

" Oh I don't remember accessing that one. Sure I access hundreds of records every week. Occasionally I might make a typo in a search and the wrong one would come up. I don't recall whether that happened with this one"

"And no, I don't know Mr Cold Caller. Never heard of him at all"

Do you think a public servant is going to be sacked grin their job for something that cannot be proven assist them?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,421 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Gardai won't have your mobile phone number. How would they have it sure? They'd have to get it through sone other organisation.
    A while ago I drove off from a petrol station without paying due to a mistake by the cashier (card transaction didn't go through but she thought it had, and didn't discover it until I'd driven off). About an hour later I got a call on my mobile from the local Garda station, so they must have a way of linking car registration numbers to mobile numbers somehow, don't ask me how.

So what you're saying is people asking you questions intimidates you?

The gardai might get it through the DVLS or somewhere like that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

So what you're saying is people asking you questions intimidates you?

:rolleyes: don't act thick

People pulling up your details from their buddies is the problen

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

If someone is using a friend to get info to contact you I'd be very concerned. If he had a problem with you he should of went to the guards and they could of contacted you. I'd be filing a complaint to the guy who rang you. It shouldn't be that easy to get your contact info and he could even have your address. Feck that. I'd be contacting a solicitor.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,496 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

For what purpose would he intimidate anyone?

I think lads are losing the run of themselves.