Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭gaffer91

salmocab wrote: »
    Splitting Dublin would destroy the inter county game as then it’s no longer inter county. Dubs would then be the only ones not able to represent their county. Are we only talking football or do people envisage all games at all levels? Two county boards or four. Can anyone imagine how much money it would cost to set up more county boards especially ones with nowhere to play.
    Regardless of all the discussion however it won’t be happening as the Dublin county board would never agree to it even in the unlikely event it made it to Congress. This is all just wishful thinking on some people’s part.

Not splitting Dublin will destroy the inter-county game as they will dominate endlessly given the unfair advantages they enjoy.

Dubs would be able to represent the Dublin subdivisions- it will allow more people from County Dublin to play at a higher standard and challenge for Sam Maguire.

I think you're exaggerating the costs to be perfectly honest- the clubs already exist, they would just fall under different banners for inter-county games. Anyway, the GAA can always rustle up millions for Dublin so don't worry.

I agree it would probably have to be done over the heads of a kicking and screaming Dublin county board but ultimately it would be for the good of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Tobecontinu

gaffer91 wrote: »
    Sadly all very true my friend. Plus the millions they get from their sponsors.

What? How can that be justified? What a farce. That sullies the 5 in a row for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,685 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Not splitting Dublin will split the inter-county game as they will dominate endlessly given the unfair advantages they enjoy.

Dubs would be able to represent the Dublin subdivisions- it will allow more people from County Dublin to play at a higher standard and challenge for Sam Maguire.

I think you're exaggerating the costs to be perfectly honest- the clubs already exist, they would just fall under different banners for inter-county games. Anyway, the GAA can always rustle up millions for Dublin so don't worry.

I agree it would probably have to be done over the heads of a kicking and screaming Dublin county board but ultimately it would be for the good of the game.

It would mean nobody gets to play for Dublin which means ultimately taking away what people strive for.
    Not sure what you think you agree with in the last paragraph but I was saying why it won’t happen not how it will happen.

It would mean nobody gets to play for Dublin which means ultimately taking away what people strive for.

They could play for the Dublin subdivisions, whatever they may be. They would still be challenging for the All Ireland title so there would be plenty to strive for. It would also give more people from Dublin a chance of this, as Colm O'Rourke previously pointed out.
    Not sure what you think you agree with in the last paragraph but I was saying why it won’t happen not how it will happen.

I'm saying I agree Dublin County Board would probably object to a split. This opposition could be overcome though, for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

How many of the Mayo lads have sponsored cars and meals provides for them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

I’d like to welcome our new poster��. You will have some great support. I think it brings the cabal up to 9 now.

They could play for the Dublin subdivisions, whatever they may be. They would still be challenging for the All Ireland title so there would be plenty to strive for. It would also give more people from Dublin a chance to this, as Colm O'Rourke previously pointed out.

I'm saying I agree Dublin County Board would probably object to a split. This opposition could be overcome though, for sure.

The county board would not probably object to the split they would definitely not agree to it. It won’t be happening, despite what Colm O Rourke claims to be a good thing for Dublin it’s not it means nobody gets to play for Dublin not more people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,060 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sadly all very true my friend. Plus the millions they get from their sponsors.

Yep it is true and it is sickening

Needs to be sorted ASAP otherwise the game as we know it is gone. It’s on its last legs as it is.

As I have said on this thread before decent genuine Dublin gaels want action on this.

They have said to me personally they are embarrassed/almost embarrassed at the state of affairs.

Even “the great Jim Gavin” has admitted in private to his peers that Dublin have absurd advantages but I’m told it took some doing to get him to acknowledge it. I don’t want to go over old history but read my older posts if you are interested.

The 2 main advantages are

Financial doping to crazy extent
    Inherent huge population advantages

The good news is

Positive Change is possible
    Positive change can happen when there is a determined will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

If there is to be change it will have to come from within the organisation through the GAA membership taking motions from club to county and eventually congress. As has been stated the GAA is far more than IC. Hopefully non members with agendas will be pushed to one side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

What? How can that be justified? What a farce. That sullies the 5 in a row for sure.

Only in the minds of the bitters dotted around the country.

jay1988 wrote: »
    Only in the minds of the bitters dotted around the country.

But how can anyone celebrate winning something unfairly? There can't be any glory in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Only the likes of you thinks that Dublin winning it will be unfair.

No one cares what you think.

Negativity based on prejudice is a barren seed.

Find something positive in your life and stop resenting others for being successful. It is not good for you,

Bonniedog wrote: »

Find something positive in your life and stop resenting others for being successful. It is not good for you,

What do you mean? It's not what I think that's important, did you see the tweet? This is unfair, there's no way around it.

https://twitter.com/SeanMcGoldrick1/status/959548617701969922?s=20

Good discussion on news talk now on the huge huge huge advantages Dublin have in terms of money

ArielAtom wrote: »
    If there is to be change it will have to come from within the organisation through the GAA membership taking motions from club to county and eventually congress. As has been stated the GAA is far more than IC. Hopefully non members with agendas will be pushed to one side.

As a member with many contacts around the country not just Leinster I would approve your comments up to a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

If, for whatever reason, you criticize anyone who is successful, you're a begrudger. The classic way to shut down a debate in Ireland.

ArielAtom wrote: »
    As has been stated the GAA is far more than IC.

Thank god this is true because if the Dublin problem is allowed to continue unchecked there won't be an inter-county game before long.

Everyone outside of Dublin who is interested in Gaelic Football thinks it is unfair. And they are correct in this because the victories come from unfair advantages not available to other counties.

It's not prejudiced to believe that Dublin are unfairly advantaged. There's no resentment of success as long as it comes fairly (e.g Kilkenny).

Bit harsh Bonnie dog

Respectfully would ask u to rein it in a bit

I am merely quoting from textbook psychology.

Look on it as a Thought for the Day sort of vibe.

It is directed at no particular person living or dead ;)

I am merely quoting from textbook psychology.

Look on it as a Thought for the Day sort of vibe.

It is directed at no particular person living or dead ;)

Fair enough buddy ...

I'm not your buddy.

Hopefully now If they do the 5 in a row it will focus minds for the upcoming congress.

The absolute madness of the last decade + will be there for all to see.

I’d nearly prefer that to Kerry beating them and Dublin arguing that the financial doping has to continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

But how can anyone celebrate winning something unfairly? There can't be any glory in that?

There is, loads of it actually, hopefully some more this weekend.

Its been an absolute pleasure to watch this team over the last few years, they're an amazing team full of top quality players and a top top manager, nothing anyone says can take away from the achievements of this team, its nothing but bitter jealousy from supporters of teams that werent good enough to match up.

"Out of Ireland we have come,
    Great hatred, little room."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

jay1988 wrote: »
    There is, loads of it actually, hopefully some more this weekend.

Its been an absolute pleasure to watch this team over the last few years, they're an amazing team full of top quality players and a top top manager, nothing anyone says can take away from the achievements of this team, its nothing but bitter jealousy from supporters of teams that werent good enough to match up.

The match ups off the pitch are having an unfair bearing on the game.

1.4M population
    €17M in funding from GAA over last 10-15 years
    €10M from AIG over 10 years

If you can’t accept that the above have had an effect on the recent success of Dublin,, you’re every bit as bad as the “bedgrudgers” who don’t recognize this Dublin team of players as being a fantastic group of talented players.

This is meant to be an Intercounty championship.

How can other counties compete with this blue juggernaut going forward?

The population and funding of a province vs small fish.

I genuinely believe if we had a 5 team competition of Dublin, rest of Leinster, Ulster, Connacht and Munster, Dublin would win every year.

Something has to be done

If it takes Dublin winning 10 in a row before GAA HQ split Dublin in 4, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

I’d say the majority of posters on this thread will be depressed AF come Sunday evening/Monday morning

The match ups off the pitch are having an unfair bearing on the game.

1.4M population
    €17M in funding from GAA over last 10-15 years
    €10M from AIG over 10 years

If you can’t accept that the above have had an effect on the recent success of Dublin,, you’re every bit as bad as the “bedgrudgers” who don’t recognize this Dublin team of players as being a fantastic group of talented players.

How can other counties compete with this blue juggernaut going forward?

The population and funding of a province vs small fish.

I genuinely believe if we had a 5 team competition of Dublin, rest of Leinster, Ulster, Connacht and Munster, Dublin would win every year.

Something has to be done

If it takes Dublin winning 10 in a row before GAA HQ split Dublin in 4, so be it.

That's powerful stuff. Did you come with all yourself?

If you don't get a Pulziter Prize there is truly no justice, but the Pulziter is financially doped and one of the judge's grannies was from Cabra.

Will no-one shout stop. for jaysus sake/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

That's powerful stuff. Did you come with all yourself?

If you don't get a Pulziter Prize there is truly no justice, but the Pulziter is financially doped and one of the judge's grannies was from Cabra.

Will no-one shout stop. for jaysus sake/

Take off the blue colored glasses, good lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

Something has to be done

Contradiction? It's either an intercounty championship or it's not. If Dublin is ever split I would never attend another game again and I'm a season ticket holder.

I don't know if it has been suggested on the thread as I have not read it, if others really want to split Dublin and change the county boundary, why don't the other counties lead by example and change their boundary first. Perhaps merging Meath and Kildare or Mayo and Galway as one entity to take on Dublin. I always suggest this to begrudgers in work and they change the subject.

Contradiction? It's either an intercounty championship or it's not. If Dublin is ever split I would never attend another game again and I'm a season ticket holder.

I don't know if it has been suggested on the thread as I have not read it, if others really want to split Dublin and change the county boundary, why don't the other counties lead by example and change their boundary first. Perhaps merging Meath and Kildare or Mayo and Galway as one entity to take on Dublin. I always suggest this to begrudgers in work and they change the subject.

To be fair it has been talked about here. Talk of splitting or amalgamation is the end of inter county. If two counties decided to merge I’d have no real issue with it but any forcing would be too far. Ultimately though I doubt too many players would be too keen to put the ridiculous amount of time and effort that they currently do into playing for a bit of their county or for their county and another county together. Fans are very unlikely to have much interest either.