Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the pub during the day - magical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

As the bus glides into town, the phone beeps with the alert of your buddy in the first pub. Closely followed by a picture of postcard perfect pint settling on the wooden bar.

If you're going drinking with the type of person who shares photos of their pints on social media then you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

This is it wrote: »
    The Monday Club. Many a day spent in the local on a Monday after working the weekend.

Alas, the Monday club is a very rare thing for me due to work commitments.

Thirsty Thursday today though.

#alliterationstation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

Just opened the eyes after a long night shift. Schedule as follows:

S,S & C - complete by 3.50
    Fry - complete by 4.30
    In the local for 4.45
    There’ll be a few around rubbing the wounds the York race meeting has inflicted.
    Tales of missed L15s and forecasts sending dreams down the toilet, along with multiple cold ones until late.
    Cracking way to spend Thursday late afternoon....

And off tomorrow ta’boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Nothing beats day pints. Now that I have a wife and kids I rarely get at it.

I remember going hard at it when I lived in Auss. The weekend would start after work on a friday and finish around 4AM. Crash in the gaff and myself and the mate would get up on sat morning around 11. Go out for the breakfast and then onto the pub. Lash the beer out of until god knows. We'd get up on Sunday and normally do something similar until about 5PM. Then try get ready for Monday. Had to eventually nip it for obvious reasons!

Also before then I lived in UK would do something similar. I worked in a quite regional dvd/music store. I was only 22/23 and was good friends with the manager (who was about 26). On a sunday after the Sat night we would get a bag of cans each and start drinking them from about 2 in the afternoon. Just take turns serving customers. Then close the shop around 6 and straight out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,128 ✭✭✭This is it

You can't bate it.

Poetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    If you're going drinking with the type of person who shares photos of their pints on social media then you're doing it wrong.

Ah, that's just visual evidence to prime the one en-route, indicative of the intention of those already arrived. No harm in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,874 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Used to work in a hotel in South Kensington in London - worked a 7am to 2pm shift with a great bunch of people.

Many the day we went straight from work to the pub. A few times we stayed up all night with the help of some illicit substances and went straight into our shift the next morning - the comedown usually hit around 9.30am and you were basically hanging by a thread for 4-5 hours.

That was hard to do in your early-20's, I'd keel over and die if I tried it now.

The first few pints early in the day are magical, the shafts of dusty light in the bar the musty smell of leather and wood.

This guy gets it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Going by the first post, if you're asking me does going for about 14 pints during the day sound magical... As a wizard I might feel magical going home but that's about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Uncharted wrote: »

This guy gets it. ;)

It's quite evocative and romanticised beautifully, but depending on the taproom you may not be lucky to find those scents so early of a day:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭knockers84

Nothing better than when you wake up a Friday facing a day of work and knowing you will be hitting the beer hard for the weekend. Your counting down the hours and once 5 o clock comes around your out the door and driving home craving that first pint. You don’t go home, you don’t get changed just straight to the pub to be greeted by all your friends. The atmosphere, the high stool, the Craic, the ice cold pints, nothing can beat it. Possibly go home then around 9 and get changed and head back down and down another six pints. Possibly then a house party and staying up till around six in the morning drinking cans and Vodka.

The following day you wake up absolutely dying around 10AM and go to the shop for a breakfast role and a can of coke back to the house and annoying and ringing the local publican to open his door, there’s a queue of us waiting. He eventually lets us in and after two or three pints and maybe a Jameson and red we’re cured by 12PM and ready to go mental again, love the feeling about not giving a flying **** about anything and been on the sesh again for today, No house party tonight, around closing time all we want to hit the bed.
    Wake up the Sunday and the fear kicks in, thinking in the back of my head I have work tomorrow, we all meet up around two and go at it again, I don’t drink as fast but still going hard.
    Then 9PM comes and I know if I stay any longer I won’t make work.

Many a weekend I wore the same jocks, shirt and jeans for the weekend, the sesh is more important

I love day time drinking!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,284 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I usually work weekends this time of year so have come to value the odd Monday session as an important 'stress reliever'.

In fact, I had a day session last Monday. I even made sure I wasn't rostered to work a full day till Wednesday so I could make the most of it. Got myself a footlong from subway to start the day and was one of the first in the pub then. The first sup was like nectar. Had picked a few horses before I started to streamline the drinking, but when the first leg of the accy let me down, and as the drink flowed, I was making the short pilgrimage across to the bookies.

Talking ****e about the All Ireland, the local GAA results, and backing a couple of winners. Bliss. Went for a house pasta then in the gastropub across the way and watched the live soccer supping a few more pints. Home by half 10.

I've had worse days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

knockers84 wrote: »
    Nothing better than when you wake up a Friday facing a day of work and knowing you will be hitting the beer hard for the weekend. Your counting down the hours and once 5 o clock comes around your out the door and driving home craving that first pint. You don’t go home, you don’t get changed just straight to the pub to be greeted by all your friends. The atmosphere, the high stool, the Craic, the ice cold pints, nothing can beat it. Possibly go home then around 9 and get changed and head back down and down another six pints. Possibly then a house party and staying up till around six in the morning drinking cans and Vodka.

The following day you wake up absolutely dying around 10AM and go to the shop for a breakfast role and a can of coke back to the house and annoying and ringing the local publican to open his door, there’s a queue of us waiting. He eventually lets us in and after two or three pints and maybe a Jameson and red we’re cured by 12PM and ready to go mental again, love the feeling about not giving a flying **** about anything and been on the sesh again for today, No house party tonight, around closing time all we want to hit the bed.
    Wake up the Sunday and the fear kicks in, thinking in the back of my head I have work tomorrow, we all meet up around two and go at it again, I don’t drink as fast but still going hard.
    Then 9PM comes and I know if I stay any longer I won’t make work.

Many a weekend I wore the same jocks, shirt and jeans for the weekend, the sesh is more important

I love day time drinking!!!!

One of the most beautiful things I've ever read

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

This is it wrote: »
    The Monday Club. Many a day spent in the local on a Monday after working the weekend.

Got warning in work day after 2013 All Ireland final when I answered a text inquiring as to my whereabouts - thinking it was someone on way to join me - with the name of the pub we were in :o

An unexpected leisurely day in the pub, never did anyone any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

John B Keane on Drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭joinme

Earra, I wouldn't be fond of drinking at all but when I do go at it I do go at it awful and very hard. I'd do about 45 pints in about two hours. I'd have a packet of crips then add maybe a packet of peanuts and I'd go for probably, earra I'd have ten more anyway. I'd get up the following morning then and Maureen would have the fry on. And I'd go at it again, and there'd be no fúckin stopping me. I'd take the shirt off any man's back. Bastards.

If I could thank this twice I would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I remember these days in Dublin, that pre-noon Saturday whatapp from the lads,
    /QUOTE]

You don’t remember the days if it began with a WhatsApp message. ‘The days’ is pre-WhatsApp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,366 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

I remember these days in Dublin, that pre-noon Saturday whatapp from the lads,
    /QUOTE]

You don’t remember the days if it began with a WhatsApp message. ‘The days’ is pre-WhatsApp.

Not if he’s 25 or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,453 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not if he’s 25 or whatever.

If you’re 25 or whatever, you don’t have ‘the days’.

I Love it earlier the better

A fry goes down very well with a pint

I always feel this is a common myth.

For me they are oil and water - literally as well as figuratively - and don't belong together.

As an alternative I prefer a good hearty stew with mashed potatoes, works in harmony with pints and better for the old Ned Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,037 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I can't get into day drinking. The first few pints are great but usually by the third, the buzz starts to wear off and I get bored, or worse, tired. After that I keep stocially knocking back the pints but really I just want to get food and go home.

At that stage it's just feels like 'enforced craic' and no one really wants to be there, but no one wants to be pussy who had enough and bailed early.

Lads, what am I doing wrong? How do I achieve day drinking nirvana?

You dont, its obviously not for you.

The first few pints are great but usually by the third, the buzz starts to wear off and I get bored, or worse, tired.

You, young grasshopper,have not yet learned to walk the ricepaper.

Perhaps,the way of the high stool is not in your destiny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Better class of alcoholic during the day, i find.

I always feel this is a common myth.

For me they are oil and water - literally as well as figuratively - and don't belong together.

As an alternative I prefer a good hearty stew with mashed potatoes, works in harmony with pints and better for the old Ned Kelly.

I’ll happily wash down the fry with a pint though I’ll be sipping on tea aswell.

Having something like a stew would never even come on my radar when drinking, that’s normal weekday food. When drinking its burgers, pizzas, rolls, kebabs. Maybe a Thai or Indian if it’s a more sedate day but stew etc wouldn’t be for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I’ll happily wash down the fry with a pint though I’ll be sipping on tea aswell.

Having something like a stew would never even come on my radar when drinking, that’s normal weekday food. When drinking its burgers, pizzas, rolls, kebabs. Maybe a Thai or Indian if it’s a more sedate day but stew etc would be for me.

I always find a roll is the ideal - particularly if I'm stopping off en route to another pub. Can easily eat it on the way and only takes a minute to be prepared in the shop. Doesn't waste much valuable time at all! Its very hungover-friendly too

Love getting a burger but it can sometimes take ages and they're more suited to being eaten at the place itself

pgj2015 wrote: »
    You dont, its obviously not for you.

100% this!

Big drinking sessions just aren't for some people. It either suits you or it doesn't

I don't think I can ever recall feeling tired or seeking food after a three pints! Buzz wearing off? I'm approaching tipp-top on the buzz scale at that stage and its increasing the more I have! By three pints I'm already sending texts out for more people to join me, making evening time plans, with the full intention of going until they literally stop serving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

I can't get into day drinking. The first few pints are great but usually by the third, the buzz starts to wear off and I get bored, or worse, tired. After that I keep stocially knocking back the pints but really I just want to get food and go home.

At that stage it's just feels like 'enforced craic' and no one really wants to be there, but no one wants to be pussy who had enough and bailed early.

Lads, what am I doing wrong? How do I achieve day drinking nirvana?

Drink outside. Day drinking should only be done on sunny long summer days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Hash Tag Me Too.

If your not feeling the buzz by your third pint it's not gonna happen. You need to take up kite surfing or some other afternoon pursuit that does not involve the pleasures of getting hammered.

I wish you good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,884 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Hash Tag Me Too.

If your not feeling the buzz by your third pint it's not gonna happen. You need to take up kite surfing or some other afternoon pursuit that does not involve the pleasures of getting hammered.

I wish you good luck with that.

To be honest, if you’re not feeling the “buzz” on your third pint you’re not drinking quick enough.

The first four pints are crucial for any session. They should be downed in quick succession. That’s when you get the “buzz” or the “lip” for more. The fourth should be poured when you’re halfway through the third.

If you’re someone who likes to “nurse” pints, taking over an hour to finish one then a day drinking “sessions” isn’t for you.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Anyone else heading straight to the high stool after work? :pac:

came in deliberately early to get out early. Have my shower done at work, change of clothes good to go. The thoughts of that imminent first beautiful sip are keeping me going throughout the day!